List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

I finally watched the Reid interview for myself.
The writing on the wall, his face and his body language is he doesn't want to move because he's very family oriented.

In one hand he does seem a cracking fella, and this isn't a dig at him, but the draft system doesn't allow for it.

I know JHF has set a potentially dangerous precedent, but if he is by a big margin the best going, we can't not draft him at 1. Whether trades come into it is a different matter.

I know we had this discussion pre- Sheezel, but the point stands. The players can't hold the system ransom, it doesn't work that way.

Is Tyson Kelly an Eagles‘ Academy player?
No but Lance Collard who is the Colts highest goalscorer as a small forward is in the Naitanui Academy. Bailey Banfield a potential father son ripped it up in the PSA getting 34 disposals and 3 goals. Another NGA player Malakai Champion got 2 goals. There are some glimmers of hope on the horizon.

Tyson kelly though has a hanger on, Tony Walters, the guy is an absolute cancer and not someone i want around a rebuilding club

Unlikely we finish last so unlikely HR is a draft option for us. Lots of knicker twisting for an unlikely outcome. But I guess that's BF.
People seem to forget Norf have to play us here yet.that will put us on two wins.we get a sh**load of players back later in the year. We will pull a couple of wins out and finish 15th or 14th.
Even if we finish last we WILL take Reid. Starting all this bullish.t about Vic youngsters not wanting to come to WA is just ludicrous. We don’t normally start this crap till end of season.

I don't know. Personally I would prefer a pick in the early to mid 3rd round for Robertson (don't know if I buy this talk of Melbourne clubs being interested in Robertson, as I just can't identify one, but Twomey keeps mentioning it).

We could look at trading out a couple of fringe players at the end of 2024 if need be. It's possible we also have an academy kid who might attract a mid to late first round bid as well.
If ya gunna start the “effing” Robertson trade talk again ya can just piss off. I had a gut full of that last trade series.Enough!!

We need to be bold and aggressive with this years 1st and or next years.

Suns 2023 and 2024 1sts for our 2024 1st?

Maybe a player ot pick as sweetener?

Feel the AFL and the pressure building will force some level of fast tracking by bringing picks forward.
I hate hearing that kind of talk.

"Be bold and aggressive" always sounds to me like the mindset of somebody who wants to go to the casino and put everything on black at the Roulette table in the hopes of getting lucky and finding an instant painless way out of a terrible situation.

I would rather the decisions made were well thought through with both sides of all options debated and that the decisions are long term value oriented rather than short term fix oriented.

The inability to get some kind of workable agreement over the WAFL team is another one of Nisbett's many, many failures as CEO. It will be such a good day when the day finally comes that he gets sacked.

That being said, and assuming it is the WAFC who is making the rules on our WAFL team or at least they are in a position to heavily lean on the parties who make those rules, it is pretty cheeky of the WAFC to bag us for the uncompetitiveness of our WAFL team and say we are a blight on the WAFL competition considering that they are the ones who made the rules that hamstring us.

And if they are that concerned about it that they are going as far as publicly bagging us to the media about it the solution would seem pretty simple - change the rules that they put in place that are causing the problem.

Thought McKercher would be one of the biggest flight risks in the draft.

Tassie play their 1st game in 2028. So we would get 4 years and then they need to decide to either stay for some success or leave for another 4 years of getting flogged as all new expansion team.

Feel the Tassie players will slide a tad as teams won't want to risk high picks on flight risks but at some point a club will risk a later pick. Late 1st or 2nds.

Was it Conway who slid a fair distance to Carltons 3rd last draft?

I hate hearing that kind of talk.

"Be bold and aggressive" always sounds to me like the mindset of somebody who wants to go to the casino and put everything on black at the Roulette table in the hopes of getting lucky and finding an instant painless way out of a terrible situation.

I would rather the decisions made were well thought through with both sides of all options debated and that the decisions are long term value oriented rather than short term fix oriented.

You can have a well thought and planned aggressive strategy.

