Preview Changes vs Sydney - Rd 17, 2021

Who takes Buddy this with with Gardner out? He will be too quick for Keath and too strong for Cordy.
People, esp the media, keep making the mistak eof comparing our individual defenders against opposition attack when we dont play 1:1, we play team defence and its working brilliantly. If our system works Buddy wont be 1 out with either Keith or Cordy. Trust the system, its worked so far

Looks like we’re Sunday arvo. What a huge shame.

That’s dog shit if true. Went from wanting a Friday night home game to chucked in on Sunday arvo? Was thinking it would be a Saturday night for TV purposes.

No doubt they will give that slot to Essendon if true then

Out: Naughton, Hannan
In: Schache, Richards

Schache in isn't my first choice, but as far as I see it it's one of four options:
  • Croz/Khamis in, Young or Cordy forward.
  • Sweet in, English forward.
  • JUH in.
  • Schache in.
In the VFL I thought Khamis and Sweet were both poor. Additionally I don't think Crozier or JUH were quite good enough to demand a spot, although there were promising signs there for both of them. That pretty much makes the decision for me.

Richards based on his previous game at AFL level is an easy inclusion, but it's trickier to decide who comes out of the side. It's probably out of Wallis, Hannan and Scott. I think Wallis earned a shot by making the most of his opportunities, which is more than you can say for Hannan recently, who continues to look just a touch off the pace. Scott wasn't great and I don't like him behind the ball at all, but Richards in should allow him to stay forward, where he has more credits in the bank than Hannan imo.

I expect Bev to pick Croz and play Young forward/ruck, but this is what I would go for.

Interesting one. Channel 7 will decide if covid arrangements does not effect the draw. The bulldogs V swans easily the better game. Geelong play boring down the line footy, However given the bigger supporter base maybe Channel 7 think they go with the cats and blues on Saturday night. Another factor is if there is a Thursday game the following round teams playing Sunday would be ruled out.

Also see the swans board already crying about what the free kick count will be in our favour.
A Swans supporting friend of mine moans constantly about the umpires, especially how the cheating umps gave us the 2016 flag and that it's a Melbourne V Sydney issue.
Even sent me a text yesterday crying about how they were being dudded by the umps, while being 15 goals ahead, ironically against a WA team.
I replied, pointing out that after round 11 (first figures that came to hand) the Swans were 9th on the free kick ladder with +7 differential.
He hasn't got back to me yet.

A Swans supporting friend of mine moans constantly about the umpires, especially how the cheating umps gave us the 2016 flag and that it's a Melbourne V Sydney issue.
Even sent me a text yesterday crying about how they were being dudded by the umps, while being 15 goals ahead, ironically against a WA team.
I replied, pointing out that after round 11 (first figures that came to hand) the Swans were 9th on the free kick ladder with +7 differential.
He hasn't got back to me yet.

I normally mention the official umpire review for that game…. The AFL said the performance was below standard BUT said the correct result occurred. How could they reach that conclusion unless, we needed to receive more free kicks. I know, the Swannies would have been even more upset…. IF that is even possible.

I have watched that game many times…. once with a former AFL umpire & they have the same view, we should have won more easily.

Sydney will get us I reckon. We are just too banged up at the moment. We can't stay competitive while missing all of Naughton, Dunks, Martin and Treloar. Sydney have done very well against top eight sides this year. Forfeit this one and we have games against Gold Coast and Adelaide to bounce back.
Yeah nah Sydney are not beating us we were on cruise control yesterday

I doubt we'll see Sweet in the team again this season unless he becomes our last ruckman standing. I can't see much improvement in his game overall that warrants selection. Yesterday, our second ruck: Glass- McCasker was able to put more body pressure on Campbell than Sweet. I haven't given up on him just yet but I'd be looking at another back up or first ruck option at season's end.
Yep I can’t understand why every week he gets a mention as coming in, you need to at least break even on BTC or your not in our team

Not for me it’s not I prefer day games and Sunday 3.20 is a premium TV slot
Also the extra day will give the players a bit more recovery time which they look like they need

Top of the table and two Sunday arvo games in a row. Wouldn't happen to any other team.
Playing the late Sunday game also means there's little chance of a quick switch to a Friday fixture because of the 5 day break it entails.

3.20 Sunday confirmed.

Tom Browne just said the Friday night Blockbuster Essendon v Crows 🤣

How pathetic, but utterly predictable.

That will mean up to now, both us (1st, only losing 3 times all year) and them (6 wins & only 1 win against a top 8 club) will have had the same amount of Friday night home games.

Plus we didn’t get the chance of having a crowd.

How pathetic, but utterly predictable.

That will mean up to now, both us (1st, only losing 3 times all year) and them (6 wins & only 1 win against a top 8 club) will have had the same amount of Friday night home games.

Plus we didn’t get the chance of having a crowd.

Our players didn’t get a week off they kept training. Their health and well-being is more important than one Friday night game. We have bigger fish to fry.

Our players didn’t get a week off they kept training. There health and well-being is more important than one Friday night game. We have bigger fish to fry.

Agreed, I knew that but this is about them getting it. It’s purely media driven and it’s about 3rd or 4th in line out of the games this week that it could have been

Preview Changes vs Sydney - Rd 17, 2021