Div 3 Southern football league 2016

All fairs i say, heatherton took 3 of ours last year and a few of dandys.
Plus apparently it shouldn't matter as lyndale have signed only reserves players according to some

Yeah look at the quality we brought in, compared to yours. We have 5 really good signings who have been playing senior footy at higher grades (1 notably in division 1 vafa) And couple more to come.

Its our year fellas. Just give us the trophy already.

I personally think there should be no limit on how many a team can sign. If players want to go let them why would you want to keep guys who dont wana be around anyway?

I heard Hallam have lost a group of players to lyndhurst as well.

Shouldn't the leagues priority be to help it's existing clubs remain viable. Setting up a new club 5 minutes up the road from two existing clubs that are struggling seems odd.

Junior numbers in the dandenong/Hallam/Doveton area are declining. That new estate corridor including lyndhurst is the new recruiting zone for those clubs.

Rather than help existing clubs establish pathways with junior clubs in the area, the league has made it more difficult to recruit from the biggest junior club in that area.

I'm convinced that the league has no long term plan in place when it comes to sustaining their member clubs.

The help is there if clubs ask for it and are willing to work for it.

Can you blame the league for accepting a request from a large junior club to put a senior team in the comp? So the league should have said no you should become a feeder for our other clubs in the area instead?
Its not as if the league has gone out and just created a new club, there was an opportunity and they took it.

Was there anything stopping any club from approaching lyndhurst and creating a pathway program?? clubs have to take the initiative you can lead a horse to water you cant make them drink it!

Endeavor hills have put in the hard work growing the club and it is paying off, 2yrs ago they were just making up the numbers now they are pushing finals and have diversified their club with female teams and netball.
Ashwood created a junior program of there own in an ageing demographic with just as many competing clubs in the local area.

Yeah look at the quality we brought in, compared to yours. We have 5 really good signings who have been playing senior footy at higher grades (1 notably in division 1 vafa) And couple more to come.

Its our year fellas. Just give us the trophy already.
If that's the case we'll give you the wooden spoon for div for next year now as well

The help is there if clubs ask for it and are willing to work for it.

Can you blame the league for accepting a request from a large junior club to put a senior team in the comp? So the league should have said no you should become a feeder for our other clubs in the area instead?
Its not as if the league has gone out and just created a new club, there was an opportunity and they took it.

Was there anything stopping any club from approaching lyndhurst and creating a pathway program?? clubs have to take the initiative you can lead a horse to water you cant make them drink it!

Endeavor hills have put in the hard work growing the club and it is paying off, 2yrs ago they were just making up the numbers now they are pushing finals and have diversified their club with female teams and netball.
Ashwood created a junior program of there own in an ageing demographic with just as many competing clubs in the local area.
The SEJ encourage junior clubs to do exactly that, become feeder clubs to all senior clubs in their area. They frown upon clubs linking up with any one club to the detriment of others.

I'm sure all clubs are working hard to build juniors. I know at Doveton the decision was made to work with junior clubs in the area rather than try and steal players in a tough landscape for them already. This decision to bring in lyndhurst is effectively that junior club snubbing it's surrounding senior clubs.

The SFL have an obligation to protect the interests of their existing clubs surely.
I know that they were made aware of concerns about where the players were going to come from for lyndhurst. That concern seems to be playing out.

Whether it is in the SFNL or had they have gone into the VAFA, Lyndhurst would have happened either way. By coming into the SFL it at least keeps players in this league....don't see what all the fuss is about! Hopefully they have a good 5 year plan to grow the club for the future.

I agree with falc10 Rainey is going to be a superstar in this league. Also can anyone from the Falcons confirm that Paul stow is back and is destroying the training track?

Have heard from falc10 that Stowey is back & will be playing a tagging role on Rainey he has become known as Stowey the destroyer.

Why is the 3rd Division so popular for discussion, it is undoubtedly the worst competition in Australia?
with shit footballers swapping to rival clubs on such a regular basis!

Yeah but its like pr0n to you mate, you just keep coming back to read, absorb and do whatever you need to to get your thrills from this thread. Its popular because we get lonely guys like you with nothing else in your life to read and reply......

