- Oct 7, 2014
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
- Banned
Alan Toovey surely can never play at the elite level again?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Unfortunately if Bucks is sacked a caretaker will come from our current crop of assistants. A new coach won't be chosen until the offseason, therefore "Fresh Blood" as you call it is not an option until then. Are you suggesting we hold off on a decision until then (for the record I don't really have an opinion either way at this point).You've got to be fukcing joking. If Buckley is removed and either Harvey or Burns take over, we will be in worse shit than we are now. We have'nt won a cleareance for 3 years and you want our midfiled coach to take over? I wonder if these blokes still think its 1996? We are that far behind the trends of the modern game. Fresh blood only.
Taking a beer bottle up the clacker is a Brissie tradition. Just mates havin' a laugh.Well I would think he will get lots of grass stains on his knees up here. But it won't be from the footy
Yeah, I can't imagine Aish playing next week. Broomhead wil be injured too. Looks like debutants might come in.
I really think there is a big rift between Bucks and the players. So many look like they're playing like they want him gone. When a team falls apart like this mid season it becomes incumbent on the board to act at some stage. I don't like a change of coach mid season anymore than the next guy but when the situation is dire this is what has to be done. I think they should wait until we get some players back from injury before making the call though. If we still can't compete with these payers back then we should pull the plug and put in a caretaker and have a massive review at clean out at years end. If we don't act fast then we are just delaying the rebuild and healing that has to happen.. better it starts asap even under a caretaker coach. Also, someone like Bomber Thompson is available.Unfortunately if Bucks is sacked a caretaker will come from our current crop of assistants. A new coach won't be chosen until the offseason, therefore "Fresh Blood" as you call it is not an option until then. Are you suggesting we hold off on a decision until then (for the record I don't really have an opinion either way at this point).
The celebrations were manufactured anzac day....they were told to celebrate every goalI'm going to throw up a suggestion that not a lot of people are going to like, but barring any injury related changes (i.e. Players out injured or returning from injury), we not make any changes this week. On the train ride home mum and I were talking to other Pies supporters and one of the things that seemed to be a consensus was the fact that the side does not look settled. We are up to about 37 players used already this season and whilst some of that is injury related a lot is from chopping and changing without much consistency. We dropped Aish 2 weeks ago for form. He then didn't play last week as the travelling emergency then is selected this week and we wonder why his form hasn't improved. There was a very different mood amongst the players this week compared to ANZAC Day which was highlighted by the reaction to goals. On ANZAC Day the boys were getting around each other and looked like a unit. This week it was really lacklustre no one really went to each other. This could be really symptomatic of players not confident in their positions which can make players more nervous (fumbly) and selfish which ironically worsens their form.
This is spot on. A "team" focus for Anzac Day and going forward from that day was to "generate" excitement when teammates do something good. Such a losing mentality to have to tell players to "get around" their teammates after they kick a goal or put in the extra effort to chase or tackle strongly. It's certainly not a "leading team" that has to tell players to manufacture celebrations!The celebrations were manufactured anzac day....they were told to celebrate every goal
A club in total disarray and bugger all comradery among the current squad is now resorting to gimmicks to give the impression everything is rosy.This is spot on. A "team" focus for Anzac Day and going forward from that day was to "generate" excitement when teammates do something good. Such a losing mentality to have to tell players to "get around" their teammates after they kick a goal or put in the extra effort to chase or tackle strongly. It's certainly not a "leading team" that has to tell players to manufacture celebrations!
celebrations happen because you want to celebrate and reward, not because you're told to!
Rumours are Clokes lower back strain is being used not to play VFL. His father allegedly not a happy camper with him being dropped. Might find the issues with Cloke are not just form, but a part of a deep rift within the club. Some players may be forming to take a stand against Buckley and leading teams. Just rumours, but unusual that our best forward in last 20 years and close to highest paid player is in the AFL.I know the general feelings on Cloke here but people need to put aside their hatred and see how this game exposed how desperately we missed a solid target inside 50 at the end there. Yes Cloke has been poor but neither Cox or Moore have the frame or experience to be relied upon consistently at this early stage of their development, Gault just simply isn't AFL standard and we can't afford to take Reid out of defence, Cloke has to come back in IMO.
I think you may be on the money there. Rumours aboundDoes anyone know what happened to Cloke? If he was emergency for the seniors then when did he get injured... on the walk from the MCG to Olympic Park? Or is it just because he's having a sook about having to play reserves?
In: anyone that can do something positive
Out: greenwood, Toovey, Maynard, Broomhead, Crocker
To be fair if you stink it up as bad as Goodyear did against the Saints, yes you do.You don't drop a first gamer and Maynard was alright i thought.
To be fair if you stink it up as bad as Goodyear did against the Saints, yes you do.
That said, Crocker was alright. If keep Beoomy and Maybard in too.
yes you do, 8 touches no goals. goodyear says hello. Maynard was ok but i was hoping there was something better somewhere on our listYou don't drop a first gamer and Maynard was alright i thought.
Yet they still beat usMelbourne, St Kilda, Carlton & Brisbane all look beatable but yeah...
Taking everything in consideration i would like to see us pesist with Aish.
The kid has talent , put him in the midfeild and tell him you have 5 or 6 games to prove your self. Guarantee him he wont get dropped.
I think dropping him every second week is not helping.
I would rather put the sword on Toovey or Greenwood.