D3 Section Ammos 2007

Dooley will be back next year. Took a year off for work. He is a super player in this grade. Looking forward to him returning next year.
Also look out for Flowerday back after a knee reconstruction.

flowerday, isn't doing the professional pie eating circuit?? if that guy ever got serious about his footy he would tear the competition to pieces. add those two players back into the mix and luck with injuries, gryph's would be pressing for finals. but they need to first avoid relegation....

I mentioned this on the D4 thread, but it seems that if the VAFA recruits one new side next season then, probably, no one will be relegated from D3 this year? It would be a 10 team comp, and d4 would be 11.

It seems there is a fair chance of this happening?

interesting no ow players, but two from the fairly average E'wicks and the even worse gryphens... All good players on you list but surely connors from OW must get a run.

How about Hutton from west???

I dunno what this bloke needs to do to show the rest of you how important he is, takes an easy 10-15 marks a game.

Watch for finals, hes good on the big stage!!

I dunno what this bloke needs to do to show the rest of you how important he is, takes an easy 10-15 marks a game.

There's some guy for West Brunswick called Morgan who has had at least 20 kicks in every game that I've seen him play

who else would make up this top ten?

C.Mahony ( E-wicks)
Wells (Gryphs)
Pace (Hoes)
Collins ( Hawks)
Irving (West Brunny....and I think the best allround player in D3 comp)
Whiting (Swinney)
B.Connors (OW)
N.Smith (OW)
S. Ballock (OW)
Sheldrick (The Students)

Unfortunately no room for Eddoooo!! and Higgooo!! in the Top 10 ....... I shed a tear;)

Agreed.

In a very good even side, he certainly stood out last time I saw OW play.

My top ten:

Bleddingsfield (Elstern)
C.Mahoney (Elstern)
B.Connors (OW)
Smith (OW)
Rutherford (mon)
Collins (haw)
Horne (kew)
Irving (wb)
Pace (ivan)
Wells (mon)

Hey out west, are you for real?

The best forward in the comp is the bloke who stands in the goal square for Powerhouse and has smashed everyone this season and he doesn't even get a mention in your top 10.

You must be way, way, way out west...or on drugs!

My mate who umpired the game told me he kicked another lazy 5 against OW last weekend and only played 3 quarters! Are you really fair dinkum?

At least you got it right by NOT selecting Lauletta. He has had a bad season and blokes pick him on his reputation.

Also, everyone is selecting forwards or midfielders.

How about us picking a real top 10 player list including some DEFENDERS!!!!

C. Mahony (E'wick)
B.Mahony (E'wick)
Rutherford (Monash)
Wells (Monash)
Collins (Hawthorn)
Higgins (Swinburne)
Pace (Ivanhoe)
Edwards (P'house)
Horne (Kew)
Irving (WB)

Interesting Old Warrior, I am a bit surprised you left out Smyth just because he is such a good bloke.

Hey out west, are you for real?

The best forward in the comp is the bloke who stands in the goal square for Powerhouse and has smashed everyone this season and he doesn't even get a mention in your top 10.

You must be way, way, way out west...or on drugs!

My mate who umpired the game told me he kicked another lazy 5 against OW last weekend and only played 3 quarters! Are you really fair dinkum?

At least you got it right by NOT selecting Lauletta. He has had a bad season and blokes pick him on his reputation.

Pace is the best forward this year looking at figures. Edwards yes is a very good player but has had no where near the season that he is capable of. He has had injuries and missed games and he has also played with injury so no he is not in my top 10.

Forwards only kick goals because the midfield get it to them!!!

As far as defenders best IMO are Old Warrior, Full back from Powerhouse and Ridley from Hawthorn.

In regards to smashing everyone - name the games!!!! I'm sure he has kicked a few big bags but nowhere near what he did in C Grade in 05 or D4 in 06. We can't pick players based on past reps only what we see this year.

Doesnt have to include defenders, thats what the d3 team of the year (or whatever its called) is for. Unless your best player is a defender or course. But its hard to shine as a defender when the midfielders get 30 touches a game, and the forwards are kicking heaps of goals.

Pace is the best forward this year looking at figures. Edwards yes is a very good player but has had no where near the season that he is capable of. He has had injuries and missed games and he has also played with injury so no he is not in my top 10.

Forwards only kick goals because the midfield get it to them!!!

As far as defenders best IMO are Old Warrior, Full back from Powerhouse and Ridley from Hawthorn.

In regards to smashing everyone - name the games!!!! I'm sure he has kicked a few big bags but nowhere near what he did in C Grade in 05 or D4 in 06. We can't pick players based on past reps only what we see this year.

Ok, as a person close to the Power House nest, I'll weigh in on the Eddo debate. For the first 7 rounds this year, Eddo was playing better footy than he did last year and was clearly the league standout full forward. He was then injured, missed 3 and has still managed some decent bags since his return despite the fact that his injury is not right. A fully fit Eddo is better than a fully fit Pace (would that ever happen) - no question about it.

Full back is Damien Boland - kept Jeka, Pace, Higgins and Lauletta to virtually no goals so no argument there. For consistency week in week out, Paul Sosic has to get in any top 10 list and is a cert as BP in the team of the year.

My top ten:

Bleddingsfield (Elstern)
C.Mahoney (Elstern)
B.Connors (OW)
Smith (OW)
Rutherford (mon)
Collins (haw)
Horne (kew)
Irving (wb)
Pace (ivan)
Wells (mon)

Out west: Hope these are not in ranking order. For Nick Rutherford is nowhere near the player Lee Wells is and certainly not superior to him. Frankly, I would rate him third at the Gryphons behind Wells and Baxter.

