Preview Changes v Pies

Would like to see this happen. Daw has played a fair bit on Grundy in the magoos and they are a like for like match up. I fully agree with you that if Trengove can touch up Goldy, then Grundy is an even worse proposition with his athleticism, run & spread. Daw is a no brainer in this week.

I should add that if Drew plays (and he probably will, let's face it), he has to play that utility role that I'm advocating to get Daw in for. Brad did through Drew into that role on the weekend and he went ok (and we looked a helluva lot better up forward as a result in that third quarter).

Some time forward, some time back, ruck relief, big body around the midfield...hell if he's really going well he can add in a few bum pats and turn a few snags on the barbie for the full Leroy Brown effect.

I should add that if Drew plays (and he probably will, let's face it), he has to play that utility role that I'm advocating to get Daw in for. Brad did through Drew into that role on the weekend and he went ok (and we looked a helluva lot better up forward as a result in that third quarter).

Some time forward, some time back, ruck relief, big body around the midfield...hell if he's really going well he can add in a few bum pats and turn a few snags on the barbie for the full Leroy Brown effect.
Poor old Browny, the only solution I could think of at the time was a firing squad. Memo to Dish: no bum pats please.

So we'll get up for the game Boomer equals the all time games record yeah? That's how it's done IIRC.

I'll also be stunned if Petire is dropped before the Saints game, him and Spud have been practicing chair-lifting for the last month.

Magpies treat Roos game as a finals fling
Ben Guthrie
July 19, 2016 4:33 PM

440406-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

Alex Fasolo will have till Thursday to prove his fitness

COLLINGWOOD is setting itself for a finals-like atmosphere when it takes on North Melbourne at Etihad Stadium on Friday night, coach Nathan Buckley says.

The 12th-placed Magpies remain in the finals hunt and sit just three games behind a Kangaroos team that has lost five games on the trot and is starting to look wobbly in eighth position on the ladder.

"We're not underestimating [them] and we're seeing at as a finals game, so we'll definitely be coming with finals-like intensity," Buckley said on Tuesday afternoon.

"We're really content to put our reputations (on the line) and stake our claims in regard to that, so if you want to see a finals-type game then I reckon you should come along on Friday night."

Buckley said he expects the Kangaroos to respond strongly to the criticism heaped on them after their 28-point loss to Port Adelaide at the weekend.

"Todd Goldstein and the focus that is on his performances, and on North's generally, is something that will sting the Roos quite a bit," Buckley said.

"We're expecting them to be playing their best footy and to come out with a really strong intent."

Buckley said finals was still in the equation but his focus is ensuring his players improve markedly on the 28-point loss to Adelaide at Adelaide Oval on Saturday night.

The Magpies gave away the first five goals to the Crows and, despite their best intentions, could not work themselves back into the contest.

"We better win this weekend if we want to stay in the mix, but we're not looking beyond Friday night," he said.

"We were disappointed with our first 15 minutes against the Crows and we just didn't execute the way we wanted to. Our effort and intensity was good on the opposition, but we need to be cleaner, we need to take our chances and we need to take away our opposition's strengths."

The Magpies trained at Olympic Park Oval on Tuesday evening, although a decision on Alex Fasolo's availability won't be made until Thursday morning as he tries to overcome a shoulder injury.

Buckley also named Mason Cox, Rupert Wills, Ben Crocker, Tom Phillips, Adam Oxley and Jack Frost as players putting their hand up for selection.

"He (Fasolo) was touch and go last week, so if he gets through training we'll make that judgment probably on Thursday morning," Buckley said.

"He'll more than likely be in the squad and then we'll make the call late."

Buckley reiterated his view that more clarity was needed in regard to the rushed behind rule, even coming to the press conference armed with a print out of the specific rule

"We had a couple of instances on Saturday night where our players were reticent to rush the ball through under pressure," Buckley said.

"We went through it and we said, 'If you're under pressure you're more than entitled to use the goal line as a sanctuary.

"It definitely opened our eyes as to what could happen."

I'm proposing a restructure, so obviously none of this will happen, but it's worth a shot...

Outs:
  • All of us love the idea of blooding youth, and its certainly been worth it in the case of Ryan Clarke, but I think its pretty obvious that Corey Wagner just isn't quite ready for AFL football at this stage.
  • Who would have thought a month ago that Todd Goldstein of the infinite dicks would become a liablity? But unfortunately, whether its due to injury or form, I think we would be better off without him in the side. See in modern footy actually hitouts mean a lot less than what happens at ground level, and with Goldy's current inability to follow up and help out our mids, I think we would be much better served playing someone else in his role while he does a mini preseason and tries to get back to his best.
  • Ben Cunnington just can't be right. Reports of him limping around are not surprising in the slightest, sure he has always been slow but I haven't seen him break out of a jog in weeks. What happened to the Cunners who was chasing Bulldogs down and applying real pressure? Even his supposedly elite inside skills have dropped off. Needs some time to recover.
Ins:
  • Aaron Mullett was close to being an out, but if we have it in us to restructure I'd love to see him tried on a half-forward flank. Defensively he is cooked at the moment, but he can be a real weapon around goal and would be much more suited to that role. So I'd let him take Wags' role, and bring in Declan Mountford to play on the wing and give us some real pace on the outside. Jmac would have to spend more time in defense.
  • Dropping Goldy is a big call, but by bringing Maj in and rotating him with Drew (NOT BROWN FFS), we would immediately gain a LOT at ground level. Sure we won't win as many hitouts, but I think what Maj and Drew can bring around the ball is far more important.
  • Trent Dumont would offer more on the inside that Cunners at this stage.

