List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2023

With his accuracy Mcstay could’ve kicked close to 40 goals this year had he had continuity in his football

Got a good run at it in his last 9 games and kicked 17.4 as a result

Definitely capable of more than 1 goal a game average.

More like 1.5-1.8 goals a game average… like mihocek

I struggle to seperate them into #1 or #2 KPF

And don’t see a need to.
He'll play better next year and continue to improve. He'll be even more motivated to win the flag.

Your Mum must have been so proud having sons who were doctors

I’m sure she also loved you, in her way
You should know by the smartarsery and aggression she didnt

Shhh! Don't say the second bit around Jen - she's already unhappy about Ginnivan being traded to the dirty undies.
I think she had a soft spot for Draper too. Hopefully for Jen we don't listen to manicpie and recruit some lookers rather than just ugly blokes.

The ranking of the respective forwards in a team isn't really how it works. His role has changed with us. For Brisbane his main role was hitting up the ground, for us it's providing a contest in the hotspot.

He's unlikely to kick as many goals as Checkers because he's not as complete a player with less avenues to score. His goals will mainly come from marking contests in the hotspot, whereas Checkers gets them in a multitude of ways.
Agree ranking is superficial but i was more responding to the idea Dan spent his time at Brissie with 2 other KPFs as no 3.

You can argue roles but the most difficult and most valuable part of a KPFs contribution is goal kicking. Its the main arbiter seperating the good ones from the rest. Dan is AFL solid but not great. Thats fine. We didnt buy more than that and we got what we wanted.

With his accuracy Mcstay could’ve kicked close to 40 goals this year had he had continuity in his football

Got a good run at it in his last 9 games and kicked 17.4 as a result

Definitely capable of more than 1 goal a game average.

More like 1.5-1.8 goals a game average… like mihocek

I struggle to seperate them into #1 or #2 KPF

And don’t see a need to.
Trouble with looking at the evidence of 9 games that suit the hypothesis is ignores the rest of the 10 seasons where that didnt happen. Given once he has matured and become the solid AFL player he is he has always been 1-1.5 goals per game its likely thats his level.

Sure you can hope and be right and year 11 brings a significant improvement over the rest of his career but that would be a unusual occurance

I think she had a soft spot for Draper too. Hopefully for Jen we don't listen to manicpie and recruit some lookers rather than just ugly blokes.
I did, the unfortunate when you cover training and meet all the family. Its easy to become too invested haha.

eta:
Come on look at this face and that hair.

Agree ranking is superficial but i was more responding to the idea Dan spent his time at Brissie with 2 other KPFs as no 3.

You can argue roles but the most difficult and most valuable part of a KPFs contribution is goal kicking. Its the main arbiter seperating the good ones from the rest. Dan is AFL solid but not great. Thats fine. We didnt buy more than that and we got what we wanted.

I think this is where we disagree. I don't think it is.

Full forwards have always kicked the majority of their goals being hit up on the lead. Whereas in the current game you expect all of your forwards to be able to take an uncontested mark on the lead, whereas it's McStay's main role to provide a good and consistent contest in the hotpot. Take the occasional clunk but mainly bring it to ground for crumbers or to help lock it forward. I don't know if you really want your big aerial target maximising their goal tallies by hitting up on a heap of leads that take them away from where the long bombs fall. You're better off with a small like Elliott leading at the footy - keeping the big man in place for the long bomb, because other smalls will sweep down from half forward to give you the ground level presence if you do bomb it long and get the ball to ground, but other talls won't necessarily get there in time to being it to ground.

I think this is where we disagree. I don't think it is.

Full forwards have always kicked the majority of their goals being hit up on the lead. Whereas in the current game you expect all of your forwards to be able to take an uncontested mark on the lead, whereas it's McStay's main role to provide a good and consistent contest in the hotpot. Take the occasional clunk but mainly bring it to ground for crumbers or to help lock it forward. I don't know if you really want your big aerial target maximising their goal tallies by hitting up on a heap of leads that take them away from where the long bombs fall. You're better off with a small like Elliott leading at the footy - keeping the big man in place for the long bomb, because other smalls will sweep down from half forward to give you the ground level presence if you do bomb it long and get the ball to ground, but other talls won't necessarily get there in time to being it to ground.
True that has to be where we differ. The great KPF can be the rock of the forward line but still kick goals. Grratest example was Reiwoldt in 2017. Tiges dont win without him being the sole KPF who provided that McStsy like contest, but better, while still kicking 54 goals

Trouble with looking at the evidence of 9 games that suit the hypothesis is ignores the rest of the 10 seasons where that didnt happen. Given once he has matured and become the solid AFL player he is he has always been 1-1.5 goals per game its likely thats his level.

Sure you can hope and be right and year 11 brings a significant improvement over the rest of his career but that would be a unusual occurance

9 games + 10 games = 19 games

He only played 14 games this year

Is that Vossys young fella? We could recruit him and get him to feed his old man some dud info about us
No, wrong Voss.
Snelling is a bit stiff I reckon. Played 15 games this year

voss also just won their vfl bnf

No he is from NSW

Massive lump of a kid but only 6-2 or 6-3 I think. What role at afl level ?

Yeah 194cm. Played as a key forward which is probably why I’m interested given I think we need another. To be honest though with Ash and Kreuger waiting in the wings I’d probably want someone taller than 194 that could take some ruck.

My hope is that Steene comes on quicker than expected and surprise a few with his forward work. I rate him.

The ranking of the respective forwards in a team isn't really how it works. His role has changed with us. For Brisbane his main role was hitting up the ground, for us it's providing a contest in the hotspot.

He's unlikely to kick as many goals as Checkers because he's not as complete a player with less avenues to score. His goals will mainly come from marking contests in the hotspot, whereas Checkers gets them in a multitude of ways.
McStay seemed to go up a level in his last half dozen games. We saw a much more dangerous version. I wouldn't be surprised if Fly Said something along the lines of, let's see what can do with a bit more freedom. I think he might have the capacity to hit the scoreboard more next year but it's not vital because we score from 50% of all entries that go through big Dan

He was giving Taylor a touch up early against GWS. No mean feat