DOGS vs LIONS IN AND OUTS AND MATCH UPS

just got some news from one of my mates in the medical staff

Eagle is fit to play and after being knocked out has passed all the test (u no put the right block in the right hole :D) and will only be dropped if Eade fells form is good enough ( 95% playing)

Ben was saying Harris did something to his knee this is not the case and had a bit of soreness in his right Calf

In the Sun it says Shaggy needs a test on his ankle but there is no real problem with him.

As for the team all the news is around Skipper for Darcy but if Strett carnt get a game this week its the end of his time at the Dogs

Hopefully Eade will give Grif a full game in the 1s or put him back to werribee im sure that Axe would love him there to have run in the guts.

I think Morris should get first crack at Brayshaw and Harris first crack at Brown.

Morgan should come in and I think start at CHF with Rawlings in the square. Grant should play as the loose man in defence. We are going to have to double team Brown.

Then I think you want to go for a lock down of the Brisbane midfield.

Crossy should take Black, Power gets Lappin, West on Voss and Boyd gets Akermanis. The only guy of the three who should be out there winning it for himself should be West. This is where you need guys like Cooney, Gia, Murphy and Gilbee coming to the fore. Essendon's biggest problem with Brown on Sat night was that their midfield was beaten which meant that the supply to Brown was plentiful. We need to negate two of the fab five at least in order to win. We then have to hope that we can kick enough goals.

FrediKanoute said:
We then have to hope that we can kick enough goals.

Kicking goals won't be a problem. (Shouldn't be a problem anyway)

Brisbane have allowed 28 shots to St. Kilda without Gehrig (and half without Riewoldt);
20 shots @ Port (but in a howling gale)
22 to the Swans, who have to be the least offensive team for years!
115 to Hawthorn (25 shots)
157 to West Coast (42 shots!!)
and 28 shots to a toothless Bombers last week.

Admittedly we haven't scored well up there in the past, but I'd suggest their backline is a fair way down on what is has been previously.

Beaten by 68 points up there last year...but, Lynch, Brown, Bradshaw and Pike were all on fire in their forward line, and Harris didn't play.

Agree the battle of the midfield is huge, but we should be fairly confident given we've had a lot more inside 50's (47 more), only allowed 6 more inside 50's, and have a better clearance %. (Admittedly Lappin up and running now helps them along.)

I seriously like our chances...Will almost certainly be closer than most 'expect'.

stmookeyj said:
ABOUT TIME someone decided that R.Murphy was under the pump.

come off it! murph has been playing well. and in any case, murph is a contest winner - types we need more of in the team, not less.

OUT: B. Murphy, Darce
IN: Morgan, Street

I remember a practice match against brisbane, and rhode saying 'brisbane just likes to thump the ball forward and run onto it in numbers, so we have to get a hand in there and knock it the other way'

that to me says we tagteam with street and minson, our two most likely to get a hand to the ball at the stoppages. A ruckman of some sort has to come in to support minson, and bandy is not impressing anybody, so its almost street by default.

FrediKanoute said:
Then I think you want to go for a lock down of the Brisbane midfield.

Crossy should take Black, Power gets Lappin, West on Voss and Boyd gets Akermanis. The only guy of the three who should be out there winning it for himself should be West. This is where you need guys like Cooney, Gia, Murphy and Gilbee coming to the fore. Essendon's biggest problem with Brown on Sat night was that their midfield was beaten which meant that the supply to Brown was plentiful. We need to negate two of the fab five at least in order to win. We then have to hope that we can kick enough goals.

Boyd on akermanis? ouch. isnt that what we have Dale 'fastest guy at the club' morris for?

I like cross on Black, it seems a natural fit. They might tag Cooney with one of their second tier players - copeland?

we could run hahn on voss, I think they would negate each other.

lappin is the one we dont want to run riot, he was in scintilating form last week. probably a job for westy to play on him as a defensive minded opponent, but not an all out tagger which would rob us of a major ball getter.

I remember bradshaw leading us a mery dance last time. was harris on him then, or still suspended? It would be nice if morgan and harris could hold down the key defensive posts and allow us to play rawlings and grant forward.

I really think that Morris will get the job on Brayshaw. He's not the strongest guy going around, but he has some toe. I liken him to a Kingsley in that as the second forward getting a lesser defender he can run riot, but against as a key forward on a defeneder with toe he is going to struggle to get on the end of leads.

Was at the Brissy game last year and Rohda got the key defensive match-up's dead wrong.

stefoid said:
I remember a practice match against brisbane, and rhode saying 'brisbane just likes to thump the ball forward and run onto it in numbers, so we have to get a hand in there and knock it the other way'

not wanting to be unkind but statements like that are 90% of the reason we were as bad as we were last year........there is more to Brisbane's game than just the "swarm" forward. The key reason for Brisbane's success in the 00's is their hardness at the ball and their willingness to to the 1 percenters like tackle, shepherd and run hard to create a contest........our guys don't do this oftern enough yet!

