• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D2 Section 2010

Paradians miles to good for Old Westbourne today. As good as the raiders were Westbourne were equally bad. Boundy had a day out and was given the freedom to play on his own for most of the day. Westbourne were unaccountable and refused to man up so much so every time Parade went forward they had plenty of unmanned options inside 50, game was over 15 minutes into the second. Parade now face a determined Glen Eira for a crack in the big one at Banyule. Old Westbourne need to target some key position recruits over the summer as they are very light on in this area.

I wasn't at today's game, but 29 scoring shots to 16 would indicate Parade's dominance. Caught the Banyule / Glen Eira game yesterday. Although Glen Eira came at Banyule late and were up at 1/4 time, I thought Banyule had control of the game. Glen Eira were gallant in defeat and will prove a handful for Parade next week.

A big thanks to Sholly and crew for ruining fathers' day. I would have liked to have spent my day with family rather than spending an hour driving to Coburg for a Sunday game. Obviously you don't have children Sholly and therefore don't respect fathers' day.

I guess i'll be at Coburg to keep an eye on you Sniper as a warm up to the big game

Unfortunately there is a EDFL B-Grade Preliminary Final on at Coburg on the Saturday, so we can't fully blame the VAFA with the limited finals grounds available, although it would be nice to have Father's Day at home.

Yes keep your eye on the red & the blue Phantom ;)

Unfortunately there is a EDFL B-Grade Preliminary Final on at Coburg on the Saturday, so we can't fully blame the VAFA with the limited finals grounds available, although it would be nice to have Father's Day at home.

Yes keep your eye on the red & the blue Phantom ;)
At least you wont have to worry too much next year Sniper as SFL Div2 finals series will be played much closer to home........The jungle drums keep beating, are you willing to admit yet Bentleigh are looking to leave VAFA?

With all due respect, if I had been told any sort of concrete info, which I haven't, do you think I'd splash it across Big Footy? Right now the club is trying to focus on a successful 2s finals campaign.

I keep hearing it also, but the SFL have been trying to gets us back for the last two seasons, it generally comes up for discussion this time of year.

Are you so eager to know, as if we did withdraw, your club would be benefited the most by staying in D2?

Can somebody confirm if the VAFA are only looking at grounds that have fences, or due to the lack of venues, they have cut their losses and are open to any available grounds ?

Reports back from last Sunday suggest that De La's ground was terrible.

I'd hate to think that they would risk the credibility of the finals series just so they could make a few bucks on the gate. They'd be better off opening their options to all grounds and perhaps taking over the canteen to get some cash. It is hardly "fostering family footy" to play games on Father's Day just so they can use a ground where they charge to get in. Not only that, but the winner get one less day to recover

Hey Duncan. The VAFA have little consideration for D2. The D3 finals are held at Scammel Reserve Oakleigh, Under19 South at De la Salles ground both on a SATURDAY. Both Bentleigh and GE have to travel on Fathers' day to Coburg. Whare is the fairness when the higher placed sides have to travel to s##t creek so Old Paradians can have a short trip. Last week we both played Banyule at Coburg a 15 minute trip for Banyule as they were the higher placed club. D2 is a lower level and so is U19 south but they get the priorities. The gate at Coburg will be terrible as many older supporters will struggle to break fathers' day celebrations. This is typical of the way district clubs are treated by the Ammos.

With all due respect, if I had been told any sort of concrete info, which I haven't, do you think I'd splash it across Big Footy? Right now the club is trying to focus on a successful 2s finals campaign.

I keep hearing it also, but the SFL have been trying to gets us back for the last two seasons, it generally comes up for discussion this time of year.

Are you so eager to know, as if we did withdraw, your club would be benefited the most by staying in D2?

is it true?? this response by your good self is first time news for me, sniper... are we thinking of moving competitions for 2011 & beyond??

fair enough, brother.

i guess we'll both have to wait & see whats decided by our head honchos after the 2s finals assault ends NEXT weekend with victory... ;)

Hey Duncan. The VAFA have little consideration for D2. The D3 finals are held at Scammel Reserve Oakleigh, Under19 South at De la Salles ground both on a SATURDAY. Both Bentleigh and GE have to travel on Fathers' day to Coburg. Whare is the fairness when the higher placed sides have to travel to s##t creek so Old Paradians can have a short trip. Last week we both played Banyule at Coburg a 15 minute trip for Banyule as they were the higher placed club. D2 is a lower level and so is U19 south but they get the priorities. The gate at Coburg will be terrible as many older supporters will struggle to break fathers' day celebrations. This is typical of the way district clubs are treated by the Ammos.

