D1 2009 - Part 2

Have to say after some initial excitement, the D1 board has been pretty quiet leading into Saturday. I am very much looking forward to our boys exacting sweet revenge over Fitzroy tomorrow. We have seen their best footy and it simply isn't good enough to stop us.

The conditions and ground will surely suit us perfectly and we will prove for once and for all that our club is well and truly still on the march up the grades in this great competition.

Go Bees!

hahahahahahahahaha,

[/B]

hahahahahahahahaha,

Yeah fair enough. I will cop that. For the second week running we were too slow, too scared, too undisciplined and our skills under pressure were awful. To see Nathan Adammo reduced to antagonizing Jimmy Taylor when our second bloke got sent off was truly embarassing.

We will learn from this. Full marks to Fitzroy for the way they played and conducted themselves. Next weeks GF will be between the two sides who had our measure.

I'll tip Fitzroy by 3 goals

Yeah fair enough. I will cop that. For the second week running we were too slow, too scared, too undisciplined and our skills under pressure were awful. To see Nathan Adammo reduced to antagonizing Jimmy Taylor when our second bloke got sent off was truly embarassing.

We will learn from this. Full marks to Fitzroy for the way they played and conducted themselves. Next weeks GF will be between the two sides who had our measure.

I'll tip Fitzroy by 3 goals

Grum nothing to take, I reckon you blokes have really represented yourselves on the field exceptionally well! Injuries and young blokes getting tired probably contributed to the end result today. You blokes will be better next year and I look forward to our return bout with you.

But and big BUT your club needs to be a hell of a lot better off the field! We all love the game but some of the nonsense that I have seen from (probably the minority) your supporters is a weakness for your club! you have some work to do! Part of ammo footy is how you handle this sought of stuff and the higher you go the more important this becomes.

Good season Werribee, well done Fitzroy and good luck to Rupo next week! Like both clubs but due to my parrying with KB I hope they win! Never thought I would say that.

Go friars 2's!

If only people knew how to use it.

Ok, point taken.

Ik does beg the question though, if the information was ( and it was!) available on the internet, then why did scribe come on here proclaiming "no change"??

Couldn't we all have read this on the now famous internet??

Well done to Fitzroy today!

Ok, point taken.

Ik does beg the question though, if the information was ( and it was!) available on the internet, then why did scribe come on here proclaiming "no change"??

Couldn't we all have read this on the now famous internet??

Well done to Fitzroy today!

Guess I thought nothing of posting the fact we were going in settled from the previous week's effort against the Friars.

Our club has routinely posted the teams as selected from Thursday night, probably in part (I'm guessing) to assist the old Roys fans who are starting to come back to watch regular footy to become familiar with the names of the kids running around each week.

Sometimes we get posters on BF asking for pretty basic information (eg. fixturing queries) which could easily be accessed with a couple of extra clicks of a button to a club's website. I just pointed out what I figured was the bleeding obvious .

If you consider it a proclamation, then I think you're hanging a bit more on it than anyone else was. Fact is the same 22 from last week got the job done yesterday, and there's a fair chance the same 22 will turn up next Saturday for another crack at Rupo.

Happy Days. :)

PS - commiserations to Werribee who were gallant yesterday in a tough and intense encounter. They played and conducted themselves well, and I believe it's only a couple of their supporters who behave like tools which has drawn some unfair criticism towards their club. Most clubs in the VAFA have one or two of these, and there's little they can do to stop them turning up and behaving in that manner. St Bernards routinely had a couple of idiots who would spend the afternoon on top on the hill at the Pit calling the umpires and opposition players "a disgrace". In my view, yesterday, that old coot in the white cap and blue jumper, screaming from his soap-box leaning up against his 4wd was amusing and fitted in beautifully. :D

Thought Fitzroy were the better side most of the day, but sensed a little revival in the last quarter in the Werribee spirit to get to 18 points. A free given in the goal square was questionable and after that I thought Werribee preceded to lose all discipline and hope of the comeback. The Werribee boys looked patched up, their bandage bill must have been huge, a few sore and tired boys from a great tilt at D1. Their skills and pace i thought fell short, with Fitzroys first option use excellent. Fitzroy will be formidable opponent next week, i still think the week off for us will mean a fair bit.

