Opinion Changes v Richmond

Meanwhile Richmond bring in an extra tall in Noah Balta.

Alarmingly, I don’t think we can rule out that they plan to play Aliir in the ruck.
If that happens I will literally freak out. That is one of the moves that could/should have been tried in last years prelim when it was obvious nothing else was working.

By going without a ruckman for this game, whether due to illness or omission, if it’s as bad as what you are saying we are one step closer to the coach being gone then. So shouldn’t you be happy? I’m so confused.

It's worse than that though, because even if Hinkley goes, if Hayes feels like he's not getting a game he might push for a trade. If he's getting dropped for nobody, that's probably fair enough on his part. We're only a few weeks away from Lycett being back. It's not out of the realms of possibility that Hayes doesn't play another game this season if they decide to stick with the makeshift rucks until Lycett is back. Sounds ridiculous, but we've seen it happen before under this coach.

Going in shorter means that there is more pressure on Dixon, who isn't fit yet, and Marshall in the forward line. It's a huge free kick to Richmond's gun intercept defenders and affects Dixon's ability to play his way into form and Marshall's ability to push on with his good form.

We've also got a blue chip KPF developing who was unlucky to get dropped then had 20 touches and 2 goals in a side that got hammered at SANFL level. If Georgiades feels like he's not going to get a run, he's also potentially a flight risk, and he's not going to get any better playing SANFL footy. Leaving him there despite a tall coming out is complete lunacy.

I want us to lose badly so that Hinkley is sacked quickly, but I don't want us to mess with the development of some of our most important players moving forward.

People can argue that you don't want to go too tall in the wet and that's an absolute furphy. Everyone is slow in the wet and everyone's skills suck, so it just brings quick, skillful players down, and bigger bodies win out. Having adequate talls also encourages quick, long ball movement, which is crucial to winning in the wet.

As good as Hayes will be for us for the next 8-10 years, right now he doesn't do enough around the ground and can't run out quarters, which will be magnified if he's also crook.

Visentini is way too young and lycett is injured.

This whole "doesnt do enough around the ground" thing is such dumb shit. Good ruckwork is a far bigger modifier than a few more touches from a big man. The numbers will come with time. We arent winning **** all this year so why are we not getting games into Hayes?

Classic selections from a regime in its last season, really. All in on the washed up players with no future in some attempt to save ass.

As good as Hayes will be for us for the next 8-10 years, right now he doesn't do enough around the ground and can't run out quarters, which will be magnified if he's also crook.

Visentini is way too young and lycett is injured.

He's not going to get better around the ground if he isn't exposed to AFL football. His ruckwork is far enough ahead of Finlayson's to be worth persisting with while he gets up to speed with his around the ground play, which has improved since his debut.

If we were playing all 4 of our KPFs and that squeezed him out, I could probably begrudgingly accept it, but Georgiades was unlucky to be dropped and then had 20 touches and 2 goals playing for a team that got killed in the SANFL, and he's still in the SANFL while we run with a 2 tall forward setup against a good intercept marking side.

We got killed in centre clearance. 14 to 4 but I think it was 10 zip at one stage.

Sounds like he hasn’t been dropped anyway.

That’s on our midfielders obviously.

We know they’ve been underperforming this year. Wines clearance numbers have dropped away. Boak is spending less time in the middle and his form has dropped away. We’ve been shuffling butters and rozee in and out of the middle and haven’t let them even remotely settle into a position. Our midfield set ups are notoriously bad.

None of this should be news to any port supporter with their eyes open.

None of this is on Hayes whatsoever and to suggest hes responsible is utter madness.
Didn't hurt Geelong when they dominated Port in the centre square. Even with Hayes there playing against 0 recognised ruckmen.
Zero recognised ruckman. Cmon.

The only reason that 198cm super athlete Blicavs isn’t a permanent ruckman is that Geelong have needed him elsewhere and Scott doesn’t rate rucks as that important.

If they had two Blicavs one would be a very successful full time ruck.

He’s also rucked a hell of a lot more than his 7 game opponent, and by a hell of a lot more I mean a truckload more across his career. Let’s not pretend that Blicavs doesn’t ruck. Hes always been a fill in for Geelong in that role. He’s rucked more than every player not named lycett (Hayes, Dixon , finlayson etc) on our team combined.
By going without a ruckman for this game, whether due to illness or omission, if it’s as bad as what you are saying we are one step closer to the coach being gone then. So shouldn’t you be happy? I’m so confused.

Because of the obvious damage he’s doing to us on his way out. Duh.

So after offloading Ladhams on the cheap
We went into the season with one average AFL seasoned ruck (Lycett), who is prone to injury.
One untried ruck (Hayes) who has upside, but club still concerned about his tank.
A kid just drafted out of High School (Dante)

You get what you deserve Kenny. Stinks of poor planning & relying too heavily on the roll of the dice.

This whole "doesnt do enough around the ground" thing is such dumb shit. Good ruckwork is a far bigger modifier than a few more touches from a big man. The numbers will come with time. We arent winning duck all this year so why are we not getting games into Hayes?
I've had a gutful of lousy tap ruckmen that are 'good' around the ground it's fukcing pointless. The refreshing thing with Hayes is his smart natural tap work. This weeks selection shows that Ken will bring back Lycett as soon as he's available too which is mind numbing.

So after offloading Ladhams on the cheap
We went into the season with one average AFL seasoned ruck (Lycett), who is prone to injury.
One untried ruck (Hayes) who has upside, but club still concerned about his tank.
A kid just drafted out of High School (Dante)

You get what you deserve Kenny. Stinks of poor planning & relying too heavily on the roll of the dice.
If we hadn't traded Pete though we'd be watching his bog average ruckwork & Hayes would still be yet to debut.

May 5th 2016.

Port Adelaide on Friday will most probably recall defender and pinch-hitting ruckman Jackson Trengove from AFL suspension - and drop two-game ruckman Dougal Howard. More so with rain forecast on Sunday - and after Howard met coach Ken Hinkley’s criteria of giving effort, particularly in field play while the Power lost the ruck count 24-64 but won the match against Richmond at the MCG on Saturday.

Geelong two and three weeks ago. They split ruck duties between key defenders and a tall wingman. They smashed Port in the midfield.
Yep they did but they have a hardened tough and quality midfield that wins contested footy and we have a plodding group and Blicavs is a hardened footballer who has physical attributes he’s no finlayson Or Marshall

Fox haven't heard about the illness - it's all about the conditions...

Power make statement as big man axed​

For the Power, big man Sam Hayes has been dropped with showers expected for Thursday’s match.

The only statement being made by playing the likes of Hayes, Georgiades, Duursma and Bergman in the SANFL while the likes of Motlop and Dumont play AFL is 'we don't give a shit about the future of this side'.

It's not just having no ruckman, it's pulling Finlayson out of the forward line when he's only just become settled in the side.
Hayes doesn't offer a lot apart from his tap work, his around the ground play isn't up to scratch but for 'structure' he should stay in the side.
If Teakle plays well this weekend he would be a massive chance against Sydney. Ladhams is likely too mobile for Hayes around the ground.

It's not just having no ruckman, it's pulling Finlayson out of the forward line when he's only just become settled in the side.
Hayes doesn't offer a lot apart from his tap work, his around the ground play isn't up to scratch but for 'structure' he should stay in the side.
If Teakle plays well this weekend he would be a massive chance against Sydney. Ladhams is likely too mobile for Hayes around the ground.
Mitch should come in so Dixon can ruck.