Changes Round 7

Johnno at CHF is an interesting one. I doubt that he will start there. Maybe this is all a tactical manouvre by Eade - when do final team lists need to be in? For some reason i think that Rawlings will be in the 22.

Brisbane will be loving the look of this side. Michael and Leppitch will tear Skipper a new one. IMO Skipper is rubbish. Would have preferred Walsh getting a go. We have no genuine forward targets to kick it to, which Rawlings have provided. Johnson is our only hope.

whythelongface said:
Johnno at CHF is an interesting one. I doubt that he will start there. Maybe this is all a tactical manouvre by Eade - when do final team lists need to be in? For some reason i think that Rawlings will be in the 22.

We are playing Saturday night so this is the final list.
I don't get why Eade would think it is a tacticle ploy not to name Rawlings so I doubt very much he would be selected.
As it stands not the emergencies are Koops, Griffen and Walsh so if anything it is more likely that Walsh 'might' be played.

OldSchool said:
I agree with you assessment.

We needed to give Rawlings the oportunity to play 4 quarters as a CHF and while they are tipping some rain for Saturday night I think we have again selected a smaller than needed line-up. I think that has occurred 3 weeks in a row.
It's a huge ask for Minson to only have Skipper to support him and I hope it doesn't mean guys like Grant have to try and do some ruck work.
If Morgan plays as a forward then they might be able to use him to support Minson but really we are going into this game at least one tall player short.

I would have kept Rawlings and played either Bandy or Street. Happy to see Skipper be given a chance but like you I'm not sure he has really earned his spot.

I belive we are going into this game two tall players short. Another genuine ruckmen like Street, and another tall forward like Rawlings or Walsh. Hopefully Rawlings will end up playing.

OldSchool said:
I don't get why Eade would think it is a tacticle ploy not to name Rawlings so I doubt very much he would be selected.
As it stands not the emergencies are Koops, Griffen and Walsh so if anything it is more likely that Walsh 'might' be played.

Thanks OS i didn't even notice that he was not on the emergency list. I guess that means he won't be playing. Strange - anyway i am not the coach (thankfully i might add) and there must be reasoning behind it - maybe he injured himself today.

OldSchool said:

Bugger.

scooter600x said:
That's crap. Ranking and salary mean bugger all when it comes to selection. You pick your best 22 and without a doubt Rawlings is in our best 22.

Hate it. Skipper hasn't had a kick all year. Someone on here said Atkins wanted to drop him to the Werribee reserves, which is about what his form warranted. All I can think of is this is his last chance to save his career. Similar to playing Wiggins before Wiggins got chopped (did Wiggins get another year where he didn't play at all?)

just spoke to a mate of Axes and apparentlly he is almost jumping up and down

Skipper was going to be in werribee 2s against northern bullants but eade kicked up a fuss and due to a late change skipper got a game

Axe has Bandy Street Pods and now rawlings he is over the moon

Now i dont rate Street but he deserved a game before Skipper

what about walsh?

bogan4life said:
just spoke to a mate of Axes and apparentlly he is almost jumping up and down

Skipper was going to be in werribee 2s against northern bullants but eade kicked up a fuss and due to a late change skipper got a game

Axe has Bandy Street Pods and now rawlings he is over the moon

Now i dont rate Street but he deserved a game before Skipper

what about walsh?

It does appear to be a curious selection.

It was against Brisbane wasn't it that Skipper had his lung punctured & couldn't fly back down with the rest of the team? From memory, he played pretty well that day so he has the capacity to do a good job.

Though, if someone is very down on form & confidence as most Werribee reports suggest, I don't know what hurling someone to the wolves is going to do. :confused:

This is Skipper last chance I would reckon - else next year he may be back in WA playing WAFL (assuming his contract expires at the end of the year ...)

