Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

I know it’s irrational as there was so many things going against us today but very flat after that. Yes we have a better off field set up and have drafted a little bit of talent over he last few years but after 15 years of utter irrelevancy I somehow feel as far away from a flag now as any point over that span. How are we still in such a talent deficiency after so long being shit??

Other clubs improving and the continued increase in inequalities baked into the system makes any marginal gains we make seem like pushing shit uphill. Would have been much better to pull the Band-Aid off and go the scorched earth rebuild from Lyons first year back. We won’t improve unless the likes of Pou, King and Owens actually become consistent high level contributors and we can’t even get them on the park. Genuinely depressing, I think we are in serious trouble. Only West Coast and possibly Nth will be worse then us this year with the most compromised draft in history coming up and then Tassie coming in. We’ve taken a huge risk in betting on free agents to come to us and it doesn’t look good.

Yep, every season it’s more pain with out a return on investment. Extending Lyon looks insane right now.

We have a small hand for this draft.

No free agents.

And Dougal and Nas headline our OOC. No one wants to lose Nas.

I just don’t see how we do much this offseason unless it’s free agency.

Of which, outside of LDU and TDK. There isn’t a lot. I’m not big on Worpel.
If we were able to land TDK I’d be putting Marshall on the table to give us more capital.

I also think there’s a bit of merit in digging around Freo & shaking one of their young mids loose that are running around in the WAFL.

Really hope we persist with the Garcia on ball investment over the next month. We saw yesterday that as soon as things weren't going well, Garcia was the one to be moved out of the midfield. I was glad he went back in there later in the game. He's got plenty to work with. Five clearances, even though he didn't play massive midfield minutes and didn't have a great day. It's a good sign that he can win it at the coal face. It'd be easy for Ross to just go back to Clark, Jones types but I hope he avoids that inclination.

He looked a bit over awed yesterday, but in his defence I think the entire club went into the game wiih little or no expectation of a result. Hugo is definitely a keeper and worth getting game midfield time into. Windhager looked to be down on confidence but he is another I would persist with going forward.

Its a huge ask for young inexperienced kids to have an impact through the midfield. Usually its only the top echelon of draft kids that can manage it early in their careers. Otherwise its takes time and development for those players to florish.

We had no forward line yesterday.

Let’s just re-access in 5-6 weweeks.
100%

I'm not particularly optimistic about this season, but at the same time, it's pointless judging St Kilda on what was basically a warmup game for us. Lyon would never say that, but we all know it was.

Missing about 1/3 of the team. Marshall and Sinclair completely underdone- Marshall, the 3rd or 4th best ruck in the AFL wasn't playing ruck because A. We had no forwards available (King, Owens, Sharman, Butler, Pou out) and B. He wasn't ready to ruck.

Yesterday was an opportunity to give some kids an opportunity, and try to unearth the next Marshall or Wilkie. Hall was lively. I liked his effort. Boyd battled, a bit slow, but a big mature body which is better than having a 20-year-old beanpole as your back-up ruck.

Given our injuries and tough early fixture (3 games in Adelaide in the first 5, and 5 of last year's top 6 within the first 7 weeks), I reckon a record of 2-5 and a percentage of 85 would be a reasonable start. From there the fixture is easier, and hopefully with players coming back we can charge home.

9-11 wins is a fair aim for this year and what I'm expecting.

But again, it's pointless judging anything on yesterday. And we also don't know how Adelaide will go this year. I'm tipping them for top 8. They'll smack a few teams at Adelaide Oval this year.

Also, we averaged around 21 scoring shots per game last year and went 11-12 with a percentage of 99.4.

We had 22 scoring shots yesterday. A roundabout way of me saying the problem yesterday (despite many absences) probably wasn't the front end.
Front ends in ability to lock the ball in was a huge issue yesterday.

Missed Butlers ability to crumble, chase and harras.
Missed Sharman’s leading patterns
Missed Owen’s competitiveness
And missed Kings aerial presence.

The forward mix yesterday was VFL quality.

Things are never as good as they seem and never as bad as they seem.

