List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade Talk 2015

What Trade Happens 1st

It would be good to get a top ten pick from all of our painful honourable losses. If only to make up for the horrible ordeal of having to hear Wayne Carey say 'A team can only have so many honourable losses' for about the tenth time.

With this in mind, I am sincerely praying the AFL are not considering awarding either of the competitions woeful basket cases a priority pick this year, thereby pushing our pick out past top ten and making any trade negotiations more difficult.

Carltank do not deserve a PP as a reward for years of stupid, short sighted decision making. Brisvegas do not deserve a PP after beating Carltank comfortably and pocketing Beams last year. Let teams reap what they sow.

Agree and They both had high Picks but picked mostly Duds from them

With this in mind, I am sincerely praying the AFL are not considering awarding either of the competitions woeful basket cases a priority pick this year, thereby pushing our pick out past top ten and making any trade negotiations more difficult.

Neither could possibly get a PP. If Melbourne couldn't get one then nobody can. What does concern me is the talk of Brisbane getting pick 2 or 3 for losing Leuenberger to FA. That would be a bigger sham than Frawley last year getting Melbourne pick 3

Would be a bigger sham considering Leuenberger is either a) injured all the time or b) an ageing b-grade ruckman.

I know he has only been on our list for a year and this is not a dig at the bloke but Id be trading out Greenwood. He has value for someone but I cannot see going forward how we can fit him into our best 22. For me Adams is the better player and we have Crisp who has probably gone past him and Degoey who will go past him soon. These 3 are big strong bodied inside types with more speed and polish than Levi. There would be a few clubs out there who would like Levi so I reckon his value would be similar to what it was last year.
Even if i agreed the reality is that other clubs would baulk at having to pick up his contract. Plus it makes it difficult to attract players from other clubs if they think they'dbe traded after one injury interrupted year. It's way too early to say he isn't best 22 or even depth for Adams

Had some info passed onto me that Carlise has approached Collingwood about playing with us very keen

I have given some pretty good info on this board previously I'm not going into sources but this is legit

I was very surprised he approached us not the other way around

This reminds me of something Bucks said in regards to Reid playing back at the start of the year, something along the lines of 'the way the game's going it will suit Reid more as a defender' which i assume means a tall intercept marking defender.

Now all of a sudden Reid is chucked forward because our 'backline is going well'. It may be a massive stretch to think that both Reid and Moore are playing forward with the idea of recruiting a defender this offseason.

When you are playing a pressure based gameplan like we do, having that intercepting defender is massive, and as a defender Carlisle is fantastic in that role, would be a massive get for us.

This reminds me of something Bucks said in regards to Reid playing back at the start of the year, something along the lines of 'the way the game's going it will suit Reid more as a defender' which i assume means a tall intercept marking defender.

Now all of a sudden Reid is chucked forward because our 'backline is going well'. It may be a massive stretch to think that both Reid and Moore are playing forward with the idea of recruiting a defender this offseason.

When you are playing a pressure based gameplan like we do, having that intercepting defender is massive, and as a defender Carlisle is fantastic in that role, would be a massive get for us.

Wont marsh be able to do that once he gets confidence and has established himself in the seniors?

We really need reid up forward, SCG didnt suit the 3 talls, especially when the whole side is pushing into attacking half, gives them no room to get one on one contests or get free on a lead.

I hope our interest in wish isn't true
The last thing we need on our list is another under sized not overly quick midfielder. Broomhead and Kennedy can't make our best 22 and are vert similar players. Perhaps you trade the both of them for Aish and a third round pick would seem about fair, but if the club is keeping them please don't go after Aish

I forgot to mention the sham of compensation picks. I agree this would also be inappropriate and as far as I'm concerned the AFL is just using these ridiculous compo selections as a way to try and equalise undeserving crap franchises - who should otherwise be made to reflect and learn from their mistakes - while 'appearing' to be tough by not awarding priority picks. In other words, priority picks by another name. Melbourne getting pick 3 last year for Frawley was a joke. I agree it will probably happen again this year. Expect our pick 8 (or thereabouts) to be around the 10 mark.

One of the journos said it well. Leuenberger and Frawley are both similar level players, similar games, age and draft pick (I don't think their draft selection should matter). The unknown was their contract, but the journo reckoned if it were also similar Brisbane should get the same compo. He also said if the contract was a determining factor wage etc should be made public.

The mistake was Melbourne's compo last year and while it would be fun to see the Carlton tears if they finish second last and only get pick 3 the compensation bands shouldn't be attached to ladder position.

One of the journos said it well. Leuenberger and Frawley are both similar level players, similar games, age and draft pick (I don't think their draft selection should matter). The unknown was their contract, but the journo reckoned if it were also similar Brisbane should get the same compo. He also said if the contract was a determining factor wage etc should be made public.

The mistake was Melbourne's compo last year and while it would be fun to see the Carlton tears if they finish second last and only get pick 3 the compensation bands shouldn't be attached to ladder position.

Who would pay Luenberger the sort of contract that would trigger a 1st round pick though I wonder? Even Frawley, I'm not sure he's on the sort of coin that was being mentioned last year when he was up for grabs.

