D GRADE: Give me something...

Bevo is back and was at the game on saturday. Is likely to play in a couple of weeks. Not sure if he would make himself available this week, given he only arrived back into the country on Friday.

Hi all. Long time reader, first time poster. Have just read the last 2 weeks of the thread and it is all very interesting.
I know a few people down at Carey and they have definately strengthened their side. Not sure if they can beat BT, as they are a strong unit both physically and mentally.
The OC line-up when they play BT in a few weeks will be nothing like a. the one that played the 04 GF, or b. Like the side that played BT earlier in the year.
My guess is that only 6 players max will have played in the 04 GF (Not sure if Ugly Dermie thinks this is good or bad) And they have also had a heap of inclusions from earlier in the year. There whole onballers have changed with Maslin, Ratcliffe, Carpenter and Barton. While they also have Jogger White, Busse and Jessop back in. I think the Carey side is a heap stronger than the one that lost to Bulleen earlier this year. But i also think Bulleen are heaps better. Earlier in the year they were scratchy and lost a few and won a few close ones. More recently they are winning by a lot more. Perhaps the Bains and co have made a difference.
If i had to tip, i would tip Carey to win the game at their home ground, but i will wait until finals and team lineups to predict the premiers.

Keep up all the great posts!

While the consensus here seems to be that the five favourites are all going to win comfortably, this time of year always throws up some surprises. With probably only one team treading water at the moment (not likely to make finals or be relegated) all teams will be coming out hard and desperate for a win.

Old Carey vs Emmaus St. Leo's: St. Leo's form over the past month and a half is definitely going to worry the teams above them on the ladder. However impressive their change in form has been, it has been against lower teams (wins against Banyule, Therry and Prahran, draw against Old Mentonians) and they have been found lacking a bit against the cream of the crop. They have had one big win against a finals contender, Saturday is the chance to make it two. It will be a cracking battle and the winner of the midfield battle will go a long way to winning the game. I believe the ruck tandem that Carey employs will be enough to wear out Ballard, who seems to shoulder the workload himself. I'm tipping Collins to match up on Buckle and that would be a ripper to watch. I just think Old Carey will have too many winners around the ground and they are a more physically imposing unit than St. Leo's. They won't drop this one, especially not at Dunshea.

Old Geelong vs Old Mentonians: Old Geelong have to quickly find the answer to what has gone wrong in recent times. Two losses in a row by less than a goal and losing three out of four isn't good form heading into a finals campaign. In an intriguing match up, they face an Old Mentonians side who haven't been in the best form themselves in recent times. They would have expected to have beaten Rupertswood and kept the finals flame flickering and they would be bitterly disappointed with their past fortnight. Both teams have enough stars to tear a game apart, but I'm going with Old Geelong. They simply can't afford to lose this one.

Banyule vs Yarra Valley: After an eight goal loss against Bulleen-Templestowe, Yarra Valley need to get back on the winners list and will be desperate to do so to keep the pressure on Rupertswood and Old Geelong. Banyule on the other hand have continued their losing streak, however they snatched a huge away victory against the Bushrangers last time these two teams met. Yarra Valley will be fired up for this one and should be good enough to win.

Rupertswood vs Therry Penola: For the neutral observer and the casual follower of this forum, this will be the match of the round. There is a fair rivalry between the Therry and Rupo people on the forum and a bit of banter back and forth. A $500 bet was hastily made then reneged on, which means ILSS probably doesn't have the cash to back up his mouth (I doubt Bill Gates would have enough to back up ILSS's mouth, actually). A lot depends on whether Therry's galaxy of stars return for this one, as they've been waiting on them for a while and need them back in a hurry if they're to pull themselves out of the danger zone. The wet weather conditions should suit the Therry defence as Rupertswood probably won't be able to move the footy as quickly as they would like. I just believe that Therry Penola have been priming themselves for this one and a win can really start them concentrating on consolodation in D1 for next year. That, and I have to pick an upset.

