Collingwood membership Numbers for 09 Target 50,000!

Its actually been rather good this year, heaps better then last year.

Yes last year i agree it was rubbish, but they have improved

With all due respect, that is a load of shit.

I went to the Lexus Centre on the 3rd of March (I was in Europe for almost all of February, returning on Saturday the 28th). I paid my Concession Social Club membership worth $335 in cash.

The only thing I have received off the club is a receipt. That's the only evidence that I have spent money.

I don't have my membership, I don't have my medallion, I don't even have my ****ing bumper sticker. I can't get my hat, which I queried about on NAB Cup Grand Final night, because I don't have my membership card!

Now put this into perspective of the Melbourne Storm, which I am also a financial member of (also Social Club). I rang up on Thursday the 12th of March, with the first game the next night. I couldn't go as I made the wise decision to see the shit I saw at Etihad Stadium. They said they would send out my stuff in the mail. I received it all - membership card, with my name printed on it, medallion, booklet, all the usual shit, on Tuesday the 17th!

It's ****ing amateur hour at the Lexus Centre, and we have the most expensive memberships of any football code in the ****ing country. $335 isn't cheap when you've stopped working full time to be a full time uni student to finish your degree...and I've donated $100 to sponsor one of their players, where I'm not really likely to actually see anything out of it...the members have been treated like shit. Plain and simple.

Oh and I have been on hold for 13 minutes and counting....

With all due respect, that is a load of shit.

I went to the Lexus Centre on the 3rd of March (I was in Europe for almost all of February, returning on Saturday the 28th). I paid my Concession Social Club membership worth $335 in cash.

The only thing I have received off the club is a receipt. That's the only evidence that I have spent money.

I don't have my membership, I don't have my medallion, I don't even have my ****ing bumper sticker. I can't get my hat, which I queried about on NAB Cup Grand Final night, because I don't have my membership card!

Now put this into perspective of the Melbourne Storm, which I am also a financial member of (also Social Club). I rang up on Thursday the 12th of March, with the first game the next night. I couldn't go as I made the wise decision to see the shit I saw at Etihad Stadium. They said they would send out my stuff in the mail. I received it all - membership card, with my name printed on it, medallion, booklet, all the usual shit, on Tuesday the 17th!

It's ****ing amateur hour at the Lexus Centre, and we have the most expensive memberships of any football code in the ****ing country. $335 isn't cheap when you've stopped working full time to be a full time uni student to finish your degree...and I've donated $100 to sponsor one of their players, where I'm not really likely to actually see anything out of it...the members have been treated like shit. Plain and simple.

Oh and I have been on hold for 13 minutes and counting....
Your right its still ****ed, but its better then last year

Also we are the most expensive sport to go and see in this country of course that means our membership prices are high

Collingwood’s membership total surpassed the 40,000 mark on the morning of Friday 27 March, one day before the club takes on Adelaide for round one at the MCG.

The membership campaign, “SIDE by SIDE” has targeted all Collingwood supporters to get behind the team and become official club members.

New packages including guaranteed grand final access for legend members, increased family options and innovative packages such as the three-game membership have contributed to the 10% increase in membership totals this time last year.

The club's director of membership, Justin Reeves, credits the rise to a deliberate campaign focused on engaging the Collingwood faithful.

“We asked our members and supporters for feedback and we listened to their responses. We invested heavily in new membership systems and resources”, Reeves told collingwoodfc.com.au on Friday.

“In handling such a large number of new memberships, it would be fair to say we have had our challenges but our new process has supported this sharp increase and all members will have fulfilment by round one.”

Reeves projects the final total for season 2009 will pass last year’s club record total of 42,498.

“We are confident of surpassing our previous record set last year in the next week or so and we will continue to communicate with our members and side by side provide the best and most valuable memberships in the AFL.”

Remember it’s not too late to jump on board and stand SIDE by SIDE this season. Become a Collingwood member today and watch the team tackle every round as they head for the club’s 15th premiership.
Club's release on memberships for what its worth

21 minutes.
beat the old mans 43 minutes and ill buy you a beer

Its was even better when he walked into the membership department still on his mobile phone.

N.B that was last year when he was waiting on his members polo/scarf

Got through on the 29th minute, so no beer which is disappointing.

I paid on the 3rd, my membership was processed on the 16th. Huzzah for all!!!

I have to go to that ****ing tent tomorrow to pick it up (when I say it, that means one general admission ticket), looks like I'm getting a train at about 10am for an interstate game. What a joke.

Oh and I got asked if I had received an inactive card...they've got no idea what is going on...I mean when she answers the phone and my first line said is "I want to know where my membership is" someone with half a brain might realise I don't have it with me!?

So I get a general admission ticket but will have it before round 2.

So I'll see everyone else outside that tent next week too...

Got through on the 29th minute, so no beer which is disappointing.
i think you may deserve a beer anyway.

