Traded Chris Yarran [to Richmond for Pick 19]

Wow lucky thing Yarran's contracted, CFC are very miserly too so pick 12 or nulla.
Just to update you , We're expecting an early second rounder for Bell and RFC is desperately trying to coerce us to same for Yarran.
Hi SOS, didn't know you had a account on BF!

As good as Yarran is it shows his true character the way he has left.

Agree.

As I've said before, I'm not thrilled about Richmond picking him up for just that reason.

But at the same time, it's a joke the Carlton fans saying that it doesn't affect his value and that the club will keep him if they don't get exactly what they want. Near enough will get the job done, because no club, especially one in a rebuild, would want to keep a guy who will probably be a cancer on the club's culture.

Agree.

As I've said before, I'm not thrilled about Richmond picking him up for just that reason.

But at the same time, it's a joke the Carlton fans saying that it doesn't affect his value and that the club will keep him if they don't get exactly what they want. Near enough will get the job done, because no club, especially one in a rebuild, would want to keep a guy who will probably be a cancer on the club's culture.
Talent wise, his hands, arms and legs worth a 5 to 8 pick.
His head which is mostly elsewhere is around a pick 50.
Overall package is somewhere in between, around 22-28

Exactly why I hope Richmond don't pick him up. Seems 17 or 21 will do the deal but I'm really indifferent on this trade. Can't understand how Carlton could demand 12 after reading the above.

We can demand whatever we like.
What we get is a completely different thing all together.

So many excuses. I hate that he represented the club the way he did this year. And that should count for a lot.
Threw in the towel when it got too hard and that should never be forgotten.
If Carlton doesn't stand for anything else but simple things like respect the jumper and pride in your performance well Yarran fails on both accounts.
To hear some supporters say we should keep him just amazes me.
But then again you want to trade our 1st pick so why am I surprised that you say what you say.

You are assessing the situation purely from an emotional stand point. Afl is a business, and like it or not players care little for which guernsey they wear on their backs. Some players respect their workplace more than others, and like with any business its up to the employer to create the correct environment for employees to thrive

Carlton clearly haven't done that as we can see from other examples (betts, garlett, Jacobs, Robinson, laidler, Waite)

The bottom line is Alastair Carlson, probably the greatest coach of all time wants Yarran. I didn't see the Hawks going after any of our other players, did you?

. I don't see SOS jumping up and down in the media making demands, so both parties are probably fully aware of where they're at.

We are committed to Yarran, so I can't see the trade falling over. Even if the Astbury pick ends up being 21, I reckon you blokes will take it just quietly. Has SOS come out and categorically said first round or GTFO? Pick 17, Pick 21...meh same same.

SOS is no Dodo. You won't ever see him jumping up and down in media. He is just straight forward character and tells you how it is.
He has indicated a first round for Yarran is what we require in the only thing I seen of him all week on tv. A pick 12 is that obviously and Pick 17 is that, pick 21 is not. I'm sure Dan Richardson understands a good outcome for all parties is pick 17 will see the deal done with little fuss next week.

if we're not adequetely compensated the twit can sit out next year in the 2nds and learn to like it.
There's no way CFC will be compromised over this deal.
We're holding firm Pick 15 to 18 is his diluted value due to his childishness this year, nothing less will shake him from us.
He'll not be released for a pick in the 20 to 25 range.
and he wont sit it out in the reserves if you think that your living in fantasy land, I would expect in the end a deal will be done, he has made it pretty clear where he wants to be next year.

They are willing to give 15 (if they get it) but not 12.

Double standards mate.
We obviously have our eye on some players in the draft that will require a pick around 12 to get, a pick at 21 may still achieve Carltons aim of picking up some players from GWS, if this is the case Carlton will take 21, if it isn't the case they will hold out, no one is going to be stubborn just for principles sake it would be silly to do so.

HOLD THE PRESSES, JAKSCH2YARRAN HAS SOMETHING POSITIVE TO SAY ABOUT YARRAN

Spin to say he's inconsistent and soft. Hasn't squibbed it

Never said he was soft, I mean he is, but he's outside and that's what most outside footballers are like, it's their position. But he's inconsistent, the difference between a good year and bad year for Yarran is huge. I mean either he's inconsistent, or when he's had one of his poor years, he's not inconsistent, just lazy. Either way, you get a lot of half effort games from him.

and had an inconsistent season bar this year where he wanted out like Hendo. In 2014, Yarran kicked 21 goals nine and added another 104 touches to his 2013 efforts. His form was on the up.

When? This year? Oh no wait in 2014 he had a slightly better season than 2013. That's not really on the up.

Laugh that you're hot for an "inconsistent" player who is just 24 and would walk into the spot Newman occupied.

So no 24 year old player is inconsistent? Oh and being better than Newman at small forward isn't really that hard.

