List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

The worse Freo go the better their R1 pick held by Melbourne looks. It could be used for Curtin, hence the more I warm to a Melbourne bid.

If it was 4, and a couple of picks around 16/17 (one this and one next year), I would do it. In terms of a second going back, Port's R2 is a possible. Not our second currently at 19 as it would only be a 2 to 3 pick upgrade.

I would be less interested if Norf get a compensation or priority pick after pick 2

Ignoring academy prospects, it is looking now like : -
Harley at 1
Norf will be hard to let McKercher go at 2
I cannot see Hawks going Curtin at 3 - more likely they go Watson or Caddy
That leaves Curtin at 4 or if he is gone, Watson or Duursma. Not interested in Caddy as our first pick.

Still a couple of months to go and who knows, we might still be seeing an Clayton Oliver type come from nowhere
So you'd do pick 1 for 4 and two picks in the 15-20 range? and give them a second rounder back?
Its a long way from the three top 10 picks everyone was talking about.

Pass for me. Use #1 and try and trade for another first rounder with either Sydney or GCS rather then split for picks in the late teens

Wrong, if he is a gun then he would have already be thriving while getting the second defender. Amiss who plays a similar style of game has kicked 31 goals compared to 22 and is a year younger and in a bottom 6 side.
I think he's just projecting to be a solid FF who will get his 2 goals a week consistently (45-50 yearly) but not be a dominant yearly contender for the coleman.
Ok Mystic Meg.

What were your thoughts of JK after his third season?
He was shithouse! 2008 West Coast were second last though which doesn't help a spearhead. Which is why Amiss looks like a fantastic pickup.

The two main differences were
-that Kennedy was dominant as a junior and should have gone at #1 but Carlton played the draft well to get both targets. The knock on him was set shot goal kicking which he improved very nicely.
-& JK could do it all. Get up the ground as a elite endurance CHF & also could stay at home as a powerful 1 on 1 player.

I'd say McDonald is limited to an inside 50m role a bit like Jack Riewoldt who thrives in a good team but goes missing when there's not enough supply.

Melbourne specifically really want Reid so this board should not be shocked if Dees 1st and F1 along with Freo first is offered to the Eagles for pick 1 with perhaps a second rounder going back to them whether this years or next.

Eagles certainly looking locally with Curtin and Hardeman high up on the lists.
So a possible 4 and maybe 2 x 18....F that.

Not sure if this has been posted already (apologies if it has), but McClure in the east is saying that he has been told be reliable sources that Reid has told WCE (via his manager) that he doesn't want to come here or play for us.

seriously-again.gif

I'm sure it's talked about around the water-cooler.

'No discussions' simply means no formal meetings, yet.
Total crap. They just don't want any public discussion of Barrass going before the end of the season in order to avoid any booing of Barrass by fans (not that i think that that would happen) or encouraging the media to hassle Barrass for comment.

If Barrass wasn't possibly going the would emphatically and explicitly shoot the rumours down. Instead they are continually sidestepping commenting on it.

There’s a whole spectrum of attitudes a young prospective draftee could have, from “I’m excited about the prospect of going interstate” through “If I got a preference I’d stay in my home state” to “I really don’t want to be drafted to an interstate club”.

Even on Sam McClure’s version Reid is closer to the middle than to the bad end of that.

So a possible 4 and maybe 2 x 18....F that.

If the Eagles have Curtin as who they want and he available at say 4 then it's grabbing two bonus first rounders. Maybe they'd use those picks to trade in earlier, maybe they know they have another top ten coming in for Barrass.

The club will be wanting as many top 30 picks as possible.

Missed this earlier… what do you guys make of this?

Didn’t dismiss it did he. Wasn’t like “absolutely no way is TB going anywhere he’s a valuable asset and contracted till 2027.”

The Swans first rounder is really valuable if it’s pick 4 and before the dockers pick. I see the Dees as a potential suitor for Curtin.

Ignore Suns picks

1 Reid (Eagles)
2 McKercher (Norf)
3 Watson or Duursma (Hawks)
4 Curtin?

If the Eagles have Curtin as who they want and he available at say 4 then it's grabbing two bonus first rounders. Maybe they'd use those picks to trade in earlier, maybe they know they have another top ten coming in for Barrass.

Surely the only real concern for getting Curtin is if Sydney keep their first rounder?

I guess Melbourne would also be interested as either a replacement for May, or as a partner to Van Rooyen.

The broad 'assumption' is that Hawks go for Watson.

Who knows what North will do (well, you apparently do..).

If we end up with Sydney's first rounder, Freo finish above Sydney and North don't get pick 3 for McKay, you can pretty much put a Reid/Curtin combo in the bank, I reckon.

Surely the only real concern for getting Curtin is if Sydney keep their first rounder?

I guess Melbourne would also be interested as either a replacement for May, or as a partner to Van Rooyen.

The broad 'assumption' is that Hawks go for Watson.

Who knows what North will do (well, you apparently do..).

If we end up with Sydney's first rounder, Freo finish above Sydney and North don't get pick 3 for McKay, you can pretty much put a Reid/Curtin combo in the bank, I reckon.

Would be a nice combo to nab.

Ok but I don't agree at all, melb 1st's will be pushed back even further after all the gifts are handed out.
And who to say Curtains not gone before 4.

Food for thought here.

I listened to the first part of the Tradies podcast today - I’ll say I actually really like it, it’s a great footy medium.

What if - and this is only my speculation here based off a thought that’s been floating in my head for the past five hours or so now formulated into a solid idea - Harley Reid himself is happy to come to Perth and play for us. No issue.
What if it’s a matter of his family being the ones who are making the noise? It’s said that his uncle is the chief family negotiator and still quite involved, was personally involved in the choosing of his agents and the negotiations of fees and what not - what if this nothing more then the uncle’s actions on behalf of the family’s preferred scenario? Not burning any bridges, just trying to direct the winds.

I know when I floated the idea of moving interstate when I was 18 my parents were dead against it.

The worse Freo go the better their R1 pick held by Melbourne looks. It could be used for Curtin, hence the more I warm to a Melbourne bid.

If it was 4, and a couple of picks around 16/17 (one this and one next year), I would do it. In terms of a second going back, Port's R2 is a possible. Not our second currently at 19 as it would only be a 2 to 3 pick upgrade.

I would be less interested if Norf get a compensation or priority pick after pick 2

Ignoring academy prospects, it is looking now like : -
Harley at 1
Norf will be hard to let McKercher go at 2
I cannot see Hawks going Curtin at 3 - more likely they go Watson or Caddy
That leaves Curtin at 4 or if he is gone, Watson or Duursma. Not interested in Caddy as our first pick.

Still a couple of months to go and who knows, we might still be seeing an Clayton Oliver type come from nowhere
I love this just from the idea that we select a gun with pick 4 that Freo traded for Jackson. We'd never let them forget it.

Wrong, if he is a gun then he would have already be thriving while getting the second defender. Amiss who plays a similar style of game has kicked 31 goals compared to 22 and is a year younger and in a bottom 6 side.
I think he's just projecting to be a solid FF who will get his 2 goals a week consistently (45-50 yearly) but not be a dominant yearly contender for the coleman.
He plays as a leading forward in a team with Buddy Franklin on a postage stamp of a ground....