Autopsy Dogs defeat Dees 110-100 - Redemption

Sorry I missed that mate i wasn't at the game, but i did see May a lot on Bruce.
This then freed up Astro to roam which switched Petty between Astro and Marra.
My take from being there - albeit several beers deep and more involved in the contest than match ups (was a genuinely cracking game of footy) was May spent most of his night on Naughty, Petty mostly on Bruce in the first half before they realised Marra was the danger man and then he took Petty more often with Tomlinson on Bruce. When Bruce was deepest he took May a little bit they tried to get May to Naughty.

Loved that we finally had the confidence in Marra to just clear the forward line out for him and shift Naughty back - we haven’t even done that with Bruce firing in the past. Marra stepped up big time last night, even aside from the brilliant finishing, he was the main man when Naughty was struggling a bit on May.

Who said he’s a flipping flanker lmao, Marra is a key forward every day of the week

My take from being there - albeit several beers deep and more involved in the contest than match ups (was a genuinely cracking game of footy) was May spent most of his night on Naughty, Petty mostly on Bruce in the first half before they realised Marra was the danger man and then he took Petty more often with Tomlinson on Bruce. When Bruce was deepest he took May a little bit they tried to get May to Naughty.

Loved that we finally had the confidence in Marra to just clear the forward line out for him and shift Naughty back - we haven’t even done that with Bruce firing in the past. Marra stepped up big time last night, even aside from the brilliant finishing, he was the main man when Naughty was struggling a bit on May.

Who said he’s a *ing flanker lmao, Marra is a key forward every day of the week
Tomlinson was mainly on Bruce from the start. i am in the forward pocket and was Watching the match ups closes and was surpirised they had Petty on Marra And Tomlinson on Bruce. I think they did this to have him run off Bruce.

Darcy is showing more signs in his first year at VFL level than Jamarra did in his first year, in my opinion. Considering the injury layoff in particular.

Granted he's not kicking bags of goals but he's consistently taking big marks and has been played in all 3 areas of the ground. I think his breakout game will happen sooner than Jamarra's did.
You also need to take into account Marra missed all of 2020 and the end of 2021 due to COVID. He is starting to get some continuity and these are the results.

People commenting on Bruce’s game and wanting to replace obviously don’t realise what he’s bringing to the team and just look at stats.

JUH has kicked 8 goals since Bruce returned that’s not a coincidence.

When Naughton went for a rest may didn’t head to JUH he headed to Bruce, because Bruce demands a kpd.

Change him for Schache and watch JUH cop the second best defender and get manhandled again and again.

Also no coincidence that our structure up there and leading patterns have improved the last two weeks. Bruce brings experience and leadership down there.

Is he ready to go? Nope, but are we a better side with him on the field? Absolutely

People commenting on Bruce’s game and wanting to replace obviously don’t realise what he’s bringing to the team and just look at stats.

When Naughton went for a rest may didn’t head to JUH he headed to Bruce, because Bruce demands a kpd.

Change him for Schache and watch JUH cop the second best defender and get manhandled again and again.

Also no coincidence that our structure up there and leading patterns have improved the last two weeks. Bruce brings experience and leadership down there.

Is he ready to go? Nope, but are we a better side with him on the field? Absolutely

People often just look at the stats sheet to determine whether a player had a good game or not. It has never and will never tell the full story to your point. Luckily the MC isn’t fixated with stats. If they were Dale Morris would have only played about 20 games.

Why isn’t a coincidence? We had Sweet instead of Naughton last week and JUH kicked 3 goals. Jamarra has been getting better each week for the month prior and was going to get some rewards at some stage.

If Bruce gets anywhere near back to his best, it’s by far the best structure we have and it’ll be very dangerous. I wouldn’t mind them keeping him in and seeing if he can get back near his top form by the end of the season. I reckon he is at about 20% at the moment and I think it’s disingenuous to say he’s been the difference.

More of factor potentially has been that the last two weeks we’ve played against Saints without a key defender in Dougal Howard and this week against Melbourne without Lever.

May didn’t go to Jamarra because he’s our highest forward and they want May on the deepest. If Darcy or Bruce were there it wouldn’t have changed who played on Jamarra IMO.

