Opinion Culture at Collingwood

I used to work with a guy who was on Carlton's rookie list for a year under Brett Ratten before being delisted, and he told me the only time he ever spoke to Ratten was the end of year meeting when he was told he wasn't retaining a spot on the list. Maybe it is more common than we think, if it is I think it is something that shouldn't happen at any footy club.

Yeah someone I know said in his first year at WC back in early 2000s that he only spoke to Worsfold a couple of times in the year.

Seems to me unless you are starting 22 or close to best 22 your involvement with the senior coach is minimal.

Yep 11th spot this year, lucky we traded them could have finished 12th instead.

I have no problem with trading the players, once again you have targeted a post and made up something, I said people on this board need to understand clearly we have issues inside the club as you don't have a turnover like we have and perform so badly on field.

Mate - we have closed the gap against the best this year and that is the true measure of on field progress.
Yes we have performed inconsistently which is an issue with young teams and injuries preventing a settled 22.

So I don't agree there is anything wrong with the club in the way you are suggesting.

You keep going on about player turnover, but you refuse to acknowledge that there were no Flags left in that group. Therefore we are better placed having started the rebuild, than keeping the list and starting the rebuild now.

So therefore to say "we have issues inside the club as you don't have a turnover like we have and perform so badly on the field" - is only correct if you are obsessed with W/L.

And that of course is your perogative - but others like myself are for more expansive in our appreciation of our true progress.

Dont know what to make of all this. I dont doubt that people do have access to information about the club, and it wont always be good. Without disparaging the OP, the person who passed on the information may be a disgruntled employee, or close to someone at he club who is unhappy. Maybe not.

There could be different perspectives on this at the club, varying from player to player. I dont expect everyone to be happy all the time. Even lately we have heard that Cloke loves the club, even that Broomy loves the club. What does that mean - they love the club, the place, their team mates, the coaches?

Do we have a culture problem? Is this the 2016 version of 'Bucks doesnt have the group'? I've no idea. But I agree with others who point out that good culture, camaraderie, mateship, whatever, can take time to form, and its helped by winning. I posted many times in 2016 about wanting to see us gel on the field, build that chemistry which signifies a happy and hungry team. I thought I saw glimpses of it in the second half of the season. The way we took it up to Hawthorn in the final round showed some pride in the jumper, even pride in our history. I took that as a good sign. Robbo's throwing us under the bus on the eve of the season would not have helped in the first half of the year.

Footy clubs are like finely tuned instruments. A little bit off here or there can throw the whole thing out of tune.

***MOD EDIT: OP BROUGHT ACROSS FROM TRADE THREAD***

I have a team of people I manage. If they are unhappy I try and find a solution but more important than that I do whatever I can to create a culture where they are happy. It costs me and the business I run alot of money if I have high staff turnover. The number 1 thing I can do to run a profitable business is to keep my staff happy so they stay.

If I had the attitude if your not happy then go work somewhere else i would not be making a cent.

What If I told you that the pies have a player welfare manager. He works closely with 1st year players in trying to get them settled. First year players get allowances for relocation etc(I believe part of the EBA) I can tell you for a fact that late last year first year players were still chasing moneys owed with this welfare manager. The money should have been paid at the start of the season. What sort of example does this send to people joining an organisation.

What if I told you that last year a senior play organised a function that raised a lot of money to fund their mad Monday celebrations. On the day of the mad monday celebrations only 10 players turned up and only a few of them were senior players. The player who organised this function did not show up because he was too hungover. The few senior players who did show up were very P1ssed off and unhappy with their senior team mates. Williams was once of the few to turn up. Id be pretty confident that at todays mad monday celebrations for the hawks most if not all of list will who up. What does this tell you about the senior leadership in the playing group? This might not seem like much to most but it is the type of thing that can help culture or damage culture.

What If I told you there are young players at that club who feel like they do not know bucks at all. I know Richardson at the saints makes time to sit down with every player on the list once a week during the season. Is this happening at Collingwood and if not, why not?

I have absolutely no doubt that the club has major issues in keeping players happy and developing player relationships.

I just hope Gubby recognizes this and fixes it because I fear Eddie has lost the ability to be objective when he so desperately wants to be proven right with the current coaching situation.
Frightening reality if what you say is true.

Great post, enjoyed your thoughts.

Some have questioned Pendlebury going O/S and at first I found it a little odd, however it's also likely he will be required around to welcome tradee and draftee arrivals, as much as TD already does a great job of that! While I don't see Pendles as the most charismatic leader, I'd trust his judgement in fulfilling the obligations of his role.

I have a theory on the lack of perceived camaraderie. Bucks has clearly shown a liking for the players who are straight laced, disciplined types with high work ethics. Great in theory, and necessary to UPHOLDING culture. However the very best leaders also often have that risk-taker element that makes them more engaging and likely to take the group outside its comfort zone. These people DRIVE culture. The flair aspect of their personalities also makes many of them match winners.

The problem is that if you weed out all the personalities with the gumption to challenge the status quo, you end up with a group of conformists who for all of the best intentions, will be less likely to become instinctive leaders capable of bringing others along for the ride.

You need both types in your squad but Hodge is a drink-driving party boy who gets reported twice a year and Cotchin is a clean skin model citizen. Which one do you want as captain?

Isn't that itself an exaggeration? Pot, Kettle and all that?
The question I'm asking is why do people, including you, assume that any "regular" is privy to some goings on and why would anyone want to discuss possible internal issues based on such an assumption? What does that achieve? It's like having a discussion with an imaginary friend who told you what he heard from "a source". What if I told you that tonight's lottto numbers will be 5, 6, 14, 24, 33 and 1? Look forward to that discussion.
Thanks for that.