Its not the greatest out come

Well far from me to pot the club, but we've got 40,000 before the start of footy - I reckon we'll push 50,000 this year.

There are some bad stories, but they're probably busier than ever. This kind of thing is happening at every club, pretty much.

I have to agree the membership department is a disgrace. First of all i signed up my wife, my daughter, my newborn son and myself at the start of December with the understanding i would get the memberships before Christmas. Christmas came and went no memberships. So i rang the membership department mid January they put some spin on it blaming someone else. The memberships started to arrive at the end of January one 1 week another a couple of weeks later. Finally everyones but mine arrived so rang again now it had something to do with reserve seating. Yep no worries. Then 3 1/2 weeks ago i got a voice message on my phone telling me that they had given me the best seats possible and the membership would be sent in the next couple of days. So i waited 2 weeks still nothing in the mail so rang again. This time the chick said they were waiting for me to ring back and confirm seats which was not stated in the voice mail. ( which mind you i would love to know what they would do if i didnt accept them. Probably nothing.) Then she said my membership would be sent out in the next couple of days, a week and a bit later it arrived in the mail.

But dont worry i have a friend who is an Essendon member that is having the same problem. Signed up in October still nothing from the club. Not even a letter. Plus they stuffed up his direct debit 3 months running.

But at least i have mine before the game tomorrow. Be F#$ked if id be lining up to get a ticket form the tent to get in.

It was pretty easy getting my AFL membership with Collingwood club support. Didn't really have any issues waiting, but obviously I don't have a reserved seat or anything and mine is mainly done by the AFL and not Collingwood.

By the way, Collingwood Football Club membership prices are bloody expensive. I was chatting with a Hawks member mate of mine who had to pay about $200 for guaranteed grand final tickets, a reserved seat and basically the equivalent to our captains membership only he gets Grand Final seats. If I wanted that with Collingwood I would have to have paid at least $500.

Collingwood has the most expensive memberships in the country, it honestly surprises me we have so many members considering the prices of the ****ing things.

Well done to the club on surpassing 40,000 members. Also, our memberships are not "he best and most valuable memberships in the AFL", thats just a complete and utter lie.

It was pretty easy getting my AFL membership with Collingwood club support. Didn't really have any issues waiting, but obviously I don't have a reserved seat or anything and mine is mainly done by the AFL and not Collingwood.

By the way, Collingwood Football Club membership prices are bloody expensive. I was chatting with a Hawks member mate of mine who had to pay about $200 for guaranteed grand final tickets, a reserved seat and basically the equivalent to our captains membership only he gets Grand Final seats. If I wanted that with Collingwood I would have to have paid at least $500.

Collingwood has the most expensive memberships in the country, it honestly surprises me we have so many members considering the prices of the ****ing things.

Well done to the club on surpassing 40,000 members. Also, our memberships are not "he best and most valuable memberships in the AFL", thats just a complete and utter lie.

We have more games in melbourne, more home games in melbourne and more members in melbourne

Our member numbers for GF tickets over load our ticket allocations for a grand final. Yes its bloody expensive but there is valid reasons for it

We have more games in melbourne, more home games in melbourne and more members in melbourne

Our member numbers for GF tickets over load our ticket allocations for a grand final. Yes its bloody expensive but there is valid reasons for it
Do you honestly think that demand didn't outstrip supply for grand final tickets out at Hawthorn this year? They have more members full stop and at the moment we don't have that many more in Melbourne than they do, they have 6 thousand tassie members, they have 46 thousand members overall. Take out their Tassie members they have the same as us (not all of our members are in Melbourne obviously). Yes they have less games in Melbourne, but they have entitlements due to the Tassie factor that allows them to go to 4 neutral games.

The reason our price is so high is because the club knows it can charge that much and still get numbers. Which to be fair is good business, but it's not really looking after the fans.

P.S In all honesty, I just wanted a scarf and am still crying :p

Do you honestly think that demand didn't outstrip supply for grand final tickets out at Hawthorn this year? They have more members full stop and at the moment we don't have that many more in Melbourne than they do, they have 6 thousand tassie members, they have 46 thousand members overall. Take out their Tassie members they have the same as us (not all of our members are in Melbourne obviously). Yes they have less games in Melbourne, but they have entitlements due to the Tassie factor that allows them to go to 4 neutral games.

The reason our price is so high is because the club knows it can charge that much and still get numbers. Which to be fair is good business, but it's not really looking after the fans.

P.S In all honesty, I just wanted a scarf and am still crying :p
We had less interstate members then them last year, and more victorian members by alot. im assuming its teh same this year or they have drawn even they wouldnt be ahead.

We also have more members now that have direct access to a GF ticket then any side, our club had to lobby the afl (money) to get more GF tickets for their members if we made it.

Now the club isnt stupid of course that price will be pushed back down on those buying the membership.

Also its only CS, legends and captains member prices that have increased this year. The ones that have a GF ticket. Seasons tickets reserved or not were held or increased very small amount.

