Preview Changes for the Mighty Dogs into the Grand Final

The thankfully minor but still present MD commentary isn’t needed. Let’s just enjoy the moment without making digs. MD has already said he’s got more important things on his mind. Let’s respect that and focus on the Melbourne and Swan trolls!

Too right

He clearly needs some privacy during this time and has every right to expect he should get it

I was at the Melbourne v Geelong game. I called it in the first qtr, geelong needed to take clean marks inside 50 and kick straight all night to have a chance at winning and that was never going to happen. Danger was the only guy capable of putting multiple balls in and then when it went to ground the cats had zero ground level forward pressure. Around the mid there were always a few steps behind. They looked so slow by comparison the too old and slow comments came home to roost but then maybe the viral issues if real actually did have an impact.

Our midfield is deeper than the dees, but they have worked their buts off by comparison in the last month. So maybe you could question if we can playout four quarters at high intensity, although really second half against PA was as good as training and then a week off. I can't see that being an issue.

I reckon late in the season our failures in ruck started to hurt us more, opponents were better at taking advantage of that. So how the gawn tap down plays out is huge. Secondly I reckon the first time we played Melbourne it looked like we played with nerves and made quite a few poor kicks under pressure which snowballed into continuous pressure. Second time different story. This GF the pressure is on Melbourne, favourites, expectation, breaking drought. If both teams play out 4 qtrs at high intensity I reckon we have the edge but not by a lot, which means a few stray shots at goal could easily make or break it.

The thankfully minor but still present MD commentary isn’t needed. Let’s just enjoy the moment without making digs. MD has already said he’s got more important things on his mind. Let’s respect that and focus on the Melbourne and Swan trolls!

Into a grand final and people worry where I am??

Says so much about them.

Rapt we have made it and will enjoy the day with family and hope for a win but sometimes things happen that put life into perspective and remind me how irrelevant this joint is in the grand scheme of things

Is there a case for not bringing back Cody straight off the back of a concussion.
Players coming back from concussion seem to take a few games to get back up to speed so its a big ask to come straight into a Grand final. But on the other hand he is certainly in our best 22.
A couple of huge selection calls to be made next week.

thats been in my mind as well. English took a while to recover. Its a gamble playing him that's not getting enough discussion. Now that Vanders is also a risk I wonder if this opens the door to Mitch and JJ as starters?

I was at the Melbourne v Geelong game. I called it in the first qtr, geelong needed to take clean marks inside 50 and kick straight all night to have a chance at winning and that was never going to happen. Danger was the only guy capable of putting multiple balls in and then when it went to ground the cats had zero ground level forward pressure. Around the mid there were always a few steps behind. They looked so slow by comparison the too old and slow comments came home to roost but then maybe the viral issues if real actually did have an impact.

Our midfield is deeper than the dees, but they have worked their buts off by comparison in the last month. So maybe you could question if we can playout four quarters at high intensity, although really second half against PA was as good as training and then a week off. I can't see that being an issue.

I reckon late in the season our failures in ruck started to hurt us more, opponents were better at taking advantage of that. So how the gawn tap down plays out is huge. Secondly I reckon the first time we played Melbourne it looked like we played with nerves and made quite a few poor kicks under pressure which snowballed into continuous pressure. Second time different story. This GF the pressure is on Melbourne, favourites, expectation, breaking drought. If both teams play out 4 qtrs at high intensity I reckon we have the edge but not by a lot, which means a few stray shots at goal could easily make or break it.

Without the two week break, sure. With the break I'm not concerned about players fatiguing.

I agree about the first game against Melbourne. Was it first v second? I think there was a bit of deer in the headlights about us, like we didn't believe in ourselves, and Melbourne were really up for it wanting to send a message that they were the real deal.

After last week and the look of determination in the players eyes, they know they deserve to be here, and I have every confidence they will not play like the first game.

Into a grand final and people worry where I am??

Says so much about them.

Rapt we have made it and will enjoy the day with family and hope for a win but sometimes things happen that put life into perspective and remind me how irrelevant this joint is in the grand scheme of things

Things happen that put life into perspective and sends a reminder not only how irrelevant this joint is but also how irrelevant a lot of things are.

never in doubt that you were Rapt we are in it!

Without the two week break, sure. With the break I'm not concerned about players fatiguing.