Are some of you people for real or what. Criticising the captain for not putting his holidays on hold while the VFL play finals. The sooner he gets away the sooner he's back working out. I think some of you just like bitching for the sake of bitching. It's like reading a bad Robert Walls article.

One of the things I would like Allen to change would be to stop the leaks.

A lot of posters seem to have inside knowledge of the club workings and little of it is positive.

Anyone got any good leaks?

Leaks ... That's an interesting one.

I reckon for every leak you read on here, there are probably a dozen (or more) leaks that people here on BF have come across and aren't publically talking about it. I do genuinely think that it's very rare that footy supporters stumble across something scandalous about their club and then decide to post it in an open forum.

The leaks almost always are about things that affect players or coaches personally. "This person doesn't get along with that person" or "this person is seeking a trade" or "This person has an interesting extra-curricular activity ..." etc, etc. How often do you come across gameday strategy stuff, or club IP stuff? Almost never.

I reckon for every leak you read on here, there are probably a dozen (or more) leaks that people here on BF have come across and aren't publically talking about it. I do genuinely think that it's very rare that footy supporters stumble across something scandalous about their club and then decide to post it in an open forum.

The leaks almost always are about things that affect players or coaches personally. "This person doesn't get along with that person" or "this person is seeking a trade" or "This person has an interesting extra-curricular activity ..." etc, etc. How often do you come across gameday strategy stuff, or club IP stuff? Almost never.
Not sure what point you are making.
I was referring to the personal stuff, rarely positive.
I have been told certain things but always take into account who I hear it from and where they got it from. Sometimes the bearer of this news is not always objective therefore rarely repeat it.

Some may not be interested in the strategy because they either don't understand it or it goes against their posts like "go man on man", "just ****ing kick it", "X was on Mitchell and got hammered" when X was never on Mitchell.

You're not serious are you? You realise AFL listed players only get a 8-10 week off-season?

Gee, I wish I had a job where I only got an 8-10 week off-season. I'd be sure to suffer through that graciously. :(

Non finalists start pre-season start of November, with many of them returning to the club earlier to get a head start on the pre-season. Are you suggesting that all Collingwood players must delay and reduce their overseas holidays by 4 weeks just to watch a handful of their teammates play in the VFL finals?

Yes. Totally.

Think about all the mates, family, girlfriends and boyfriends who go to support their loved ones when they play weekend sports, or play in an a community orchestra, or play in a community or school play, or exhibit at an art exhibition, etc, etc, etc.

You support those who you love and respect. That's what community spirit is about. Especially when it involves supporting work colleagues and you're getting paid and you don't have much else to do.

As an aside, who from the players at our club are the sociable type, ie the ones that bring people together in a spirit of esprit de cour? (?Spelling)

Esprit de corps

Are some of you people for real or what. Criticising the captain for not putting his holidays on hold while the VFL play finals. The sooner he gets away the sooner he's back working out. I think some of you just like bitching for the sake of bitching. It's like reading a bad Robert Walls article.
He also has to be in town for the Copland which is only a couple of weeks away. He either goes when he did or not at all.

He has a right to relax and enjoy life outside of the footy bubble as much as anyone. Hie deserves it and it will only help him and the team in the long run.

***MOD EDIT: OP BROUGHT ACROSS FROM TRADE THREAD***

I have a team of people I manage. If they are unhappy I try and find a solution but more important than that I do whatever I can to create a culture where they are happy. It costs me and the business I run alot of money if I have high staff turnover. The number 1 thing I can do to run a profitable business is to keep my staff happy so they stay.

If I had the attitude if your not happy then go work somewhere else i would not be making a cent.

What If I told you that the pies have a player welfare manager. He works closely with 1st year players in trying to get them settled. First year players get allowances for relocation etc(I believe part of the EBA) I can tell you for a fact that late last year first year players were still chasing moneys owed with this welfare manager. The money should have been paid at the start of the season. What sort of example does this send to people joining an organisation.

What if I told you that last year a senior play organised a function that raised a lot of money to fund their mad Monday celebrations. On the day of the mad monday celebrations only 10 players turned up and only a few of them were senior players. The player who organised this function did not show up because he was too hungover. The few senior players who did show up were very P1ssed off and unhappy with their senior team mates. Williams was once of the few to turn up. Id be pretty confident that at todays mad monday celebrations for the hawks most if not all of list will who up. What does this tell you about the senior leadership in the playing group? This might not seem like much to most but it is the type of thing that can help culture or damage culture.

What If I told you there are young players at that club who feel like they do not know bucks at all. I know Richardson at the saints makes time to sit down with every player on the list once a week during the season. Is this happening at Collingwood and if not, why not?

I have absolutely no doubt that the club has major issues in keeping players happy and developing player relationships.

I just hope Gubby recognizes this and fixes it because I fear Eddie has lost the ability to be objective when he so desperately wants to be proven right with the current coaching situation.

I would like to hear from a new/younger player speaking out to the fans saying "watch this space...we are going places".

Yes. Totally.

Think about all the mates, family, girlfriends and boyfriends who go to support their loved ones when they play weekend sports, or play in an a community orchestra, or play in a community or school play, or exhibit at an art exhibition, etc, etc, etc.

You support those who you love and respect. That's what community spirit is about. Especially when it involves supporting work colleagues and you're getting paid and you don't have much else to do.
Family and partners yes but I've never heard of people not having holidays so that they can see their mates/friends play sport, play in an orchestra etc. it would be a very rare thing!!

Don't know if it is or should be different at sporting clubs but as an employee, I rarely associated with people I worked with.
Outside of work, we had little in common. Didn't feel left out maybe it was the age and maturity.
I believe it is different in an elite sporting club, especially in team sports. The time is short and limited. You cannot compare it to working life.
You should have a few good friends as it certainly makes the team function better.

Opinion Culture at Collingwood