Scribe - pretty sure I know the chap who wore a blue jumper and white cap yesterday. I also parked on the hill to get a good view.
;)
You are a disgrace!:D

Oh crap, oh well, well done to Fitzroy then, I have always liked the club, would have preferred to be playing them next year instead of heading out to Werribee but oh well, hope Fitzroy smash Rupo next week

Hey Eddie
Well done to your reserves. They played well. As you guys found out last week, qualification rules can be a little limiting to sides with seniors still involved.
Just interested as to whether you were in the group of supporters sitting in front of the stand bagging the Ruppo players as you pulled away in the last quarter? I'm sure they were devastated as your supporters reminded them of what greater glory they would be involved in next week. Sad reality is that getting into D reserve grand final doesn't get you promoted! I'll make sure the Ruppo boys playing in C grade reserves next year send your blokes a postcard.
One of the best things about our our promotion is that we wont have to put up with your continual dribble about umpires on next year's thread.

Werribee out in straight sets - thank you linesmen, thank you ball boys....

On to the main event - The Battle of Little Big Shorts ( Frase & Sangers) . Should be a cracking game. Early weather predictions are for 23 degrees of bathing sunshine. Cannot wait, roll on Saturday.

It's the VAFA's "Feel Good" Grand Final of 2009 Lemms. Both clubs have great respect for each other, but clearly the Woodsmen are going in overwhelming favorites.

Whitey will have his work cut out chasing the young Roy Boys around, whilst I will endeavour to sneak onto the field in the big white shorts and a snappy orange top as the Roys version of "Bobby Bouchet". Age, form and injury have cruelled my season and all I can hope to do on Saturday is hand out water at the appropriate time and sledge the opposition where possible. ;)

Nevertheless, in the event of a Fitzroy victory, one thing's for sure, the early season promise to do a nude lap of Elsternwick Park if Rupo didn't finish top 2, will be transferred to a nude lap of BSO with the 2009 premiership cup in hand.

[shudder]

Go Roys!

Werribee out in straight sets - thank you linesmen, thank you ball boys....

On to the main event - The Battle of Little Big Shorts ( Frase & Sangers) . Should be a cracking game. Early weather predictions are for 23 degrees of bathing sunshine. Cannot wait, roll on Saturday.
They might want to invest in a bit of water out there at the Snake Pit though, because if the weather is as predicted, and the deck gets any harder, it could end like the Australian Open when the players walked off when the greens were unplayable ! Rock hard under foot, and i had runners on. Hate to think what it was like wearing footy boots.

Come on Reds

How good to see Werribee go out in straight sets, could not happen to a better bunch of blokes!!

Number 13 and 12 (Tate) you are a disgrace and your lack of discipline and last ten minutes showed exactly what your club is all about.

If you want to play tough footy, watch the way the young Fitzroy boys put their head over the pill all day and didn't get sucked into your rubbish. That is how you win games of footy and earn respect. Not by sniping a bloke as he chases the ball!!!

Enjoy the bus ride down to Peninsula next year lads.

Come on Fitzroy!!!!!!

Congartulations to Ruppo and Fitzroy on showing us what we need to to do to play C Grade footy (both on and off the field). I know we have learnt a lot from this year and we have already started for next year.
All the best to Ruppo and Fitzroy on Saturday and I know it's a cliche but may the best team win, hopefully by a point. My pick Ruppo.

Have to say after some initial excitement, the D1 board has been pretty quiet leading into Saturday. I am very much looking forward to our boys exacting sweet revenge over Fitzroy tomorrow. We have seen their best footy and it simply isn't good enough to stop us.

The conditions and ground will surely suit us perfectly and we will prove for once and for all that our club is well and truly still on the march up the grades in this great competition.

Go Bees!

