D2 D2 Section 2009

as previously stated sherlock is definitely not from willy cy's. went down to the fearon on saturday, ivanhoe are a very well drilled side that ran out of puff before 3/4 time. before that time it was a good game of footy, not knowing a single thing about ivanhoe i can't offer a reason for the turn around, maybe they have injuries, i don't know, but they look like a well run club that will bounce back.

Kind words from the Willy boys who gave us a well deserved beating at the end of the day . Some good people down at Fearon!!!

Ivanhoe have lost a few from last year and have a few carrying injuries but you just get on with it and we realise that we've got some hard work ahead of us.

Spot on in saying our fitness needs to improve and that's why we expect our performance to keep improving as the year goes on.

We do play patches of good footy and our challenge is to do that over four quarters.

Willy run the ball very well and have a lots of options going forward:Gray, Wheeler, Barlow and Wong to come back later.

Cooper's a gun midfielder & Tranter runs well from half back.

Willy ran far harder in the end and got justified reward for their work.

Willyy will definitely be in the September action!!!

I reckon the most interesting win on Saturday was that of Banyule. But I do recall that one or more tipsters on this thread actually tipped that result.

Today 16:41

Definitely an upset Gasometer. Gives Banyule a lot of credibility as a contender.

Historically Banyule have a super record at Therry. I can't remember the last time they lost there. Therry usually return the favour at Beverly Road.

I tipped the upset Gaso but unfortunately I tipped OW as well......!!!

Yarra Valley were quite good on Saturday. The game was a story of two back lines really, and theirs held up better than ours. They also delivered a lot better into their forward line which obviously helps. Unfortunately we had to play YV on such an important day in Veloppi's 200th. No excuses, we were outplayed and YV thoroughly deserved the win.

Any reports on the Therry v Banyule game??

Good news filtering to the dart from my boys. A 32 goal game with 11 in the first, 10 in the 3rd and 10 in the last. Can any Paradians confirm if this is a club record (205 Pts). I believe with players a plenty to come back the Green and Purple are on the March. Fingers crossed I have all this info correct.

That's correct Thinker - biggest score in 80 years of history. Not too many players to come back though, less than a handful at best (walk up 1's players that is) however as is always the case in ammo's footy - it's hard to ever have your best 22 on the park any given week due to work commitments, injuries etc.

Interestingly OPs were only 2 points up at the 11 and a half minute mark of the third quarter!

Thinker great effort by all means to have 40+ shots on goal and score over 200 but over 100 was also let through. Was iyt just a very attacking game with not much accountability down back? because obviously most weeks you let 100 through its going to be tough to win?

Alright boys, its thursday night and the sides are in. How do we all feel about this weekends games?

My tips...

Eltham Vs OW, My boys to bounce back with a decent showing this week. West by 10 goals

OP Vs Willy, Good game on the cards here IMO but i reckon willy to get the chockies in a close one willy by 3 goals.

Ivanhoe Vs Therry, Therry to continue good form and account easily for the struggling hoes. penola by 60+

Glen eira Vs Yarra valley, After there first senior win the valley to travel witha head of steam and get the job done by 6 goals.

Banyule Vs Peninsula, Match of the round for mine and another big test for the two sides as it is most definetaly an 8 point game, Banyule to continue good form and get up in a tight one, the bears by 14 points.

Eltham v Old Westbourne. Massive game for us. The loss last week has hurt us deeply, and if we are any chance of making finals, we NEED to win this one. The game is just as important for Eltham as they too sit on 3 and 3. I would expect a very spirited performance from our lads this week. Hopefully we can stop Crooks and co. and get the four points. Not as confident as Hoppers however, OW by 1 point.

Old Paradians v Williamstown. Willy are still going great guns and OP seem very hard to beat on their day but the statistics show they lack consistency. This should be a high scoring game with Gray, Wheeler and Barlow kicking goals for Willy, and Brabender and Sage for Paradians. I think OP’s will stay in touch to half time and then get overran, Willy by 8 goals.

Ivanhoe v Therry Penola. Nothing going right for Ivanhoe at the moment. They have TP at a bad time – on the rebound from a very disappointing loss last weekend. I expect the TP midfield of Braddy, Ricky Skiathitis and Rees to bounce back this week. Therry by 75 points.

Glen Eira v Yarra Valley. Glen Eira really can’t afford to lose this one. They went with a rampant Old Paradians for a half last week, and nearly knocked us off the week before so they aren’t playing that bad. Yarra Valley will be buoyed by their first win last week and will look to build on that to get themselves out of the bottom two. Glen Eira are at home, and desperate for a win so I will go with them. Diamond to dominate. GE by 15 points

Banyule v Peninsula. Peninsula have been a little inconsistent of late and need a win here to keep in touch with the top two. Banyule have a huge couple of rounds with Willy next week and will fancy their chances after knocking off Therry Penola last week. I will go with the home team as they are usually very hard to beat there. Banyule by 19 points.

Alright boys, its thursday night and the sides are in. How do we all feel about this weekends games?

My tips...

