Collingwood and Richmond - who has the greater supporter base

Just a reminder: Terms like “Minnowmond”, “Shrinkingwood”, “Dwindlewood” and the like belong on the bay, not the main board. Same goes for referring to either team as a minnow, when clearly neither fits that description.

If you see stuff like this, don’t respond with more of it. Click ‘report’ so we can deal with it.

You don't rattle me one bit, make me laugh, yes.

The reason I replied, because it looks to me you think you have this big gotcha moment, but got check your lowest crowd v WC, at the G.

You have been in this thread from the get go, I think you may be the rattled one.

Hahahaha give it a spell champ. The reason you replied was you didn't like the 20K mention but had no issues with your pies mate to first mention about 7K not sure why but that's the cold hard facts. Ohh don't assume and certainly don't think, as you're way off base.

I think you have forgotten your own posting :think: you were in this thread before me lol before I started posting.

This is hilarious, you tell me why I replied, then tell me not to assume.

There is a Top contributors tab up top, check it out, it will tell who who is rattled, 270 posts worth, I think this is my measly 37th

hahaha you don't even comprehend my post, you made an assumption that was factually wrong, and you then stated I have been in this thread from the get-go but you had been here before me ROFL, and now in your own words you're trying a gotcha moment with how many posts I made to you geez you're embarrassing yourself, and dragging me along with your pettiness, seriously jog on!!! I'm leaving it there we are going around circles.

But there is if you think about it.

Coaches vote for the best players on the field. Now in this year’s voting, Nick Daicos has polled the most so far, and through his influence on games, we’re seeing such high numbers of fans turning out to AFL games.

So in other words, Nick Daicos = why Collingwood have the greatest supporter base.
Beer Ok GIF by Busch

Two facts:

Collingwood have the bigger supporter base.

Collingwood have won nothing recently.
Yeah - and what is Collingwoods win/loss record against every other team in the history of the comp - i think the Magpies would be in positive territory basically against every other side - and in my opinion all games count

You will quickly quote Grand Finals - and ive seen losses and ive seen wins - - but they are one off winner take all games - and you only have to look back say the last 15 years in PFs where the raging red hot favourites have got mighty scares - in fact some have actually lost - again one off sudden death games

In my opinion GFs are a little bit like FA Cup finals - and i will never ever forget way way back when i was a kid - Southhampton who were in the old Division 3 - beat some high flying Division 1 team - in fact it might have even been Manchester United in a FA Cup final - but if they met 20 times i know who would be in front in the win ledger

This thread hasn’t disappointed so far.

It's so dumb... 84 pages of debate and no closer to even reaching a consensus on what 'greater supporter base' means.

I interpret it to mean 'largest', which could be measured using the most commonly agreed attendance and membership figures. Whatever the most reliable and logical data says would be good enough for most, and doesn't imply anything else so I am not sure why some supporters are so emotionally attached to the result.

I mean, no one would debate that Hawthorn or Geelong have a larger supporter base than Collingwood for example (if that's what is meant by greater), but I reckon fans of those clubs would feel pretty secure about that given how much more successful they have been than Collingwood... I'd certainly be a lot prouder of 3 premierships in the last decade or so than slightly bigger crowds than several comparable clubs.

If an Anzac Day match on a sunny day between Collingwood and Essendon while both in the top 4 fell almost 5k short, I can't see any other H&A game doing it. I think only GFs have been getting 100k crowds for a while now? When was the last 100k non-GF crowd (if someone has the stat handy!).

