Certified Legendary Thread Chapman, Roo, Fagan all of board must announce they will depart end of year.

In fairness to Reid, he is only a negotiator. He order come from above and I would like to believe all negations would pass the scrutiny of the board. If he was told to get Gibbs at all costs, mission accomplished.

It's fair to say that it's highly unlikely that Reid changed his mind to think Gibbs worth more with 12 more months on the clock. He got it done for the bare minimum and if Burton and Pyke hadn't destroyed the list, and we'd finished in the top handful, it would have looked better. But he was instructed to get it done, so SOS held the whip hand.

Rucci's story in the Indaily magazine is interesting

I suppose we could dismiss it as "Rucci" and "well, duh", but it is a good overview of our list management over the last 5-10 years. A couple of things that I thought were especially salient:

Reid moved on five of the players aged 30 or older – Eddie Betts (Carlton), Sam Jacobs (Greater Western Sydney), Josh Jenkins (Geelong), Richard Douglas (Norwood in the SANFL) and Andy Otten (Hawthorn coaching staff). Five remain – Gibbs, Tom Lynch, David Mackay, captain Rory Sloane and former captain Taylor Walker.

In a way, seeing that list laid out makes me more optimistic. OK Gibbs and Mackay may be a waste of list space, and there are question marks over Sloane and Walker, but if that's our list of over 30s, combined with the 5 we moved on, that's leaving a lot more space for younger players - which I guess we're seeing in selections this season.

In reflecting on Adelaide’s poor start, Wallace expresses “extreme disappointment” with well-established players such as Rory Laird, Brodie Smith and the Crouch brothers, Brad and All-Australian midfielder Matt who was dropped from the line-up in round 4.

“They have not done their bit to help (the team) through,” Wallace said. “So much gets lumped on (former captain) Taylor Walker, but it is those guys who are seen as their better players – All-Australians and top of the best-and-fairest leaderboard – who have let them down.”

OK LOL "The List Manager" and what he is saying may be the obvious, but it's nice to see it spelled out in the public domain. Except for Brodie - I don't think he deserves to be lumped in with the rest of that group, although I guess at the time that quote was taken he wasn't performing all that well.

I see Essendon can actually have a successful succession plan for their Chairman.
How hard can it be

"Essendon have chosen influential board member and former PwC chairman Paul Brasher as the club's next president, with Lindsay Tanner handing over the reins later this year."
Seeing "former PwC chairman" makes me think (again)... OK we need a Kennett type, that would be great, but not every strong/successful club has a Kennett and we probably don't have one in SA. But IMO and having worked for/with some of these people, there would be people in SA in places like accounting/consulting firm partnerships etc who would have the right combination of skills and personal attributes to run a successful football club board. We might not know their names, they might not be public figures, but they are there.

I could nominate a couple myself from my own experience, but they're probably well and truly retired if not passed on by now. :$

I still say Sue Dewing (Sturt) should be approached - either for Fagans job or a Board seat
I know not this Sue Dewing of whom you speak, but again and related to the above, we have a strong footy culture / league in SA, and there are / must be people in admin / management roles at SANFL clubs who can bring a lot to the table when it comes to board and middle management positions. Heck, we were founded by such people.

Sue has been running Sturt for at least the last 7 years and has personally dragged then back to solvency through diligence and hard work

So much so when speaking to a North supporter who lives in the area who has experienced watching Sue do oval litter clean ups herself or help painting fences etc. That tells me she is connected to both the financial and grass roots of a football operation

Seeing "former PwC chairman" makes me think (again)... OK we need a Kennett type, that would be great, but not every strong/successful club has a Kennett and we probably don't have one in SA. But IMO and having worked for/with some of these people, there would be people in SA in places like accounting/consulting firm partnerships etc who would have the right combination of skills and personal attributes to run a successful football club board. We might not know their names, they might not be public figures, but they are there.

I could nominate a couple myself from my own experience, but they're probably well and truly retired if not passed on by now. :$

That's why I thought it was disappointing when Jim Dowell left the board recently, He looked like the only person on the board who actually knew how a real board should operate and would have been a good selection as Chairman

Steven Trigg, a former Adelaide Football Club chief executive, has been out of AFL football for two years now. In the past month, the former SANFL footballer has been courted to be Rob Chapman’s successor as Crows chairman from October.

I feel sick

Steven Trigg, a former Adelaide Football Club chief executive, has been out of AFL football for two years now. In the past month, the former SANFL footballer has been courted to be Rob Chapman’s successor as Crows chairman from October.

I feel sick
I'm enjoying these articles

I wouldn't mind knowing who the other potential candidate mentioned is. And who the current director Chapman thinks can take over is. I suspect if we knew we'll be pissed

I feel sick
200.gif

"the only thing failing is the reason our club exists"

genius comment there.

Also I really don't understand this idea that we're performing well financially because facts don't back it up.

We should be a financial powerhouse of the AFL, same as West Coast. Instead we're only a middling financial power who constantly wastes money on ventures that will not be profitable such as AFLW, baseball and esports.

