D2 D2 Section 2009

Damn it is quiet on here. Where have all the D2 Big Footy people gone? Anyway might as well get my tips in.

Therry Penola v Eltham. Interesting game this one. TP has a good hit-out against Willy and will fancy themselves for a good win here. Eltham has a win at home, but Glen Eira look a little underdone this year so I am not reading too much into that at this point. Bannister will be the key for Therry here, if he can kick a bag like last week, they will win. Therry by 25 points.

Ivanhoe v Yarra Valley. Most people will tip Yarra Valley here, but I rate Ivanhoe too highly for that, and teams coming down from D1 haven't done that well in D2 of recent times. Jules Holland was in fine form last week for the Hoes, and they will need him to shine again, along with Collins, if there are to beat a competitive Yarra Valley. The big query is if Ivanhoe can kick a winning score without Ange Pace? Any clue on his whereabouts? Ivanhoe by 14 points

Glen Eira v Willy CYMS. Willy are going great guns, and Glen Eira are not. The one to stop for Willy is Tim Wheeler. He is a gun and will up there for the league B&F IMO. Some key players were down for GE in Diamond and Tsirogiannis last week, expect those two to bounce back with strong performances, however I think Willy will be too strong for them. Willy by 40 points.

Peninsula v Old Paradians. Both teams coming off strong wins. Haven't heard much from OP this year but beating Ivanhoe by that much is a massive effort. Allan Young is a very good young player and will have to be watched if Peninsula are to win. I was very impressed with Peninsula last week however. They are a very disciplined side. A lot of good, strong midfielders, and I believe that is where the game will be won: If Peninsula can win the midfield and cut off the supply to Sage I think they will win. Peninsula play their home ground unbelievably well also. Peninsula by 33 points.

Banyule v Old Westbourne. We were disappointing last week, no doubt. Coach Brett Connors has made some changes to personal and I think we will be much more competitive this week. Banyule’s key players in Tom Shephard and Kyle Shephard-Mueller got them over the line last week, against an unknown quantity in Yarra Valley. Banyule are always hard to beat at home, but I think the likes of Charlie Hunter and the Connors bros can get us over the line, just. OW by 5 points.

Therry v Eltham- Therry too strong at home by 5 goals.

GE v Willy-Willy will find Glen eira a tough proposition at home but one suspects early momentum is with them-Will by 4 goals.

Ivanhoe v Yarra Valley-Yarra Valley had a huge chance to take the points over Banyule last week and will be confident of taking Ivanhoe this week. Expect Yarra to scrap hard and win the clearances. Ivanhoe have a lot of work to do before they hit their straps. However, loyalties prevail. Ivanhoe by 2 goals.

Peninsula v OP's. Op's surprised Ivanhoe last week with their committment to run and share the ball. The questions are: will young be available and will their thin bodies be able to handle the smaller Peninsula ground? I don't think so. Peninsula by 8 goals.

Banyule v OW. A tough one. Banyule fell over the line against Yarra and could be troubled by Westbourne's talls. Westbourne aren't the first or last side to get a touch up at peninsula and because they still have plenty of class, will bounce back this week but how far? Just not enough. Banyule by 3 points.

Bring on round 2! Think we will begin to sort out the good teams from the average this week and start to get an idea of how the competition will shape up:

Therry v Eltham: Much has been said about Therry and playing them in a praccy they have undoubtedly improved. Whether they go as far as everyone predicts remains unseen. The Turtles have had a great couple of years but their depth is questionable and not sure they can sustain that kind of success in D2, they'll be competitive but Therry by 5 goals.

Ivanhoe v Yarra Valley: Huge game for both teams, for one of these early favourites to be 0-2 is a big set back. Ivanhoe were average last week and missed Pace in the forward line, but there's no doubt they will improve. Yarra Valley will severely miss the departure of Keem but with their midfield class led by Drew they will shake things up more often than not. At this time of the year though. YV just too polished. Yarra by 4 goals.

