bogan4life

Suspended
Apr 11, 2005
Whitten Oval
Footscray
After another postive start all small forward line has shown our weakness. With Darcy going down early we struggled to have a target in the forward line.

So what do we do next week against a Lions team with Brown back in form.

i belive the side should line up as

B McMAHON HARRIS HARGRAVE

HB R MURPHY GRANT MORRIS

C GILBEE WEST GIO

HF CONNEY RAWLINGS SMITH

F WALSH JOHNSON STREET

R MINSON HAHN CROSS

INTER: BOYD POWER GRIFFEN EAGLETON (IF HE DOESNT PULL UP ROBBINS)

IN: STREET WALSH (EAGLETON ?)
OUT: DARCY B MURPHY (ROBBINGS)

MATCH UPS

BRADSHAW (SHOULD BE BACK) VS HARRIS
BROWN VS GRANT
C SCOTT VS HARGRAVE
AKER VS MORRIS

WEST VS VOSS
CONNEY VS L POWER

JOHNSON VS MICHEAL
RAWLINGS VS LEPPITCH

MINSON VS KEATING

I fell that the dogs have to bring in Street and Walsh to had a bit of hight in to the forward line

also if Bradshaw doesnt pull up harris could move to Brown therfor alowing Chrissy to go up forward or even move Harris to ful forward

Also Morgan has to be in line for a game

what is everyones thougts on the line up?

griffen out - needs to go back to werribee. hes not getting a full game for the dogs and has little impact when he is on the ground. playing four quarters will do him more good then coming on and off the bench. give someone else a chance to do something.

• Banned
i fell that griffen will be better of in the futre if he stays in the ones such as what happend to adam conney last year

as for rohan smith i fell that this will be his last year but he has been a superstar for the dogs and isnt playing to bad at the moment

• Banned
ben.carbonaro said:
How come Cam Wight didn't come in calculations with any of you guys ?

I personally believe he deserves an AFL game.

Cam wight has to perform for a couple of games in a row. He is behind Morgan to take a key defence post

I have heard that Simon Atkins isnt happy with 1 of our tall players in the werribre line up and that Axe wants to put him in the werribee 2s
I belive that the player is either Tom Willams or Wayde Skipper
Eade had a meating with Axe 2 weeks ago about this player because rocket belives he should be in the werribee 1s. Look out to see if either of these players are in the werribee 2s soon.

I wish I knew who would it was, could provide you with some more information for all of you to read.

Tom Williams played reserves last week, but this was so that he got a full game as the seniors had a bye.

amnesiac said:
griffen out - needs to go back to werribee. hes not getting a full game for the dogs and has little impact when he is on the ground. playing four quarters will do him more good then coming on and off the bench. give someone else a chance to do something.
As we are so crap, i am usually a big fan of putting in our younger players who have obvious ability. But today i reckon there were 2 occassions where Griffin shirked the issue when he had to run back with the flight of the ball - the 2nd time this happened he was dragged. I don't reckon a player would get a game with the Lions the next week after this occurred - maybe a run with Werribee might be the go. I know he's only a kid but you rarely see a Lions rookie that's not willing to put the body on the line.

ben.carbonaro said:
I wish I knew who would it was, could provide you with some more information for all of you to read.

Tom Williams played reserves last week, but this was so that he got a full game as the seniors had a bye.

i belive that this player was a late inclusion in the game against the northan bullants only got a game because of injury

ive rang when of the guys i no from inside the club and he belives that the player may well be Skipper

yet again Eade does love Willams and would want him in the 1s

The Doctor said:
On notice: Smith, Power, Hahn, R.Murphy

how can R Murphy and Hahn be on notice bob has been giving us some good run acroos half back and is a great kick. Mitch has been playing some good football and has add some toughness to a weak mid field

As for Bubba his a champion of the club and cream raises to the top

IN: Street + Morgan..Harris FWD

Street as a back-up ruckman and can play full fwd...
Morgan in so that he can go back and maybe harris can go fwd and fill the void..
Id give Bowden another run in the bees to prove himslef again along with bandy

I still think our team structure is wrong. Last week we were 2 key talls short with the ommission of Bowden.

Would bring in an experienced player for Darcy (Bandy or Street) to relieve Minson when he needs a rest and two developing talls (Walsh, Morgan or Bowden).

Darcy and any two of either Power, Boyd or B. Murphy to be replaced.

By the way, the talk of Bob Murphy being dropped I just don't understand. He takes the best forward and beats them all of the time. Some of you perhaps just don't see it. It is not his fault that he doesn't get the free reign to display his skills very often.

P.S. I still think Mitch Hahn should be playing in his correct position of Back Pocket or HBF with the occassional run on the ball.

Thought that I might give you my side if anyone is interested:

B McMAHON MORGAN HARGRAVE

HB SMITH HARRIS HAHN

C GILBEE (TAGGER) R MURPHY MORRIS (TAGGER)

HF COONEY GRANT EAGLETON (TAGGER)

F WALSH RAWLINGS JOHNSON

R MINSON CROSS WEST

INTER: BOYD BANDY GRIFFEN GIA

Surely we have enough midfielders with three on the interchange, three on the forward line and possibly three on the backline to rotate through?

Number 2 1961 said:
Thought that I might give you my side if anyone is interested:

B McMAHON MORGAN HARGRAVE

HB SMITH HARRIS HAHN

C GILBEE (TAGGER) R MURPHY MORRIS (TAGGER)

HF COONEY GRANT EAGLETON (TAGGER)

F WALSH RAWLINGS JOHNSON

R MINSON CROSS WEST

INTER: BOYD BANDY GRIFFEN GIA

Surely we have enough midfielders with three on the interchange, three on the forward line and possibly three on the backline to rotate through?

