List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade and FA

Technically you could take 2 and upgrade a rookie, but doesn't feel we'll go down that road. We did that the last two years. Feels like it defeats the purpose of delisting and rooking markov and johnson. The fact we have three very close selections rather than far apart I do feel we'll take the three.
The upgrade counts as a selection if you want to get technical. Either way we can’t take 2 selections and leave a spot vacant as suggested.

Good point.

Given we’re already downgrading two to the rookie list I can’t see why they’d turn around and upgrade one. That would just be moving the deck chairs?
Exactly. Imagine being like we are downgrading you and ash but will add dean to the senior list to fill a spot. Nah, we'll take the three kids if there are kids still on the board they rate.

I'm not sure that's correct? Can you point to the rule? This article(not that I would rely on it) suggests otherwise?

"Adelaide, which holds pick No.4, and Hawthorn, are set to use two selections – the fewest of clubs – while Gold Coast is also expected to take two or three players at the draft."
Hawthorn will use their third selection to upgrade a rookie.

The upgrade counts as a selection if you want to get technical. Either way we can take 2 selections and leave a spot vacant as suggested.
We can, but dean would be your best option, so basically we would be demoting markov and ash but upgrading dean, who is allowed to be on the rookie list for another year or two with the new rookie rules. So I don't think we'll promote anyone.

The above link indicates we'll use three.

It was a joke Joyce - Gunston still a valuable player. And the benefit of delisting/re-rookie Gunston is that you aren't creating another free agent.
And I was serious. If you are delisting someone, you clearly are okay with them being elsewhere. Because you never know if another club will come knocking
But I know its more about creating a list spot, but given their delistments and retirees, surely they have enough for 3 spots.

And I was serious. If you are delisting someone, you clearly are okay with them being elsewhere. Because you never know if another club will come knocking
But I know its more about creating a list spot, but given their delistments and retirees, surely they have enough for 3 spots.
Think there are some players you can be pretty confident with not being tempted to go elsewhere if anyone was interested. A veteran like Gunston would be one of them

I guess they could have 3 draftees in mind but if one goes before our pick then they just upgrade one of the 2 rookies.

Depends how long their list is. Probably good thing this draft is deep
Could always pick up one of our academy players if it came to that

I reckon if you are considering delisting and rooking someone, you might as well just delist and pay out altogether. give youngsters a shot on the rookie list.

It's just juggling to give yourself a salary cap saving, or abide by the rules of having 3 spots available at draft time.

Depends how long their list is. Probably good thing this draft is deep
Could always pick up one of our academy players if it came to that

Yes agree totally, I was just making a point there could be a reason to rookie a player and then upgrade him in the draft period without it just being like moving the deck chairs.:)

Going by this, the player has to agree?

974239885a8054b0e869fab644efe8ea.jpg

Is there any actual evidence or has Ash come out and said he was suffering from mental health issues, or is this a fantasy scenario that big footy posters have come up with in order to provide an excuse for his shithouse performances?
Vitriol and abuse on social media is highly likely to have caused mental health issues, necessitating deletion of an account.
As far back as 2017, its been flagged as an issue.
To be actually disputing the possibility for AJ seems illogical.

Going by this, the player has to agree?

974239885a8054b0e869fab644efe8ea.jpg

I doubt its a rule as such….but clearly if you’re needed it to manage a player to drop to the rookie list to help you out ( and running a chance of losing them) , then it’s courteous to ask them.

I’m sure we probably said the same to Brodie Mihocek when we kept him on the rookie list for three years…. “ hope you don’t mind us doing this but it’s the best option for list management”

You need to go to the correct document. With regard to how to determine what payments go to the TPP in any particular year, the operative document is the AFL Rules, not the CBA(don't need the pesky players interfering with cap calculations) - think the below might be the latest copy. Rule 28 is what you are looking for. A lot of the definitions come into it as well - the main one being that a player is no longer a Player once they are not on a List.

You are correct about the availability or unavailability of the buffer - so if the club was insane enough not to re-rookie a player, which then resulted in exceeding the TPP, and they didn't have an available buffer, they would cop a smack on the botty - in the form of sanctions - from the AFL.

Maybe think of what the Swans did with Tippett a few years back. He retired but they re-rookied him to get his payments into the next Footy Year.
Hi Sideswipe, I’m just going off the current CBA rules which started 2024. The resources you have here are the previous CBA rules .
Below is the current CBA reference.

The other interesting thing I picked up in the new CBA is there is zero reference to the Rookie payments sitting outside the CAP . In fact it states all players are to be paid from the TPP.

Attachments

• IMG_6558.jpeg
    IMG_6558.jpeg
    558.9 KB · Views: 2
Hi Sideswipe, I’m just going off the current CBA rules which started 2024. The resources you have here are the previous CBA rules .
Below is the current CBA reference.

The other interesting thing I picked up in the new CBA is there is zero reference to the Rookie payments sitting outside the CAP . In fact it states all players are to be paid from the TPP.
FFS mate - I thought i was clear - the CBA is not the document. It is the AFL Rules. They don't run with the CBA. Did you read them?

List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade and FA