Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

Bit of Hamill 2-3 weeks about King at the moment. Not even a mention of him by Ross.

Meanwhile his brother kicks 6 and takes Mark of the Year. As if today wasn't painful enough.

Plus Membrey & Reid kicking 4.

IMHO Trav made sense for us to draft.

The intercept defender who played a dozen games and had stress fractures in his back was my question mark ?

Hey Broski, did you find the amount of adults wearing Crows footy jumpers a bit wierd. I’ve never seen so many in my life. Maybe it was just in the Eastern Stand where I was. Freaked me out.
What was even more weird was how many of their supporters left midway through the last. At the end we were sitting almost alone. Who leaves when your team is on such a roll? Was very odd.

Plus Membrey & Reid kicking 4.

IMHO Trav made sense for us to draft.

The intercept defender who played a dozen games and had stress fractures in his back was my question mark ?
The one who has also drawn comparisons to arguably our greatest ever player with athletic attributes almost never seen before? Who is growing so fast his body is not keeping up hence the injury?

Ross also said in his presser he was frustrated at the non implementation of the game plan and that “pressure does funny things to players”
Think you’ll find that’s not the game plan he was after ….it looks nice in Bibs at training….very different in heat of an AFL game interstate on their home deck after they’ve been building for 6 years …
Hird on TV said it well - “men against boys out there which just shows we have a bit to go” I think that’s fair
Even Bassat said in media today - we’d like to play finals , we’ll surprise some teams but in reality we are 1-2 years way ..probably explains the Lyon extension too
Hird? hird is a can’t.

we had 8 players under 50 games (windhager is on 53), we're seriously young and inexperienced, it's gonna be rough at times but this is the way to do it, get young talent in while we still have the experienced heads to show them the way (Macrae, Wilkie, Marshall, Steele, Wood etc)

Yet our team was older and more experienced than Adelaide's team....

I know it’s irrational as there was so many things going against us today but very flat after that. Yes we have a better off field set up and have drafted a little bit of talent over he last few years but after 15 years of utter irrelevancy I somehow feel as far away from a flag now as any point over that span. How are we still in such a talent deficiency after so long being shit??

Other clubs improving and the continued increase in inequalities baked into the system makes any marginal gains we make seem like pushing shit uphill. Would have been much better to pull the Band-Aid off and go the scorched earth rebuild from Lyons first year back. We won’t improve unless the likes of Pou, King and Owens actually become consistent high level contributors and we can’t even get them on the park. Genuinely depressing, I think we are in serious trouble. Only West Coast and possibly Nth will be worse then us this year with the most compromised draft in history coming up and then Tassie coming in. We’ve taken a huge risk in betting on free agents to come to us and it doesn’t look good.
If. West Coast and Nth M are the only teams that finish behind us how does a compromised draft matter.

OK so apart from Phillipou who else will we have to make a difference playing through the midfield today. It was blatantly obvious how poor our midfield was and how easily they scored from clearances. McRae, Steele, Jones, Garcia were putrid when it mattered and the Crows just burst away from contest after contest. McRae battled manfully and did end up with a few clearances himself, but the Crows midfield speed showed exactly why the Dogs had moved past him.

Even with a complete list today the midfield outcome would remain the same. We have needed elite clearance mids for over a decade and nothing has changed to address it. Today's result was not that unexpected and it would be palatable if we had unearthed some talent with a clear midfield future. But we didn't and we haven't for decades....its disgraceful how poor our midfield identification has been.

Garcia & Boxshall may have a future as clearance mids but they are kids and there is nothing in between.
Maybe we give you a try

What a joke, Lyon saying we to do more hard work, shouldn't that have been done pre season not now

If you do the hard work in pre-season you peak too early. Better to start the hard work around Easter then win a bunch of junk time games in the last quarter of the season to ensure we do go too high in the draft. Look at 2024. Can't manage a season any better than that. If I recall about 10 of our best 22 were out at round 1 last year too.

Why change what is not broken?

There's not a lot we can do about that, what irks me about today is that we knew we were undersized. Ross said in his presser we have to "embrace the chaos", but we played slow, long down the line footy.

Maybe but I reckon for most of the first and second we were playing more chaos ball, going forward fast and going through the centre. It was only later that the lads went into their shells.

Yet our team was older and more experienced than Adelaide's team....

Nah I spelled this out yesterday - it’s the 20-100 gamers where we lost it. They had 12 including a bunch of great performers, we had 6 including our sub.

Our average age/experience is dragged up by guys like Hill who have minimal impact. Looking at averages is rarely useful.

Hey Broski, did you find the amount of adults wearing Crows footy jumpers a bit wierd. I’ve never seen so many in my life. Maybe it was just in the Eastern Stand where I was. Freaked me out.
Do you go to our games in Melb , we have plenty of nuffers ourselves

And just for what it’s worth.

The crows have gone 7 seasons without making finals.

That side we played today was the culmination of 7 seasons of shit.

The Lions went 9 seasons.

Hawks went 5 straight seasons without making finals. (Before last season)

North have done 8 and this will be year 9.

West coast is up to 4 and this will be 5.

We have made finals 2 x in the last 5 years.

It’s a long way back if we just gut the place. I guess I’m just posting my thoughts trying to work out this entire dual narrative thing.
What’s more intriguing is what the Ross and Bassat and co really think about the club and where they sit in the premiership window (hate the term, but I will use it). Are they thinking a soft rebuild (tend to be risky) or could they be thinking a proper rebuild is needed. If it’s the latter, this will be the last good draft year before Tassie becomes a factor. Rebuilding while Tassie enters the competition could lead to a decade or more in the wilderness.

I’d love to be a fly on the wall in board meetings.

People are wild in here. Writing off Travalga and Tauru because they are not having an immediate impact. That’s the least of our worries at the moment.

Judge in four years.

They are not playing are they? Not sure how we can be writing them off even if it does have a Clark/Coffield wiff. I think Trav will certainly be alright.

I had suggested we were going to get our pants pulled down by the crows , this week i wouldn't even bother putting pants on , just take it like a man saints.
In all seriousness its going to get even worse this week IMO , Geelong have a habit of giving us and any team that is down an absolute pumping

What’s more intriguing is what the Ross and Bassat and co really think about the club and where they sit in the premiership window (hate the term, but I will use it). Are they thinking a soft rebuild (tend to be risky) or could they be thinking a proper rebuild is needed. If it’s the latter, this will be the last good draft year before Tassie becomes a factor. Rebuilding while Tassie enters the competition could lead to a decade or more in the wilderness.

I’d love to be a fly on the wall in board meetings.
Someone posted a page or two back in this thread that Bassat said we are another 1-2 seasons away or something to that effect.

Having followed the Saints for a very long long time, I've heard it all before. I was really pis$ed off at the lack of effort and leadership by the more experienced players yet again- Lyon put it nicely saying these guys had a bad day or whatever- I hope they decide to have good days occasionally!.
Our best player according to stats was a mature age recruit in his first game with us. Also very annoyed to think that Lyon and his crew had the entire offseason to get a list fit and firing for Round 1, but it looks like they were over-worked and broken beforehand. Some of our defensive structures and setups were lacking- the coach can take some blame for yesterday.

Well I'm betting in two years we will be in about exactly the same spot as we end up this year ( Middle of the road going nowhere )
In Two years about 8 of our starting line up we either be gone or just about cooked so I don't see how he can say we are Two years away

Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

Write your reply...