I dont see any reason why our form will change.

- Too many outs.

- NDS is a pink unicorn.

- Too many half fit blokes.

- Cunnington puts out as much as a chick with a low libido. Moves around like he has an extreme case of iron deficiency. Pale and anaemic footy.

- Brad Scott is as innovative as your corner butcher.

- Atley can move his feet really quickly. But never gets anywhere. Always gets caught.

- Thomas is like an uncalibrated cat. Never lands on his feet.

- Thompson has imaginary friends.

- Collectively, the team is as soft as a pimple begging to be popped.

Yep. Will lose this one too folks.

What I'd like to see is actually using the half forward line.

Not bombing the ball to a spot 30m out from goal.

Actually moving the ball in a more sensible way.

But hey, that's just me.
It depends on the circumstances. Most teams won't kick it anywhere near the half forward line, or a shallow entry into the forward 50, unless it's almost a 100% guarantee that it will be an uncontested mark. It's close to the worst part of the ground in which to turn the ball over because it is generally the area where the attacking team is most vulnerable to a counter attack. We need to move the ball faster on transition, like we did at our best, so that the half forward line doesn't become so congested and we can find players across that area in space so they can get deeper entries into the forward 50.

Cant agree if Petrie is going then Waite has another season. Support for BBB and /if Maj is still there.
In principle, yes of course. But the club has to be confident his body is up for another season.

It'll be interesting to see what direction the club goes come end of season....... Spud, Petrie, Dal Santo ? question marks on our captain ( who I think has a negative effect on Cunnington's numbers ) No whispers that we are being aggressive for a big fish ........ which in itself is very frustrating.

As part of the weekend debacle while watching the game with my 2 year old daughter (signed up Junior Joey Rookie member) learnt the words "Jeezus Cunnington".

I just asked her before if she remembered those words and she did.

I said "What does Cunnington do?" and she replied "He plays a game of football".

I then said "Is he good or bad at it?" and she said "He's bad at it"!!!

So Cunnington to be dropped this week! She didn't tell me who should replace him though.

But hey, that's just me.
If we try that approach against a quick side, we'll get even more coast to coast goals kicked against us. Deep entries at least allow us half a chance to lock it in. Not that it's been working too well.

The question I have, after listening to Swallow's presser today, following Scott's post match comments, are we really in denial or are they just saying this crap in public?

It'll be interesting to see what direction the club goes come end of season....... Spud, Petrie, Dal Santo ? question marks on our captain ( who I think has a negative effect on Cunnington's numbers ) No whispers that we are being aggressive for a big fish ........ which in itself is very frustrating.
There is also some dead wood on the list as we have seen recently, apart from some aging blokes. Mullet and Mckenzie are not AFL standard. And I think Mullet is contracted for one more year.

Drew can't leap atm.

Drew therefore can't Ruck.

We looked at the stats a couple of weeks back.

He hasn't played consistent Ruck for many years.

Outside side of dropping him I would look at a few quarters in the backline to get some hands on the ball, bodies and straight ahead running.

But who comes out?

Atley.

Lacking confidence.

Put him on a half fwd flank and let him be creative with his run.

Either way...do something Scotts ffs.

But he did ruck for a brief period in the third quarter, as I said in my previous post and he did jump quite well. Not sure Gaso why you are saying he can't jump because he has been jumping in marking contests from time to time. Are you referring to some recent injury, in which case if you are then no wonder he is struggling?

Do we have any fit players at the present?

We must win this game. There's just too much riding on it to lose. Finals. Credibility of the coaching staff and players. **** injuries the team we will field should account for Collingwood comfortably. If they have any pride at all after running around like a pack of pansies against Power they must respond and sim to lay at least 80 tackles. If North lay 80 tackles they'll smash these campaigners

I dont see any reason why our form will change.

- Too many outs.

- NDS is a pink unicorn.

- Too many half fit blokes.

- Cunnington puts out as much as a chick with a low libido. Moves around like he has an extreme case of iron deficiency. Pale and anaemic footy.

- Brad Scott is as innovative as your corner butcher.

- Atley can move his feet really quickly. But never gets anywhere. Always gets caught.

- Thomas is like an uncalibrated cat. Never lands on his feet.

- Thompson has imaginary friends.

- Collectively, the team is as soft as a pimple begging to be popped.

Yep. Will lose this one too folks.

NDS is a pink unicorn. Gold!

But he did ruck for a brief period in the third quarter, as I said in my previous post and he did jump quite well. Not sure Gaso why you are saying he can't jump because he has been jumping in marking contests from time to time. Are you referring to some recent injury, in which case if you are then no wonder he is struggling?

Do we have any fit players at the present?

Maybe it's poor positioning or reading of the ball or unsure of his role in that line.

He appears flat footed, tied up wrestling and not leaping for marks.

But hey, that's just me.

We've been slaughtered from the half forward line recently. That is one spot injuries are hurting us, especially TG and KT. LT brings good forward pressure but we need more than 2 players capable of bringing that pressure to lock the ball in and stop easy run from the opposition half back line when the ball is loose or under pressure there. Thomas Garner/Turner, Higgins and Harvey looks alot better than what's there now.

Out: Petrie (forever), spud (forever), Macmillan
In: Daw, Tippett, Dumont
why ffs can,t they recruit blokes that can kick. too many dud kicks. can somebody please tell me why dumont was dropped and del santo played. no confidence in our kids. and i,ve lost patience and faith in scott. petrie has to go!!!!!!! evw must be close!!!!!!