Opinion Changes Vs Geelong

Go watch the replays and study him mate.

He does not "gather" himself on enough occasions prior to attempting marks.

My guess is that it's probably due to being concerned about being in the contest for a second effort if he drops the mark.

His commitment to the contest is outstanding but he needs to tweek a few things in order to get a better payoff for his efforts. He needs to be encouraged to jump at the ball.

It basically sounds like an out of form Corey McKernan.

I would like to see some tinkering with the structure:

MacMahon. Grima. Thompson
Harper. Hansen. Firitto
Wells. Cunnington. Atley
Wright. Petrie. Thomas
Adams. Daw. Tarrant

Goldy. Zeibell. Swallow

Basti. Gibson. Hine. Anthony

In. MacMahon. Hine. Daw

Out. MacMillan. Jacobs. Mullett

Wright to play a negating role on Enright.
Firitto to pick up Chappy.
Daw to have a run in the ruck while Goldy goes to the pine.
Harper to provide run of half back.
Thompson to pick up medium forward and be third man up.
Atley and Wells to play outside the stoppages to create run with their pace.
Hine to tag Varcoe.

Go watch the replays and study him mate.

He does not "gather" himself on enough occasions prior to attempting marks.

My guess is that it's probably due to being concerned about being in the contest for a second effort if he drops the mark.

His commitment to the contest is outstanding but he needs to tweek a few things in order to get a better payoff for his efforts. He needs to be encouraged to jump at the ball.

I didn't articulate myself very well Tef, I agree with you. He goes hard at it, he needs to slow down a fraction when attacking the contest. Hence me saying that the way he attacks is the culprit, not that he doesn't read the flight.

PS (English was not my best subject, I'm a Math head):)

Daw wont debut until we play Sydney to sell out Tassie or Brissy for extra crowd numbers. Hell continue on until the round 8 clash where channel 7 will build up Daw vs Natanui as the major ejaculation of the century. Dear god help us that night if they both play. Bruce is already frothing everywhere

I think Drew up the ground as an "extra" ruckman needs a bit more consideration.

He made the AA squad as basically a free rolling KPP up and around the wings.

That was a long time ago. Outside of FF he hasn't fired a shot. When he goes to HF he does nothing, when we dropped him in the back half he couldn't take a mark back there. He has a few more years as a FF before he hangs up the boots, we just can't put it on top of his head because he can rag doll mediocre defenders, when he is on someone good he needs some reasonable delivery.

Worst case scenario is that Drew will drag out their best defender and do nothing. If he isn't getting the ball then we have to be smart about using the other options and rely more on the midfield kicking some of the score.

Our midfield was largely to blame for the Rd1 problems.

Geelong are a side which will match up well on the triple towers. (Lonergan, Taylor and Rivers)

Hawkins and Pods will also push our KPD's.

I have serious concerns if we take the same structure in to this match. Unfortunately, if there's one thing Brad can be counted on, it's his consistency with being completely unimaginative when it comes to team selection.

That was a long time ago. Outside of FF he hasn't fired a shot. When he goes to HF he does nothing, when we dropped him in the back half he couldn't take a mark back there. He has a few more years as a FF before he hangs up the boots, we just can't put it on top of his head because he can rag doll mediocre defenders, when he is on someone good he needs some reasonable delivery.

Worst case scenario is that Drew will drag out their best defender and do nothing. If he isn't getting the ball then we have to be smart about using the other options and rely more on the midfield kicking some of the score.

To be fair, he hasn't played anywhere other than FF for close to 3 years, apart from 3 or 4 minute cameo's.

He played one decoy role against Essendon last year, and was lauded for it.

I don't propose a decoy role, but rather a traditional CHF role, I wan't Taylor as far from the last line as possible.

Not sure you can blame the midfield, they were pretty good.
Someone mentioned the quality of clearances and the discrepancy between the two teams in that regard. What a salient point.... how many times do win the clearance only to have no runners in dangerous positions? Or conversely, when they won it, where were our runners to put pressure on Pendles et al who were able to deliver it perfectly to forwards leading into space.

We need more space in our forward line and better users of the pill and a better structure in dealing with clearances. We have too many players going to win the ball and not enough standing in dangerous positions ready to tackle (should we lose the clearance) or explode (should we win the clearance).

We need Atley, Harper and Wells to get into more dangerous positions and clog the space 5m meters from the stoppage where we can use their pace to get on the end of the few quality clearances we are able to manage.

