Chris Judd

Since 2003, the finalised votes are cast 5 minutes before the final siren. Up until 2002,the votes were handed in at 3 quarter time.

Draw your own conclusions.

Both Juddy and Bucks won Norm Smiths in losing Grand Finals, both played great. In both situations they were deserved, but if the best player from the winning team received it, then fair enough.

I actually disagree with Judd's Norm Smith. And all others from losing sides. How can you be the best onfield in a losing side?

The NS should be awarded to the best player of the best side on the day. During H&A matches I can see the value, but in the Grand Final, all accolades should be given to the victorious.

I think ONLY giving it to the best player on the best team would require a redefining of the medal entirely.

Oh, and for what it's worth, all that talk of 'three quarter time voting' is rubbish. I was able to find this from an ABC news article at the time:

Norm Smith judge calls for voting change
One of the Norm Smith Medal judges from the weekend grand final has played down controversy regarding the voting method used to select the medal's winner.

Judges were asked to vote 10 minutes before the end of the game, prompting speculation that medal recipient Nathan Buckley may not have won the award had the votes been taken after the siren.

ABC commentator Dwayne Russell, who was one of the five judges, says he may have given Buckley one less vote, but says he still would have been the eventual winner.

But he says the system should be changed in the future to avoid a similar situation.

"Well this controversy this year will maybe spark the AFL into action to make sure they wait until the final siren to make a decision," he said.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/newsitems/200209/s688770.htm

Since 2003, the finalised votes are cast 5 minutes before the final siren. Up until 2002,the votes were handed in at 3 quarter time.

Draw your own conclusions.

You said your post was factual. Now you are asking us to draw our own conclusions.

My own conclusion is that you just made it up to suit your argument and you have been caught out.

Could you find a link that states the votes were handed in at 3/4 time, or are they some more fabrications on your behalf??????

judds amazing running and gut running power, allows him to dominate games and decide how the games is gonna end up. not to many players can go with him all day. i reckon his best footy is still ahead of him and if it is. look out, thats gonna be scarey and exciting to see

During the saints game, one commentator said Judd must be "Tired after last week"
WTF ?

Still, it shows calton can win with him on minimal input

Bet he still gets brownlow votes

During the saints game, one commentator said Judd must be "Tired after last week"
WTF ?

Still, it shows calton can win with him on minimal input

Bet he still gets brownlow votes

Minimal input for Judd still = being one of the best on ground for average player. He was not Judd-like awesome, but he was one of the best 3-4 players on the ground so he will be right in vote contention. Fisher was fantastic. Duigan and Judd steadied the blues and were there best in the 2nd half.

If Yarran doesn't poll more votes than Juddy in this game it will be a huge shock to me. I know Judd worked himself in to it in the second half, but Yarran was just silky smooth all night.....except the one fumble.

What's happened to Judd's goal sense? Had a couple of chances to nail goals in the last half that should have been bread and butter!

I've been watching him a lot more closely this year (seems like Carlton have been on FTA a lot this year) and Judd has this incredible way of hitting the ball at speed. It means that even when he doesn't collect possession or get it away cleanly he still pushes the pack in his preferred direction, it's amazing to see.

If Yarran doesn't poll more votes than Juddy in this game it will be a huge shock to me. I know Judd worked himself in to it in the second half, but Yarran was just silky smooth all night.....except the one fumble.

Yarran or Gibbs were bog easily. Judd would have been 4th or 5th best, but you wait until Brownlow night son.

C.Judd - 3 Votes

Obviously a good player. But last night summed him up... at important stages, Judd gets the ball in traffic, runs through a few players and kicks it back to St Kilda.

Judd marks the ball just outside fifty... the resulting kick looks like he is spotting up a Saints defender.

Judd needs to kick a team lifting goal... but misses... again.

Fantastic player, but one who should not kick the football, because he is distinctly average at that aspect of the game.

We have 15 blokes who shouldn't kick the football, so he's the perfect leader for us :eek:.

Good effort from Judd to get involved in the second half. Did some nice things. Not a vote-winning game, no matter how much the haters want to carry on. Another 0.3 from Juddy, too. Come on, man, correct that slice. Misses right every. single. damn. time.

Judd seems to be a bit more emotionally involved in the game the past couple of weeks. Pleasing to see.

If he learns to kick goals again he'll be without a doubt the most damaging mid in the league.

Obviously a good player. But last night summed him up... at important stages, Judd gets the ball in traffic, runs through a few players and kicks it back to St Kilda.

Judd marks the ball just outside fifty... the resulting kick looks like he is spotting up a Saints defender.

Judd needs to kick a team lifting goal... but misses... again.

The commentators seem to use the phrase "uncharacteristic mistake" a lot. How often until it becomes characteristic I wonder.
Judd's kicking is bordering on embarassing, his chokes in front of goal, and it is every game, seem to go uncommentated. Unbelievable.
Excellent clearance player, pointless in any other form of the game.

The commentators seem to use the phrase "uncharacteristic mistake" a lot. How often until it becomes characteristic I wonder.
Judd's kicking is bordering on embarassing, his chokes in front of goal, and it is every game, seem to go uncommentated. Unbelievable.
Excellent clearance player, pointless in any other form of the game.
Did Judd touch you in a naughty place?

As much as I admire the way Chris Judd Plays, last night was the third unsportsmanlike effort Ive seen from him over the past 3 years.
1. The Eye Gouge on the Brissie Player
2. The Elbow on Pav (how he didnt get suspended for that, Ill never know)
3. The shove into the fence- Its Unnecessary behaviour from anyone let alone from a champion of the game
Oh and as an aside, I cant seem to recall him butchering the ball in any of his previous seasons as I have so far this season..

Chris Judd