The shit creek you refer to is probably the best ground that any of the teams in vafa will play on this year. And you want to play on clogmire down the road. A big tip for you Phantom quit whinging as it is becoming quite boring.

So it would seem. The proximity of the ground to the higher placed teams did seem a bit strange I have to say. I guess the main question i was asking was if the VAFA were limiting themselves to "closed-off" grounds for the money only. This would most likely be to the detriment of the football that could be played, and the fairness to the higher ranked teams. The amount of traffic on these grounds will make them worse than heaps of other grounds around the traps IMO.

If they found to have done that, then they should give themselves an uppercut.

So it would seem. The proximity of the ground to the higher placed teams did seem a bit strange I have to say. I guess the main question i was asking was if the VAFA were limiting themselves to "closed-off" grounds for the money only. This would most likely be to the detriment of the football that could be played, and the fairness to the higher ranked teams. The amount of traffic on these grounds will make them worse than heaps of other grounds around the traps IMO.

If they found to have done that, then they should give themselves an uppercut.

Its all about money. No fence no final. Coburg was in ripper condition. I am sure the players would prefer to play on that ground rather than the slop that was Waverley Park.

The shit creek you refer to is probably the best ground that any of the teams in vafa will play on this year. And you want to play on clogmire down the road. A big tip for you Phantom quit whinging as it is becoming quite boring.

Read the comment in its entirety you numb skull. I didn't ask for Waverley park. I commented on the travel and playing footy on fathers' day for both Bentleigh and GE. Scammel reserve is ok too, just no fences.

Also read this by another whinger Norm

Can you believe the stuff ups with finals venues this year? The late notice about the actual venues, the time and venue changes?

What a disaster! Imagine being a Premier 19 section second semi finalist and finding out Thursday afternoon, your game has been postponed and you won't be playing until the following weekend? What about the people who had holidays planned, venues booked etc, to suddenly find out they have another week to play. Not to mention that De la could potentially add players form the seniors this week that they couldn't add last week. Imagine if they could add say four guns if they lost the final on Sunday?

All because of some mud? Did it only surface(pardon the pun!) midway through last week? Isn't it a winter sport? Isn't it the same conditions for both sides? Surely, they could have sourced other grounds from the EFL/SFl where they charge people every week to get in? I know of several that were available. To end up playing at venue where you can't charge(eg Harry Trott) is a disaster for the vafa, because they were so incompetent.

What about all the day and time changes? Premier C prelim is now on a
Sunday, so a fully rested Caulfield will face a side off a six day break in the granny. Nice one Fields! To suddenly change arguably the most important match for thre season( it determines who goes up and who doesn't) is simply not good enough. Several of the under 19/18 games have had several venue and time changes. They are playing games at venues where you can watch from the street for free( De la) or you don't pay to get in. It is a dogs breakfast.

Please, no bleeding hearts telling me about a wet winter etc. They simply should have done better.
To top it off, they ran out of Hamburgers at EP on S

Its all about money. No fence no final. Coburg was in ripper condition. I am sure the players would prefer to play on that ground rather than the slop that was Waverley Park.

In a completely biased manner...I'm going to put the opposite view to yours Crazy.

I reckon nearly all of the GE players/support staff (and I know that ALL of their supporters) would by far prefer a game in East Malvern at Dairy Bell Stadium, whatever it's condition, than having to do the trek to sunny Coburg again ...and this time on a Sunday.

The issue of both the higher finishing teams -GE (and Bentleigh in the magoos) having to travel out to Coburg & both playing against Parade -whose home ground is virtually on the back door step- virtually negates any advantage of being the higher placed team.
I'm sure the Ammos have their reasons, but it's still not right. To put it in perspective, how would the Bears have felt if last weeks game had been scheduled at Dairy Bell and not Coburg...?

Having said all that, I reckon the GE boys would be prepared play OP's 'on the moon'... if that's what it takes to get another shot at the Bears.
They didn't get the lollies last week , but equally I thought they showed that the gap is far from insurmountable.

In the Sunday event -it really was a one horse race from early on. It seemed like OW were "off the boil" all day. Their intensity and doggedness, which were features both times we met this season , were not on display.
I'm sure they were disappointed to bow out, but with such a strong junior program behind them...it's only a matter of time before they start their climb thru the grades

It was hardly surprising that in a season where only Boundy & Brown (and I guess Ciavola from Eltham) stood out as class forwards, we had 2 blokes bag 8 each in a final. Brown in particular has now averaged 5+ per game for the year...outstanding by any measure.