GE v Willy: How Glen Eira were in the four for most of last year is still beyond me, to me they were in the same class as Bentleigh. Without knowing much about Willy, defeating an improved Therry no doubt speaks volumes about their potential. It will be a long year for GE and I think relegation is on the cards, Willy by 8 goals.

Peninsula v OP's: Top of the table clash (ok it's only round 1 but c'mon we haven't been there for some time so let us enjoy!!) and match of the round for mine. POBS clearly flag favourites this year especially after easily disposing of OW who many had tipped to be contenders (and may still be). OP's suprised many with their 11 goal win over the Hoes and have showed remarkable improvement in their run and carry and general support of each other around the ground, under the tutelage of new coaching staff. Massive task ahead but if Payze and Rees can be nullified, and the OP midfield can get on top and get it forward to Sage, Young, Brabs etc often enough then I think an upset is one the cards. OP by 2 goals.

Banyule v OW: Tough first up draw for OW travelling away against a D1 side and away again to last year's finalists. Was suprised Yarra got so close to Banyule last week so leaves me to wonder if Yarra are a suprise pack this year or if Banyule are underdone and perhaps not as red hot as people say. As mentioned, this is where we will begin to find out. Banyule by 6 goals.

Good luck to all:)

GE V Willy - agree GE alot tougher at home. But I rate Willy and their pace and think they can get over the line - 3 goals.

Ivanhoe V Yarra - tough game for the hoes as Yarra very good last week against a fancied top team in the bears. Ivanhoe would need to improve greatly on last week - very, very, very lazy effort. ( completley outplayed by an OP's team that wanted it far more).

Message to the senior 22 at hoe park : Come and work hard for each other lads or see you in the early one next week!! Hoes by 2 points.

Pirates v OP's - should be a good game. A bit of rain should make things a little tougher for Sage - who was outstanding last week......actually the whole OP's team played very well as a TEAM. great work rate.
Will Young play? and it's a tough game to get 4 points from down that way. I could not see a good match up for Payze at OP's. Pirates by 5 goals

Bears V OW ...another good one I would think. Flip of the coin for me and the wet conditions will make it a tough contest out at Beverly RD. Interesting forward set up for the bears last week.....Drapac as Brad Johnson. Could the bears be forced into a Western Bulldogs set up with some talls not playing? Anyway, I think OW will give this a real shake and win by 2 points. Akka again best on.

Therry v Eltham - the boys from the 'roy will be pretty unhappy about last week, but they did play a good team. Time to get the season off on the right foot and get a win this week. Banno again to kick a bag. I think the home ground and the last weeks loss enough to get them fired up to beat the Turtles away from their pond. 27 points.

Chump.

P.S. Note to D2 scribe ..... It's Ivanhoe .....not Old Ivanhoe :D

GE V Willy - agree GE alot tougher at home. But I rate Willy and their pace and think they can get over the line. Good to see T.Wheeler amongst the best last week( Gun) Willy by 3 goals.

Ivanhoe V Yarra - tough game for the hoes as Yarra very good last week against a fancied top team in the bears. Ivanhoe would need to improve greatly on last week - very, very, very lazy effort. ( completley outplayed by an OP's team that wanted it far more).

Message to the senior 22 at hoe park : Come and work hard for each other lads or see you in the early one next week!! Hoes by 2 points.

Pirates v OP's - should be a good game. A bit of rain should make things a little tougher for Sage - who was outstanding last week......actually the whole OP's team played very well as a TEAM. Great work rate.
Will Young play? and it's a tough game to get 4 points from down that way. I could not see a good match up for Payze at OP's. Pirates by 5 goals

Bears V OW ...another good one I would think. Flip of the coin for me and the wet conditions will make it a tough contest out at 'the cave'. Interesting forward set up for the bears last week.....Drapac as Brad Johnson. Could the bears be forced into a Western Bulldogs set up with some talls not playing? Anyway, I think OW will give this a real shake and win by 2 points. Akka again best on.