Gilbee being a tagger want happen cause he will be getting tagged

harris a CHB is different but i belive morgan can only get a game if bradshaw playes

remember brisbane have a small foward line

im just going to do our spine because thats the most important at the moment, and we have a million guys that can fill in the other positions..

FB: Harris
CHB: Morgan
CHF: Rawlings
FF: Grant/Robbins
Ruck: Minson

Then, when Minson needs a rest this is how it should go:

FB: Harris
CHB: Grant
CHF: Morgan:
FF: Minson/Robbins
Ruck: Rawlings (around the ground)

OUT: Darcy, B Murphy (had an absolute shocker against Geelong)
IN: Street, Bowden

Street is the best tap ruckman we have and we need first use of the ball against Brisbane, Bowden gives our forward line better balance and had a good hit out in the 2s so is in line for a recall.

Would like to see one of Cam Faulkner or Farren Ray get back in but not sure who would make way. I think Rohan Smith is skating on thin ice personally but would give him another couple to turn things around.

bogan4life said:
harris a CHB is different but i belive morgan can only get a game if bradshaw playes

remember brisbane have a small foward line

Bradshaw is the real ?? is this game. He's been poor all season, but now that he can play at a true FF with Brown back in the side, this just might be the week he puts it all together. (Assuming he plays of course..heard hamstring, so maybe not. :confused: )

If he does play, I'd assume we'd start Grant on Brown and Harris on Bradshaw...The problems might start if Harris has to go to Brown.

As for the forward line...This is going to sound stupid after all we've been calling for all year, but this is one game where the smaller forward line is a benefit. By now everyone knows that Brisbane defenders zone off their men...the long bomb to a target is inevitably thumped away and off they go. Hawthorn showed other teams how it was done. Possession game. Hold, chip, find targets and make the Lions play more accountable in the backline.
Our best chance of winning might just b by going against everything we are working towards this year. :mad:

Fact is, Brisbane's form line is terrible! Direct correlation to one Jonathon Brown? Maybe...Either way, I think we can be fairly confident that Grant/Harris can do a slightly better job than Ty Zantack! :D

FB McMahon Morgan Hargrave

HB Murphy Harris Morris

C Gilbee Cross Giansiracusa

HF Hahn Grant Walsh

F Smith Rawlings Johnson

R Minson West Cooney

INTER: Street Power Eagleton (or B.Murphy if injured) Boyd

In: Street, Morgan, Walsh
Out: B.Murphy, Darcy, Griffen

Three talls in for two midfielders may be a bit much, but we only have one tall on the bench. This way we aren't going to be caught short at least, with Eagleton and Hahn running throught the midfield. This side has all the elements of attacking abandonment by throwing Grant AND Rawlings forward (you can't win games unless you outscore the opposition) and enough defence. Hagrave will take the dangerous Chris Scott - throw him a challenge. Harris should take Brown, Morgan on Bradshaw. We're also blooding Walsh, which we may as well do - give him four or five games in the forward line and see what he can do playing as a third tall inside 50. I would have loved to play Griffen on Nigel Lappin - Griff could have learnt heaps, but he needs a few games in the VFL. We'll have plenty of rounds at the end of the season to blood the kids, let's first have a look at the guys who have been on our list or in the competition for a few years - Skipper, Walsh, Morgan, Street, etc.

I do not feel there is anything to be gained from playing Faulkner, Griffen, or Ray at this stage, seeing none of them will get enough gametime.

bogan4life said:
how can R Murphy and Hahn be on notice bob has been giving us some good run acroos half back and is a great kick. Mitch has been playing some good football and has add some toughness to a weak mid field

As for Bubba his a champion of the club and cream raises to the top

I think the issue with Rob Murphy is that when Darcy went off he just didn't step up. What you want from you core leadeship group (Murphy, Hahn and Gia) is that they are prepared to go the extra length and really step up.....against the Cats he just didn't. I thought he was disappointing especially on the back of the game he payed against Adelaide.

Number 2 1961 said:
I still think our team structure is wrong. Last week we were 2 key talls short with the ommission of Bowden.

Would bring in an experienced player for Darcy (Bandy or Street) to relieve Minson when he needs a rest and two developing talls (Walsh, Morgan or Bowden).

Darcy and any two of either Power, Boyd or B. Murphy to be replaced.

By the way, the talk of Bob Murphy being dropped I just don't understand. He takes the best forward and beats them all of the time. Some of you perhaps just don't see it. It is not his fault that he doesn't get the free reign to display his skills very often.

P.S. I still think Mitch Hahn should be playing in his correct position of Back Pocket or HBF with the occassional run on the ball.

No not Bowden he is the softest player in the competition and refuses to chase and put pressure on the opposition. It is a waste because he would be a talent if he would get the hard ball and put his body on the line, unfortunately it does not seem to be in his make up and he has had numerous chances. I cannot see him changing and Lions would be much to tough for him.

I agree with No.2 1961 and Rookie, we need to bring in 3 talls. I think I'd go Morgan, Walsh and Bandy (just a bit more versatile than Street, but just about on his last chance, AGAIN).

Out Darce, B Murphy and Griff to have a run at the Bees (it'll only be temporary).

Leave Power, remember he did well on Black last year. He did the same thing to Embley and Dal Santo.

DOGS vs LIONS IN AND OUTS AND MATCH UPS