Dustin Martin Contract Thread [GWS Will Not Offer Dusty a Contract]

How do you know his suit is not 2 years old? His commitment to the club was demonstrated clearly when he wanted to explore his options.

Off memory two years ago Jeep and Bingle were not sponsoring the club

OK, it should all come out in the nest few days, either he just wanted more money and under ill advice from his manager whom chose to use tactics that we're wrong, if that is the case (which is what i believe) then all can be forgiven relatively easy, he will still need to light a fire under his ass next year for mine but in the whole, he was just being a silly kid.

On the other hand if the only reason he is only back at richmond is because no one else would take him then ok, i am with you, the little jerk is going to have to do a damn lot to get my forgiveness back, i just don't think this is the case, people have come out and said that he confided in RFC high end officials saying he wants to stay, all clubs have said no to taking dusty, why? because he is a bad egg? not likely, an elite footballer is still an elite footballer and most would take the risk, i think they realised he didn't have any intention of going to another club.

Of course this is my opinion based on the opinions of other including the great Mathew Richardson and some reputable sources on here, like i said believe what you want.

We will find out who is right in the comming weeks

I doubt that we will ever be told the full story about why the other clubs didn't want him. After this has been resolved, they will come up with some media spin and that is all we will be fed.

I think we are all disappointed with the way Dustin and his Manager went about this whole process.

If you can excuse him based on accepting bad advice, that is up to you. All indications were that he was prepared to leave the club and was only chasing the $$$.

To me this shows a lack of loyalty and appreciation for what the club has done for him. He has a lot of work to do to win back the respect that he had previously.

No I didn't miss the point. So you don't need to sigh.

Two guys with early issues doesn't necessarily make for two Champions at the end of their careers......again, I say.....It's too early to draw any conclusions in the hope of finding a warm and fuzzy story.

Let's go looking for other links...
Jack Dyer played for the Richmond Football Club....so did Richard Tambling!
Jack Dyer wore the No: 17....so did Paul Hudson when he played for us!
See how reaching for your own links can distort a story?

I think your selective 'six degrees of separation' is very forced...and grasping at rainbows.
Wait till Dusty's career is over to find parallels with a Richmond great whose career is over, documented and celebrated.

Get my point?

You did.

It wasn't about Dusty going on to become a champion at all. That story just pointed out that the most loved and iconic player in the history of our club pulled the exact same shit as Dusty has, yet we all love him and consider him a legend, while hurling abuse at Dusty.

Just because Dusty has shopped himself around, doesn't mean he doesn't care about the club and it shouldn't mean we hate him for it.

Mumford and Prismall were squeezed out for cash.

Mumford definitely walked for the cash (I don't think he was 'squeezed out'). He was not loyal to Geelong and if reports are correct he might be leaving Sydney too. I think that Prismall might have gone for greater opportunity and I don't blame any player for doing that.

You did.

It wasn't about Dusty going on to become a champion at all. That story just pointed out that the most loved and iconic player in the history of our club pulled the exact same shit as Dusty has, yet we all love him and consider him a legend, while hurling abuse at Dusty.

Just because Dusty has shopped himself around, doesn't mean he doesn't care about the club and it shouldn't mean we hate him for it.

He missed the point that everyone else saw, and saw a different point, that's all :D

Dusty needs to start busting opponents collarbones before he can even start to compare with Jack .:eek:

d8II2.gif

You were saying......

Fascinating jacket. I have never seen one like it?

Is it something that is commercially available, or did Dusty have it custom made?

They ussually have a heap of them down at Target, they might be out of number 4's though. Luckily they always have an abundance of Luke McGuane 16's available.

I doubt that we will ever be told the full story about why the other clubs didn't want him. After this has been resolved, they will come up with some media spin and that is all we will be fed.

I think we are all disappointed with the way Dustin and his Manager went about this whole process.

If you can excuse him based on accepting bad advice, that is up to you. All indications were that he was prepared to leave the club and was only chasing the $$$.

To me this shows a lack of loyalty and appreciation for what the club has done for him. He has a lot of work to do to win back the respect that he had previously.
like i said if you are correct i'll be onboard, but i don't think he ever wanted to eave the club, of course he wanted more money~! that is the core of this whole problem, money!

It's not rocket science mate.
1) He's on $500,000. He's not worth the $600,000 or $650,000 his manager wanted.
2) There's risks of him being undisciplined off field
3) He rarely plays 4 strong quarters.
4) His heart isn't in leaving RFC

What else do you need? There's no one hiding under the bed. Sometimes the obvious actually IS the answer

It's not 2 years old, he had it done Friday arvo. Obviously you may choose to not believe me, but a Richmond supporter group I'm a part of on facebook (about a hundred or so of us, friends and mutual friends through school, work etc, regularly go to games together), anyway.

Yesterday arvo after the rumours were circulating he had re-signed, one of the boys (who's mate is a suit tailor), said he had just been working with Dusty and Azza on some customs suits which would have their Guernsey and number sewn into the lining), he said he had seen the pics and reassured us he wasn't going anywhere. Lo and behold, the pictures ended up popping up on channel 7's pre-game show tonight.

Probably explains why Dusty and Azza were spotted at Centerfold early this morning, obviously coincides with them being together yesterday arvo, probably ended up hanging out last night and kicked on to the early morning.

Dusty isnt going anywhere.

like i said if you are correct i'll be onboard, but i don't think he ever wanted to eave the club, of course he wanted more money~! that is the core of this whole problem, money!

There is more to this than just the money. He owed the club for all the work they have done to help him through his behavioural issues. It is an issue of loyalty as well as money. If Richmond had not negotiated in good faith and made a fair offer, I would view this differently.

Do you really believe that he would have stayed if GWS or Melbourne offered him the money he wanted?

There is more to this than just the money. He owed the club for all the work they have done to help him through his behavioural issues. It is an issue of loyalty as well as money. If Richmond had not negotiated in good faith and made a fair offer, I would view this differently.

Do you really believe that he would have stayed if GWS or Melbourne offered him the money he wanted?

You continue to ignore the posts which prove you wrong, but that's your problem.