My guess is it's an issue of managing Rawlings' knee. A trip to Brisbane couldn't do it any good and he may have aggravated it. Skipper has probably been given his last chance and he has shown that he can be a handy back-up ruckman. Bewildering decision no doubt but there will be some kind of thinking behind it.

wedesweiler said:
It does appear to be a curious selection.

It was against Brisbane wasn't it that Skipper had his lung punctured & couldn't fly back down with the rest of the team? From memory, he played pretty well that day so he has the capacity to do a good job.

It was against the Sydney Swans that Wayde got the punctured lung.

Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't it not long ago that posters were calling for Jade Rawlings to be dropped now he has been everyone is against it.

Anja_Nees said:
Skipper has probably been given his last chance and he has shown that he can be a handy back-up ruckman.

There is some sort of symmetry with picking Morgan and Skipper.

Both talls have been in the system a while, and it's time this season for both to deliver.

And both have contracts which expire this season.

Adam & Wayde = Gary Cooper, "High Noon"

Good luck, guys.

scooter600x said:
That's crap. Ranking and salary mean bugger all when it comes to selection. You pick your best 22 and without a doubt Rawlings is in our best 22.

I agree Rawlings is in our best 22. But he needs a rocket big time. What better way to do it than to not need him even without Darcy. Rawlings can and should play better and just getting by is not what the club is about. You give your all or you can bugger off.
Can you imagine Rhode dropping Rawlings? Of course not, thats because senior players ruled the club.
Eade is taking the reins and setting an example for the rest of the group. He has his eyes firmly on the future.

Dry Rot said:
Not to foregt that Rohde traded him. Eade did not, and hats off to Eade for making a statement.

Smith next?

Eade is giving Skipper and Morgan a go. This will probably mean Grant plays forward or CHF.

Skipper's going to kill 'em. Tear 'em apart.

Just wait.

Those Lions think they are in for a nice meal of tender young Bulldog. Ha ha ha, we'll grab 'em by the throat and squeeze the life out of them.

Skipper will crash through dummy Brown and revenge skipper Grant from last year. Then Skipper'll kick a bag of goals. Farren Ray will play a blinder and pip big Will for the week's Rising Star Award.

Our Midfield will dominate.

Bulldogs to win by about 5 goals.

Rawlings had to go because he has lately been lacking decisiveness and has been unable to act or decide quickly or firmly. He became a don't kick it to me man. He can play twice as good as he has been lately. A confidence boosting run in the twos will see him return with renewed vigour and turn him into a match winner. We need match winners to help us through the finals.

C.E.Lovett said:
Skipper's going to kill 'em. Tear 'em apart.

Just wait.

Those Lions think they are in for a nice meal of tender young Bulldog. Ha ha ha, we'll grab 'em by the throat and squeeze the life out of them.

Skipper will crash through dummy Brown and revenge skipper Grant from last year. Then Skipper'll kick a bag of goals. Farren Ray will play a blinder and pip big Will for the week's Rising Star Award.

Our Midfield will dominate.

Bulldogs to win by about 5 goals.

Rawlings had to go because he has lately been lacking decisiveness and has been unable to act or decide quickly or firmly. He became a don't kick it to me man. He can play twice as good as he has been lately. A confidence boosting run in the twos will see him return with renewed vigour and turn him into a match winner. We need match winners to help us through the finals.

I'm just watching the Footy Show on late in Sydney and they've just dealt with Cousins, Gardiner etc.

Are you on NoDoze, coke or bad acid?

With Morgan in there are some option to play on Brown if he gets out of control. Morgan would be better equipped than Rawlings. So realistically Grant, Harris or Morgan could play on Brown. Two of those to take up the back Key positions with the other to go down forward. Skipper the other ruckman I suppose. Minson and Skipper as rucks, risky. I don't know of any other options.