Therry v Eltham - the boys from the 'roy will be pretty unhappy about last week, but they did play a good team. Time to get the season off on the right foot and get a win this week. Banno again to kick a bag. I think the home ground and last weeks loss enough to get them fired up to beat the Turtles away from their pond. 27 points.

Chump.

GE V Willy - agree GE alot tougher at home. But I rate Willy and their pace and think they can get over the line. Good to see T.Wheeler amongst the best last week( Gun) Willy by 3 goals.

Pirates v OP's - should be a good game. A bit of rain should make things a little tougher for Sage - who was outstanding last week......actually the whole OP's team played very well as a TEAM. Great work rate.

Bears V OW ...another good one I would think. Flip of the coin for me and the wet conditions will make it a tough contest out at 'the cave'. Interesting forward set up for the bears last week.....Drapac as Brad Johnson. Could the bears be forced into a Western Bulldogs set up with some talls not playing? Anyway, I think OW will give this a real shake and win by 2 points. Akka again best on.

Therry v Eltham - the boys from the 'roy will be pretty unhappy about last week, but they did play a good team. Time to get the season off on the right foot and get a win this week. Banno again to kick a bag. I think the home ground and last weeks loss enough to get them fired up to beat the Turtles away from their pond. 27 points.

Chump.

Good job mate with the tips, Ivanhoe must have woken up, knocking off Yarra Valley by 9 goals.
And how bout Therry winning by 15 goals? The real deal in '09?
definitely the biggest improvers...

Report for match against Banule Vs OW:
Was a tough game, Very windy conditions Banule with the wind first quarter jumped to an early lead. All way through was a very physical game both sides hitting the ball hard. 2nd quarter OW kicking with the wind came back. From half time on wards was near goal for goal both teams determain to come away with a win it came down to the last 5 minutes OW up by 2 points needing a goal to near seal it and Banule needing a goal to get infront then hold, OW hit some momentum and sneeked a goal with about 2 minutes to go then held on to have an 8 point win over Banule. Both played hard OW fitness showed in the last quarter to run away with a win.

With the way the draw is this week we should get a fair idea of where mosts teams are at against each other

I think your right, some good games this week to give a real indication of where most teams are at. Good win away by my boys at banyule and its on to Therry this week!

Report for match against Banule Vs OW:
Was a tough game, Very windy conditions Banule with the wind first quarter jumped to an early lead. All way through was a very physical game both sides hitting the ball hard. 2nd quarter OW kicking with the wind came back. From half time on wards was near goal for goal both teams determain to come away with a win it came down to the last 5 minutes OW up by 2 points needing a goal to near seal it and Banule needing a goal to get infront then hold, OW hit some momentum and sneeked a goal with about 2 minutes to go then held on to have an 8 point win over Banule. Both played hard OW fitness showed in the last quarter to run away with a win.

:confused:

I just looked the scores up on SportingPulse & it says that OW went goalless in the third quarter; then Banyule went goalless in the last?

:confused:

I just looked the scores up on SportingPulse & it says that OW went goalless in the third quarter; then Banyule went goalless in the last?

Your right GG, it was not exactly 'goal for goal'. There was about a 3 or 4 goal wind and OW had it in the last quarter. A very even game though, probably set up by OW kicking 4 quick goals in 'red time' of the 2nd quarter.

Was always going to be hard for Banyule to hold on to its small lead going into the last against the wind.

Akka - how did Banyule compare to last year? Going by results alone it would seem the rest of the comp has caught up a bit. A quick look at the team list it doesn't seem they have lost many??!!

The Pirates were very good on Saturday. OPs had the wind in the last quarter and got within 20 points before the rain started bucketing which was a bit unlucky. Full credit to POBs though, they deserved the win. They will be extremely hard to beat at home this year, but not to say they aren't beatable, sides will just have to be on the top their game to do so.

Interesting game this week with the 2 unbeaten sides, Willy and Pennisula facing off at fearon reserve. Could be a preview of things to come in september i'd reckon.

