Do you think Freo is a Premiership contender ?

Yes or No. Did Hawthorn make the GF last year after losing to Geelong twice, Sydney, West Coast plus a bottom 8 side? If yes, then you argument is shot.

Yes, but Hawthorn also improved in relation to the top teams, it was obvious. My argument is based on the premise that Fremantle haven't improved, so their past results are reflective of how they would go now against the Hawks. I think Fremantles defensive gameplan would fall down against Hawks and Cats because of how they play and that's who they will have to beat in Melbourne in front of 100,000 people. I don't think Freo is capable of that right now.

I would be surprised if we won a flag this year, on the evidence of the season we seem to struggle a bit playing the best teams away from home. Freo is a genuine contender, but I think we are deservedly 4th in line as flag favourites at this stage.

Yes, but Hawthorn also improved in relation to the top teams, it was obvious. My argument is based on the premise that Fremantle haven't improved, so their past results are reflective of how they would go now against the Hawks. I think Fremantles defensive gameplan would fall down against Hawks and Cats because of how they play and that's who they will have to beat in Melbourne in front of 100,000 people. I don't think Freo is capable of that right now.

No they didn't. Hawthorn lost late in the season to Geelong. And if you would like to test your theory further, Sydney (who went on to win the 2012 premiership) lost 3 of their last 4 games of the H&A season - against Collingwood, Hawthorn and Geelong. Guess that's your theory shot down again!!!

So you think Freo hasn't improved? Did you watch the game against Carlton on the weekend?

Freo has played most of the year without Pavlich and Sandilands, and has had McPharlin, Walters, Griffin and others from their best 22 out for extended periods. Like to see how Freo goes with close to its best team on the park? Why don't you re-watch the finals win last year against Geelong to see a near-on perfect blend of attack and defense.

The premiership is a two horse race imo.

Freo are extremely lucky that they have such a soft draw leading into the finals, it's much better preparation to have a soft draw, but I highly doubt they will be able to win the necessary 3 games in a row against Geelong, Hawthorn, Sydney.

Only teams that can do that are Sydney and Hawthorn.

For people who keep bring up our losses against the other top sides ... a lot of you fail to recognise that we were missing McPharlin, Sandilands and Pavlich in those games. Also missing Mundy and Barlow vs Geelong. They were missing a few as well, so dynamics of that matchup could change drastically in September.

The finals venues will also likely be different (e.g. we played Hawthorn in Tassie and Geelong in Geelong, venues where we are usually completely shite).

Sydney were 1-3 against the other top 4 sides before the finals last year.

Odds are that we will not do what Sydney did, but I'm not sure how relevant the regular season results really are.

The premiership is a two horse race imo.

Freo are extremely lucky that they have such a soft draw leading into the finals, it's much better preparation to have a soft draw, but I highly doubt they will be able to win the necessary 3 games in a row against Geelong, Hawthorn, Sydney.

Only teams that can do that are Sydney and Hawthorn.

I know Hawthorn and Sydney are quality sides but having the ability to defeat yourself as well as your rivals is impressive.

No shame on Geelong for not being able to match these two heavyweights with feats like this.

I would be surprised if we won a flag this year, on the evidence of the season we seem to struggle a bit playing the best teams away from home. Freo is a genuine contender, but I think we are deservedly 4th in line as flag favourites at this stage.

This is where it is interesting (kind of) - we haven't played any of the current top 3 at venues where finals are played

The last time we played Sydney at ANZ was in 2006 (the only time we have ever played Sydney at ANZ), the last time we played Geelong at the MCG was last years final and the last time we played the Hawks at the MCG was in 2011 (the only time we have ever played the Hawks at the G)

Yes our record has been poor against the top 3 (hey, we didn't lose the swans) but we haven't played any of them at Subi either, so the opposite could be said of the current top 3 - lucky not have drawn Fremantle at Subi maybe? we haven't lost there since Essendon (and we should have won that) and before that our last loss at Subi was round 13 2012 (against Essendon again) - which was well over a year ago now

And if you really want to get technical and discount the two losses to Essendon due to the current drugs scandal hanging over them, then it was Adelaide in round 10 2012 who last beat us at Subi

If they get past geelong perhaps, the style geelong can play is capable of walloping freos style pretty convincingly. Adelaide have outplayed freo this year both games with a similar style, just Adelaide can't kick for crap and have basically no form senior players that will let an opponents players get 30-40 possessions at will and also lack a forward line and fail to convert even when dominating every other KPI they fail to translate it to the scoreboard even then freo just get over them.
Geelong would have to play much below potential to lose.
They could still beat them obviously, but there are also some other teams that might be hitting form late.
It's really a troll thread like last years sydney thread though for all the massively insecure freo flogs to jump on anything and everything like it had some kind of relevance to the actual outcomes.