You know that you're not going to find a damaging utility close to their peak in the draft. He doesn't have real issues like Bennell who was worth a pick upgrade plus a second round pick.

There's accepting not getting a damaging player and then there's just giving up your first round pick and bending over. You already managed to get a first round pick for Henderson because they're desperate for KPDs, but I doubt Richmond will be that foolish.

Quibbling over pick 12 like it's a mile better than 17 is wasting everyone's time. If the cards fall the right way, Richmond or Carlton could get the same player. Tigers need to pull their finger out like the Hawks, Cats and Carlton who trade after identifying their target. We didn't pussy foot around and burn Jaksch after he chose Carlton over St Kilda. If Yarran stays and he still wants out, Tigers could easily get crossed off his list for the Hawks, North, the Dogs, Cats or one of the WA sides who don't play hard to get.

Yeah because Carlton are trading geniuses, you've been overpaying for years. And Hawthorn rarely ever overpays for players.

We will not take it. We think hes worth pick 12, your club is complaining no hes not worth pick 12, we think hes worth a pick in the 20s, to which our club has said, we want a first rounder or no deal.

So now your club is trying to find a pick in the 15-18 range....

You probably won't find it and eventually hand over pick 12 for Yarran.

We will not budge for anything less then a first rounder, and your club has been in Yarrans ear most of the year. We know your desperate to buy, we are not desperate to sell.
Rubbish you are as desperate as us, don't kid yourself, all reports keep saying Carlton's main priority is to get Yarran to Richmond and he was mentioned as a player that Carlton would likely trade way before Richmond were involved in any discussions with him.

You have a new coach so things may have changed but Yarran is a player that was unwanted at Carlton in 2015 and has set his sights on going to Richmond, best for all is for us to get a pick from 17 - 21 and for Carlton to take it, if we cant get that then we will likely have to use 12 to get him in the end, but there is no rush and to be honest the feeling you get from our supporters is if we get him good if we don't well so be it.

He will be half the player if he stays at Carlton. Like staying in a bad marriage.

We have an awesome record of getting recruits to play the best footy of their careers. Get a strong leader like Chocco on his back and he can be a jet.

$450k of members money to see him kick the dew and doze off in team meetings? If that's what it costs to "make a point", then the Blues will go backwards by keeping him, if that's even possible

Yarran's price is a first rounder. Richmond have been in his ear for at least half of 2015. Richmond have a first rounder, but for some reason they thought they'd make it past week one of the finals, and now that their pick is slightly higher than expected they're trying to have their cake and eat it too.

Three options, since they don't back themselves to have a high teens 2016 pick
  1. find another first rounder
  2. pay the one they already have
  3. walk away
Pick 21 is none of these. Pick 21 is an insult.

Given Yarran has made it clear he won't go anywhere else, you guys have two options:

1. Take what we offer, which won't be pick 12

2. Say no and keep a well paid player running around in your VFL side next year before he walks out at years end.

Either way, Richmond don't lose. I could understand Carlton backing themselves to bring him back into the fold next year if that's the path they choose. Yarran has made it clear he doesn't want to be there though. Could easily become a toxic situation for the blues.

If we get 17, I'd almost hope we keep it rather than hand it over for a bloke that has thrown in the towel like yarran has when the club desperately needed leadership. Poor character.

Wow lucky thing Yarran's contracted, CFC are very miserly too so pick 12 or nulla.
Just to update you , We're expecting an early second rounder for Bell and RFC is desperately trying to coerce us to same for Yarran.
Contracted, walked out, nothing to do with B&F, sent instagram, no contact with CFC. Getting paid just under $10K a week to Laze about...

Look, he has left you guys...You will be rebuilding for the next few years. Murphy will be retired and Gibbs close...Yarran has to walk if he wasn't motivated when his two mates were moved on he won't be again next year.

At his current state pick 18-23.

Given Yarran has made it clear he won't go anywhere else, you guys have two options:

2. Say no and keep a well paid player running around in your VFL side next year before he walks out at years end.

Either way, Richmond don't lose. I could understand Carlton backing themselves to bring him back into the fold next year if that's the path they choose. Yarran has made it clear he doesn't want to be there though. Could easily become a toxic situation for the blues.

If we get 17, I'd almost hope we keep it rather than hand it over for a bloke that has thrown in the towel like yarran has when the club desperately needed leadership. Poor character.

Pick 40 or so next year as a FA, too.
First thing Carlton need to do is clear the decks of players who don't want to be there.

As good as Yarran is it shows his true character the way he has left.

Whilst the Tiges will improve with him they'll never win a flag with players like Yarran in their side.

Peaheart, which is a shame because he is a gun when he chooses to be.
lol never win a flag with players like Yarran, don't be stupid, Hawthorn has won flags with Lake etc players that were trouble for there old clubs and they were willing to take Yarran in what could be a year they win 4 in a row, attitude is not permanent and is often styled by your environment.

Carlton started a rebuild and Yarran was one they targeted early on as good trade material, you could see the whole Carlton team not just Yarran give in once the rebuild talk started, that doesn't mean in a different environment he wont be a great player and clubman.

lol never win a flag with players like Yarran, don't be stupid, Hawthorn has won flags with Lake etc players that were trouble for there old clubs and they were willing to take Yarran in what could be a year they win 4 in a row, attitude is not permanent and is often styled by your environment.

Carlton started a rebuild and Yarran was one they targeted early on as good trade material, you could see the whole Carlton team not just Yarran give in once the rebuild talk started, that doesn't mean in a different environment he wont be a great player and clubman.

Lake always gave 100% on field no matter what and did not sulk anywhere near as much when the going got tough.

And I didn't see the likes of Everitt, Bell, Cripps, Docherty, Murphy etc. drop their heads when the season was lost.

Good on Yaz, he'll be allowed to play his natural game in a top 8 team where he has a looser license. He'll also probably get a payrise. Next year should be his best year at AFL level.

The way he sulked and dropped his head is just what's poor about this whole situation.

Carlton has the worst list in the competition. Not much argument there.

Players with the flair of Yarran will never shine brightest in such environments as whoever is the latest coach will try to teach everyone to lock down and not get flogged before moving on to being competitive.

Blues holding on to an outside finisher like Chris would be like a crap side recruiting Daisy Thomas. Oh....

I have witnessed James Frawley play some of the most disinterested football I have ever seen in his time at Melbourne.

High level coaches would hardly even consider this when evaluating whether or not to recruit.
They understand that good structure, discipline and leadership moulds players into what they need.

All a coach like Clarkson would look at when assessing Yarran is what he can do, not what his current attitude is for the wooden spooners

I for one was more confident this year than other two
We just needed to win that first final, but we played a side that always matches well against us and has had the edge
They rested most of their squad, it worked in their favour

I don't mind the Tiges actually.
I think like most people I would rather see them do well than Collingwood or Essendon.
Being from the west though, I want to see all the Victorian clubs stronger again cos the interstate lot (WCE/Dockers over here) are bloody unbearable and think they own the league.
I like footy the way it used to be - finals at the 'G!
I think the Tigers will start having more finals success as long as they don't start getting sucked into Carlisle type trades for the sake of landing a big fish.

It seems plenty say Richmond were into Yarran all year and so now should pony up whatever is demanded.
Do any of the Carlton crew look at their own club and point the finger?
When the rebuild was announced didnt Gibbs and Murphy have some concerns they might be on the trade table and end up having some consultation with the footy department where they were told they were "required players"
Was Yarren or any others were guaranteed their spot or was it suggested that they'd be up as trade bait?
Maybe Yarran knew where he stood in their thinking and future plans and played accordingly
Imo, you reap what you sow.
Hopefully a fair deal can be reached where both clubs are reasonably happy with the outcome.

Pick 40 or so next year as a FA, too.
First thing Carlton need to do is clear the decks of players who don't want to be there.

17 is a fair compromise, if Richmond are serious that's what they'll offer. Yaz has never been a leader and if Richmond weren't in his ear who knows what would have happened.

Bolton already reached out to Yarran to convince him to stay, with his footballing and financial future on the line next year I'd be amazed if he doesn't play to bump up his next contract (whoever it is with).

Gotta remember, if Richmond sign him as FA on his current wage that's a 2nd round compo. For a bottom 2 side that's a low 20s pick in a deeper draft. Bottom line, if Richmond don't produce a first rounder they're wasting all our time, and until the Astbury deal is done we'll just keep arguing around in circles.

A lot of speculation about Yarran being on the trade table all year as soon as the rebuild was announced but absolutely no proof.

He was only on the trade table because of his disinterest and the voices grew louder as the year moved on. That was Yarran's fault, not Carlton's.

17 is a fair compromise, if Richmond are serious that's what they'll offer. Yaz has never been a leader and if Richmond weren't in his ear who knows what would have happened.

Bolton already reached out to Yarran to convince him to stay, with his footballing and financial future on the line next year I'd be amazed if he doesn't play to bump up his next contract (whoever it is with).

Gotta remember, if Richmond sign him as FA on his current wage that's a 2nd round compo. For a bottom 2 side that's a low 20s pick in a deeper draft. Bottom line, if Richmond don't produce a first rounder they're wasting all our time, and until the Astbury deal is done we'll just keep arguing around in circles.
Yep, it will be whatever we can get for Astbury and 31. 17 or 21. Leppas supposedly a big fan of Dave so hope for you guys it's 17.

Traded Chris Yarran [to Richmond for Pick 19]