Does Murphy get to 300?

If Marc Murphy isn’t selected after our teams performance effort against GWS our executive has total lost the plot and need to be removed.
Half of the team was disinterested, dejected , running around fumbling like headless chooks.
A disgrace, we’re probably the worst for performing team in the competition, our ladder position is faltering actually.
I hope this review verifies situation, without error &omissions , and gives a working plan on how to rectify.
Our teams performance against GWS which was insipid is exactly why Marc Murphy shouldnt be picked imo .
Can you imagine dropping a few players to make a statement these efforts are not good enough .
And then turning around and including a player whose efforts to chase and tackle harass are an embarrassment ? .
Josh Honey way before Murph imo .

Murph is sooking it up big time and I suspect he’s the one pushing the teague disharmony. Sad that it’s come to this given he’s been a champion of our club.
You have proof of this?? If not, don't throw such flippant comments around about an ex captain.
The Teague disharmony is coming from the appalling game plan that lacks any defensive cohesion, something Bolton was trying to develop when he was coach.

He'll get to 300, no reason why he shouldn't. he put his body on the line plenty until he couldn't any longer. He still has better skills than half the players out there.

I remember after his last big injury one of the coaching staff saying they had to tell him to stop putting himself in situations where he'd get hurt badly. He gets recognition at club level, pretty sure that's all he'd be worried about anyway.

He doesn't deserve the disrespect he gets from some around here.

He'll get to 300, no reason why he shouldn't. he put his body on the line plenty until he couldn't any longer. He still has better skills than half the players out there.

I remember after his last big injury one of the coaching staff saying they had to tell him to stop putting himself in situations where he'd get hurt badly. He gets recognition at club level, pretty sure that's all he'd be worried about anyway.

He doesn't deserve the disrespect he gets from some around here.

Says a lot about the club - 'dont put your head over the ball' 🤣

this season is toast so it is now about preparing for the next. IS murphy part of that forward thinking? We need to get this club going in the correct direction.

On the flipside, the season is toast and the club should make it clear that the CFC rewards loyal service - some of the young players are bound to be looking elsewhere by the end of the year

I don't really care, but it's unfortunate that after all the years he has been at the club and all the crap that has gone down, that the club as a whole is not in a better position on the field than when he came to it. If we were performing well on the field we could carry him to 300 and no one would blink and eye at it.

As our whole team is under the microscope a poor performance from him is magnified and is picked apart when we know what his limitations are, we are in a situation where we can't farewell a champion of the club in style.

I don't think anyone is actually suggesting that Marc Murphy was not a loyal servant to the CFC. He was a ALFCA MVP one season, we all know this. His best season was as good as anyone's best season in the past 20 years.

2011 - AFLCA, B&F and AA Year
Disposals: 699 (around 29 average)
Goals: 22 (~1 per game)
Tackles: 108 (~5 per game)
Rebound 50's: 41 (~2 per game)
Inside 50's: 111 (~5 per game)

Infact, this year is arguably better than Chris Judd's 2010 Brownlow year.

Murphy was a superstar. Unfortunately, he is in the twilight of his career and for mine, he is meek and unable to provide the hard edge he used to be able to. He is a liability some weeks, and a genuine A-Grader others. Like young, developing players in their first 50 games, a player in their last 50 is inconsistent and frustrating to watch. No longer exciting as you know they aren't going to get better from here.

Give Murph games on merit and merit only.
Killed it in the VFL?
Jack Martin unfit?
David Cuningham unavailable?
Ok then, Bring him in, sit him on a HFF.

However, there's no need to shit on Murphy. Honestly, he would've won a Brownlow in a top eight side. For a good decade there, between 2007-2017 he would've made ANY side a lot better. In fact, he might've helped an Adelaide get over the line for a Premiership (in 2017) he could've been the difference in a Sydney side in 2016 too.

In my 27 years, I'd rank Murphy behind only Judd and Fevola. I expect that Walsh will exceed him soon, but he is one of the best players I've seen in the Navy Blue.

There's plenty of players not giving enough effort in the ones at the moment - our highest paid player is probably the biggest culprit in this area. 'Effort' isn't a real reason to drop someone given this is a collective issue, but to me the game has moved past Murphy and he is actually just not much chop as footballer any more.

He's very slow, a poor tackler, doesn't have the same reaction speed which is making him rush his disposal - as a result he's making uncharacteristic turnovers. At his peak he was the first to identify an opportunity to attack through the middle and execute, but he's now trying to do the same thing without a co-ordinated attack set up and is happy to speculate on what happens next.

If he wasn't a former gun it'd be easier to write him off as 'not up to it' but I genuinely don't think he is AFL standard. Sometimes the end just comes quickly, and the signs of decline have been there for quite a while.

There's plenty of players not giving enough effort in the ones at the moment - our highest paid player is probably the biggest culprit in this area. 'Effort' isn't a real reason to drop someone given this is a collective issue, but to me the game has moved past Murphy and he is actually just not much chop as footballer any more.

He's very slow, a poor tackler, doesn't have the same reaction speed which is making him rush his disposal - as a result he's making uncharacteristic turnovers. At his peak he was the first to identify an opportunity to attack through the middle and execute, but he's now trying to do the same thing without a co-ordinated attack set up and is happy to speculate on what happens next.

If he wasn't a former gun it'd be easier to write him off as 'not up to it' but I genuinely don't think he is AFL standard. Sometimes the end just comes quickly, and the signs of decline have been there for quite a while.

Right now Murphy offers more than Williams, Martin, Newnes, Gibbons and would have offered more than Ed was being played so far out of position. So I think he's best 22 at the moment. He's fitter than most of our team.

I hoped that at the start of the year that wouldn't be the case but here we are.

Some would prefer, Williams, Martin, Newnes, Gibbons, Cotteral , Dow , and there’s a few others getting a game this week before Marc Murphy.
People like to complain about something.

Murph has been a much better player throughout his career than many have made out. If his form is good enough he’ll get to 300. But if it isn’t then don’t think the club should be gifting games. Brad Fisher and Sam Rowe both ended careers on 99 games.

Sam Rowe deserved his 100 games. Loyal servant and gave his all for the club. He played his 100th at the Saints which IMO was a poor look for the club.
I realise some top echelons within the club believe they are being tough, it again highlights how clueless they are when it comes to understanding AFL Footy.
Club culture is something that takes years to develop and only half a season to destroy.

Sam Rowe deserved his 100 games. Loyal servant and gave his all for the club. He played his 100th at the Saints which IMO was a poor look for the club.
I realise some top echelons within the club believe they are being tough, it again highlights how clueless they are when it comes to understanding AFL Footy.
Club culture is something that takes years to develop and only half a season to destroy.

What is the Carlton culture?

Right now Murphy offers more than Williams, Martin, Newnes, Gibbons and would have offered more than Ed was being played so far out of position. So I think he's best 22 at the moment. He's fitter than most of our team.

I hoped that at the start of the year that wouldn't be the case but here we are.

A few of these guys aren't playing either. Martin should be building fitness and form in the 2's, Williams isn't a like-for-like replacement but I'd argue his form is better even if he's playing in increments.

I'd prefer playing Newnes and Gibbons over Murphy tbh.

Really the season is cooked and we may as well re-introduce Honey and blood Durdin, but there's so many competing priorities I don't think we're going to get a lot of clear air until the final stages of the year, if not the start of next year.