Certified Legendary Thread Covid, Life, UFOs, Food, & Wordle :(

Is anyone thinking of obtaining a refund for their memberships?
I can't see many games where we will be able to attend in the short to medium term, maybe longer.
I'd rather the club keep the money than refund me.

They're going to be losing millions from other areas such as the lack of gate receipts.

Is anyone thinking of obtaining a refund for their memberships?
I can't see many games where we will be able to attend in the short to medium term, maybe longer.

The clubs are going to be hit damn hard by the virus, I'm happy for the pies to keep my money, and I would advise others to do the same if you are financially well off.

Yeah l wont be asking for a refund, but l tipping alot of members from all clubs will be...

Yea, not just that but also gate takings, merchandise, sponsors may be getting refunds after clubs stop playing games as we aren't getting them exposure.. We could lose tens of millions of expected revenue while still having to pay staff and players millions to sit at home. The poor clubs will have to cut costs dramatically.

The most bizzare time in AFL footy ever!

In sport ever. In Italy one of the biggest sporting rivalries in the world was played in a huge stadium without a single spectator, you can hear the players yelling to each other.

The NBA has been suspended and is all but certain to cancel the season, and we're only just starting with this virus.

Yeah nah.... Stop talking sh@#.

Even if we use the conservative rate of 1% mortality rate (which we certainly won't be if our healthcare system doesn't hold up... which is likely), it's still 10x the rate of the flu.

Even if you fit the age group where you may not be affected as much, start thinking about others and get your head out of the sand.
Toilet paper filled the cavity in your head? yeah nah, Get fckd.

You can't really delay it and start it later. In a few months we will have cases in the tens of thousands... How can you delay now with 150 cases then start it later with 10 times that number?

Delay now, then commence the season once the all clear is given by those in charge of containment. Would have to be a much shorter season however.
Just reading in HS that a delay to the season is a possibility now.

Perfect response in fact. Don’t respond well to inflammatory drivel, I put people in their place.
Came at me with a bit of respect and opinion arguments no problem.

Look at you tough guy. I bet you'll beat the virus away with your fists won't you. Well good luck to your family mate if that's the attitude you're going to run with. Hope you don't have any eldery or immunity impaired relatives. But that's ok... You'll scare the virus away from them with your toughness. :cool:

Oh and PS... I came at you with fact... not opinion. I know which I'd prefer.

Not all that different to the common flu really.

I reiterate, COVID-19 is around twice as infectious as the common flu, and, depending on the somewhat rubbery figures, around 10-300 times more deadly. Added to this, unlike the common flu where the at risk can be protected by a vaccine, there is no vaccine available for COVID-19 and and there won't be for sometime. The flu is bad enough and kills far more people that your average punter realises. The indications suggest that this is significantly worse than the common flu.

This is not to say we should all buy reams of toilet paper and run around like chicken little. Unlike influenza, we know little about this virus, there are all sorts of variables and while there are all sorts of predictions and models out there, the truth is, we dont really know how far this will spread. Besides, for young fit people the mortality rate is around .2%, so while you might get a nasty infection, young folk will likely be fine. However, hit your 50s, the mortality rate increases around 5 fold, to above 1%, and it goes screaming up from there.