Its not the club trying to back door rape us at all

We had less interstate members then them last year, and more victorian members by alot. im assuming its teh same this year or they have drawn even they wouldnt be ahead.

We also have more members now that have direct access to a GF ticket then any side, our club had to lobby the afl (money) to get more GF tickets for their members if we made it.

Now the club isnt stupid of course that price will be pushed back down on those buying the membership.

Also its only CS, legends and captains member prices that have increased this year. The ones that have a GF ticket. Seasons tickets reserved or not were held or increased very small amount.

Its not the club trying to back door rape us at all
I didn't say prices had increased, I said compare them to other clubs prices (such as hawthorn whose membership numbers are huge this year due to the bandwagon) and you will see that our memberships cost a fair bit more.

By the way, if we have more tickets available for grand final seats then simple demand vs supply economics says that it should be cheaper. I am aware that demand for tickets is bigger than at every other club but still, $300 minimum more for the same thing? Surely you don't think that's fair opti?

I apologise for having a whinge about something, I don't do it very often but when it comes to membership prices I think that Collingwood is a bit steap.

I didn't say prices had increased, I said compare them to other clubs prices (such as hawthorn whose membership numbers are huge this year due to the bandwagon) and you will see that our memberships cost a fair bit more.

By the way, if we have more tickets available for grand final seats then simple demand vs supply economics says that it should be cheaper. I am aware that demand for tickets is bigger than at every other club but still, $300 minimum more for the same thing? Surely you don't think that's fair opti?

I apologise for having a whinge about something, I don't do it very often but when it comes to membership prices I think that Collingwood is a bit steap.

Average concession price is what $20 for all the melbourne games (and anzac day and such isnt that cheap if you dont already have a reserved seat)

so $20x18=$360
Finals week one was approx $30
so $360+$30= $390
week two was approx $40
so $390+40=$430
week 3 was approx $45
$430+$45=$475
GF ticket is somewhere near $100
$475+$100=$575

Somewhere the club has to add in profit and the fact we had to pay money to teh AFL to increase GF ticket allocations.

Yeah mate its steep but by rough estimate to organise yourself a ticket (anywhere just entry not same place for at leat 18 games) cost roughly $575 a season. Then i can see why our prices are so high.

Football is a business, memberships are our way of giving the club money. I know people with memberships living interstate and overseas that will get little to no actual gain from them. No one is forced to buy a membership its not like EPL clubs, or Serie A clubs where you must be a member to gain attendence more or less.

The clubs pricing's are not so far off the mark that its high way robbery, and they do indeed have cheaper memberships with less benefits if you can afford the top line stuff.

Fair enough opti.

Good disagreeing on something. :p
Doesnt happen often

Good to see a disagreement on this board not turn into a shit slanging match as well

Doesnt happen often

Good to see a disagreement on this board not turn into a shit slanging match as well

We'll see about that.

Your mother wears army boots and your tattoo is a waste of ink.'

:cool:

We'll see about that.

Your mother wears army boots and your tattoo is a waste of ink.'

:cool:
Your Grandfather was a conscription dodger (frenchmen more or less)

and you are a clean skin because you are a pussy

end sarcasm:p

My membership and all the other worthless crap that comes with it was posted out to me yesterday after I ordered it online on Saturday. Very happy actually with how quick it came out, I guess with round 1 approaching the club finally got its act togethor.

The club gave me the option via email, yesterday, to pick up my ticket for the round one game at the members tent at gate 1.

This after having paid for my Legends membership 2 months ago and requesting it to be mailed to my address which is in Canberra, not ****ing the MCG, emailing the club 4 times about the arrival date without response, phoned the club's nominated membership contact line 5 times with 40 minute+ waits every time and only getting to listen to constant reminders of how important my call was to them and never once getting through.

As I had booked air flights to and from Melbourne for another function with friends I explained to the club I did not have time to **** around at a tent somewhere near the entrance to the MCG without a membership card, number or any other proof that I should have a ticket waiting for me.

The way the memberships have been handled this season are nothing short of a disgrace and if in fact the problem lies with the "outsourcing"
of this function then the provider should be dumped as soon as the season is over and possibly sued for their ****ing second rate, incompetent organisations efforts.

If in fact is is ticketek then I'm going to make the ****ers pay compensation for my airfares.......

Useless pack of *****.

Do you think I'm pissed off?

You bet your arse and some office jockey is going to pay.

Congrats to The Army and Eddie & co.

40,000 members before Round 1 (without including pet and one game memberships ala Essendon and Hawthorn) is a fantastic achievement.

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/newsfeatures/news/newsarticle/tabid/5586/newsid/73842/default.aspx

Add to this that Eddie reported on SEN last night that we have 3,500 non-ticketed members and that there's some new sponsorship announcements coming shortly (in addition to Aussie Home Loans).

If we can add a Malthouse signing in the next few weeks the Lexus Centre will be well and truly back in order.

Collingwood membership Numbers for 09 Target 50,000!