I think the most intercept marks last night would have been taken on Bruce, he just wasn’t competitive in the contest and they ran off him, that’s not from looking at the stats it’s from sitting at the game and watching

Overall we did a lot better at bringing the ball to ground then we have in the past which made a big difference to our forward line, and usually that’s Bruce’s biggest strength but I think he was actually a bit detrimental last night in that regard.

It’s nothing against him I bloody love Brucey and he’ll be back, I just don’t think it’s that far fetched to think that Schache or Darcy considering their form might be better options right now. Happy to give him one more week but I suspect he won’t get there this year, I’d play him a fair bit of ruck time in the 2s to try and fast track his match fitness

Who said he’s a *ing flanker lmao, Marra is a key forward every day of the week

It was a good game by Marra but let's not get carried away. He's got a long way to go before he's at Bailey Fritsch's level.

Yeah I think having guys like Garcia and West in for the Lipinski types assist our defensive efforts in the middle but it’s definitely a system thing. Something with our zones and stoppage setups are fundamentally flawed at the moment.

With the larger soft cap, I think we need a bloke like Leon Cameron to come in as a priority. He won’t hold back on his opinion of our setups. Can be pretty abrasive and I think that’s something we need. He would make an excellent senior assistant or coaching director.

I don’t mind the Jones idea but Logue is an option we should pursue as well. Load up and go all out.
Bevo, Bevo...we can't think 🤣

It was a good game by Marra but let's not get carried away. He's got a long way to go before he's at Bailey Fritsch's level.
That’s not the point though - he projects as a key forward, yes he’s stronger on the lead than sitting under a high ball, as is the case with a lot of key forwards. But he’s a key forward, clearing out the forward line and letting him take May at the end of the last qtr showed that.

Still has a huge way to go to be a consistent forward and he’s at his best as the 3rd tall right now, will start getting the 2nd best defender most weeks fairly soon at this rate though, although they still need to be able to go with him athletically so may get a “medium” defender a lot of the time depending on March ups

Here's a question, does Melbourne kill other sides with their centre clearance game and goals , or is it limited to us ?
Yeah but other clubs aren’t lining up with Bont, Macrae, Libba, Dunks, Baz and Treloar. It’s supposed to be our biggest strength, we shouldn’t get dominated in there by anyone not even Melb IMO

Here's a question, does Melbourne kill other sides with their centre clearance game and goals , or is it limited to us ?

Pretty sure they gave Geelong an absolute bath in the prelim in that area.

I think what is the most concerning is the ones they can just walk out the front of the bounce. Puts defenses under enormous pressure. You can mitigate the damage if you force them to go backwides or wide, even if you lose.

Bruce kicked 48 goals in 20 games last year but the Cult of Sweet are trying to claim that Sweet has him covered as a forward threat. Genius.
Scrag can you pin point exactly where anyone has claimed that Sweet is a better forward than Bruce. The relentless hammering of anyone who dares to hold a different opinion is getting tiresome.
You could afford to let it go you have made your position abundantly clear, just flogging a dead horse now

Pretty sure they gave Geelong an absolute bath in the prelim in that area.

I think what is the most concerning is the ones they can just walk out the front of the bounce. Puts defenses under enormous pressure. You can mitigate the damage if you force them to go backwides or wide, even if you lose.
Our set up is the issue we are far too offensive and it opens us up. Every team we play has a sweeper set up to defend the stoppage yet we never do we then let our opponents get goal side and they get quick easy goals

One extremely important thing to come out of this is the confidence.

Even in the last minute Melbourne "knew" they would win. The Melbourne players and coaches were visibly shocked when JUH's goal sailed through as reality hit them. Sure every team is disappointed when they lose, but Melbourne's players reaction after was more than that. It stung them.

For us, we now have the belief we can take it to them.
The score line hurt them, the most goals kicked against them for three years. Our no name defence, (that hasn’t cost us millions of dollars, so we can comfortably recontract our stars) held them our from kicking a winning score.

We might have left our run too late this year, but we will be back with a vengeance in 2023.

Autopsy Dogs defeat Dees 110-100 - Redemption