We’ve got the 4th youngest list in the AFL and 4th least experienced. Ratten had the 2nd oldest and 3rd most experienced four years ago. We’ve already done the rebuild. Now we are just waiting for it to come together which takes a bit of patience.

Hawks were still getting belted every few weeks until last year, and that was 5 years after the rebuild started (which was 2019 – when they drafted Will Day and Finn Maginness). The Hawks also have more players on their list from other clubs than anyone else – they have continually topped up to fill gaps and support the nucleus of kids. Sound familiar?

We are two years behind the Hawks – we drafted Owens, Windhager and Wanganeen-Milera in 2021 to start our rebuild.

2026 is the year it starts to come together if the Hawks are any guide. Doesn’t mean we should accept the sort of result we saw on Saturday, but with 7 of our best 22 missing, those sort of outcomes are going to happen.

We are doing it the right way this time (finally – 20 years since we last did it the right way). Just need to hold the faith a little bit longer.

The saying, "You're never as bad as you think, nor as good as you believe," holds seriously true in footy, and a few people should remember that.

Look at Collingwood this week compared to last week, Hawthorn last year, us in the first half of last season versus the second half, Carlton in the first half of 2023 versus the second half, and even Brisbane, who lost to Carlton and Fremantle in Rounds 1 and 2 last year.

A few people need to cool their jets. There shouldn't be any tantrums based on this week's game.

And just for what it’s worth.

The crows have gone 7 seasons without making finals.

That side we played today was the culmination of 7 seasons of shit.

The Lions went 9 seasons.

Hawks went 5 straight seasons without making finals. (Before last season)

North have done 8 and this will be year 9.

West coast is up to 4 and this will be 5.

We have made finals 2 x in the last 5 years.

It’s a long way back if we just gut the place. I guess I’m just posting my thoughts trying to work out this entire dual narrative thing.

Twice they were probably undeserved appearances. Realistically we have been in rebuild since 2011. We have started again a few times and it looks like this one is going to take another 10 years to be a serious side again. Once our over 28 year olds all retire we fall back to about where we are….and that’s if the kids we have are any good. Looks like we just can’t get it right no matter what we do. Probably should have done a Richmond and traded out Marshall and Steele for front end picks. This draft looks like a shit one so that ship has sailed.

The saying, "You're never as bad as you think, nor as good as you believe," holds seriously true in footy, and a few people should remember that.

Look at Collingwood this week compared to last week, Hawthorn last year, us in the first half of last season versus the second half, Carlton in the first half of 2023 versus the second half, and even Brisbane, who lost to Carlton and Fremantle in Rounds 1 and 2 last year.

A few people need to cool their jets. There shouldn't be any tantrums based on this week's game.

Of course but it’s looking unlikely that we won’t lose heavily again next week and the way Richmond played they’re likely to start favourites. The season could legit be over by round three again. If you were a betting man, we look bottom 4.

Front ends in ability to lock the ball in was a huge issue yesterday.

Missed Butlers ability to crumble, chase and harras.
Missed Sharman’s leading patterns
Missed Owen’s competitiveness
And missed Kings aerial presence.

The forward mix yesterday was VFL quality.

i'm not even sure the FWD line was VFL quality.

The only thing that stopped a 100 point drumming was our coaching. Which seemed to stem a major loss.

I still believe in RTB and his methodology.

Our drafting and list management is still really really iffy though. All I wanted was best available at last years draft, but it seemed we went for best available "IF"

100%

I'm not particularly optimistic about this season, but at the same time, it's pointless judging St Kilda on what was basically a warmup game for us. Lyon would never say that, but we all know it was.

Missing about 1/3 of the team. Marshall and Sinclair completely underdone- Marshall, the 3rd or 4th best ruck in the AFL wasn't playing ruck because A. We had no forwards available (King, Owens, Sharman, Butler, Pou out) and B. He wasn't ready to ruck.

Yesterday was an opportunity to give some kids an opportunity, and try to unearth the next Marshall or Wilkie. Hall was lively. I liked his effort. Boyd battled, a bit slow, but a big mature body which is better than having a 20-year-old beanpole as your back-up ruck.