Yea like West Coast, a blank Stadium would have helped us as well along with the ability to keep the profit of over 80% of stadium ticket sakes on game day, West Coast and Freo have the best stadium deal in the AFL, which increase their Profit considerably.
Crows don't have that and they don't have Pokies,

Finicially the Club has preformed, well enough to allow the Crows to refuse the AFL COVID Bail out and go there own way.

No other area matters.
Yes it important which is why it the one area the Crow need to look more than anything else,
Improve the Football department but do not pull the club apart and spend the next 20 years rebuilding like many Vic teams have done.
You don't burn the house down to remove a few rats,

I'm enjoying these articles

I wouldn't mind knowing who the other potential candidate mentioned is. And who the current director Chapman thinks can take over is. I suspect if we knew we'll be pissed
This is why Chaman must go

“But why didn’t Mr Chapman put this vacancy on the Crows board before the 50,000 members to seek their views? It is because the Crows are run by the AFL Commission – and all Mr Chapman has to do is get the AFL Commission to endorse anyone he wants on the board. There is no consultation with the members.
also the scariest part
The uncertainty created by the COVID pandemic – that is leaving Australian football in heavy debt – could force Chapman to stay on, particularly when his current term as a director does not expire until February-March 2022.

yeah maybe we can continue with the past 20 year AFC catch cry of 'wel there's always next year'. Don't try to polish up where we are as a club. We are rock bottom and just being feel good positive won't turn things around. This is serious !

Read what I have said we need to improve the football Department, which is the department that will get us the win we need,
So let worry about that poor performing area, Maybe even wait a bit to see if the changes made in recent times work.
And leave the Finical side of Club alone for a while until the Crow did themselves out of the COVID Hole.

This is why Chaman must go

“But why didn’t Mr Chapman put this vacancy on the Crows board before the 50,000 members to seek their views? It is because the Crows are run by the AFL Commission – and all Mr Chapman has to do is get the AFL Commission to endorse anyone he wants on the board. There is no consultation with the members.
also the scariest part
The uncertainty created by the COVID pandemic – that is leaving Australian football in heavy debt – could force Chapman to stay on, particularly when his current term as a director does not expire until February-March 2022.
Try and look at the positives. There was an insinuation that Fagan may resign, something a poster brought up on this board here earlier in the year (or that he'd been exploring his options elsewhere - Sanders from memory).

And that there are appear to be good people that are trying to break up Chapman's hold over the board.

Try and look at the positives. There was an insinuation that Fagan may resign, something a poster brought up on this board here earlier in the year (or that he'd been exploring his options elsewhere).

And that there are appear to be good people that are trying to break up Chapman's hold over the board.
I must say Rucci has done a good job even though his research may have mostly come from BF. :D

It's fair to say that it's highly unlikely that Reid changed his mind to think Gibbs worth more with 12 more months on the clock. He got it done for the bare minimum and if Burton and Pyke hadn't destroyed the list, and we'd finished in the top handful, it would have looked better. But he was instructed to get it done, so SOS held the whip hand.
Not Just Burton and Pyke interference, the man at the top making the Calls on list management needs to move out of that role or out of the Club.
Roo is the director of List management an all decisions flow-thru him, and until last year his good mate Burton.
Reid has been Hamstrung in recent years by having too many masters. None of them any good.

Try and look at the positives. There was an insinuation that Fagan may resign, something a poster brought up on this board here earlier in the year (or that he'd been exploring his options elsewhere - Sanders from memory).

I saw Mrs Fagan at an open inspection a few weeks back, so either she was checking something out for a friend, or the Fagans plan on staying around a while longer

One can only hope.

Read what I have said we need to improve the football Department, which is the department that will get us the win we need,
So let worry about that poor performing area, Maybe even wait a bit to see if the changes made in recent times work.
And leave the Finical side of Club alone for a while until the Crow did themselves out of the COVID Hole.

Yes because clearly we refused the AFLs money just because we could. Not because we had anything to hide.

Funny how several clubs in a better financial position than us still took the money.

Also who do you think hold ultimate responsibility for the football department and the people that staff it? The board, the CEO and the director of football.

The fact those same people continued to make poor decision after poor decision as to who to entrust our football department to shows they completely lack judgement. Even if I was to concede they managed our finances well (I dont), it wouldn't overcome the damage they've done to our core business.

Yes because clearly we refused the AFLs money just because we could. Not because we had anything to hide.

Funny how several clubs in a better financial position than us still took the money.

Also who do you think hold ultimate responsibility for the football department and the people that staff it? The board, the CEO and the director of football.

The fact those same people continued to make poor decision after poor decision as to who to entrust our football department to shows they completely lack judgement. Even if I was to concede they managed our finances well (I dont), it wouldn't overcome the damage they've done to our core business.
Not correct maybe you should look into it a bit further, and maybe just look at what the AFL expects clubs to do if they take the money.

Certified Legendary Thread Chapman, Roo, Fagan all of board must announce they will depart end of year.