D1 2009 - Part 2

Very good streetwise,

Down to three ( Rupo already there ) Pre lim day, we have been there before, the pressure the young bees will face will be so much more then last week, so much from a club point of view riding on this result and to go out in staright sets would be very dissapointing, haven't heard from WEST, this week, so maybe the pressure already starting to build ??

Scoreboard suggests the roys were simply brilliant and will serve it right up to the bees, Dullard, Biggs, Mckay and big rosco the keys,

The VAFA comp is alive and well,

Shall deliver my tip and a little more detail later in the week.

What pressure. First year up a grade and into a prelim.
Some boys back this week which will strengthen the forward line pressure. And all this crap about supporters, give it a rest and concentrate on the footy. Will be a great contest this week and looking forward to the Roy Boys hard at the ball contest.

I made the trip down on sunday to watch what i though would be a crakcer. Was surely mistaken!
The roys boys looked very impressive and it was obvious just wanted it more and went in harder against a friar outfit who looked well underdone with some key players missing.

Can someone fill me in, where was 23, 32 and 11. May have been a different story had they played. No doubting Roys were better in that day though with #3 outstanding.
I popped a calf muscle a couple in Round 16 JB and was battling. Truth be told, I wasn't likely to nudge Rosco out of FF anyway :D:D:D

I made the trip down on sunday to watch what i though would be a crakcer. Was surely mistaken!
The roys boys looked very impressive and it was obvious just wanted it more and went in harder against a friar outfit who looked well underdone with some key players missing.

Can someone fill me in, where was 23, 32 and 11. May have been a different story had they played. No doubting Roys were better in that day though with #3 outstanding.

Yep timing has a lot do with things and the stars weren't aligned for the Friars with Woods, O'Meara, Marchesi, Luccarelli, Langford, A.Brosolo, M.Stafford -all out at the wrong time!!! Having said that they may have made no difference to the result diue to Fitzroy's exceptional perfomance.

Perhaps Fitzroy have got it all together at the right time, they were very good on Sunday, had plenty of surprises - pace, hardness, skill, focus and workrate!!

Will be a keen observer on Saturday!

Some boys back this week which will strengthen the forward line pressure. And all this crap about supporters, give it a rest and concentrate on the footy. Will be a great contest this week and looking forward to the Roy Boys hard at the ball contest.

Agreed - neither side would feel more pressured than the other to grab the C section promotion. The Bees' top 2 status throughout the season is probably counterbalanced by the Roys obvious mission to return to C section from whence we came at the end of 2007.

The fact each team beat the other on the road makes things even more intriguing.

May come down to how Fitzroy adjust to playing at The Pit. Its a funny old venue if the northerly picks up, creating a bit of a wind tunnel running north/south. Werribee will be better prepared in that regard obviously, not only having played last week, but due to their home ground being similarly oriented (i.e. running slightly downhill from north to south).

I think the week off will be great for Rupppo. Fitzroy and Werribee should be a ripper. I'm tipping Fitzroy by 4pts with a free kick to no.3 after the siren, down field from Biggs. Imagine the scenes!!!!!

lf you say so westy ,
but mate regardless of where you were 12 monthes ago

to clearly be one of the top 2 sides all year
lose and you go out in straight sets, it costs you the chance of
Promotion / playing in a Grand Final would be SHATTERING

You will play a fit healthy and confident fitzroy this week
a side who come into the game with plenty of momentum

Id say you boys are under a fair bit of pressure old pal..

lf you say so westy ,
but mate regardless of where you were 12 monthes ago

to clearly be one of the top 2 sides all year
lose and you go out in straight sets, it costs you the chance of
Promotion / playing in a Grand Final would be SHATTERING

You will play a fit healthy and confident fitzroy this week
a side who come into the game with plenty of momentum

Id say you boys are under a fair bit of pressure old pal..
So what your saying is Fitzroy will have no excuses when you lose on Saturday. Fantastic.

I think you guys are getting ahead of yourselves. We didn't get to second by default. Remember we were the only side to defeat Ruppo this year and when our backs are to the wall you will see a very determined side put 4 quarters together.

Nobody is suggesting you got there by default... nobody is saying you aren't a very good side.

And it's in the minutes that you beat Rupertswood... noted - but that don't count a rusty f*ck once the ball is bounced on Saturday afternoon.