Bulleen-Templestowe vs Prahran: Here is another chance for the league to observe the gap between the top two and the rest. Prahran got over the line against third placed Old Geelong (now fourth), so it will be interesting to see if they can back up that result with a huge win away against the Bullants. Bulleen-Temp are in impeccable form and, especially at home they look to have too many guns for Prahran. The Bullants have the cattle to cut off Stafford and Walford's supply and their on ball division should have the edge. I don't know who will match up on Chivers, but in his current form the man with that job is in for a rough day. Bulleen-Templestowe too good for mine.

juDDa said:
watching the game at yarra valley at the mighty dmoeney reserve on satrurday i saw that all the bain's do is pass to each other when they have the ball!! quite funny actually.. one stage one of them was runnning into an almost open goal #9?? then passed it to his brother!
on another topic, there was rumours that bullants have got more to come into their line-up come finals..
will florance, waters or frost play in the finals series????

Hey JuDDa, do you know if the Bain boys are still little idols and wearing the Chris Judd wrist tape?

I think Matt's pretty overrated, soft as butter, the sort of player who never has a dirty jumper. He'l never be Ryan.

Waters is a quality ruckman, the problem with the giraffe is he can't kick.

BIG JOHN.

Let me guess: You are a little fella, last ever picked when teams where selected, probably a tad over weight, pimple faced, still living at mum and dads, and I could go on.

Leave personal insults (unless you are brave enough to put a real name to it) to yourself. Absolutely gutless....

NOW #%*& OFF!

Big John sounds a bit like a dikchead! This forum is just way too classy for poor contributors like him. Well said Ugly!
Loving todays posts. The OC vs BT who is flag favourite argument is rivetting. Seems like both teams are peaking and have very solid lists. The showdown in a few weeks time should reveal who will be favourite come 2nd Semi final time. Neither team would fancy facing an OGS/Rupo/YV on Preliminary final day however! Exciting times ahead in D-Grade.
Keep the tips coming in. It seems like most are going for the obvious. Top 5 to beat bottom 5. Intersting to see one punter go for Leos against the OC and another Therry against Rupo. Either result would certainly throw the cat amongst the pigeons.
DG-Out

DG-Man said:
Big John sounds a bit like a dikchead! This forum is just way too classy for poor contributors like him. Well said Ugly!
DG-Man said:
Loving todays posts. The OC vs BT who is flag favourite argument is rivetting. Seems like both teams are peaking and have very solid lists. The showdown in a few weeks time should reveal who will be favourite come 2nd Semi final time. Neither team would fancy facing an OGS/Rupo/YV on Preliminary final day however! Exciting times ahead in D-Grade.
Keep the tips coming in. It seems like most are going for the obvious. Top 5 to beat bottom 5. Intersting to see one punter go for Leos against the OC and another Therry against Rupo. Either result would certainly throw the cat amongst the pigeons.
DG-Out

Think BT will have a real fight on their hands this Saturday. Could suffer a let down after pumping Yarra at Yarra. Will need to be switched on.....a real danger game here.

Man for man, OC a better list than BT. Unfortunatley for OC, BT a better team which could be important in finals (sound like 2004??) when you need to let nothing stand in you way to win. Either way, will be a great finals series..if OG make it you never know. Don't think it matters who slots into 4th.

I agree with that assessment. It seems a two-horse race at the present, with OG a stark outsider should the conditions be completely to their liking. Fourth place (Rupo or YV) unlikely to have an real impact - although Yarra Valley have beaten OGs twice from two this year. Could pinch a qualifiying final birth, but OC and BT seem to have them covered.

Ok lads... here is how the finals are going to go down!!!!

Ladder finish:

1: OC
2: BT
3: Rupo
4: OG's

BT will lose to OC in the first final = OC to the Granny!
Rupo to beat Og's = Rupo advance to play BT
Rupo to beat BT = Rupo into the granny

2006 Grandfinal:
OC v Rupo

i will let you know the result once we get closer to the big day.