Akka - how did Banyule compare to last year? Going by results alone it would seem the rest of the comp has caught up a bit. A quick look at the team list it doesn't seem they have lost many??!!

The Pirates were very good on Saturday. OPs had the wind in the last quarter and got within 20 points before the rain started bucketing which was a bit unlucky. Full credit to POBs though, they deserved the win. They will be extremely hard to beat at home this year, but not to say they aren't beatable, sides will just have on the top their game to do so.

A notable absentee this week was Sage from your game V&CP. Makes a huge difference for OP's as we saw in round 1 v Ivanhoe. Where was he?

BL - The big fella just pulled up a bit sore, should be right to go this week. We missed our full back too, last year's B&F.

You're right he does make a big difference but the conditions on Sat didn't really suit the FF's so I'm not sure it would of changed the result. In saying that it's always encouraging to bring someone up from the 2's and still be competitive against a top side while a little underdone.

The Pirates were very good on Saturday. OPs had the wind in the last quarter and got within 20 points before the rain started bucketing which was a bit unlucky. Full credit to POBs though, they deserved the win. They will be extremely hard to beat at home this year, but not to say they aren't beatable, sides will just have to be on the top their game to do so.

Pretty similar mate. Banyule should have been further in front at quarter time but for some errant kicking at goal. Your right though, the other results do indicate that Banyule either aren't playing their best footy, or as you said everyone one else has caught up.

Still...........beating Banyule at Banyule is definately one of the harder games in the comp IMO, right next to the Pirates at Peninsula.

That's exactly right. Very early days. I don't think anyone can make serious predictions at this stage. Best to keep a lid on all of it until the season works itself out. Give it a few more weeks, and then we'll all know how the comp is shaping up.

Interesting game this week with the 2 unbeaten sides, Willy and Pennisula facing off at fearon reserve. Could be a preview of things to come in september i'd reckon.

Pennisula for sure will be the form side all year but as for willy? still not sure, the result on the weekend will answer our questions i guess

Yes I would say that the Pirates look pretty good thus far, even though Sage and Rhino (?) did not play on the weekend - that is two very big players for OP's to miss. The Pirates did have alot of shots on goal though. No doubt the early favs.

The Bears will be fine - just finding there way I feel and right in the mix come the end of the season - but I would be happy to be wrong:D

Hoes and Yarra Valley should have been closer as Yarra missed some important shots at goal.....Yarra not the worst going around this year. That being said the Hoes work rate improved and as such they saw a better result. Pretty happy as hoes down to basically no bench by 3/4 time.

Therry - big winners and has the pre-season hype been spot on? Willy look good, so a close loss there and a big win Saturday would suggest Therry will be a top four contender.

Willy - like the look of them. They know how to win after last year and look to have some great pace and set up off half back.

OW - nice win Akka - a win there is a very good result. OW in the mix.

GE - still look to have the bulk of last years team playing - so I would not write them off at all. Hoes have a very tough game coming this week against them - they always are - so expect a close one.

Turtles - one week up....next week down. Need to see them after 4 or 5 rounds to get a better picture.

Should be a great rd 3.

Chump.

i know its only round 2 but what players are looking the goods for their respective teams?

I hear charles hunter has been solid in defence at westbourne and is a bit of a smoky for the league b&f, Also from reports Matt Reynolds from thierry Penola has been in outstanding form early driving the lions out of defence.

Big Carl Sage jagged 10 in the first game of the year & didn't play last week. Not a bad average at this point!!!

i know its only round 2 but what players are looking the goods for their respective teams?

Peninsula - Payze. Always up their for B&F. Rarely plays a bad game. We 'kept him quiet' when we played and he still kicked 3 and got in the best.

Banyule - Tom Shephard. Gun half-back, can play on ball too. Most Banyule attacking moves start with him. Braddy was also very good. Very quick and damaging if you let him run loose.

They are the only teams we have played so far, but I reckon Wheeler from Willy CYMS will be right up there as well.