Eltham Vs OW, My boys to bounce back with a decent showing this week. West by 10 goals

OP Vs Willy, Good game on the cards here IMO but i reckon willy to get the chockies in a close one willy by 3 goals.

Ivanhoe Vs Therry, Therry to continue good form and account easily for the struggling hoes. penola by 60+

Glen eira Vs Yarra valley, After there first senior win the valley to travel witha head of steam and get the job done by 6 goals.

Banyule Vs Peninsula, Match of the round for mine and another big test for the two sides as it is most definetaly an 8 point game, Banyule to continue good form and get up in a tight one, the bears by 14 points.

Confident.

Okay my tips for this round are:
Eltham v Westbourne. Disappointing loss for Westbourne last week and for me, Eltham are an unknown quantity. Even though Westbourne will be keen to make amends, Eltham on their own dunghill to get home by a goal making it a disappointing trip back along the Ring road to Truganina.

OP's v Willy-Will be a tough one for Will as Parade are much improved and threatening the four but I expect Willy to get home by 2 goals.

Ivanhoe v Therry-Therry on the rebound and Ivanhoe's form plus injuries you think would spell disaster for the Hoes, but with puppetmaster Valkanis pulling the strings, the Hoes to get up by 3 points.

GEv YV-Glen Eira are scoring well enough but conceding far too many while Yarra got on the board last week and should have momentum. Yarra by 4 goals.

Banyule v Peninsula-Banyule playing well but not as well as Peninsula. Peninsula by 4 goals.

Turtles v Warriors - clearly warriors, no contest

Old paradians? v Seagulls - not knowing what the OP mascot is I still assume it could kill a seagull.

Ivanhoe? v Therry - Are ivanhoe magpies? versus a lion.. therry will win

Glen eira? v Bushranger - Glen eira is a mystery, bushrangers have guns so they win.

Bears V Pirates - Interesting, at home (in the woods) a bear beats a pirate.

Turtles v Warriors - clearly warriors, no contest

Old paradians? v Seagulls - not knowing what the OP mascot is I still assume it could kill a seagull.

Ivanhoe? v Therry - Are ivanhoe magpies? versus a lion.. therry will win

Glen eira? v Bushranger - Glen eira is a mystery, bushrangers have guns so they win.

Bears V Pirates - Interesting, at home (in the woods) a bear beats a pirate.

that was actually quite amusing. Is that how u do ur tips in the afl?

A quick report from the game down at Hoe Park on the boulevard......
An undermanned Ivanhoe outfit took it right up to Therry in a tight game all day until the last 10min. Don't know if Therry had many out but they were far from impressive. The Hoes were 2 goals up at 3 qtr time and then kicked the first goal of the last qtr which really got their tails up sensing an upset. But Therry then slammed on 5 or 6 unanswered goals to run away with a lucky win. :(

Any news on what happened at the Yarra valley /GE game

Glen Eira finally got the win they have been waiting for. In a scrappy game the GE midfield finally found some of the ball and in a good sign their younger players stepped up and delievered. The Saints could look at getting some momentum now, with Massis, Farah and Vamvakas looking to return into a winning side over the next few weeks.

Big couple of weeks after the break though, Peninsula away and Therry at home!

Maybe your mate Guttertrash could enlighten us a little more on the GE front?

that was actually quite amusing. Is that how u do ur tips in the afl?

No, this method I got from an episode of 'Mr Ed'. Wilbur was cleaning up betting on football with the advice from Ed and obviously he was shocked to learn exactly how he was picking the winners. Mr Ed was a horse of course, Wilbur was most likely a complete schizophrenic.

long time reader, first time poster..

big round last week, peninsula ruining banyule by over 80 points, and OP and Willy cutting it even! big willy didn't shaft anyone this week... man they play some up-and-down footy!

long time reader, first time poster..

big round last week, peninsula ruining banyule by over 80 points, and OP and Willy cutting it even! big willy didn't shaft anyone this week... man they play some up-and-down footy!

it is a bit quiet from willy boys this week actually? no match reports?

It's nearly the halfway mark of the season - have the questions been raised yet on the Pirates' flag chances based on their digitally challenged (aka zero) senior premiership record to date??
Fair dinkum, even Killer Karl Kox couldn't effect the choker hold as quickly as a finals game does for the Pirates.....

it is a bit quiet from willy boys this week actually? no match reports?

Willy were actually very fortunate to come away from Parade with 2 points (and it could have been all four had a ball bounced the other way right at the death). Could not get any run or system going all day and were very flat, which is a credit to Parade, who were more switched on all day. Had Willy snatched the game at the end, it would have been a travesty. Having said all that, the tightness in the top half of the ladder means those 2 points may come in very handy when the real jockeying for position takes place at season's end. A very important game for Willy this Saturday @ Banyule will give us an even more accurate indication of where we are at.

Nathan Addamo Captain of Werribee AFC (D1) was severely injured playing for VAFA Rep team in Barooga.. I believe he is still in Shepparton Hospital with a lacerated kidney.. I`m sure I speak for all on this board wishing him a speedy recovery.. Also congratulations to Benny Gray from Willy CYMS.. He was the only D2 player that was named in the best for the VAFA Rep team that went down to VCFA on the weekend !!