Brown & Boundy are both very different types of players but they sure impacted their respective games in a huge way where it counts most -on the scoreboard. Brown's 8 of a total of 11 was simply amazing. Boundy was a walk up BOG as well
Brown and Boundy virtually stood head & shoulders above their teammates and opponents to stamp themselves as genuine Finals performers.
And when your career is over...that's what you want to be remembered for isn't it.

Interesting to get some feedback from other punters as to what effect or impact the shorter 6-day break & the bog like slop at Dairy Bell Stadium, might have on the runners &/or older players in the OP teams in regards to this week.

It might be that these 2 factors even out the abovementioned "travel" issue.

Whoever gets up on Sunday, has a massive task to reel in the Bears ...but it will still be a 2 horse race on GF day.

Good luck to all teams on the weekend.

You sure its not the Councils pulling rank during the week after ground inspections? Just so they can start preparing their beloved cricket pitches ready for cricket season?

Ironically 2-3 seasons ago we were only allowed to train on our ground once a week, if at all, due to the lack of rain & preseason was always done off site at parklands somewhere.

How times have changed

You sure its not the Councils pulling rank during the week after ground inspections? Just so they can start preparing their beloved cricket pitches ready for cricket season?

Ironically 2-3 seasons ago we were only allowed to train on our ground once a week, if at all, due to the lack of rain & preseason was always done off site at parklands somewhere.

How times have changed

Both Scammel and Waverley park available next weekend for D3 and Under 19. NOT D2.

In a completely biased manner...I'm going to put the opposite view to yours Crazy.

I reckon nearly all of the GE players/support staff (and I know that ALL of their supporters) would by far prefer a game in East Malvern at Dairy Bell Stadium, whatever it's condition, than having to do the trek to sunny Coburg again ...and this time on a Sunday.

The issue of both the higher finishing teams -GE (and Bentleigh in the magoos) having to travel out to Coburg & both playing against Parade -whose home ground is virtually on the back door step- virtually negates any advantage of being the higher placed team.
I'm sure the Ammos have their reasons, but it's still not right. To put it in perspective, how would the Bears have felt if last weeks game had been scheduled at Dairy Bell and not Coburg...?

Having said all that, I reckon the GE boys would be prepared play OP's 'on the moon'... if that's what it takes to get another shot at the Bears.
They didn't get the lollies last week , but equally I thought they showed that the gap is far from insurmountable.

In the Sunday event -it really was a one horse race from early on. It seemed like OW were "off the boil" all day. Their intensity and doggedness, which were features both times we met this season , were not on display.
I'm sure they were disappointed to bow out, but with such a strong junior program behind them...it's only a matter of time before they start their climb thru the grades

It was hardly surprising that in a season where only Boundy & Brown (and I guess Ciavola from Eltham) stood out as class forwards, we had 2 blokes bag 8 each in a final. Brown in particular has now averaged 5+ per game for the year...outstanding by any measure.

Brown & Boundy are both very different types of players but they sure impacted their respective games in a huge way where it counts most -on the scoreboard. Brown's 8 of a total of 11 was simply amazing. Boundy was a walk up BOG as well
Brown and Boundy virtually stood head & shoulders above their teammates and opponents to stamp themselves as genuine Finals performers.
And when your career is over...that's what you want to be remembered for isn't it.

Interesting to get some feedback from other punters as to what effect or impact the shorter 6-day break & the bog like slop at Dairy Bell Stadium, might have on the runners &/or older players in the OP teams in regards to this week.

It might be that these 2 factors even out the abovementioned "travel" issue.

Whoever gets up on Sunday, has a massive task to reel in the Bears ...but it will still be a 2 horse race on GF day.

Good luck to all teams on the weekend.

It is a 7 day break.

In the Sunday event -it really was a one horse race from early on. It seemed like OW were "off the boil" all day. ...
it's only a matter of time before they start their climb thru the grades

I was sad OW lost, on paper it was going to be an even contest. At times they played as if defending a 100-point lead instead of chasing a 30-point deficit. When they did bang it through the middle to half forward they were quite dangerous, it was just getting it there that was the problem!

IMO they need another year in D2 and dominate early in the season to build up to a successful finals campaign and promotion. I've seen plenty of teams in the higher grades scrape through into the GF only to be continually thumped and sent back down the following year, which isn't good for either the players or the club.

lets stop all this blabber about ground availability, muddy centres, cricket wickets & start talking about which two teams are going to meet banyule in both grand finals on september 11.

glen eira because theyre hard at it (as witnessed when we played them) & from what ive heard & read here about the 2nd semi final, are able to go with the bears.

bentleigh because weve been a super team all year, balanced all over the ground, will (hopefully) be defending our title & besides, we WANT another lash at the bears.

i guess you could say im ever so slightly biased!! :p