Did we even want it?

Thomas???

Mate I have been his biggest critic on this site but even I applauded/acknowledged he was probably in our best 3 on Saturday night.

Other than a few early brain farts and a bad shot at goal, he was borderline brilliant.

'Wiper says hi.

But even he had Boof in the best 3.

I thought we looked completely knackered at the end of the second, and then during periods of the 3rd. In the final quarter both teams were a bit rooted and we got the momentum.

But I hope what RB is questioning as a lack of desire (definitely worth the question) is actually a lack of fitness. And I hope it arrives soon.

I reckon we have one player who is unNorthMelbourneLike in the softness stakes too, and I hope he doesn't get too many more chances without rectifying it, because his input was nothing special.

I gave him the benefit of the doubt that Hurley gave away the free kick before he made the decision to excuse himself from participating in the contest, but by gee it looked ordinary!

Overall my biggest frustration was that the answer to the question "is it worth compromising the structure to play one of the best ruck combos in the league?" is "they got beaten by f***ing Essendon's ruck combo".

Yep, was there and there is no doubt our mob 'wanted it'.

I reckon there is large degree of overreaction here that hopefully will settle over the coming day/s.

There are some structural problems to sort out. There are some key players that need to come back in.

This thread title is an unfair insult to the boys that went out on the park tonight.
I agree lets all go out and jump off the west gate.

My god talk about jumping like rats, anyone would think we lost by 20 goals, and if they did I hope that North people don't go all Collingwood on their own??

I agree lets all go out and jump off the west gate.

My god talk about jumping like rats, anyone would think we lost by 20 goals, and if they did I hope that North people don't go all Collingwood on their own??

Ha.

Welcome to Bigfooty, enjoy your stay.

Thomas???

Mate I have been his biggest critic on this site but even I applauded/acknowledged he was probably in our best 3 on Saturday night.

Other than a few early brain farts and a bad shot at goal, he was borderline brilliant.

Borderline brilliant? If that's borderline brilliant for Thomas, then I think you have low standards of his capacity for brilliance, which is understandable.

Yeah, I think a few people are misconstruing the question a little.

I'm certainly not one to make a habit out of getting stuck into the team or individual players, but at the risk of making myself a target of the yeasayers, I don't mind saying that I was decidedly f'ing non-plussed with our performance on Saturday night. IMO, we absolutely torched a highly winnable game, and have now set ourselves up for a 1-3 start to the season. I expected to see a committment to the contest and a level of....fitness (cheers, roobear)....that I personally didn't witness. And no amount of sobering up, or minutes ticking by, or belittling from the Bigfooty cognoscenti is going to change that. I thought we were very ordinary.

And I certainly don't subscribe to the theory that "if H had kicked straight, you wouldn't be seeing this thread". Unless the posters on this board are set to sail the good ship Delusion into previously uncharted waters. So many things still to work on. Some of them being issues that have plagued us for too long not to raise the odd eyebrow.

Also, can people stop crapping on as if anyone criticising a young player is all pissed that they're not world-beaters? That shit is so disingenuous. No one (well, no one in their right mind, anyway) is expecting them to carry the side, or rack up huge numbers, or kick bags, etc, etc. Just a bit more of a contribution in a few cases would be nice. We seem to set the bar so low on our class pets. Sometimes reading this board is similar to listening to the Fox footy team commentate an Izzy game.

Way too much hype on a few players, followed by the inevitable round of indignation when they fail to deliver on the hype. It's pretty tedious.

Oh, and of course...apologies for the above hysteria. :face of annoying little blue emoticon guy doing the eye-roll thing

After the weekend I want to argue every point with everyone, but I'm finding it difficult to do so with your post TOD.

Disappointing game all round. The two disappointing VFL games where north players did very little just made things a little more disillusioned. Something might just be amiss.`

Interesting stat on the replay was mentioned that in the last qtr we had gone inside 50 6 times for 5 goals.

The ball spent in the Scum's half was at something like 75%.

Well for mine that wasn't us running over the top of them, it was simply a continuation of the midfield being turgid and the backline doing a fairly handy Hercules impersonation.

Taking that little morsel of information into account, plus factoring in a huge drop off in clearance capability (evident all pre season) and then a flogging again on the weekend = some genuine issues that need to be ironed asap.

I have no spittle foaming at the the mouth, my fingers are not pudgy and they do not smash into the keys as I type. I am calm, measured and genuinely a picture of relaxation. But I do have some concerns with our current form.

I thought Scott's comments that they outplayed us for longer than we outplayed them kinda summarised how I saw the game. Yeah, when they outplayed us, it was bloody frustrating when fitness and structures fell by the wayside. AND, I thought there was some very good signs in those periods when we outplayed them (first quarter and a half, and last half of last quarter).

The thing we never hear much of in these post mortems is about the part played by our opposition. You'd think we were the only team out there. Presumably they did something right?!

After the weekend I want to argue every point with everyone, but I'm finding it difficult to do so with your post TOD.

Disappointing game all round. The two disappointing VFL games where north players did very little just made things a little more disillusioned. Something might just be amiss.`

That was disappointing indeed. And, obviously, will drastically limit our options if the poor form continues. You'd assume it won't. But if we find ourselves in a situation where mediocre-performing players become our best option in a year where we are looking to make finals, then...yeah. Not ideal.

Did we even want it?