All I'm saying is you won't hear any excuses from us if we lose.

I think you guys are getting ahead of yourselves. We didn't get to second by default. Remember we were the only side to defeat Ruppo this year and when our backs are to the wall you will see a very determined side put 4 quarters together.

sorry westy not from the fizzas
my mob are well and truly past the mad monday

although I think the bees can win

your point above is eactly why you boys are under the pump
as YOU said to finish second and be the only side to beat
Ruppo lose on sat and the year means nothing ..

you would be shattered to go out in straight sets

Rupppo went out in straight sets in 2007. As a supporter i was proud of their efforts, i'm sure Westy will be proud of the team no matter what. They would be shattered but so will 4 other sides this Saturday, no matter what position they came from.

All talk is cheap so get off here shooting mouths off and play some good footy you blokes.I am not from the vafa but have mates who play for werribee.Because i play elsewhere i have never seen them play but read all the hype in the papers.An honest assessment of the game(and im not bagging blokes here its just an analysis)
I'd say Ruppo coach was smart making whitehead play on cunningham,Made cunningham look slow and unaccountable while giving the ruppo backline smarts and polish.Very good player whitehead.(if that was the curly hair bloke)Westy for ruppo was a huge influence on the game as was little Mcphee.For werribee i thought the forward line was way too slow at times as ball came out to easily.The Taylors all are hard at it but slower than you would like as is Fastuca but being a big bloke he doesnt have to move far to be damaging.Palmington was great i thought because he tries different things.Need more for keogh pellar cunningham Andrew taylor.Goof luck both teams this week hopefully tigers get through

All talk is cheap so get off here shooting mouths off and play some good footy you blokes.I am not from the vafa but have mates who play for werribee.Because i play elsewhere i have never seen them play but read all the hype in the papers.An honest assessment of the game(and im not bagging blokes here its just an analysis)
I'd say Ruppo coach was smart making whitehead play on cunningham,Made cunningham look slow and unaccountable while giving the ruppo backline smarts and polish.Very good player whitehead.(if that was the curly hair bloke)Westy for ruppo was a huge influence on the game as was little Mcphee.For werribee i thought the forward line was way too slow at times as ball came out to easily.The Taylors all are hard at it but slower than you would like as is Fastuca but being a big bloke he doesnt have to move far to be damaging.Palmington was great i thought because he tries different things.Need more for keogh pellar cunningham Andrew taylor.Goof luck both teams this week hopefully on Sat tigers get through

Finally someone who talks football and not crap about crowds etc. Your assessment of the game is spot on. I know that the boys are well aware of the lack of forward pressure and many attacks were set up from Ruppo's defence. Obviously we as a club have been working on this and you will see a different side that line up against Fitzroy on Saturday.

Does anyone no if they have named the team of the year yet, if they have named it can someone throw it up so we can have a look!!! Thanks men!!!

No idea about the TOTY, but the Roys line-up for tomorrow is unchanged from Sunday. Probably no surprises there.

Have to say after some initial excitement, the D1 board has been pretty quiet leading into Saturday. I am very much looking forward to our boys exacting sweet revenge over Fitzroy tomorrow. We have seen their best footy and it simply isn't good enough to stop us.

The conditions and ground will surely suit us perfectly and we will prove for once and for all that our club is well and truly still on the march up the grades in this great competition.

Go Bees!

Have to say after some initial excitement, the D1 board has been pretty quiet leading into Saturday. I am very much looking forward to our boys exacting sweet revenge over Fitzroy tomorrow. We have seen their best footy and it simply isn't good enough to stop us.

The conditions and ground will surely suit us perfectly and we will prove for once and for all that our club is well and truly still on the march up the grades in this great competition.

Go Bees!

Did you see them last week grum....?

Extra, Fitzroy were good and deserve a tilt at Werribee today. But i wouldn't get too carried away, last week Friars looked slow, unfit, and unskilled, Fitzroy wont see a Ruppo side that is slow, unfit and unskilled. In all the games i have seen the Friars it was not what i expected from this club.

Today should be a great game, i find it funny Fitzroy naming an unchanged side, last week Werribee left three of their gun players off the team sheet making us try to think they weren't playing. A bit of fun on there part. Fitzroy may have three out, who knows, Dullard, Biggs and McKay all missing??????