• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D3 Section Ammos 2007

I think you can argue that Kew dont deserve to win it given their seniors finished last. Both sides will probably have senior players dropping down, but I think you are right Browman, Kew to win it and go back to back in the magoos.

I am surprised that the OW twos arent in calculation for the twos flag. I dont think they have lost a game since round 3.

Obviously Kew and Swinburne have the option of dropping people down from their seniors if they have qualified, but OW beat Kew by 40 points last time they met. Surely they still have to be the favourites to take it out.

I am surprised that the OW twos arent in calculation for the twos flag. I dont think they have lost a game since round 3.

Obviously Kew and Swinburne have the option of dropping people down from their seniors if they have qualified, but OW beat Kew by 40 points last time they met. Surely they still have to be the favourites to take it out.

Old westbourne should be odds on fav's to win the 2's flag. They have been smashing sides of late.
Monash 2's weren't the same without Geoff Still this year. Would you agree Broman?

Really, who cares who wins the two flag?

Any other B&F results?

Now the season's over - League B&F predictions?
B Irving- Back to back for mine

Monash ressies beat Kew last year by over 100 points then lost the GF. Big advantage to drop senior players down. From what I saw this year OW magoos were not very impressive. However they are a certainty to win the seniors.

Old westbourne should be odds on fav's to win the 2's flag. They have been smashing sides of late.
Monash 2's weren't the same without Geoff Still this year. Would you agree Broman?
Geoff Still was a very good player Crazy bear. However if I recall he ran out of puff and went missing late in the GF last year.

Powerhouse & Kew may be getting big numbers, but I can confirm that Ivanhoe are not. I live locally and have played against Ivanhoe recently and can confirm they are on the slide. The coach ( goal kicker ) is gone, took 6 or 7 mates with him, Captain ( Harris ) is at Fitzy reds and likely to take a mate or two, several of their best players have not been seen this year and at best they have had 20 blokes through the place so far. Like mosts teams in the region they have been kicked off their ground ( water restrictions ). They will struggle and previous posts that they will finish as high as 7th may be setting the bar too high. So, I will have a crack and say......

West Brunswick
Kew
La trobe
Elsternwick
OW
Powerhouse
Monash
Ivanhoe
Swinnie
Chim, you were so close with your pre-season tip, can you guide us to the winners this week (even one will do)//

Eddie - yeah thanks for that - way off the mark !!

With a home and away season now done and dusted I would suggest that a few things have changed.

This week : and obviously i have no idea ......

Hoes to nudge out The Students - although I would expect a far better effort from the uni boys. I recieved 'a little mail' suggesting they would put in a much better showing this week. Hoes by 9 points.

OW to beat the Hawks - as they have been the best team all year and I would think will have a full book this week to select from. The hawks beat them recently, but OW had a few very important players missing. Was Collins just having a rest last week or is he injured? OW by 26 points.

Classy Player that was sorely missed along with Matt Parker and Justin Hetherington.:thumbsu: Those three in the side and they would've pushed for GF spot again.
Your thoughts CB?

Good luck to all teams for round 1. Thank god we can talk about some real action on the forum.

Don't look much into the form of teams in practice games, numbers on the track are a far better indicator

My predicted ladder after R.18:

Old Westbourne
Latrobe Uni
West Brunswick
Kew
----------------------------
Elsternwick
Powerhouse
Ivanhoe
Swinburne
Monash Gryphons

Premier: Old Westbourne

Predictions for round 1:

West Brunswick by 16 over Monash (Gryphs always harder to beat at home)
Elsternwick by 26 over Powerhouse
Hawthorn by 3 pts over Swinburne
Latrobe by 15 at Vic Park over Kew
Westbourne by 46 over Ivanhoe

------------------------------------------------------Well at least I got the Minor Premier (and one other finalist correct). Interestingly enough, the two relegated to D4 are two I selected to finish in the 4! i grossly underestimated Hawthorn and over-rated West Brunswick.This week's finals:Westbourne over Hawthorn by 31 Pts (Will be too strong in every department and show why they're head and shoulders above the rest of D3)Latrobe over Ivanhoe by 11 Pts (Should be a cracker, but Ivanhoe's defence is not as strong)Good luck to all finalists.Quasi

Eddie - yeah thanks for that - way off the mark !!

With a home and away season now done and dusted I would suggest that a few things have changed.

This week : and obviously i have no idea ......

Hoes to nudge out The Students - although I would expect a far better effort from the uni boys. I recieved 'a little mail' suggesting they would put in a much better showing this week. Hoes by 9 points.

OW to beat the Hawks - as they have been the best team all year and I would think will have a full book this week to select from. The hawks beat them recently, but OW had a few very important players missing. Was Collins just having a rest last week or is he injured? OW by 26 points.

Chump I have been away for a while but have enjoyed you bagging the Hoes while we marched towards the finals. About time you showed some respect, if you look at the numbers our defence is second best of the final four and have forward line that is functioning very well that will trouble our opposition.

Will we see your tragic self at the game this week?

Have you owned up to being from the Wickers yet?

Chump I have been away for a while but have enjoyed you bagging the Hoes while we marched towards the finals. About time you showed some respect, if you look at the numbers our defence is second best of the final four and have forward line that is functioning very well that will trouble our opposition.

I doubt there is a tool on this Earth that you don't yearn to squeeze, Heoch

helo mate - yes i thought i would hear from you and OMR sooner or later. Ok a few things ......

1) Yes, even my bagging of them has not stoped their efforts to make the finals - so congratulations on that front. I am now trying a different tact and selecting them to win, in the hope that it may rub off and see you crumble to a first final defeat. fingers crossed :eek:

2) As for the defence - that was quasi - not me. And a quick glance at the VAFA website confirms you are correct in suggesting they have the second best defensive record in D3. hopefully it falls apart this week !!

3) Yes, I have leave from home duties to attend the Sunday game - it's a fathers day gift from the family to get me out of the house. Looking forward to the contest.

4) I'm not a wickers fan / member or player ......but I do have a ticket on the OW bus as it looks the clear winner.

Good luck at Garvey on the weekend !!

4) I'm not a wickers fan / member or player ......but I do have a ticket on the OW bus as it looks the clear winner.

Not that I know a lot about footy, but I see you're going out on a limb and going with the underdogs, must have been a tough call!! Anyway, going by your tips for this week, who do you think will meet OW in the GF, Hawks or Hoes? For me, I'm still in charge of the bandwagon I started way back in May and think the Hoes will pilay OW in the big one (and it will be much closer than round 1 - thats correct, I think Hoes could get within 19 goals if they meet again)

Does anyone think Hawthorn will knock off OW this week (other than Hawthorn people)???

Not that I know a lot about footy, but I see you're going out on a limb and going with the underdogs, must have been a tough call!! Anyway, going by your tips for this week, who do you think will meet OW in the GF, Hawks or Hoes? For me, I'm still in charge of the bandwagon I started way back in May and think the Hoes will pilay OW in the big one (and it will be much closer than round 1 - thats correct, I think Hoes could get within 19 goals if they meet again)

Does anyone think Hawthorn will knock off OW this week (other than Hawthorn people)???

No, besides Aitken they don't have a quality midfielder whereas OW have Connors bros (if both play) and Pavez and a lot of options up forward. Haw have good talls in Collins and Ogge but OW should be able to cover them with Balloch and Fairfield.

Latrobe's bogey side is Ivanhoe (lost at least last 4 played)and I wouldn't expect them to trouble Ivanhoe on Sun. I think it will be a Ivanhoe / OW granny.

Collins got injured against Kew Champ and didn't play last half, don't know how bad but might have missed last week as a precaution.

hey guys what were kew and west brunswick like this yr by the looks of things if west can win 6 games and get relegated i dont think there stay will be long lived
were kew as bad as the ladder looks?

helo mate - yes i thought i would hear from you and OMR sooner or later. Ok a few things ......

1) Yes, even my bagging of them has not stoped their efforts to make the finals - so congratulations on that front. I am now trying a different tact and selecting them to win, in the hope that it may rub off and see you crumble to a first final defeat. fingers crossed :eek:

2) As for the defence - that was quasi - not me. And a quick glance at the VAFA website confirms you are correct in suggesting they have the second best defensive record in D3. hopefully it falls apart this week !!

3) Yes, I have leave from home duties to attend the Sunday game - it's a fathers day gift from the family to get me out of the house. Looking forward to the contest.

Just thought it was about time i jumped back onto this amazing thread!!!

Saw the coach of Kew at Barry's on the weekend......trying to reclaim his youth after a horror year at the helm......dont think it was working.

Well its that time of year and the quality is left in the comp so its onto the weekend we march. The boys down at hoe land are sitting ok without being over confident wouldnt you say chimp my old friend?

With the big gy pace firing at full forward I cant see any of the students backmen holding him.....was it 8 or 9 you kicked last week anggggggga?
maybe i should ask that tool that keeps giving you sh*t on this thread, are you out there mate?

Goodluck to all teams involved in the finals this week should be 2 ripper games.

Just thought it was about time i jumped back onto this amazing thread!!!

Saw the coach of Kew at Barry's on the weekend......trying to reclaim his youth after a horror year at the helm......dont think it was working.

Well its that time of year and the quality is left in the comp so its onto the weekend we march. The boys down at hoe land are sitting ok without being over confident wouldnt you say chimp my old friend?

With the big gy pace firing at full forward I cant see any of the students backmen holding him.....was it 8 or 9 you kicked last week anggggggga?
maybe i should ask that tool that keeps giving you sh*t on this thread, are you out there mate?

Goodluck to all teams involved in the finals this week should be 2 ripper games.

yes, yes OMR - congratulations on making the finals.

This week will be pretty close me thinks , but I have tipped you guys to get the chocolates. Good luck ( well sort of ....) on the weekend.

No, besides Aitken they don't have a quality midfielder whereas OW have Connors bros (if both play) and Pavez and a lot of options up forward. Haw have good talls in Collins and Ogge but OW should be able to cover them with Balloch and Fairfield.

Latrobe's bogey side is Ivanhoe (lost at least last 4 played)and I wouldn't expect them to trouble Ivanhoe on Sun. I think it will be a Ivanhoe / OW granny.

Collins got injured against Kew Champ and didn't play last half, don't know how bad but might have missed last week as a precaution.

Hi Oldtimer, agree with you sum up on OW and the Hawks, but surely Lauletta would add to the Hawks forward line? Balloch is a very good player and will get some key roles throughout the finals for sure.

Collins - what sort of injury did he get? He is a big key to their chances and IMO Ogge is there best player.

Interesting call on OW and Ivanhoe for GF ? Do you really rate the hoes ???

I would like to see the Hoes make it .....................so they can get SMASHED in the GF by OW !!