Hate to say it, though i hope you are right for your sake, however i think, reasonably quietly that BT and OC are putting together units that resemble somwhere between Fitzroy and Ormond of last year. Mixtures of size,speed, experience, hardness, skill, and youth. Looking at last week's impressive results, both sides were still between 3-6 players off full strength which is scary. Bt sidesthat could be run of off their feet, are things of the past with the additions of the fleetfooted Bains and Burridge, and OC teams that could be intimidated have gone with Ratcliffe, Barton, Bull, Zander(nutcase but good footballer) giving OC a menacing edge. Looks bad for the rest of us.

Is anyone else sick of hearing every single week how many freaking players OC and BT are getting back???
Every week they seem to be getting back 6-8 quality players and have been playing with only 4-6 of there top 18...... It is really starting to make me want to vomit....there is no way in the world they are getting all these players back all the time. It is like they are all backing themselves just incase they lose in the coming weeks.

note to all these people telling I Love Sandra Sully fairy tails:

PUT A CORK IN IT.

For those looking for a blueprint of how to beat OC - watch Leo's this week. Leo's will win, and comfortably. My first big statement on this thread!

I Love Sandra Sully said:
Is anyone else sick of hearing every single week how many freaking players OC and BT are getting back???
Every week they seem to be getting back 6-8 quality players and have been playing with only 4-6 of there top 18...... It is really starting to make me want to vomit....there is no way in the world they are getting all these players back all the time. It is like they are all backing themselves just incase they lose in the coming weeks.

note to all these people telling I Love Sandra Sully fairy tails:

PUT A CORK IN IT.

The BT list has no more inclusions, its just a matter of who is available from week to week

Don't think it is BT or OC people doing the pumping up. Like AJPAJP, the Carey side will be picked from the 35 or so guys who have played this year. Injuries and availability determine this.

Nice "big call" Kibe. Leos have certainly been pretty good. They have had some large wins. Last time you played OC, it was pretty even after OC kicked away early.

I think Leos are probably the 3rd or 4th best side ATM. Should be agreat game. Have gone for the OC (of course) but it will be a solid contest.

Leos form means that they are very unlikely to go down, but because of their poor start to the season, threy have to keep winning, so will come out very hard and strong.

Can't see BT not maiking GF this year ILSS. But your enthusiasm is certainly entertaining!

Moss

Half Back's tips this week.

OC V St Leos ( OC by plenty)
OG V Mentonians ( To get back on track)
Banyule V YV ( YV just)
BT V Prahran (BT by plenty)

Match of the day

Rupo V Therry

Are the guns back??? Is the ground going to be wet? Can ILSS put he's head over the Footy??? Is the bet on ILSS???? No Rick Bannister after a OC player kept picking on the wrong bloke!!! Who will have the northern suburb's D1 bragging right's?? Therry by six goals!!! and to end Rupo's final dreams..

Hey Little John, Don't know what drugs you are on but I ventured down from interstate to watch the boys at BT early in the year and it was young M Bain who stood out. For a kid build like a stick he showed plenty.

So as others have mentioned do yourself a favour and ship off.

Tips
Rupo 14pts (looking forward to a hard fair contest)
The Animals in an upset (hopefully with a let down the following week.
OG to bounce back
BT by 12pts
Banyule to have one last crack at relegation. (YV's confidence will be down).

Need a couple of upsets!!!

Good luck to all on the weekend.

Half Back and CU maybe you could fill the great lady in on some things for the big game this weekend:

Corey Bannister: Beleive he has been AWOL for the last 3 weeks with a hammy, I have it on good accord that he has been told this weekend is a no go... as you will need him if you are to beat Banyule and avoid relegation later in the year.

Justin crotty: Chance of playing, but 5 weeks out with a calf??? he can't be to match fit?!?!?!

