Mega Thread Delist/Trade/Draft Supermegaultrathread - Who will we draft? edition

Pick 11 - Who will it be

Just spoke to a mate that works with the eagles. He said that we are hoping Weller or Cockatoo will still be available but they are expecting both to be gone. He also said one of our players in our best 22 just broke his hand but couldn't say who because he didn't want to get into trouble with the club as it hasn't been released yet.

I can't see how Cockatoo will be gone before our pick. You sure you don't mean Pickett?

How do you ****ing break your hand in preseason ?

Will be the result of something dumb so I'm tipping wellingham

Hope it's not one of the rucks .

Interesting they reckon both to be gone when the current consensus is that they will both be available (on bigfooty anyway).

If all of Pickett, DeGoey, Weller, Duggan and Cockatoo are gone we will be ****ing unlucky.

I wonder if Jake Lever is an increasing chance to become an Eagle?

I can't see how Cockatoo will be gone before our pick. You sure you don't mean Pickett?

I'm guessing they think GWS will take Cockatoo with one of their 3 picks, with 3 top 10 picks you can afford to take the chance.

I'm warming to the idea of Weller in blue and gold but still really not a fan of Duggan.. and if Weller and Cockatoo are gone I'm guessing we'll pick Duggan.

Interesting they reckon both to be gone when the current consensus is that they will both be available (on bigfooty anyway).

If all of Pickett, DeGoey, Weller, Duggan and Cockatoo are gone we will be ******* unlucky.

I wonder if Jake Lever is an increasing chance to become an Eagle?

GWS have said they want to take a tall. If they do, then at least one of the five you mention (or Laverde) will be available.

If no talls apart from McCartin and Moore are taken, maybe we would consider Lever or Wright.

The number of picks GCS and GWS have had in the last few years means that they can reach for specific types of players rather than best available. Just look at the O'Rourke pick at #2, more a point of difference pick than talent based. That's why they could go with the x-factor types - Pickett, Cockatoo, etc - they've already got every position covered++ in some shape or form.

Nope definitly Cockatoo.

How do you ******* break your hand in preseason ?

Will be the result of something dumb so I'm tipping wellingham

He was boxing at the time of the injury.

Nope definitly Cockatoo.

He was boxing at the time of the injury.
Thanks for clarifying.

At least a hand injury shouldn't affect running which means there shouldn't be a major impact on training loads. Could be worse.

So cockatoo could be gone top 10. That is very interesting considering how the consensus is we would be reaching to take him at 11.

I am not sure why there is all this angst about selecting Duggan he may lack express pace but that's not the only serious deficiency that we have.

For a team that in the main has very substandard kicking skils I would have thought Duggan would have been a serious upgrade .

Duggan provide an improvement in an area of need.

What's not to like !?

Sure a quick mid with elite footskills would be nice .... But there are none that are going to be a available for us to take at pick 11.

Besides raw pace is only of benefit if you can use it to your advantage......case in point see Ash ( The Flash ) Smith .

Give me a kid with a high footy IQ who is a good decision maker and has very good foot skills any day over a speedster which a shyte house kick .

I guess my biggest problem with Duggan is his pace. From what I can gather he has 'average' pace.. and we are desperately lacking some explosive pace and like breakability.. some real x-factor.. in our midfield. Players like Pickett and Cockatoo offer that, Duggan doesn't.

I think the word you're looking for is "swervability".