Given our injuries and tough early fixture (3 games in Adelaide in the first 5, and 5 of last year's top 6 within the first 7 weeks), I reckon a record of 2-5 and a percentage of 85 would be a reasonable start. From there the fixture is easier, and hopefully with players coming back we can charge home.

9-11 wins is a fair aim for this year and what I'm expecting.

But again, it's pointless judging anything on yesterday. And we also don't know how Adelaide will go this year. I'm tipping them for top 8. They'll smack a few teams at Adelaide Oval this year.

So because Adelaide are ok it's fine for us to be shyte?

Apart from Sharman our injuries are our own doing, highlighting how our preseason work loads have again smashed our list.

We have no full back or back up key positional defenders. We have the slowest midfield in the comp and we have a bunch of developing kids.

Richmond have a similiar list profile but yet they were able to have an outstanding 1st game win..

On the youth point, Adelaide were younger and had played fewer games than our team yesterday.
Yep and the difference is their seniors didn’t play like debutants. Seriously pathetic efforts from Steele, Hill, Jones, Marshall(through injury), Cordy (and Boyd skews the age too).

Probably should’ve traded Steele when Ross first came on board. The snippets we heard re: comments around Steele’s leadership when he first landed - Ross knew and knows he ain’t it.

Yet our team was older and more experienced than Adelaide's team....
Lyon has more talent at his disposal than Ratts did. The excuses have to end at some point. Richmond were young too. They forgot to make excuses though.

How’s super coach Clarkson going with tHe BeSt YoUnG LisT iN ThE cOmP?

No coach can work with 1/3 of an already immature group missing. Wonder if we’ll ever get to see anything near full strength.

Yep and the difference is their seniors didn’t play like debutants. Seriously pathetic efforts from Steele, Hill, Jones, Marshall(through injury), Cordy (and Boyd skews the age too).

Probably should’ve traded Steele when Ross first came on board. The snippets we heard re: comments around Steele’s leadership when he first landed - Ross knew and knows he ain’t it.

Should leave them all out next week. No point losing by 10 goals playing those B losers. Jones is no good. He’s been an inconsistent average player his whole career. How many chances does he get. I’d rather Byrnes even. He’s still got some potential growth. Jones is VFL level. Cordy is too slow for a defensive role. Just play Barrat Obama and get games into him. Trainor looked good and he’s slim AF. Hill out for anyone.

Should leave them all out next week. No point losing by 10 goals playing those B losers. Jones is no good. He’s been an inconsistent average player his whole career. How many chances does he get. I’d rather Byrnes even. He’s still got some potential growth. Jones is VFL level. Cordy is too slow for a defensive role. Just play Barrat Obama and get games into him. Train or looked good and he’s slim AF. Hill out for anyone.
Agreed.
Don’t understand calls for Hastie to be dropped, though he was decent and is the future.
Roll some blokes with speed through the middle. Would honestly rather see Steele at FF the way he’s going.
Put Wilson in mid, tell him to go head to head with Holmes and learn the trade.

Ratts had the same senior players Lyon has: Wilkie, Marshall, Sinclair, Steele, Wood, Hill, Higgins, Butler.

Plus compared to this year, he also had Ryder, Crouch, Membrey, Gresham, Billings, Long, Ross, Battle.

And King, who was healthy 2020 - 2022, but has missed 50% of games since Lyon started in 2023, and hasn't strung together more than 7 games in a row at any stage.

How’s super coach Clarkson going with tHe BeSt YoUnG LisT iN ThE cOmP?

No coach can work with 1/3 of an already immature group missing. Wonder if we’ll ever get to see anything near full strength.

North are improving. They will jump up at some point. They need to keep playing together until it all falls into place. We have a better list with more experience and we are uncompetitive a lot of the time. We are a lazy team with a laid back mind set. I’m not sure where we are at now. Two matches where they were absolutely embarrassed by average sides. I actually think it might be Boris that got it wrong and terrible list management to not pick up cover for KPDs after losing Battle. Our best line last year is now our worst.

Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

Write your reply...