AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
What would your starting 22 for the VFL team look like now the draft has finished?
definitely not out of the question, I really think we are going to have a greatly improved VFL team by a long shot.Updated the team, looks incredibly scary now with good depth on all lines. We just added 3 VFL team of the team players plus oxley, 3 first round draft picks and ramsay, plus with better injury luck more senior players will be down there. I changed my prediction to a 5th placed finish, but coming 4th is no longer out of the question if we get some good VFL listed players
This is largely how I see us setting up: (Underlined = VFL) (Bold = New)
B: Harry O'Brien Nathan Brown Alan Toovey
HB: Heath Shaw Ben Reid Nick Maxwell
CEN: Steele Sidebottom Scott Pendlebury Dale Thomas
HF: Alex Fasolo Travis Cloke Luke Ball
F: Jarryd Blair Quinten Lynch Andrew Krakouer
FOLL: Darren Jolly Dayne Beams Dane Swan
BENCH: Jordan Russell Clinton Young Tyson Goldsack
Sub: Alan Didak
--
B: Kris Pendlebury Lachlan Keeffe Marley Williams
HB: Paul Seedsman Corey Gault Adam Oxley
CEN: Ben Johnson Tom Sundberg Jackson Ramsay
HF: Tim Broomhead Jackson Paine Ben Kennedy
F: Ben Sinclair Brodie Grundy Jamie Elliott
FOLL: Jarrod Witts Kyle Martin Sam Dwyer
BENCH: Caolan Mooney Brent Macaffer Josh Thomas Marty Clarke
--
EMG: Jack Frost Michael Hartley Ben Richmond Peter Yagmoor Ben Hudson
--
AFL notes:
Lynch comes in to replace Dawes as that key forward/ruckman. Russell becomes that new kickin guy who plays as our new rebounding defender. Clinton Young I think starts slowly but will settle onto a wing.
--
VFL Notes:
Pendlebury as that defensive leader in that back half I expect to again be a regular with his play at VFL level exceptional these past seasons.
Oxley adds some rebounding power to that back half as that tall, neat user of the footy and won't be a defensive liability. Doubtful that he plays senior football but might present as a depth option and at VFL level will be a solid performer.
Sundberg should be healthy and right to go in 2012. Proven player and as that VFL listed player along with Pendlebury is a big factor in our winning chances being another quality VFL player.
Ramsay will need time but could settle into a role on a wing or back flank with him as that more linebreaking type, but plenty of substance to his game and finds plenty of the footy. Has the work ethic so long term he has the opportunity to develop.
Broomhead will add class to the team and will likely be developed as that Didak replacement. Probably best suited on a forward flank with his delivery exceptional but can also play wing, some inside if required or off a back flank. Like Ramsay will need some time but long term best 22 chances there.
Kennedy will add that immediate player with explosive pace and a penetrating kick. Likely plays senior footy in season one and will be a big factor at VFL level both up forward and through the midfield.
Grundy will likely play mostly forward this year and will spend plenty of time backing up Witts as that no.2 ruckman. Can play season one if we went him to as either a no.1 or no.2 ruckman but long term has the ability to become a monster.
Kyle Martin will add plenty of grunt to our midfield. Early tip but I expect he will be the first midfielder into our senior team if a position comes up and will give our VFL team a big boost and will really compete for that senior list position. Can also rotate onto a forward flank and have an impact when not in the midfield. I think he might play some senior games but at worst provides strong depth and makes the VFL team stronger.
Dwyer will also add plenty to our VFL side but more so due to his elite footskills and ability to find those leading forwards as that genuine playmaker through the midfield. Very capable up forward. Will be more of a VFL player than a senior player but like with Martin if a position on the senior list opens up he will fight hard for it and be a chance to get some games and will provide excellent insurance as that immediate mid/fwd.
Frost will play key defence. Exceptional athlete like his brother Sam (GWS) for those who have seen him. Jack was unlucky not to get rookied last year and a curious selection but more an insurance guy.
Richmond is a real project coming from that alternate pathway as a thin basketballer. Will play key forward but give him time.
Hudson will be genuine depth and cover for Jolly first in terms of his on field role. Come finals time expect him to be a regular but the whole season for Hudson is just about making sure his season is set up in such a way that he is cherry ripe for finals footy if required.
