Darren Jolly Trade Thread

Re: Collingwood makes Darren Jolly offer

Just thought I'd look at Jolly's stats for the year, damn they are impressive.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-sydney-swans--darren-jolly

The short of it is, that this year Jolly averaged;

12 Posessions;
4 Marks;
31 Hitouts;

And he turns 28 in November, just about the prime age for an AFL ruckman, giving him 4-5 years more in the game, injuries permitting of course.

GET HIM NOW.:thumbsu:

Wow..... this thread is mouth-watering. Landing Jolly and Fevola would really give us a big shot next year. I'd be really surprised to see Leon traded but the value is there.

If we can get our hands on Jolly and Fevola then that makes things tough for players such as Fraser and Dawes. Dawes to Melbourne for pick 18 sounds like a goer, especially with Melbourne expected to go with 2 mids with #1 and #2. A mixture of #14, #18 and some others does not sound like enough to get both of Jolly and Fevola. I wonder if Hawthorn would be interested in Fraser given doubts over Campbell going forward and Bailey in rehab again. They may be tempted.

Perhaps:

Fraser to Hawthorn, Josh Kennedy to the Swans as reported and Jolly to the Pies with Swans also getting #18. We might need to exchange some later picks as well.

We can then use #14 and Goldsack for Fev. They will probably take Macaffer but man I hope not. I really rate the Caff.
Yeah Nah

Not sure you'll need a 1st rounder for Fev by Monday going on rumours :)

Hopefully the pies will be able to pay a massive slice of Fev's contract.....if we can do that we may get him for peanuts in relative terms!!

In terms of talent, Fev is clearly a superstar.....two out of the last 3 coleman medals, would have been 3 from 3 if Buddy hadn't had his enormous year.

This is the best FF in the business, 80+ a year, no injury worries

He would demand a top 5 pick, plus a quality player at least in normal conditions!!

Get Fev pies.

Jolly would be good, but Fev is the one we should go for!!

If we can land both........premiership in 2010 is a massive chance

Even if u only get one of them you are a massive chance for the Prem in 2010. I have said all year the Pies are on superstar short of a premiership winning team.

To be honest I don't think Fev will be traded. It's all a bluff.

I thought that too until I found out he swore, spewed, was obnoxious, abused his team mates, abused staff, mouthed off at other teams players and staff, sexually harassed someone, belted Murphy, made Gibbs girlfriend cry and felt up Twiggers.

What do you think the chance are of landing two picks in exchange for Jolly? I don't think any of the fringe type players at Collingwood are worth going for and I'd rather use picks to go after some of the Hawthorn players.

I thought that too until I found out he swore, spewed, was obnoxious, abused his team mates, abused staff, mouthed off at other teams players and staff, sexually harassed someone, belted Murphy, made Gibbs girlfriend cry and felt up Twiggers.

If he really did all that do we want him at Collingwood? Whos to say he wont come in and completely **** up the teams harmony? If he does come to us thought obviously there'd be a clause stating no grog so hopefully it wouldnt be an issue. If all that is true though then no wonder Caltank wanna get rid of him. Ah well Juddy, looks like you in for a looooooooooooooooooooong few years

Can't say my source, but apparently we have unofficially, officially made an offer for Jolly and its pick 14.

What do you think the chance are of landing two picks in exchange for Jolly? I don't think any of the fringe type players at Collingwood are worth going for and I'd rather use picks to go after some of the Hawthorn players.
I think it's more likely that we get involved in helping Sydney get Seaby by trading a player to WCE.

If you get "two picks", it would be #14 and a third-rounder or thereabouts. You won't be getting any of our primo youngsters in the deal.

Just thought I'd look at Jolly's stats for the year, damn they are impressive.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-sydney-swans--darren-jolly

The short of it is, that this year Jolly averaged;

12 Posessions;
4 Marks;
31 Hitouts;

And he turns 28 in November, just about the prime age for an AFL ruckman, giving him 4-5 years more in the game, injuries permitting of course.

GET HIM NOW.:thumbsu:
Do you have the hitouts to advantage stat? I can't find it anywhere.

we do have a good trading relationship with you guys

You make compelling arguments, but jolly is a top 5 player in the sydney line-up and is vital cog in our gameplan, without him we are pretty much screwed

the players that you traded us were just handy players to you, and were not even in your top 10, and jolly is a top 5 ruckman of the AFL

so i believe you have to give up quality to get quality

as has been said on many threads, Jolly would fix ur big bodied ruck deficiencies, has no baggage (excluding his wife:thumbsdown:), good clubman etc etc

We are giving up quality, the starting point is #14. After that, it's fringe players. Any talk of young players who themselves were first round selections (ie. Wood, Brown, Reid) is pure masturbation.

the players that you traded us were just handy players to you, and were not even in your top 10, and jolly is a top 5 ruckman of the AFL

Paul Williams was more then just handy, and was definately in our top 10 players when we traded him to you.

We are giving up quality, the starting point is #14. After that, it's fringe players. Any talk of young players who themselves were first round selections (ie. Wood, Brown, Reid) is pure masturbation.

well thats your opinion, paul roos isn't stupid, he is not just going to give up 14 and a fringe player like cook (who might even be shortlisted to be delisted)

i think we might look at players like dick, dawes, wellingham, thomas

You might look at Thomas? How generous of you. Go back to the Sydney board if you're going to carry on like a flog.

Dawes is a possibility, but as I stated; Wood, Brown and Reid are off the table.

we do have a good trading relationship with you guys

You make compelling arguments, but jolly is a top 5 player in the sydney line-up and is vital cog in our gameplan, without him we are pretty much screwed

so i believe you have to give up quality to get quality

as has been said on many threads, Jolly would fix ur big bodied ruck deficiencies, has no baggage (excluding his wife:thumbsdown:), good clubman etc etc

The comparative merits of your argument diminish as soon as Jolly says "he" wants to leave. As does his value to your club.

just becasue a player said thart he would like to be traded does not mean it should effect his value

plus everybody knows that he is contracted for 2 more years on huge $$$

If we dont get a fair deal, we will walk away and he will play out his remaining contract. he wont hold any frudge's agaisnt sydney

Ok so here's what I think will happen..... (Still think WC are getting ripped but they did say they'd trade 7 for a small forward).

West Coast Lose - Pick 7, Seaby
Collingwood Lose - Pick #14, Pick #30, Davis, Cox
Sydney Lose - Jolly
Carlton Lose - Fevola

West Coast Gain - Davis, Cox
Collingwood Gain - Fevola, Jolly
Sydney Gain - Seaby, #14
Carlton Gain - Pick #7, Pick #30

Darren Jolly Trade Thread