You are genuine joke Grum Smith, i love your emphatic proclamation of how you have seen 'our best footy' and it 'simply isn't good enough'. You are a drop kick, a mould of your typical Werribee player, void of insight and decorum. This was all proven correct on Saturday, when things starting going against you, the players immediately resorted to ridiculing the umpires and engaging with the banter from the supporters. Enjoy D1 next year, the bus ride down the Mornington Peninsular will no doubt be a highlight. Enjoy.

Bad luck to the Werribee boys.A great effort for the first year coming up into D1.As I said in a previous post I hve only seen the one game from Werribee this year and they looked like they lacked pace and endurance.And thats just an assessment as i said i dont bag blokes or teams on here.I think they also lack quality big blokes Ross Fastuca aside.He is a genuine super talent who will always battle the monster defender because he is the stand out mobile forward.If i were coach I'd inject classy skilled pace players.Recruit a CHB who can create and get someone to help SPUD across half forward.

They might want to invest in a bit of water out there at the Snake Pit though, because if the weather is as predicted, and the deck gets any harder, it could end like the Australian Open when the players walked off when the greens were unplayable ! Rock hard under foot, and i had runners on. Hate to think what it was like wearing footy boots.

Come on Reds
Having sustained a broken arm from hitting the deck at the pit, i can certainly attest to the unforgiving concrete in the middle! Hopefully the rain predicted tonight will eventuate

Bad luck to the Werribee boys.A great effort for the first year coming up into D1.As I said in a previous post I hve only seen the one game from Werribee this year and they looked like they lacked pace and endurance.And thats just an assessment as i said i dont bag blokes or teams on here.I think they also lack quality big blokes Ross Fastuca aside.He is a genuine super talent who will always battle the monster defender because he is the stand out mobile forward.If i were coach I'd inject classy skilled pace players.Recruit a CHB who can create and get someone to help SPUD across half forward.

agreed. spud is a HFF, not a CHF. although a great player, he simply cant compete against bigger blokes week in, week out.

Hey Eddie
Well done to your reserves. They played well. As you guys found out last week, qualification rules can be a little limiting to sides with seniors still involved.
Just interested as to whether you were in the group of supporters sitting in front of the stand bagging the Ruppo players as you pulled away in the last quarter? I'm sure they were devastated as your supporters reminded them of what greater glory they would be involved in next week. Sad reality is that getting into D reserve grand final doesn't get you promoted! I'll make sure the Ruppo boys playing in C grade reserves next year send your blokes a postcard.
One of the best things about our our promotion is that we wont have to put up with your continual dribble about umpires on next year's thread.
Oh, geez for someone who acts like he is so excited about his club being in a senior grand final, you sound very bitter about the result on Saturday :D

But enjoy C grade, I expect you will be back in D1 in 2011 so we probably wont have the pleasure of the trip out to the middle of nowhere for a few years yet, oh well

Oh and no I wasnt one of those supporters, if you had looked just a couple of post above it was obvious I wasnt even there on Saturday ;)

As for the umpires, thats alright, I know down at Rupo they have great respect for the men in white, those RDFL umpires really look after you lot but I'm thinking of returning to the umpires panel next year so no more bagging from me, might see if they can just appoint me to Friars games, the game out at Werribee will be great fun :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAYEGWx90EM

@ 1:55 , your a maggot 13, no wonder you cant win a final Werribbee u bunch of cowards!

GC2009.... just worry about how you guys are going to keep Ruppo at bay this week. We can all dwell on the result of the weekend and Werribee can reminisce about last years accolades. But what it comes down to is this week between Rupertswood (the standouts) Vs Fiztroy (the dark horse). Just enjoy the moment as you probably won't after Saturday.

Don't worry GaryBaldi, we are enjoying the moment mate.

It's just great to be able to show the world what a pack of dogs the Werribee blokes are and why they will never progress any higher than D1. He sure did talk the talk number 13....

I wouldn't be too sure about us not enjoying the moment after Saturday. There is a bloody good feeling around the club and I am very confident we are going to do the right thing on Saturday.

2009 shaping as a great year. come on Reds and Sainters!!!