HK_Bulldog said:
I agree Rawlings is in our best 22. But he needs a rocket big time. What better way to do it than to not need him even without Darcy. Rawlings can and should play better and just getting by is not what the club is about. You give your all or you can bugger off.
Can you imagine Rhode dropping Rawlings? Of course not, thats because senior players ruled the club.
Eade is taking the reins and setting an example for the rest of the group. He has his eyes firmly on the future.

Good points HK

scooter600x said:
Hate it. Skipper hasn't had a kick all year. Someone on here said Atkins wanted to drop him to the Werribee reserves, which is about what his form warranted. All I can think of is this is his last chance to save his career. Similar to playing Wiggins before Wiggins got chopped (did Wiggins get another year where he didn't play at all?)
:) sorry to pick on this Jim
Comparing Wiggins to Skipper is like apples and oranges. Wiggins body language was terrible whereas Skipper looks like he is giving 100%.
Wiggins got his chance in the 2nd or 3rd last round of the year, he was gone already.
I'm not sure about this year as I haven't seen Skipper play but he was in the side preseason side and Eade was trying to pump him up publically by telling him he needed to believe in himself more.
Obviously he thinks he has some ability and Darcy also mentioned him first as a replacement!
Yes it may be his last chance but we need to know definetely if he is good enough and I suppose the next few weeks will tell us.

OldSchool said:
I agree with you assessment.

We needed to give Rawlings the oportunity to play 4 quarters as a CHF and while they are tipping some rain for Saturday night I think we have again selected a smaller than needed line-up. I think that has occurred 3 weeks in a row.
It's a huge ask for Minson to only have Skipper to support him and I hope it doesn't mean guys like Grant have to try and do some ruck work.
If Morgan plays as a forward then they might be able to use him to support Minson but really we are going into this game at least one tall player short.

I would have kept Rawlings and played either Bandy or Street. Happy to see Skipper be given a chance but like you I'm not sure he has really earned his spot.

I agree with oldschool. Why is it we always seem to play 1 tall short everyweek. This really is annoying the crap out of me now. Sure pick Skipper, but why drop rawlings. When are the selectors going to learn that we aren't going anywhere with a FF or CHF under 6 foot. This really ***** me to tears !!!

I think some of the comments on Skipper are a little unwarranted. Skipper has not even played 20 senior games the jury is still out on him IMHO.
I recently spoke to somebody involved at the club and asked him about Skipper and where he was at. His comment was that he has the ability and he was at Werribee with instructions to present himself to players up the ground and to concentrate on his second and third efforts. He also said all the coaching staff really want Skip to make the grade they consider him very mobile for his size and the impression I got is, they dont doubt his ability but they wanted him to address the issues noted above.

My only concern with this week is that if Morgan, Harris play down back, Wil and Skip work the rucks that leaves only Grant as a tall option up forward. We might find that Skipper does not rest on the bench when not in the ruck but goes forward. I think we couldve used another tall option.

I for one are not giving up on Skipper.

bullish23 said:
I agree with oldschool. Why is it we always seem to play 1 tall short everyweek. This really is annoying the crap out of me now. Sure pick Skipper, but why drop rawlings. When are the selectors going to learn that we aren't going anywhere with a FF or CHF under 6 foot. This really ***** me to tears !!!

I so agree. The mistakes of last week and the previous 5 years are being repeated over and over again. We went in to short last week, lost a ruckman and we were gone. It is exactly the same this week except we are going in not with a proven ruckman but with someone of 10 games experience and a too short backup.

This has the smell of playing for priority picks about it.

Skipper In the captain Out I guess that makes sense

I hope he has improved his hardness the last time he played in 2004 he twice and ducked his head when going for marks. He got dropped after that and did not get back and we all know why bowden is in the twos because he is to soft.

I think Rocket is keen to drop guys who are not hard enough at the ball e.g b. murphy and griffen if we are going anywhere these guys must learn, might be harsh given there inexperience but it is the only way we are going get better you never see soft teams win flags.

If Skipper has learnt to be harder at the ball he may be a chance lets hope so.

Changes Round 7