Chickie: missed 4 weeks.....will return.... and maybe found out with not much fitness.

Am i on the money???
Just remember The Great newsreader knows all.

ILSS- only stating on the basis of names i saw missing from both line-ups on the VAFA website, and as per Moss Rocket, i have nothing to do with OC or BT and would love to see one of these two teams fall as it is always good to see an underdog get up, though i honestly dont think Rupo are good enough, nor Geelong.. only YV IMO full strength have the weapons to beat either of these sides, or maybe Leos.. but Leos wont make finals

and ILSS think you are putting words in my mouth. My statement was 3-6 players. I did not mention quality of said players, nor that either side was only playing 4-6 of best 22. Mind you, a good newsreader always knows how to put a spin on things.

I Love Sandra Sully said:
Half Back and CU maybe you could fill the great lady in on some things for the big game this weekend:

Corey Bannister: Beleive he has been AWOL for the last 3 weeks with a hammy, I have it on good accord that he has been told this weekend is a no go... as you will need him if you are to beat Banyule and avoid relegation later in the year.

Justin crotty: Chance of playing, but 5 weeks out with a calf??? he can't be to match fit?!?!?!

Chickie: missed 4 weeks.....will return.... and maybe found out with not much fitness.

Am i on the money???
Just remember The Great newsreader knows all.

ILSS,

Crotty is a chance.

C Bannister trained strongly on Tuesday.

Chicken!!!Wont play.

Foster-knight will play this week.

We are setting ourselves for this one!!....

Cheers:thumbsu:

Its finally in, team of the half year. As far as BT goes none of the three have played in any of those positions all year, doesnt really matter i suppose

D1 SECTION
Backs: Simon Sweeney (Ruperts) Chris Battle (Old Carey) Alistair Munro (Old Geel)

Half Backs: Blake Carroll (Old Ment) Andrew Foster-Knight (Therry Penola) Jordan Wise (Bulleen Temp)

Centres: Justin Crotty (Therry Penola) Greg Chivers (Bulleen Temp) Tom West (Ruperts)

Half Forwards: Dean Matthews (Bulleen Temp) Michael Basile (Old Ment) Nick Casboult (Old Geel)

Forward: Colby O’Brien (Old Geel) Corey Bannister (Therry Penola) Josh Carr (Old Carey)

Rucks: Henry Legoe (Old Geel) Allister Parton (Old Carey) Ashley Drew (Yarra Valley OB)

Inter: Anthony Ballard (St. Leos Emmaus) Leigh Brennan (Ruperts) Robin Drew (Yarra Valley OB) David Gayfer (Banyule)

AJPAJP said:
Its finally in, team of the half year. As far as BT goes none of the three have played in any of those positions all year, doesnt really matter i suppose

D1 SECTION
Backs: Simon Sweeney (Ruperts) Chris Battle (Old Carey) Alistair Munro (Old Geel)

Half Backs: Baranello(ESL) Andrew Foster-Knight (Therry Penola) Jordan Wise (Bulleen Temp)

Centres: Justin Crotty (Therry Penola) Greg Chivers (Bulleen Temp) Monzell(Ruperts)

Half Forwards: Dean Matthews (Bulleen Temp) Michael Basile (Old Ment) Nick Casboult (Old Geel)

Forward: Colby O’Brien (Old Geel) Allister Parton(Old Carey) Josh Carr (Old Carey)

Rucks: Anthony Ballard (St. Leos Emmaus) Steve Collins (Old Carey) Ashley Drew (Yarra Valley OB)

Inter: Laurence Basell(Old Carey) Dave Collins(Ruperts) James Keem (Yarra Valley OB) David Gayfer (Banyule)

a few changes you will notice.. totally disagree on OGs Ruckman IMO not in the top 5. Also not sure how you can include four Rupo,3 YV, 3 OGs and leave out Steve Collins, however it is all subjective, and this was a really good effort, is not an easy thing to do.