Mega Thread Delist/Trade/Draft Supermegaultrathread - Who will we draft? edition

Pick 11 - Who will it be

Jon Phelan on Twitter had said "Saints deny changing their minds on pick 1 "

I'm guessing the Saints will argue that they never made up their mind on either of them, so choosing McCartin isn't changing their mind.

Not that it really matters to us. I'd definitely choose Petracca though.

I'm guessing the Saints will argue that they never made up their mind on either of them, so choosing McCartin isn't changing their mind.

Not that it really matters to us. I'd definitely choose Petracca though.

That's right get Petracca and then take McKenzie At 21

This doesn't matter to anyone but Melbourne.
This.

McCartin, Petracca and Brayshaw seem locked in for top 3 so the Saints decision probably only affects who Melbourne get

If, and its a big if, Melbourne choose a player outside that trio things get very interesting.

Well they think they are in premiership mode so yes they can, they also may look to take them with there early second rounder, pick 25.
I'm not convinced he'll be around at pick 25, but I guess in a day's time all of this speculation will be resolved.

I think there are going to be some awesome sliders going at picks 28-31. Really hope someone can slide through to 32. Would love Blakely, but not giving that much chance. Would also really love Miller.

A Laverde and Miller combo would be a dream.

So much this. Miller would be the perfect Kerr replacement. Loves the contest, throwing himself into packs, great tackler, can take a grab and kick a goal (from the limited highlights I've seen). I've been more impressed with his highlights than a lot of others and really hope we consider him if he is available at our second pick.

Laverde speaks for himself. Would be a great addition and openly states he's happy to move interstate in one of the draft videos.

Can someone tell me why Corey Ellis does not come up in conversation for our pick when he is listed in many phantom drafts before some of the fancied names. I'm not pushing him as our pick just curious.

He hasn't been linked to us by anyone (despite being linked strongly to Richmond at pick 12). People here generally don't discuss anyone until they get linked to us by a journo.

That's very speculative.

I understand the fascination with Cockatoo but I don't think we are in the position to take a risk. We'll get a decent player at 11 either way and I won't be upset if it is Cockatoo but if it was Cockatoo instead of say Laverde I'd be querying it.

A team up top like the Hawks can afford to take risks. We're middle of the road.
...And we'll stay middle of the road until we get top midfield talent.
Getting top midfield talent outside the top 5 usually requires taking risks.
Selective example of course, but Geelong were thoroughly middle of the road when they took the chance on Joel Selwood and his crook knee at pick 7.
Should the risk not pay off, we have plenty of "decent" complimentary types to compensate. Sheed and Waterman look like they'll fit in that bracket too.
I don't necessarily agree with the proposition that Cockatoo would be top 5 without injury, but I definitely believe that we're in a position that both allows and necessitates risk taking.

He hasn't been linked to us by anyone (despite being linked strongly to Richmond at pick 12). People here generally don't discuss anyone until they get linked to us by a journo.
To be fair, he hasn't really been linked to anyone other than Richmond that I recall - a bit like us with Sheed last year

GC's pick shapes our draft - Do they take a tall in Wright/Lever/Durdin or go the small in Duggan, Laverde, Ahern etc.

Some rumours they're still considering taking Wright at their pick - which may leave us the opportunity to choose between Laverde and Duggan. I'd say we'd take Duggan out of the two just for his elite kicking + footy smarts.

Don't know why but I've had this feeling that Ahern will fall to us. Doesn't seem likely though with him targeted In the first 10 picks.
one thing for sure is that we will get a good player. Shaping up to be a super draft. Roll on tomorrow.

Don't know why but I've had this feeling that Ahern will fall to us. Doesn't seem likely though with him targeted In the first 10 picks.
one thing for sure is that we will get a good player. Shaping up to be a super draft. Roll on tomorrow.
Ahern will never be a permanent mid, we can't afford to spend out first pick on a player that has no chance of becoming an A grade, elite mid we can build the team around.

Will Laverde ever be a FT mid? Apparently clubs are going cold on him because they don't know what his best position is.

Duggan probably projects more as a full time mid more so than Laverde.

Will Laverde ever be a FT mid? Apparently clubs are going cold on him because they don't know what his best position is.

Duggan probably projects more as a full time mid more so than Laverde.

If he doesn't shirk the contest, goes hard at it and has vision then he could one day develop into a mid. Now be mindful that guys like Stevie J and LeCras have taken at least 6 years before making that transition to mid, so don't expect it to be something that happens early. Yeo is in that transition period now. Again, anyone we draft won't be a major impact until at least a couple of years from now - there's no magic bullet here.

I reckon Pickett would have made an instant impact on the outside. It's not that unusual for draftees to have big impacts in their first seasons, just not so much on the inside.

Which brings us back to the potential of Cockatoo.
Yeah I think he'll have an impact if he stays healthy over the preseason, but I don't think we'll pull the trigger.