Was driving past lyndale a ground on Wednesday... Pulled over for a look..!
Not a worry in the world boys... Couldn't beat yarella or Emerson by the looks of it

Haha nah all honesty lyndale be top 3 without a doubt..! Some big signings and I hear rumours of the biggest yet to come..! Well know name set to sign at the puma den.!

Hey guys. Currently relocated to Dandenong area for work from the northern suburbs.

Im looking to play in the division 3 competition probably for dovton. Only 5 min walk from home.

Can anybody shed some light on the 24 month rule? I owe some subs and I believe they are wrong which will stop me from getting cleared. It will essentially be their word against mine as to how much I really owe. I am more than happy to pay an amount that benefits both parities. If such agreement cannot eventuate what are my options? I haven't played since July 14. Any suggestions would be fantastic.
You don't want to play for doveton

Hey guys. Currently relocated to Dandenong area for work from the northern suburbs.

Im looking to play in the division 3 competition probably for dovton. Only 5 min walk from home.

Can anybody shed some light on the 24 month rule? I owe some subs and I believe they are wrong which will stop me from getting cleared. It will essentially be their word against mine as to how much I really owe. I am more than happy to pay an amount that benefits both parities. If such agreement cannot eventuate what are my options? I haven't played since July 14. Any suggestions would be fantastic.

If the club you're trying to leave have records of fees paid and owed you won't have much luck.

What club you coming from??

About time somebody finally agreed with me. Success does breed success, you win a flag or get within 12 points of one, players who left or sat out a season or two will want to return, regardless of being paid or not.

With all due respect to Parkside, they were pretty poor in their last 2-3 seasons in the NFL. But credit to them, they said you know what, we cannot compete in this comp and grade, so lets go somewhere where we can compete and our players and committee staff, president ect will enjoy success and win games.

People may think it is the easy way out leaving and heading over to the VAFA, it isn't, admitting that you are not strong enough to compete in the league anymore and relocating is the harder thing. Making the call to leave I am sure would not have been anywhere near easy for the committee, of course people may not have agreed but I am sure that come August-September when they are playing off in finals and a grand final they know they have made the right choice.

They will go straight to into div 3 after their first year and in my eyes, that is a win. That too in my eyes is immediate success, a promotion and playing in a grand final, two years ago we all would have scoffed at the sound of it, I would of.

I will always stand by my word that Heidelberg West should move to the VAFA, I never will back away from that.

You may lose fans, players maybe money too over it, but you know what? People play football to win and believe it or not, people also play for the jumper, hence why some of their better players have not left after I am sure numerous offers have came at them. You lose some fans and some players, but like Chet_Wynd said success breeds success. You win 4 or 5 in a row by convincing margins, you play off in a finals series all of a sudden you go from having 50 people watching that grows by 150-200 people purely because of success. The year after you have won a flag or played off in one you will suddenly see 10 or so new and old faces coming back into the club.

I used to play for West but I have not played in two or so years purely for the reasons I have mentioned. I was not the best player, nor did I ever 100% put in every night at training, but every time I put on that jumper I gave it everything I had, I left nothing out there. I stopped playing because mentally I was shot, physically I was fine. I was sick of my mates asking me how much did you lose by today or asking me if we will get within 100 points today. It literally made me sick. I hate losing, I really do. I could have gotten a clearance to play elsewhere but truth be told, I do not want to play football anywhere else. I want to win a premiership with them, I want to apart of the clubs proud history, but in the Northern Football League I know my goal will not be achieved, not in my playing days anyway.

I love the footy club with all of my heart, the proud history, the work and the countless hours the committee members do is amazing. They give so much time for almost no return in terms of results. I would do anything I can to help them make the transition over or into a league where they will be competitive and win games, make all the effort and time the committee put in worth it in regards to the on field results.

I obviously have not been honest in my posts, I have said things I deeply and genuinely regret on this forum, my only intentions were to help get us some success, find some love in the game of football again. We love footy, no doubt, we also love to win, I want nothing more than to have both next season.