This is largely how I see us setting up: (Underlined = VFL) (Bold = New)
B: Harry O'Brien Nathan Brown Alan Toovey
HB: Heath Shaw Ben Reid Nick Maxwell
CEN: Steele Sidebottom Scott Pendlebury Dale Thomas
HF: Alex Fasolo Travis Cloke Luke Ball
F: Jarryd Blair Quinten Lynch Andrew Krakouer
FOLL: Darren Jolly Dayne Beams Dane Swan
BENCH: Jordan Russell Clinton Young Tyson Goldsack
Sub: Alan Didak
--
B: Kris Pendlebury Lachlan Keeffe Marley Williams
HB: Paul Seedsman Corey Gault Adam Oxley
CEN: Ben Johnson Tom Sundberg Jackson Ramsay
HF: Tim Broomhead Jackson Paine Ben Kennedy
F: Ben Sinclair Brodie Grundy Jamie Elliott
FOLL: Jarrod Witts Kyle Martin Sam Dwyer
BENCH: Caolan Mooney Brent Macaffer Josh Thomas Marty Clarke
--
EMG: Jack Frost Michael Hartley Ben Richmond Peter Yagmoor Ben Hudson
No spot for jack frost after he was in the VFL team of the year as a defender? Marley williams usually players midfield in the VFL too
Wow, that's 13 new players added to a list of 47.... scarey that any AFL club in premiership contention can still manage to renew and improve their list in this way. Great work to the recruiting team. Look forward to improved VFL performances as well. Players who contributed in 2012 like Cathcart, Ferraro, Hine and Boland haven't even been considered above. Eddy should be back from his knee. Genuinely excited, thank God it's only just over 2 months till the footy is back!
Williams I agree I like more through the midfield but this year with the additions of Martin, Dwyer, a healthy Sundberg and a healthy J.Thomas and it's hard to give M.Williams, Macaffer and Kennedy the midfield minutes they might have received had we not added these seasoned midfielders. For list balance and with a greater chance in the immediate that he finals a role in the back half I suspect at VFL level we stick with him more down back, though rotating forward or through the midfield not at all out of the question and very much within his capabilities.
Keeffe and Pendlebury both clearly ahead of Frost in the immediate and Gault I also prefer. He may play as a swingman as required who can play key back, key forward or some ruck as required but for the time being I have Frost just outside of that best VFL squad with Gault another I view as someone who can play senior football next year. He'll play most games though and with injuries should be a regular.
I don't really see those others as best 22 (VFL) with our new recruits that class and probably more the priority to get games into, but those old faces can certainly get games and will at some point with injuries almost certain to players at some point and/or players resting. Of that group you mention my favourite is Eddy by a fair stretch and he is that only one of that group I consider a genuine best 22 VFL type and as that other key forward was incredibly effective in 2011. If back in 2013 and back to his best I think he could push for an AFL list position if he wanted it.
It will be an exciting VFL squad next year, no doubt and there won't be those blowouts of last year. With some luck hopefully some finals footy to come.
From who? Seriously who else is there that can play a shut down role on both smalls and talls? Not all your players have to be attacking or have great skills, and especially in the backline, where you need 1-2 pure shut down players, and I still see Toovey and Brown as our best shutdown defenders, and can't see any ready made threats.why do i get this feeling that Tooveys spot is up for grabs next year?
Just because there is no specific replacement for Tooves can not surely mean that his spot his safe....i thought he was ordinary this year.From who? Seriously who else is there that can play a shut down role on both smalls and talls? Not all your players have to be attacking or have great skills, and especially in the backline, where you need 1-2 pure shut down players, and I still see Toovey and Brown as our best shutdown defenders, and can't see any ready made threats.
I don't doubt that if any player starts poorly next year, or drops form at any time of the year that they will come under pressure from our improved depth, but Toovey wouldn't rate in my bottom 6, in fact I'd suggest the coaching staff would rank him very highly in terms of "first selected" each week, primarily because of his unique, and very effective skill set.Just because there is no specific replacement for Tooves can not surely mean that his spot his safe....i thought he was ordinary this year.
Dont kid yourself, if any of those VFL blokes start pushing for selection and Tooves isnt having a good year they will shuffle around to get the bloke from the VFL in.
From who? Seriously who else is there that can play a shut down role on both smalls and talls? Not all your players have to be attacking or have great skills, and especially in the backline, where you need 1-2 pure shut down players, and I still see Toovey and Brown as our best shutdown defenders, and can't see any ready made threats.
Jordan Russell perhaps...From who? Seriously who else is there that can play a shut down role on both smalls and talls?
Earlier today on twitter:
krita pendlebury @kritapendlebury
Time for a change..
Cable Brandon Sage @cable_unplugged
@kritapendlebury How come the Pies didn't pick you up!
krita pendlebury @kritapendlebury
@cable_unplugged got me stuffed mate..
Hey Cable Brandon Sage, he didn't get picked up because we have a full quota of KPD's in Brown, Reid, Keefe, Gault plus players like Maxwell, Goldsack, O'Brien, Young, Toovey, Russell who are all taller or around the same height as him.....and he's 27 next year.
It's been fun Kritta but if you're going to sook like a little Dawes that you didn't get picked up then don't let the door hit your arse on the way out.
Hope it's just draft day emotions and he gets over it and commits to us for 2013 but i'm not going to lose any sleep.
Lets not forget that 17 other clubs also passed on him, it's not just something we're overlooking.
Bit harsh there. He missed out and is disappointed which is fair enough. He might also be wondering about his job security given we picked up so many VFL ready mature players.