Just close them down & bring in Tassie like they should have in the 1st place.Honestly joke of a club
I think Gold Coast needs to stay, they just need a complete rebrand and an experienced coach. Possibly some COLA.Just close them down & bring in Tassie like they should have in the 1st place.
There’s no heart..They should be well ahead of us.
They have a gun ruckman. We have Reilly O'Brien
They have a near-Brownlow winning experienced starting midfielder (Miller), surrounded by Matt Rowell, Noah Anderson, David Swallow, Lachie Weller, Elijah Hollands and Sam Flanders
For those playing at home that's a midfield built on pick 1, 1, 2, 7, 11 and 13 PLUS Miller. That's a stack of elite picks and players that should be very good.
Up forward they've got a gun key (Ben King) and a couple of other decent players like Chol, Lukosius (pick 2) and Ainsworth (pick 4). They just added Bailey Humphrey as well (pick 6)
Down back they have three very good players in Collins, Ballard and Powell.
And their role players aren't half bad either. Guys like Ben Long (just brought in), Joel Jeffrey, and Alex Davies have all showed signs. They've also got Mac Andrew waiting in the wings, another top pick (pick 5)
How the flying * is this team still terrible. They are at least a couple of years further into their rebuild than us and don't look like making finals any time soon
No sporting clubs succeed in the Gold Coast.I think Gold Coast needs to stay, they just need a complete rebrand and an experienced coach. Possibly some COLA.
I think Gold Coast needs to stay, they just need a complete rebrand and an experienced coach. Possibly some COLA.
ProfessionalNo sporting clubs succeed in the Gold Coast.
Not giving away pick 7 and drafting a Phillipou would have helped them too
Our jumper had no real history either.There’s no heart..
they aren’t a team.. they are just a bunch of blokes kicking a footy around to make good coin.. no passion for the jumper because the jumper has no real history or meaning.
the morons that started the Suns fuxked up from the beginning just by calling them the suns.. it’s possibly the shittest name ever given to a football club.
they should’ve taken on the Gold Coast Sharks and used the biggest AFL club on the Gold Coast as the launch pad.. but they obviously believed that might alienate all the supporters of the the sharks opposition clubs..
it’s a no win situation on the Goldy.. a graveyard for national sporting clubs over the years. Transient population that mostly turns up as supporters of football teams from their home states of WA, SA, VIC OR NSW and most arent hanging around long enough to even think “maybe I’ll change and follow the local Gold Coast team”..
Football state that was basically a State Of Origin team in the early days, a bit of differenceOur jumper had no real history either.
That had nothing to do with our club though. We are no different to Gold Coast in terms of history. Our jumper had no history or past players attached to it. Somebody asked the question on Twitter - at what point do you consider a club having a heritage (responding to claims that Adelaide had none)? Is it 30? 50? 100 years? The only difference is, we are from a footballing state but does that give you a claim to history and heritage?Football state that was basically a State Of Origin team in the early days, a bit of difference
But players were playing for something in Rd1 1991, thats the difference, we represented our whole state, our players knew is was us v them (VFL), GC have nothing that they are representing. You cannot compare them and their creation to oursThat had nothing to do with our club though. We are no different to Gold Coast in terms of history. Our jumper had no history or past players attached to it. Somebody asked the question on Twitter - at what point do you consider a club having a heritage (responding to claims that Adelaide had none)? Is it 30? 50? 100 years? The only difference is, we are from a footballing state but does that give you a claim to history and heritage?
Heritage is just accrual of stories and memories, suffering and (ideally) some success, shared in a group, over time. Crows were established when I was about 12. It’s pretty much a lifetime of stories for me, and that feels like heritage. Look at some of the threads on here where we remember past players, games, moments. I’m sure long-suffering Freo supporters feel like their club has heritage for these reasons. It is probably still too soon for GC and GWS. Also, query whether there are enough dedicated supporters yet to make a real enduring heritage.That had nothing to do with our club though. We are no different to Gold Coast in terms of history. Our jumper had no history or past players attached to it. Somebody asked the question on Twitter - at what point do you consider a club having a heritage (responding to claims that Adelaide had none)? Is it 30? 50? 100 years? The only difference is, we are from a footballing state but does that give you a claim to history and heritage?
Ball has to go down his end.Gold Coast go from three goals up at half time against Freo to losing by two goals. Sitting pretty in 17th spot.
You'd have to think, maybe if they had a Rankine running around for them, they might almost have got that game
Should have pushed for and got that instead of that ridiculous priority pick that has solved nothing.I think Gold Coast needs to stay, they just need a complete rebrand and an experienced coach. Possibly some COLA.
Not giving away pick 7 and drafting a Phillipou would have helped them too
I still cannot comprehend how a club can lose Rankine and STILL have salary cap issues bad enough that they have to voluntarily surrender pick 7.
How can you possibly be that incompetent?
He had the v8 supercars running wellTheir chairman until recently was one of the biggest flogs in football, at least based on any time I heard him interviewed
Can't imagine he had the ship running well at all
How did he play last night? And isn’t he still under contract?
There’s no heart..
they aren’t a team.. they are just a bunch of blokes kicking a footy around to make good coin.. no passion for the jumper because the jumper has no real history or meaning.
the morons that started the Suns fuxked up from the beginning just by calling them the suns.. it’s possibly the shittest name ever given to a football club.
they should’ve taken on the Gold Coast Sharks and used the biggest AFL club on the Gold Coast as the launch pad.. but they obviously believed that might alienate all the supporters of the the sharks opposition clubs..
it’s a no win situation on the Goldy.. a graveyard for national sporting clubs over the years. Transient population that mostly turns up as supporters of football teams from their home states of WA, SA, VIC OR NSW and most arent hanging around long enough to even think “maybe I’ll change and follow the local Gold Coast team”..