Ok, as a person close to the Power House nest, I'll weigh in on the Eddo debate. For the first 7 rounds this year, Eddo was playing better footy than he did last year and was clearly the league standout full forward. He was then injured, missed 3 and has still managed some decent bags since his return despite the fact that his injury is not right. A fully fit Eddo is better than a fully fit Pace (would that ever happen) - no question about it.

Full back is Damien Boland - kept Jeka, Pace, Higgins and Lauletta to virtually no goals so no argument there. For consistency week in week out, Paul Sosic has to get in any top 10 list and is a cert as BP in the team of the year.

Vaginamite, argue to the cows come home, to make the top 10 means consistency and hopefully no injuries so this means no Eddddoooooo this year. Credit were it is due, Ang Pace has kicked 80+ so far, missed the first 2 games as well, so is hands down deserving of being named the best FF this year. All whilst being 'fat', 'unfit' and the so-called souva/burger king........makes Edddooooo and Higggoooo and Jeka and all the others look really good !! PPPPPPPAAAAAAACCCCCCEEEEEEE

Hey vegemite - stop trying to cut my Lunch !!! Eddoooo !!!! is all mine and his efforts this year have been great under injury. That being said Higgooo!! has had games out with injury (5?) and Paceooo!! leads the comp after missing (two or three?).

Just got to love the big men of the comp !!

Vaginamite, argue to the cows come home, to make the top 10 means consistency and hopefully no injuries so this means no Eddddoooooo this year. Credit were it is due, Ang Pace has kicked 80+ so far, missed the first 2 games as well, so is hands down deserving of being named the best FF this year. All whilst being 'fat', 'unfit' and the so-called souva/burger king........makes Edddooooo and Higggoooo and Jeka and all the others look really good !! PPPPPPPAAAAAAACCCCCCEEEEEEE

C'mon Hotshoe,
Pacey played in round 2 against Kew and kicked 3. Iknow this because it was our only win.

HSS - nice to see you coming to the defence of your man love

Out west: Hope these are not in ranking order. For Nick Rutherford is nowhere near the player Lee Wells is and certainly not superior to him. Frankly, I would rate him third at the Gryphons behind Wells and Baxter.

definitely not ranking order, however, Beddlingsfield is a gun! Has only played 11 games and is a ball magnet.

interesting no ow players, but two from the fairly average E'wicks and the even worse gryphens... All good players on you list but surely connors from OW must get a run.

I didn't list anyone from OW as it's too hard for me to be impartial. If I was, then B Connors would definitely be in there and G Connors would be around the mark also.

If it was for last qtrs only then G Connors would be #1 on my list.

E'wick and MG's may have had ordinary years but that doesn't mean they don't have good players, particularly the two from MG's. If Flowerday and Dooley play next year and they can retain most of their list then Monash should win enough games at home to at least play finals in 2008.

C.Mahony ( E-wicks)
Wells (Gryphs)
Pace (Hoes)
Collins ( Hawks)
Irving (West Brunny....and I think the best allround player in D3 comp)
Whiting (Swinney)
B.Connors (OW)
N.Smith (OW)
S. Ballock (OW)
Sheldrick (The Students)

Unfortunately no room for Eddoooo!! and Higgooo!! in the Top 10 ....... I shed a tear;)

Good to see you rate Stu Balloch COC. Along with Charlie Hunter and Ben Hutton he has probably been our most consistent player in '07.

Which OW game/s have you seen this year?

Good to see you rate Stu Balloch COC. Along with Charlie Hunter and Ben Hutton he has probably been our most consistent player in '07.

Which OW game/s have you seen this year?

Yes, thought he moved very well against the Students ( at La trobe ) and then have noticed him as a regular in the best players.

Hunter and Hutton also good players .....and about 19 others ......hence why you will win the flag in my opinion Old Warrior.

As for my selections - I have seen very few teams twice - mainly the students and Ivanhoe as they are close to home - so I would not have a great feel for many of the players in the comp apart from one or two looks and then best players.

Yes, thought he moved very well against the Students ( at La trobe ) and then have noticed him as a regular in the best players.

Hunter and Hutton also good players .....and about 19 others ......hence why you will win the flag in my opinion Old Warrior.

As for my selections - I have seen very few teams twice - mainly the students and Ivanhoe as they are close to home - so I would not have a great feel for many of the players in the comp apart from one or two looks and then best players.

Chumpy, you've only named 1 Ivan and 1 Student in your top 10 but you say they are the 2 two teams you've seen most of. Either you dont rate anyone as individual players just as solid "team" outfits, or again, you know more about the competition than you lay claim too. You dont happen to be a lawyer, as you certainly can spin some Eartha

Arrh Hottie - always looking for the scoop.

Firstly it's the top 10 of the comp - not your side - who at best have been a tad lucky to make the final 4. Injuries to Higgins ( pigs), E-wicks and even The House have made your job a bit easier. Lets face it you are the only team to get beaten by the lads out at Kew - too funny !!

Anyway, I just don't think that I could name anyone else on what I have seen and then followed on the best players. Ludes is a good player from the Students, but Grace from the E-wicks looks a better all round forward pocket.....and I didn't select him.

Enjoy you last two weeks of the year Hottie.......

P.S. I am not a Lawyer............:rolleyes: