Dustin Martin Contract Thread [GWS Will Not Offer Dusty a Contract]

Well said again CC. Look, I was a little dissappointed when it was announced he was being shopped around and he is entitled to do that, but I always believed he was likely to stay due to close contact with some of the playing Group and staff. If he decided to leave, we would get a good trade but I always wanted him to stay.

A player of his ability and class is very hard to find, so for us to lose him would have been a huge step back IMO. Would have really missed his toughness and those long 50m bombs!!

I agree about the image problem he has. All to do with his look and love of being out and about I guess. As long as he is steering clear of illegal stuff, I have no issues at all about what he does in his own time.
Exactly mate, he's one hard player to replace. We need to remember he's human, not a robot, not everyone can be the Cotchin types, dusty loves to be out and loves to drink when he can. Big deal? he gets harrassed by the media who have no idea about the person he is and I tell you all now he's a ripper bloke when you get to know him and good fun.
Thanks for your insight on the forum.

The back of my mind is starting to think whether Dustin wanted out of Melbourne to be away from the gutter journalism that breaths in Melbourne.

What's your view on that?
That's okay mate, I say what I can. I honestly can't say, we spoke briefly about football but we steered around it pretty quickly as we hadn't spoke in a while and who wants to talk about work, right? haha. Look It could be a bit of that, I know the media does bother him, can you remember another young player being pasted across the media like dusty has? I can't. Libba did a lot worse then Dustin ever did and that was over in a week and now he's a goodie 2 shoes again? please.

It was his choice to get neck tatoos and is his choice if he keeps Carr as a manager , which is the way I will judge him .
IMO if he keeps Carr he has supported and been in full agreeance to this whole saga .
Yep, it was, and I say good on him for doing what he wants to do and not letting the media dictate his life.

It was his choice to get neck tatoos and is his choice if he keeps Carr as a manager , which is the way I will judge him .
IMO if he keeps Carr he has supported and been in full agreeance to this whole saga .

Or he is contracted and it will cost him too much to break that contract. Lets be honest once the playing contract is signed there isnt that much more Carr has to do. Might be able to get him some media stuff which is probably his stronger suit.

Yep, it was, and I say good on him for doing what he wants to do and not letting the media dictate his life.
Not saying he can't nor that he shouldn't do what he wants .
However he obviously has no idea about thinking about the ramifications of things before doing them .
He is kidding himself if he thinks getting neck tatoos whilst playing AFL isn't going to draw media attention .

He does accept he has issues in the fact he doesn't have a whole lot of structure in his life and does struggle from time to time with the whole 'growing up' but what blokes our age don't? imagine having people pick at every little thing you do, what he doesn't accept is the fact he's the league bad boy like he get's labeled, i've been out with dusty before, its nothing like you'd imagine. This 'bad boy' tag comes from the fact he has neck tattoos, the way he plays and the look of his hard arse father. There's plenty of blokes you don't even hear the media talk about because they don't have the look or media attention dusty gets and love a party a whole heap more than he does.

This explains a lot. Everything I've seen and heard shows him to be a pretty quiet and normal guy. So what he hasn't grown up yet and likes a drink? That's about 90% of the male population at the age 22. The rest is just the bad boy persona for which the media is mostly responsible for. Like CotchinsClass points to, the fact that he has neck tatts, is a bully on the field and has a hardass father is enough to paint a much bigger persona that isn't actually true.

Not saying he can't nor that he shouldn't do what he wants .
However he obviously has no idea about thinking about the ramifications of things before doing them .
He is kidding himself if he thinks getting neck tatoos whilst playing AFL isn't going to draw media attention .
how many kids 18-24 do think about aftermath? Very few. He wasn't going to wait till his football career is over to do what he wants to do just because there's a pack of flogs called the 'media' out to make his life as terrible as possible.

This explains a lot. Everything I've seen and heard shows him to be a pretty quiet and normal guy. So what he hasn't grown up yet and likes a drink? That's about 90% of the male population at the age 22. The rest is just the bad boy persona for which the media is mostly responsible for. Like CotchinsClass points to, the fact that he has neck tatts, is a bully on the field and has a hardass father is enough to paint a much bigger persona that isn't actually true.
He's a shy person and won't come out of his shell easily. It's all a persona, he tells me 'you're lucky you're not playing AFL, you wouldn't last 10 minutes' and my reply is always 'I'm the lucky one aren't I?' I'm far from a bad boy. Far from the picture the media paint dustin to be.

Yeah, most of our players said he was the most reserved person when he first got to the club and took a while to come out of his shell. If he was a cocky bad boy like the media wants everyone to believe this would be nowhere near the case. I've always thought this perception of him was far from the truth and it's nice for someone to confirm it.

how many kids 18-24 do think about aftermath? Very few. He wasn't going to wait till his football career is over to do what he wants to do just because there's a pack of flogs called the 'media' out to make his life as terrible as possible.
So did he think getting neck tatts wasn't going to draw media attention or he couldn't give a shit ?

I don't know him personally but have met him briefly a few times and he comes across as a very shy kid. Far from what he is perceived to be in the media. I'm a 29 yr old female and I can guarantee I got up to a lot more at 22 than what Dustin has.
I get what people are saying about how he is an adult and needs to take responsibility for this whole contract fiasco, but really how mature can you say you were at 22? People like Trent Cotchin are a rarity and we can't all be angels 100% of the time.

I can tell you now, when I was 18-24 and I stuffed up I used to think about the consequences. ...lol **back hand** ;)

If Dusty signs, I'll be really happy to have him playing for us .Really happy

But Let's not mince words, Dusty is not a 12 year old that can't think for himself...he is a 22 year old grown man earning a shit load of cash playing a game we'd all love to be playing at the highest level...with that comes responsibility to the club and the people that have given him more than anyone else

You don't bite the hand that feeds you- surely after all of this he would have learnt that you dont whack those people that have given you their time, their home their respect

Sure Rolf Cars was the instigator of the GWS debacle...just wished that Dusty had have said...' Hang about Rolf No' and then for Dusty to Don't argue him until the the possum falls off his head

Can't and won't comment. Out of respect for him.

Look at this guy, lapping up the attention he gets for an alleged relationship with a player and supposed insider info. :rolleyes:

If you have a connection and actually have been told something, either keep quiet altogether, or spill it. There's no point posting saying you won't say anything, or you can't tell, or you're unsure, its just really annoying and gets people more frustrated with the situation.

Can't and won't comment. Out of respect for him.

It's like he's asking 'does Dustin Martin want a job?'

The only source I'll take seriously are those quotes by Brendan Gale. It sounds like Richmond's CEO never made a judgment on Dustin and will accept him back with open arms.

I just hope Dusty does the same, not with pen to paper, but with his heart on his sleeve. Does he love Richmond? Can he deal with the media spotlight on him? It's not us vs. them and Dustin needs to recognise that. There have been many positive media stories put out for him, unfortunately some simple brain fades from Dustin himself attract the wrong media to the wrong places.

For example,

supporting 'Daniel Connnors' at a suburban football game? Dustin may be thinking, what's wrong with that, he's a mate and I'll tell the world on Twitter. Problem is, Daniel Connors is a self-confessed f***wit and posting that on Twitter BRINGS UNWANTED attention on Dustin. Something he hates, but inflicts on himself. If you try to touch fire, will it burn? Sure as hell it will.

Martin will make mistakes, he's gotta show resilience and keep positive.

Daniel Connors is still Richmonds biggest problem. Can you believe it?
We piss this complete ******* idiot off from the club and yet this parasite is still a huge problem for us.
One of the biggest ****wit losers walking on the planet and he has to hang around Martin.

We seriously need that ****head to go and piss off interstate to play or something.
Just a shit bloke.

Look at this guy, lapping up the attention he gets for an alleged relationship with a player and supposed insider info. :rolleyes:

If you have a connection and actually have been told something, either keep quiet altogether, or spill it. There's no point posting saying you won't say anything, or you can't tell, or you're unsure, its just really annoying and gets people more frustrated with the situation.
I thought people would appreciate what insight I could give them, but you're the last straw. I won't be making any further comments cause I get people like this who just flat out anger me.

Ignore him if you don't like it, he has a right to say what he wants, seriously use the ignore feature!

I thought people would appreciate what insight I could give them, but you're the last straw. I won't be making any further comments cause I get people like this who just flat out anger me.
No point getting angry brother.
If i let people on bigfooty anger me I'd be the angriest man in the world.
Laugh at them.
Anybody is free to say whatever they wish.
It's an opinion forum.
You'll be right just say whatever you please and ignore those that give you the shits.