D2 D2 Section 2009

So who's everyones tips and why for both of the granny's? (if anyone still cares?)

My heart says the Pirates, My head says the Willys.
History is hard to stare down and defeat, my little buccaneers.....
Give it your best shot - I suspect this is the best shot you are going to get for a bloody long time.....

How could peninsula lose?
"According to this thread they're armed up with near proffessional players, paying them all hundreds of dollars a week, and providing inner city accomodation and transport to ease their travel load. Apparently each player has his own assigned dietitian, physio and psychologist (to help with arrogance) and the coach is actually Craig Bradley, with Tony Lockett keyed-in to take over in 2010. Succession plans are getting popular."

Peninsula twos to lead the whole game and win by 25,
Peninsula seniors to battle it out for 3qtrs before pulling away by 38.

the Seagulls will match the pirates 'til the beginning of the third, come the fourth peninsula will run away leaving a comfortable margin - (even though according to this thread they can't run and don't know how to use space). Judging by their position coming into the granny, peninsula have done everything right and put in the hard work to be where they are after their crisis of '08.

Can't wait to see what happens on sunday though, and we all know anything could happen!

Im glad both Williamstown and Peninsula are going up... maybe there wont be so much bitching from now on!!!

If my memory is right, the Penisula Boys told me they are yet to chalk up a Seniors premiership.

I reckon they will break their duck this weekend. Willy have been very impressive to earn back to back promotion but I suspect they'll walk away losers this year in the GF unlike last year. Peninsula by 18

Willys 2s to go back to back. Therry were their main challengers imo. Willy by 30 points

Peninsula Old Boys started in VAFA in 1980.
To date they have yet to win a senior premiership after being in many finals.
This is their 30th season. That's a long time without a senior flag....

Im glad both Williamstown and Peninsula are going up... maybe there wont be so much bitching from now on!!!

This thread will be a hell of a lot more quiet, that's for sure.

I'm confident Willy 2's will win.
I'm hopeful Willy 1's will win.

Great Day for the CY's today.

The 2's appeared to have Peninsula's measure all game and ran out comfortable winners.

The 1's was a ripper game with CY's coming out hard to take the early lead. Peninsula clawed their way back and the end result may have been a lot closer if it wasn't for the Pirates having too many shots from the dead pocket and slotting through about 8 behinds in the last quarter.

Two great games, will do wonders for the rivalry next year in D1.

Massive Congratulations to Willy CYMS both seniors and reserves back to back premiers.. A great reward for a great club !!!

Commiserations to Peninsula great effort getting both teams to the GF just beaten by better sides on the day!

witnessed a great game of football today. congrats to the willy cyms for their win, bad luck to the w***ers from peninsula. what a bunch of cats they are, especially #48 who started a melee after the game with spectators. you got sucked in during the game, but to go on with it after the game was a disgrace to yourself and your shit club. the pirates ship sunk along time ago. cheated at the tribunal, went missing when it counted again and made tools of yourselves after the game. how does it feel to lose another grand final? maybe if they had half the hearts that the willy boys had, maybe they would go somewhere. tool of the week............... peninsula football club. hahahaha

whingeing???????? more like rubbing it in! if i was to whinge it would be about the umpires being disgraceful. but i didnt, and it doesnt matter, coz only 1 team is holding the premiership cup! let me guess....you're from peninsula? if you are, then you're the ****ing poon for being involved with them. if you're not, then **** off and mind your own business. go cy's!!!!! back to back. something the pirates will never be able to say.......

Firstly, I am not from Peninsula....I personally think they got what they deserved. However, I don't like people that gloat, especially those who if they had of been even close to being a part of it should be at the club celebrating - and not making ridiculously hypocritical statements.

Secondly, you tell me to mind my own business on a public forum? You, my friend are as sharp as a bowling ball.

My sincere commiserations to Peninsula...I know what you are going through as I have experienced before.
To the Williamstown boys: congrats...this will stand as one of our finest grand final victories...truly a victory against the odds

haha shutup cupcake, i was there.
willy fans jumped the fence and immediately harassed peninsula's 48 face to face. he snapped - so big deal?
You'd think big Willy's would be somewhat humble in their victory? the players were, but some of the dropkick supporters weren't.

well done to both teams on ripping games

Damn Sunday footy, Willy Prez a little gun shy, closes the bar at 11.30. Off to the Rifle Club hotel, only for them to shit themselves when 50 roll in enmasse and close. A couple of pies from 7-11 and it's all over until brekky and a mad Monday.

Commiseration to the Pirates, 2 great games of football, Willy deserving winners in both. Obviously i saw the game from a biased viewpoint, but for Willy to defend a 13 pt lead against a strong breeze in the last with the bare 18 soldiers was one of the most courageous wins I have witnessed. To win going away with a 4 man forward line was a magnificent effort.

Good bye and good riddance to the Pirate scum.
Thank you Willy

Unfortunately welcome back to Bentleigh and its band of ferals both on and off the field.

Strobler, I always thought you were from Bentleigh ??

"Damn Sunday footy, Willy Prez a little gun shy, closes the bar at 11.30. Off to the Rifle Club hotel, only for them to shit themselves when 50 roll in enmasse and close".

Peterson, I don't blame the prez for being a little gun-shy!! he did well to let the bar stay open til 11.30 !!!
Enjoy mad Monday !!

Well done to Willy on both premierships. To tell the truth I thought Peninsula had it in the bag.

Interesting to see the Peninsula 'guns' in Payze, Coghlan and Rees kept quiet!! Any reports on what happened there? Off days or were they targetted by Willy?

What's the go with the team of the year?

Was it published in the amateur footballer or do they announce it tonight?

Thought it was a pretty poor effort by the D2 scribe not to have the team of the year in the A F on the weekend. (Sorry mate, but you were poor all season actually). He listed 22 names in his blurb as a quasi team of the year, but some of those names would raise eyebrows. one in particular was Barlow, who had not played in the 1's for Willy for weeks, and in fact played in the 2's g f yesterday!
I thought the D1 scribe (Di Langton?) was excellent all season and really put some effort into her columns (and no, I don't know her!)

Well done to Willy on both premierships. To tell the truth I thought Peninsula had it in the bag.

Interesting to see the Peninsula 'guns' in Payze, Coghlan and Rees kept quiet!! Any reports on what happened there? Off days or were they targetted by Willy?

Great team effort by the defence, but especially Shaun Macguinness who IMO was BOG (no disrespect meant to Benny Gray). Played tight on Coghlan as well as being creative himself.

very poor Gold and blue...

are you that close to the team that between 7 and 8 pm last night you decided to get on your computer and not be with your club celebrating....

Your club (apart from you) appears to be a lot better than that,

pffft.. cheap shot champ!!