The wins I played in there were amazing, we celebrating like we won a grand final, we celebrated so long and so well because winning is very rare to come by, we wanted to cherish that. I want to win games every week next season and when we win, we do not celebrate every week like we won the flag, Why? Because making a habit of winning will take out the jubilation of it all and we will save our celebration for when we win a grand final or even a final.

You idiot. 8 years of finishing in the bottom, you then give it some considerable thought.

While I agree about success breeds success your statement about crowds is way off the mark. Have you been to a d4 or d3 game in the ammos ?
I have and you would be lucky to get two men and a dog to a game to watch. one of the main reasons is there is no alcohol served during the game as the VAFA is a dry comp I know this is not the end all to be all but it does help bring in people and money game day .
Most of the seconds don't hang around to watch the seniors play ( home and away teams) especially at away games as most times its a fair way from home ,The under 19's don't play at the same ground as the seniors or reserves as it seen as a different comp by the VAFA .The lack of players hanging around after their game equals less sales in the canteen.
You might be competitive but your club struggles to get in any really dollars game day. I am not knocking the VAFA as it is a good comp I have been involved with a couple of clubs from d4 to d2 and really enjoyed my time there. Just wanted to let you know it's not all ways greener on the other side

Yeah, that is true, to be honest I have only ever been to one D4 game and that was very early this year. Would have been 60 people there. I say that because Heidelberg West have not really had any success over the past 6-8 years, so my thoughts are if we are winning games, people come to watch and see some wins. The alcohol is no doubt a big money maker, it is probably where 50% of the money comes from, to be fair I am only guessing. If you love your club, love watching your club play, the ability to not drink while the game is on should not matter at all.

We may lose money, yes, but we save on player payments which I have no idea about. We have regular functions, who knows how money is made in the VAFA, I guess it is another new experience. If I was a president of any football club all I would want is to cover our yearly and others fees, cover our purchases, their bills, alcohol, food ect and come out even anything else is a real bonus. I understand how clubs like to make profits, dont get me wrong, but for me, being happy, having good people and everyone on the same page, paying their memberships, purchasing drinks after games at functions ect is more than enough.

It is hard to make money in the lower sections of the ammo sure you have no match payments which helps but it's still hard to turn a buck so you break even for the year, in the ammos as you get fine for farting in the wrong direction.we used to pay from 5k up to 10k in fines for things as small one player with the wrong sock or shorts or being out form the room two mins late they were small fines but all add up at the end of the year. What happen to the train of thought of changing your club name from Heidelberg West to Warringal hawks? as i know this was being mooted by some commity members a few years back as Heidelberg West had bad conantations and players would baulk as soon as the club name was mentioned .not fair i know but that's the perception

Yeah, I have no idea of how money is made in most local footy. If you break even, is it really a bad thing? It is better than losing money.

Haha farting in the wrong way, seriously if you have a player wearing the wrong socks or shorts, surely they are missing a screw. Have somebody treat them like kids, inspect their uniforms. Can understand being late, it happens, fair enough to get a fine for that.

I have no idea it was ever happening, I have been away since 2012, I have however attended games and kept an eye on results.

I was thinking this while on a very very boring shift at work.

Change of name, change of competition, committee stay the same, by all reports and what I have seen they have been amazingly good, just the on field results have not been ideal. Hard to rebuild anything in life even more so a football club but with the committee members they have who work so hard and are so dedicated it would not be as hard.

I will put my hand up for anything to help make the transition across.

Dead set you are a flog! are you getting commission for west to go to the ammo's??? They are a proud and happy club and if my memory serves me correct they have bailed out a few clubs over the years Watsonia and nth Heidelberg are two I can think of and have got and have not asked for anything back in return! You don't need to win to be successful!! When you and everyone else in the football world figure this out the better off YOUR life will be!! There's always a team that finishes on the bottom!

Btw how bout selling some tickets at the gate there's a start!

Mate, after reading your essays on Div 3 Northern league I can push you to one club that love guys like you. A little looney but like to help out.

Div 3 Southern football league 2016