I agree about the first game against Melbourne. Was it first v second? I think there was a bit of deer in the headlights about us, like we didn't believe in ourselves, and Melbourne were really up for it wanting to send a message that they were the real deal.

After last week and the look of determination in the players eyes, they know they deserve to be here, and I have every confidence they will not play like the first game.
Wasn’t it the first game where we lost Garcia very very early on debut and Butler came on? We’re a different team to that.

Yeah and we gave them the majority of their goals through dumb turnovers

Case in point Macrae in the backline kicks horribly across goal straight to Fritsch I believe
It was a strange game. Our best ball users were handing them goals, generally not under pressure as well.

Does anyone think it's really odd that Steven May didn't get a scan on his hamstring? I smell a furphy. Even if it's tightness clubs as precaution will almost always get a scan to rule out an injury. It was evident during the game that he had no power in his legs or the ability to sprint. The fact that May is out on the track this week doesn't tell us much. The question that should be asked is if he is sprinting, jumping and changing direction at full speed ?

My feeling is May has done his hamstring likely on the lower grade, a 21day thingy. Would be a massive risk to play him. Either way we will know when the teams come out next Thursday or on game day if they choose to take the risk.

Does anyone think it's really odd that Steven May didn't get a scan on his hamstring? I smell a furphy. Even if it's tightness clubs will as precaution will almost always get a scan to rule out an injury. It was evident during the game that he had no power in his legs or the ability to sprint. The fact that May is out on the track this week doesn't tell us much. The question that should be asked is if he is sprinting, jumping and changing direction at full speed ?

My feeling is May has done his hamstring likely on the lower grade, a 21day thingy. Would be a massive risk to play him. Either way we will know when the teams come out next Thursday or on game day if they choose to take the risk.
They will, they think there is no risk

Apparently keath is a bigger risk

Does anyone think it's really odd that Steven May didn't get a scan on his hamstring? I smell a furphy. Even if it's tightness clubs will as precaution will almost always get a scan to rule out an injury. It was evident during the game that he had no power in his legs or the ability to sprint. The fact that May is out on the track this week doesn't tell us much. The question that should be asked is if he is sprinting, jumping and changing direction at full speed ?

To be honest at the time I thought he’s definitely done.

Not really, May has a history of hamstrings so he would’ve known the severity of it when it was done.

I’ve had a bunch of hamstring issues over the years and have done a few very minor ones where I can run at 80% pretty much straight away but can feel the tear when building up pace or through explosive movements. Usually can get away with only a week off footy and some strength and conditioning work and I’m back to usual (although with a high risk of re-injury).

Given he did actually play out the game, it’s clear it’s an incredibly minor twinge. The week off is perfect for him and he’ll likely be at 100% movement for the grand final. Even though he’ll be at 100% movement, I’d imagine there will still be a fair bit of risk of re-injury.

In defence of this board, I would have thought it is more relevant than ever given that we have been unable to share this finals series experience with other bulldog supporters in person.

I have thoroughly enjoyed sharing it with you all on here and the positivity around this joint has me buzzing in a time where there is little other excitement.

It’s been a great season for this club overall and I can’t help but be excited about our prospects on Saturday week.

Said the same thing. They sent him back out to 'prove' he is fit. Carefully manage what footage is taken of him this week and next. Dogs plan for him, Dees name him then is becomes a late out an hour before the bounce.
Only thing is, apparently Smith is out, so there is no real depth if he doesn't get up and they'd just have to back Lever and Petty or send TMac down back and perhaps bring Weideman in. Interesting times.

Said the same thing. They sent him back out to 'prove' he is fit. Carefully manage what footage is taken of him this week and next. Dogs plan for him, Dees name him then is becomes a late out an hour before the bounce.
Only thing is, apparently Smith is out, so there is no real depth if he doesn't get up and they'd just have to back Lever and Petty or send TMac down back and perhaps bring Weideman in. Interesting times.

If he pinged a hammy there is absolutely zero chance they put him back on when they are so far on front, that can only make it worse.

You don’t play ducks and drakes with someone as important as he is to their setup

I can only speak for myself but when I posted about MD it was from a place of genuine curiosity and care. I don't agree with a lot of what he says but he's a big contributor on this board and his absence was very noticeable. I hope he's well and I hope he's enjoying this finals run as much as the rest of us.

Preview Changes for the Mighty Dogs into the Grand Final