The compensation is out of whack big time. Would anyone trade pick 3 for Frawley? Or pick 2/3 for Luenberger? Not a chance in hell. These clubs can't wasit to push these guys out. It's like Xmas for them.

Who would pay Luenberger the sort of contract that would trigger a 1st round pick though I wonder? Even Frawley, I'm not sure he's on the sort of coin that was being mentioned last year when he was up for grabs.

The compensation is out of whack big time. Would anyone trade pick 3 for Frawley? Or pick 2/3 for Luenberger? Not a chance in hell. These clubs can't wasit to push these guys out. It's like Xmas for them.
Agree that the compensation levels are wrong, Frawley should have been end of 1st round at most and there's no incentive for clubs to match an offer with the picks being given out. Thomas was much the same for us, although it's likely that Carlton would have been silly enough to trade a 1st round pick.

Don't know what Frawley is on, but wages are getting hugely inflated and out of hand with player movements. There was talk of Jeremy Howe being offered 600k a year to move. It's getting ridiculous.

Apparently it's still the same $750k plus up to $100k extra in off field add ons. I have no issue with that.
Yep. PieBeast, I think you asked for some details on this. It's in the latest AFLPA CBA and a recent increase from afl.com.au.

Re- the Salary cap and ASA. I think the ASA is limited to $100,000 per player to ensure no more Judd like Visy deals.

--------------TPP------------ASA------
2012.....$8,787,000......$613,000
2013.....$9,139,000......$852,000
2014.....$9,632,000......$963,000
2015....$10,071,000......$992,000
2016....$10,360,000....$1,022,000

A new agreement is due end of 2016. Given the reported NRL TV rights deal, I expect the AFL to gain in increase, similar to what the NRL will gain. Not unrealistic to expect a cap increase of close to $600k p.a. over the 5 years.

Projections based on a lessor amount of $500k p.a.
2017.....$10,860,000
2018.....$11,360,000
2019.....$11,860,000
2020.....$12,360,000
2021.....$12,860,000

So, $750k for AT in 2016 is 7.2% of our cap initially, it'll only be 6% in year 5. and yes, I'm a bit of a maths geek.:$

Wont marsh be able to do that once he gets confidence and has established himself in the seniors?

We really need reid up forward, SCG didnt suit the 3 talls, especially when the whole side is pushing into attacking half, gives them no room to get one on one contests or get free on a lead.
The beauty of Marsh is that he is mobile enough to play as a third tall/medium defender and big enough to play key position.
It would be entirely possible (and exciting) to have a defence with Brown/Frost, Marsh and Carlisle.

I hope our interest in wish isn't true
The last thing we need on our list is another under sized not overly quick midfielder. Broomhead and Kennedy can't make our best 22 and are vert similar players. Perhaps you trade the both of them for Aish and a third round pick would seem about fair, but if the club is keeping them please don't go after Aish
Broomhead was well within our best 22 until he got injured, and Aish will be better than him imo.

http://www.voy.com/51976/318550.html
Date Posted:12:48 14/08/15 Fri
Author: Pyeman
Author Host/IP: pa49-199-166-232.pa.vic.optusnet.com.au / 49.199.166.232
Subject: Yes you are, it's all lined up, almost impossible to screw this aquisition up
In reply to: The Quizard 's message, "Am I being a bit too defensive here?" on 11:19 14/08/15 Fri

But there is still the trade week haggling to go.

In response to this post http://www.voy.com/51976/318548.html.

Treloar to Pies is becoming the worst kept secret in footy. Similar to Adams to pies was leaked early on.

Iirc Pyeman is involved with another club (recruiting team?), not sure who, but is a pies supporter and gets a fair bit of info right.

Some scuttlebutt on the draft board for those that missed it.

Probably will get him by trading Scharenberg to Adelaide.
Treloar will be at Collingwood as sad as it is and it's surer than Dangerfield signing with Geelong.

If you saw a piece in the Herald-Sun there was a snippet about the GF of a prominent trade target getting a plum graduate job with one of the big PR agencies in Melbourne, that was a direct reference to Treloar's missus and the job was organised by a board member at his new club. A few clubs were angry with this but nothing will occur. You will also note that young Adam being the good Noble Park boy loves his Holden's, he recently upgraded his Holden & is just about to take over from Pendlebury as their AFL face. Holden sponsor one club.

Richmond have conceded with Treloar and are now focusing on Motlop & Yarran, North were never really in the picture to start with. Treloar told GWS he was leaving 4 weeks ago, he had a heart to heart with the Lambert's, who also hail from SE Melbourne and are very close to Adam.

It's well known in football circles. His GF is about to start a graduate job for a large PR agency in Melbourne and this got Richmond and North upset, so much so that they told the Herald-Sun and it got a mention there recently without naming specific names. It's also well known by Giants officials and everyone at the Noble Park FC.

That's some real specific shit. Looking good at this stage.

Some scuttlebutt on the draft board for those that missed it.

That's some real specific shit. Looking good at this stage.

A big round of applause for all involved.