Yeah - and what is Collingwoods win/loss record against every other team in the history of the comp - i think the Magpies would be in positive territory basically against every other side - and in my opinion all games count
Collingwood's H2H record:
  • St Kilda = 162 wins, 2 draws, 60 losses
  • Melbourne = 153 wins, 5 draws, 84 losses
  • Western Bulldogs = 110 wins, 1 draw, 49 losses
  • North Melbourne = 110 wins, 2 draws, 52 losses
  • Sydney = 143 wins, 1 draw, 87 losses (includes South Melbourne)
  • Fitzroy = 131 wins, 3 draws, 75 losses
  • Geelong = 135 wins, 1 draw, 104 losses
  • Hawthorn = 99 wins, 0 draws, 69 losses
  • Richmond = 121 wins, 2 draws, 92 losses
  • Essendon = 135 wins, 4 draws, 106 losses
  • Adelaide = 31 wins, 1 draw, 15 losses
  • University = 13 wins, 1 draw, 0 losses
  • Brisbane Bears = 13 wins, 0 draws, 2 losses
  • Gold Coast = 10 wins, 0 draws, 3 losses
  • Fremantle = 21 wins, 0 draws, 14 losses
  • Carlton = 130 wins, 4 draws, 128 losses
  • GWS = 7 wins, 0 draws, 6 losses
  • Port Adelaide = 18 wins, 0 draws, 18 losses
  • West Coast = 27 wins, 1 draw, 31 losses
  • Brisbane Lions = 15 wins, 0 draws, 22 losses

If an Anzac Day match on a sunny day between Collingwood and Essendon while both in the top 4 fell almost 5k short, I can't see any other H&A game doing it. I think only GFs have been getting 100k crowds for a while now? When was the last 100k non-GF crowd (if someone has the stat handy!).
100K has never been achieved in a H&A match.

Last time it happened in a non-GF was the 1971 Prelim between St Kilda and Richmond which had 102,494 in attendance that day.

You will quickly quote Grand Finals - and ive seen losses and ive seen wins - - but they are one off winner take all games - and you only have to look back say the last 15 years in PFs where the raging red hot favourites have got mighty scares - in fact some have actually lost - again one off sudden death games

In my opinion GFs are a little bit like FA Cup finals - and i will never ever forget way way back when i was a kid - Southhampton who were in the old Division 3 - beat some high flying Division 1 team - in fact it might have even been Manchester United in a FA Cup final - but if they met 20 times i know who would be in front in the win ledger
I agree.

If flags are the only thing that provides a supporter with enjoyment in footy, they might as well start following some other pursuit.

The only way we can get any sort of consistent intrinsic satisfaction as a footy fan is to celebrate the wins along the way.

But perhaps some posters on this thread - not necessarily Collingwood supporters who have every right to defend their club against insults - need to be reminded that Richmond have done very well lately to dig themselves out of the longstanding doldrums and create something of a football renaissance.

Collingwood's H2H record:
  • St Kilda = 162 wins, 2 draws, 60 losses
  • Melbourne = 153 wins, 5 draws, 84 losses
  • Western Bulldogs = 110 wins, 1 draw, 49 losses
  • North Melbourne = 110 wins, 2 draws, 52 losses
  • Sydney = 143 wins, 1 draw, 87 losses (includes South Melbourne)
  • Fitzroy = 131 wins, 3 draws, 75 losses
  • Geelong = 135 wins, 1 draw, 104 losses
  • Hawthorn = 99 wins, 0 draws, 69 losses
  • Richmond = 121 wins, 2 draws, 92 losses
  • Essendon = 135 wins, 4 draws, 106 losses
  • Adelaide = 31 wins, 1 draw, 15 losses
  • University = 13 wins, 1 draw, 0 losses
  • Brisbane Bears = 13 wins, 0 draws, 2 losses
  • Gold Coast = 10 wins, 0 draws, 3 losses
  • Fremantle = 21 wins, 0 draws, 14 losses
  • Carlton = 130 wins, 4 draws, 128 losses
  • GWS = 7 wins, 0 draws, 6 losses
  • Port Adelaide = 18 wins, 0 draws, 18 losses
  • West Coast = 27 wins, 1 draw, 31 losses
  • Brisbane Lions = 15 wins, 0 draws, 22 losses
I have great confidence that University will square the ledger in the not-too-distant future :D

Collingwood and Richmond - who has the greater supporter base