FrediKanoute said:
not wanting to be unkind but statements like that are 90% of the reason we were as bad as we were last year........there is more to Brisbane's game than just the "swarm" forward. The key reason for Brisbane's success in the 00's is their hardness at the ball and their willingness to to the 1 percenters like tackle, shepherd and run hard to create a contest........our guys don't do this oftern enough yet!

nevertheless, it is a tactic that they use. have you ever seen keating direct a single tap?

bogan4life said:
B McMAHON HARRIS HARGRAVE

HB R MURPHY GRANT MORRIS

C GILBEE WEST GIO

HF CONNEY RAWLINGS SMITH

F WALSH JOHNSON STREET

R MINSON HAHN CROSS

INTER: BOYD POWER GRIFFEN EAGLETON (IF HE DOESNT PULL UP ROBBINS)

IN: STREET WALSH (EAGLETON ?)
OUT: DARCY B MURPHY (ROBBINGS)

also morgan has to be in line for a game

is bradshaw playing?
if so does morgan get a game?
what would your line up be for this week?

im intrested to see what all the people at big footy think is our best line up for this week

At 5pm thursday i want to put a side together before it being named to see the difference from our views to Eades

ive heard Walsh is likely to debut this week but wouldnt he have been put out in front of the media by now?

any 1 got any news on a possible debut

Dogs 13 said:
I agree with No.2 1961 and Rookie, we need to bring in 3 talls. I think I'd go Morgan, Walsh and Bandy (just a bit more versatile than Street, but just about on his last chance, AGAIN).

Out Darce, B Murphy and Griff to have a run at the Bees (it'll only be temporary).

Leave Power, remember he did well on Black last year. He did the same thing to Embley and Dal Santo.

Halleluya (I know that spelling is bad)

I am not a lone voice. There are others who can see. We were way way too small last week and that must be rectified. Much as I would like to see Griffen stay in I believe three talls must come in. And I would play Darcy WITH his operated on knee in a cast and under anesthetic before I would play Bowden

If there is one thing the Lions are vulnerable to it's a tall forward line. While Leppitsch and Michael are a powerful defence they are not super tall. The Lions also have no decent 3rd tall defender at the moment. Remember what Toby (it took me 5 years to get a game so Tim Walsh is a spring chicken by comparison) Thurstans did to the Lions in the Granny?

So bringing in the extra talls makes sense. I reckon this is the game for Peter Street to come in and do something. Plonk him in the goal square. Play Grant as a leading forward from deep up to the 50m. Bring in Bandy to run Lepptisch around outside 50 and thus out of the way.

A Grant, Bandy and Street forward line could work in this instance. Crumbers be ready!

The Doctor said:
If there is one thing the Lions are vulnerable to it's a tall forward line. While Leppitsch and Michael are a powerful defence they are not super tall. The Lions also have no decent 3rd tall defender at the moment. Remember what Toby (it took me 5 years to get a game so Tim Walsh is a spring chicken by comparison) Thurstans did to the Lions in the Granny?

So bringing in the extra talls makes sense. I reckon this is the game for Peter Street to come in and do something. Plonk him in the goal square. Play Grant as a leading forward from deep up to the 50m. Bring in Bandy to run Lepptisch around outside 50 and thus out of the way.

A Grant, Bandy and Street forward line could work in this instance. Crumbers be ready!

I agree. Ironically some of Darcy's main success as a forward was often against the Lions. I'm not sure that I would play Street but it is very tempting.
I would try to have a forward line that played Grant, Bandy and Rawlings.

I still think the game plan of 'keepings off' Brisbane finds difficult
Sydney did it too them last year and hawks this year.
From the games ive seen the Brisi players dont seem to be as quick, but they are still tough at the ball, if the dogs put there head over the ball they will get the free kicks and plenty of the ball, iuf they dont then the lions will bully a win.
The lions are predictable, Kick long to Brown and Lynch (now bradshaw) can be overcome, Grant on brown , harris on bradshaw. I;m not questioning it as a bad game plan especially with Brown, in fact with Darc up forward we also showed how it could work.
The game will be won in the midfield and backlines and we need the midfield to kick lots of goals, my guess is Gilbee to kick 5+ and the rest coming from johno/brad murphy.
I would also play street and let them use one of there tall backmen to pick him up. play him out of the square and when in the ruck, dropping into the forward line after tap ins, (at this time play a loose man in defence to pick up the opposite ruckman if the ball goes forward) let brisi move one of there players onto him not the other way cos he is shocking at picking people up.

Blind freddy can see the way the game will play eade just needs to get the matchups right from the start, add a bit of rain woohoo.
I'll pick the dogs in my footy tip and head down to the tab for some financial reward. dogs by 5 goals.

stmookeyj said:
ABOUT TIME someone decided that R.Murphy was under the pump.
:eek: :eek: Big please explain there...

The Doctor said:

Please, no, not Bandy! I reckon bringing in Morgan would be more effective. I definently like the idea of playing Street in the goalsquare.

Match ups that I hope we have

Gilbee vs Ackermanis
Cross vs Lappin
Cooney vs Voss
Giansiracusa vs Black
Power vs Power
Harris vs Brown
Grant vs Bradshaw
Johnson vs Leppitsch
Hahn vs Scott twin or twins
Eagleton vs Pike battle of the senior baldy's

acker said:
Match ups that I hope we have

Gilbee vs Ackermanis
Cross vs Lappin
Cooney vs Voss
Giansiracusa vs Black
Power vs Power
Harris vs Brown
Grant vs Bradshaw
Johnson vs Leppitsch
Hahn vs Scott twin or twins
Eagleton vs Pike battle of the senior baldy's
eagleton is only 26

doggies said:
eagleton is only 26

But he looks much older, Mil Hannah will be salivitating an intergenerational changing of the baldy between pikey and the eagle, who's next for the snippers "Cooney"

DOGS vs LIONS IN AND OUTS AND MATCH UPS