We did that last season didn't we?

Bringing picks forward or splitting picks is bad for what reason exactly? Collingwood have been doing it for years. And have fast tracked their rebuild. Are you suggesting that was wrong? And yes father sons and being a trade destination helped.

Eagles don't get father son access or trade interest to the same levelsas the Pies or Geelong. They can and do get smart and active with future picks.

Or the Eagles can do nothing proactive and let other clubs use all three methods to improve their lists and we judt sit on our hands and play safe? No wonder our list is stale whilst other clubs are actively improving them using multiple methods to improve.

You can be aggressive,smart and calculated.

Who Dares Wins.

Playing safe, being conservative doesn't win flags l.

Tassie play their 1st game in 2028. So we would get 4 years and then they need to decide to either stay for some success or leave for another 4 years of getting flogged as all new expansion team.

Feel the Tassie players will slide a tad as teams won't want to risk high picks on flight risks but at some point a club will risk a later pick. Late 1st or 2nds.

Was it Conway who slid a fair distance to Carltons 3rd last draft?
Is he actually a flight risk, or is it solely because he's from Tassie? Because I can assure you that once a kid leaves Tasmania to move interstate, its rare for them to move back.

Very true.

Only mentioned because he's a Tassie kid who did slide somewhat l.

I wouldn't be surprised at all if the go home factor was much less for Tassie kids. They leave, enjoy the excitement of big city life and don't go back.

Look at how many WA kids move to Melbourne clubs instead of coming home.

So there could be some good value being aggressive and taking risks with later picks with the Tassie kids.

Very true.

Only mentioned because he's a Tassie kid who did slide somewhat l.

I wouldn't be surprised at all if the go home factor was much less for Tassie kids. They leave, enjoy the excitement of big city life and don't go back.

Look at how many WA kids move to Melbourne clubs instead of coming home.

So there could be some good value being aggressive and taking risks with later picks with the Tassie kids.
Honestly, unless they were playing in a state league, I couldn't see any current Tassie players moving back, unless they were given a monster offer and there's nobody currently playing from Tas that's worth one.

Got them pick 10 in the end

NBA Draft Lottery results 2023​

PickTeam
1.Spurs
2.Hornets
3.Trail Blazers
4.Rockets
5.Pistons
6.Magic
7.Pacers
8.Wizards
9.Jazz
10.Mavericks
11.Magic*
12.Thunder
13.Raptors
14.Pelicans

These were the odds for each team getting each pick leading into it
View attachment 1691030

So the Dallas first round pick this year was traded somewhere in a deal previously, but it is top 10 protected. Meaning if the Mav’s had a top 10 pick in this draft, they keep the pick this year and that trade asset they owe said team gets kick down the road to next year.
Dallas got to the point where their season was very much cooked and could see where they sat in the lottery order (around 10-12). They made the choice to sit guys so as to pretty much ensure they ended up in that 10 spot & this increase their odds of keeping the pick. They copped a decent find for it from the NBA as well, 700K or so iirc.
Very different to anything we’d ever see in the AFL, it would never get that complex!!

No but Lance Collard who is the Colts highest goalscorer as a small forward is in the Naitanui Academy. Bailey Banfield a potential father son ripped it up in the PSA getting 34 disposals and 3 goals. Another NGA player Malakai Champion got 2 goals. There are some glimmers of hope on the horizon.
I taught one of the Champion girls, she is an absolute ripper kid and super talented footy player. Great family too.

Would be super happy to pick up any of those three listed.

Drew Banfield is an absolute Giga Chad, had some beers with him at Rottnest once. Hopefully Bailey turns out to be AFL quality.

I taught one of the Champion girls, she is an absolute ripper kid and super talented footy player. Great family too.

Would be super happy to pick up any of those three listed.

Drew Banfield is an absolute Giga Chad, had some beers with him at Rottnest once. Hopefully Bailey turns out to be AFL quality.
TF's a Giga Chad?