NORTH MELBOURNE

INJURIES
Nil

ON THE BLOCK: Kieran Harper's attack on the ball is second to none but the young speedster must find a way to get more of the footy. Harper laid seven tackles, second only to Andrew Swallow (nine), which should hold him in good stead. Sam Wright enjoyed a solid NAB Cup campaign but faded badly against the Magpies. Liam Anthony was used as the substitute and got plenty of it once given a crack.

ON THE CUSP: Former Gold Coast defender Taylor Hine put his hand up for selection collecting 23 disposals for North's VFL affiliate Werribee last Saturday. Big Majak Daw kicked two goals pinch-hitting in the ruck with mature-aged recruit Daniel Currie. Levi Greenwood and Jordan Gysberts got plenty of it and could come into calculations. Suspended defender Scott McMahon is a certainty to line up against Geelong on Sunday.

GILBERT GARDINER'S FORECAST: North had a golden opportunity to knock off Collingwood missing up to eight of its best players and yet failed. Too much was left to too few with usual suspects Swallow and Daniel Wells at the forefront of the Kangaroos' fightback. Drew Petrie had his colours lowered but boasts the class to respond. Rookie Aaron Mullett was a revelation picking up 22 disposals across half-back. Hard-nosed midfielders Leigh Adams and Sam Gibson struggled to make an impact while Shaun Atley only showed glimpses of his best. Lindsay Thomas was the star with four goals and will be available after escaping suspension for his bump on Ben Reid.

GEELONG

INJURIES
Hamish McIntosh (knee) indefinite
Josh Hunt (glandular fever) indefinite
Daniel Menzel (knee) 2 weeks
Dawson Simpson (back) Indefinite
Jed Bews (foot) TBA
George Burbury (foot) TBA
Joel Corey (hip soreness) test
Steve Johnson (knee) 3 weeks
Josh Walker (shoulder) TBA

ON THE BLOCK: How could you fault the Cats? Prized recruit Josh Caddy was substituted out of the match at three-quarter time yesterday with 15 disposals at 47 per cent efficiency. Ruckman Trent West was nursed through the match and should benefit from the outing. Jared Rivers (knee) and Billie Smedts (winded) played out the game despite spending some time off the ground.

ON THE CUSP: James Kelly will be a walk-up start after serving his one-match ban carried over from last year’s elimination final. Veteran Joel Corey starred in the VFL last week and must also be considered for the trip west. Mitch Brown was the VFL standout with 34 disposals.

GILBERT GARDINER’S FORECAST: Skipper Joel Selwood was the difference yesterday and there is no reason why he can’t repeat the dose against North Melbourne on Sunday. Twin talls Tom Hawkins and James Podsiadly will provide plenty of headaches for the Kangaroos defenders. Paul Chapman slaughtered the Roos in the NAB Cup last month and could just as easily do it again. Add veterans Kelly and Corey to the mix and the Cats should be 2-0 by Sunday afternoon.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...-for-afl-round-2/story-e6frf9jf-1226610940898

We need more space in our forward line and better users of the pill and a better structure in dealing with clearances. We have too many players going to win the ball and not enough standing in dangerous positions ready to tackle (should we lose the clearance) or explode (should we win the clearance).

This has been an issue off and on for a few years and most of the teams that have strangled us have achieved this. I know that it's not that simple and teams are doing their best to make this happen but we need to find a way to recognise this and open up the forward line. I'm not football strategist and will happily admit that but we need a few options, whether that be playing someone like Jack Ziebell out of FF for a bit or moving all the players except a maximum of 2-3 (think Wells would be good as the crumber in these situations).

I think we probably have many of these solutions in the trick bag, just need to get better at realising when our space is being clogged and have plans in place to help free it up.

ie - skill level. We're going to struggle with the pressure thing until we get better users of the ball. It sounds simple and it is but it is going to continually be a problem until it's addressed.

Yeah sure, that's a solution and a part of any solution but I think we can do things to put less pressure on the skills when things aren't going our way.

However having someone who can kick goals reliably from 55 out for example could change things around and force teams to push up the ground. Jack can and should be able to do this and there are others. Tarrant is certainly more than capable of kicking 60m and we should look to use that if he's going to be in the team.

Yeah sure, that's a solution and a part of any solution but I think we can do things to put less pressure on the skills when things aren't going our way.

However having someone who can kick goals reliably from 55 out for example could change things around and force teams to push up the ground. Jack can and should be able to do this and there are others. Tarrant is certainly more than capable of kicking 60m and we should look to use that if he's going to be in the team.
Agree with all that. Scoreboard pressure makes all the difference in the world. But being smarter makes an even bigger difference. That's all I was saying.