I know Hawthorn and Sydney are quality sides but having the ability to defeat yourself as well as your rivals is impressive.

No shame on Geelong for not being able to match these two heavyweights with feats like this.

You know what I meant.

It's likely that whichever team wins the flag will have to beat all three other top 4 teams in a row.
I really don't think Freo is capable of that. I think they could spring an upset against Geelong but that's about it.

If they get past geelong perhaps, the style geelong can play is capable of walloping freos style pretty convincingly. Adelaide have outplayed freo this year both games with a similar style, just Adelaide can't kick for crap and have basically no form senior players that will let an opponents players get 30-40 possessions at will and also lack a forward line and fail to convert even when dominating every other KPI they fail to translate it to the scoreboard even then freo just get over them.
Geelong would have to play much below potential to lose.
They could still beat them obviously, but there are also some other teams that might be hitting form late.
It's really a troll thread like last years sydney thread though for all the massively insecure freo flogs to jump on anything and everything like it had some kind of relevance to the actual outcomes.

So you lost to us TWICE this season because you weren't good enough? I agree :thumbsu:

And the only time in the last couple of seasons that Geelong have "convincingly" beaten us was in round 14, a game that was played at Skilled, against a Freo outfit that had no less than FIVE A-graders missing with injury. They won't have their home ground advantage and hopefully won't be facing such a weakened Freo side if we are to meet in a final. I would more than back us against them in such a case and to be honest would much rather face them than Hawthorn that's for sure.

These threads are cute. Everyone brings up stats to back up their own argument. I would suggest if we finish top 4 we ARE a contender and if we don't we ARE NOT a contender.

Chances are we will finish top 4 but footy is a strange game so lets wait and see. I mean Richmond are in the 8 ffs and aren't they cute trying to puff out their boney chests.:rolleyes:

You know you are a premiership contender when you go into a game
-without your best Defender (McPharlin)
-and without your club's best ever player (Pavlich)
-and without your most lively forward (Ballantyne)
-and with a complete lack of match fitness to your gigantic ruckman (Sandilands)

And your opponents STILL think beating you is a creditable and significant victory.

You know you are a premiership contender when you go into a game
-without your best Defender (McPharlin)
-and without your club's best ever player (Pavlich)
-and without your most lively forward (Ballantyne)
-and with a complete lack of match fitness to your gigantic ruckman (Sandilands)

And your opponents STILL think beating you is a creditable and significant victory.

Only one of those four players really matter in the scheme of things, Pavlich and Sandilands are merely relics of the past and Ballantyne has barely missed a game

Freo are no chance.

A backline with Zac "dud' Dawson, Clancee & Michael Johnson. Loose as a brides knickers.

A midfield with Michael "snail slow" Barlow, Nat "turnover" Fyfe & David "cruise" Mundy. They just turn the ball over.

A forwardline with Hayden "dive / softie" Balla, De Boer & Pavsomethingorother. Where are the goals going to come from ?.

I blame it on the coach, too interested in giving the youngsters a run and not concentrating on settling the team into a consistent lineup. How I dream of the days of Drummy & Cuddles.

Very poorly researched reply.

Opinion doesnt need research. Its opinion.

You dont need Sandilands at his age and with your quality depth options, Pavlich is past it and while possibly a bonus if he plays theres certainly no guaranteed he'll be worth much based on 2013 form, and Ballantyne while a very good player can certainly be covered for a short term (hes only missed three games this season, some of them his own fault).

I'd have them as the 4th favourite and just behind the main contenders in Geelong, Sydney and Hawthorn. IMO, only 1 of those 4 can win the flag this year. Freo are the dark horse and a lot will depend on whether they can get a fit and in form Pav, McPharlin and Sandilands all firing at the same time.

Wouldn't put them among the top tier though just yet as they haven't knocked off any of them yet.