Robbie needs to steady, collect himself and jump just prior to attempting an over head mark, rather than hitting the contest at flat out top pace.

The only mark that should be attempted at top pace is the chest mark.

It's a fault that can be easily fixed.

Then why doesn't one of the brainiacs down there fix it?

I agree with you about his technique when arriving at a contest. He's also got a major problem when he's already there and the ball is coming in high. In this situation he stands there like a large witches hat waiting to be pushed out of position. 7/10 he doesn't even get his hands into position to mark.

Having been listening to coaches, media experts and the like, it's interesting to not all go on about the first 4-6 weeks being hard running, fast games. Now just as a point of discussion, as I am a big fan of the triple towers. But is it worth maybe going back to the 2 big targets and adding an extra mid during this period. Once the games settle then bring back in the other.

Thoughts??

Having been listening to coaches, media experts and the like, it's interesting to not all go on about the first 4-6 weeks being hard running, fast games. Now just as a point of discussion, as I am a big fan of the triple towers. But is it worth maybe going back to the 2 big targets and adding an extra mid during this period. Once the games settle then bring back in the other.

Thoughts??

Not sure you can blame the midfield, they were pretty good.

Pretty good? I dunno. That sets the bar pretty low. We were pretty good at winning the first possession but as I said in another post, that is only half the battle and a midfielder's role is a lot more complex than just going for the stoppage, winning it and just banging it on to the boot.

53 inside 50s vs 52 for Collingwood and we only managed 7 marks inside 50 vs their 14. How many kicks out in front in space on the lead did our forwards drop? Not many spring to mind. Then you have to break down why we weren't getting those passes and it opens up the can of worms why our midfield was very poor overall.

We were good at winning clearances at the stoppages, that was about it. We were unable to string consecutive disposals, there was no run and carry. Wells had 2 bounces, Atley had 1 bounce and Grima had once bounceand that was it. Seriously only had one midfielder bounce the ball all game.

Someone mentioned the quality of clearances and the discrepancy between the two teams in that regard. What a salient point.... how many times do win the clearance only to have no runners in dangerous positions? Or conversely, when they won it, where were our runners to put pressure on Pendles et al who were able to deliver it perfectly to forwards leading into space.

Pendles and Swan don't bang the ball to boot as soon as they get it, they make an attempt to hit a target.

Space is relative to the time it takes you to transition the ball into attack. If it takes you forever to move the ball forwards then you have no space. If you just sky rainmakers from stoppage you are not going to havespace. Space requiresquick and precise movement.

We need Atley, Harper and Wells to get into more dangerous positions and clog the space 5m meters from the stoppage where we can use their pace to get on the end of the few quality clearances we are able to manage.

They need to hit a stoppage at speed, not stand flat footed 5m away from Swallow or Ziebell because as soon as they get the ball they have someone else coming off the line to tackle them at speed.

We lack motion. Motion makes it easier to tackle, it makes it easier to avoid being tackled. When you are flat footed you are an easy target to get tackled or put under pressure and it makes you very ineffective when you tackle.

We are so predictable you don't even need to watch the game, you just need to look at our stats, low tackles, no bouncing, a lot of contested possessions, lots of inside 50s and not many goal assists, not many marks inside 50. It is the hallmark stats on how we play reactive football.

When we take the game on our stats are very different, even if we lose those games.

Mullett was a revelation? Gibson is hard nosed?

Harps will hold his spot for two reasons. He deserves a 2nd crack after his preseason and 7 tackles in the forward half is a super effort.

To be fair, he hasn't played anywhere other than FF for close to 3 years, apart from 3 or 4 minute cameo's.

He played one decoy role against Essendon last year, and was lauded for it.

I don't propose a decoy role, but rather a traditional CHF role, I wan't Taylor as far from the last line as possible.

I was just highlighting the point he hasn't really performed well in any other role than full forward for a long time now, I wouldn't be looking to change things up.

Yeah, I don't mind the decoy role, the problem with that is you are only an effective decoy if the opposition buy into it and get sucked out of the contests. If they don't fear Petrie doing damage they are not going to abandon their structure when he runs out of position. He needs to perform against good teams, stand up in big games and not just kick bags against weak opposition. All good forwards pad their goal tally against weak opposition but he needs to give us more against good opposition.

I am not faulting him for the round one mess though, we really didn't give him much to compete with until the last quarter and the horse had already bolted by then.

Opinion Changes Vs Geelong