Dustin Martin Contract Thread [GWS Will Not Offer Dusty a Contract]

Everybody is asking how could he hold the club to ransom after all they have done for him.
I'm pretty sure with his mindset/personality he see's everything the club has done for him as just a major pain in the ass.
He possibly would not see it as beneficial but more of RFC standing in the way of what he wants to do and unreasonably keeping tabs on him like the gestapo.
So i hope we get good compensation for him as he is a gun on the field and the potential is huge but also the off field downside potential could be catastrophic also especially after hearing he turned up at St Kilda's mad Monday.

Anyway i say well done to the RFC, this stance will bode well moving forward and i think they are clearly are fed up.
In RFC we trust.

A guy walking another club through the PSD instead of via a trade is not what the AFL were trying to do with recent changes. It's just a loophole that can be easily used.

This isn't a recent change. Uncontracted players have been able to nominate for the PSD for yonks. That's how Nick Stevens got to Carlton 10 years ago without any compensation back to Port whatsoever. This mechanism was seen as vital by the AFL to prevent legal action against them relating to restriction of trade laws.

The recent changes relate to free agency which Martin is ineligible for.

At $500k you are making more money than Tony Abbott... You are a Dog. $500k is roughly 6 average wage earners... you are 22yrs FFS.....how much more do you want???

The President put u up at his house and nurtured you through all the crap and invested his own personal time in you... If you are after money, then go to GWS and play in front of 500 people, most of them don't even know the rules.. The Tigers are on the up and i can only wait to boo you until my voice dies you ungrateful, greedy campaigner...

Piece of sh!t......

Dustin Martin does a lot more for society than Tony Abbott and he should be paid accordingly ;)

Does anyone know if it is frowned upon (by the AFL) if a team refuses to trade with another club because they can get a player via PSD. I do recall we offered a draft pick for Houli but because it was lower than any pick Essendon were going to use they refused it. Obviously we could have just said PSD but are clubs obliged to make an offer because PSD is really only there to prevent restriction of trade and not to be used as a tool to acquire an unfair advantage?

Some of the stuff on there is way out of line.

No it's not!!

AFL is more than just a game... 95,000 die hard supporters turned up to watch the team they love, the team the have supported all their life. People buy memberships, they pay gates each week, they but jumpers, t-shirts, hats..... People invest their hard earned dollars and have supported the club they love... This kid, does not value any of this... he has a career at Richmond and he should take a pay cut like all the rest have....

Anyone that puts themselves first, club second and supporters third, deserves every rude comment in the world. Because he is 22 FFS.... He is not 34 and ready to retire... he will be on $800k by the time he is 28yrs old.... what else does he want?

The last big name that walked out for $$$(Ottens) also generated a lot of a heated discussion and anger. Quite understandable, considering how much time and effort the club has put into his many off field issues and as such it feels like a betrayal and a slap in the face to the club and its loyal supporters who have stood by him.

If we get the same compensation for Martin that we did for Ottens, I reckon most people would be happy enough (picks 9 and 16)

I doubt we will though. If we did, I doubt we'd stuff them up quite as badly as we did back then!

No it's not!!

AFL is more than just a game... 95,000 die hard supporters turned up to watch the team they love, the team the have supported all their life. People buy memberships, they pay gates each week, they but jumpers, t-shirts, hats..... People invest their hard earned dollars and have supported the club they love... This kid, does not value any of this... he has a career at Richmond and he should take a pay cut like all the rest have....

Anyone that puts themselves first, club second and supporters third, deserves every rude comment in the world. Because he is 22 FFS.... He is not 34 and ready to retire... he will be on $800k by the time he is 28yrs old.... what else does he want?
Oh it is! sorry but people should be way more classy than they have been, we are all upset but to throw some of the stuff that was on twittter and bits and peice on here is disgusting and it made me feel ashamed that they were Richmond supporters.

the hatred on here is nothing short of disgusting.... the club has chosen to give him a shove and offer him less than he is worth. And good on the club I say. But also good on Dusty if he feels he is better suited at another club. Providing we get adequately compensated who cares???? we end up with some good picks and we don't have to look after a troubled kid anymore.

Why the hatred??? FFS.

If we get the same compensation for Martin that we did for Ottens, I reckon most people would be happy enough (picks 12 and 16)

I doubt we will though. If we did, I doubt we'd stuff them up quite as badly as we did back then!

Geez that was a bad draft though. From Danny Meyer (12) there was Angus Monfries (14), Tom Murphy (21), Nathan Van Berlo (24) and Matt Rosa (29). The odds of us hitting just a half decent player were slim to none.

the hatred on here is nothing short of disgusting.... the club has chosen to give him a shove and offer him less than he is worth. And good on the club I say. But also good on Dusty if he feels he is better suited at another club. Providing we get adequately compensated who cares???? we end up with some good picks and we don't have to look after a troubled kid anymore.

Why the hatred??? FFS.

530k is not paying him less than hes worth. Hes been on 450k from his 2nd year. That's why there is a lot of anger. If he was on 250 and asking for 600k I could understand or if we were offering 500k and another suitor came in at 750k- then youd have to say good luck mate, that offers too good to refuse, but to leave for 70-100k less seems really petty and churlish

I am another person on here who doesn't understand all the hatred...

1. he hasn't officially left yet, just fielding offers, so as it stands at the moment he is still a Richmond player
2. I think we can all agree that he isn't pulling the strings here, it is that flog of a manager he has

I can honestly see him staying, and lets not kid ourselves, if he does, we will all love him again. If he decided to leave then lets deal, and get the best possible deal we can. If Dan Richardson and co do a good job it could set us up for 10 years and add to some of our really good young players. The club has done the right thing to promote the "team first" mentality that has served Geelong and Sydney so well.

The only time I will go off the rails is if he leaves and we get stuff all in return

Oh it is! sorry but people should be way more classy than they have been, we are all upset but to throw some of the stuff that was on twittter and bits and peice on here is disgusting and it made me feel ashamed that they were Richmond supporters.

let me make this VERY clear...

If you had a friend that needed help and you gave it to him, and supported him and nurtured him.... If you invested your own personal time, effort and money to help someone, and then they do this? Do you say " no hard feelings mate, all the best and i hope you get more money elsewhere and another club can benefit from the hard work i did to keep you on track, good luck."

Think about it.... he has sh!t on the club, the supporters and he has no integrity... heck him!

We are Richmond supporter because we love our team and bleed yellow n black

Why the hatred??? FFS.

I'd say the fans on here have been pretty well behaved all things considered (Instagram was as bad as it could get though).

Think we all have a pretty good reason to feel aggrieved by all this....all players have the right to look at their options but Dusty is a special case. We've gone above and beyond with Dusty, and he's kicking sand in our face.

Hate to lose the guy, is a gun and could be a champion, but we can't be bent over by this bloke.

Dan Richardson needs to drag Martin , his old man and Carr into one room and read them the riot act. It's gone n too bloody long and just needs to be sorted Ffs, it's getting serious now

Would you want to read Shane the Muss the riot act?

If you had a friend that needed help and you gave it to him, and supported him and nurtured him.... If you invested your own personal time, effort and money to help someone, and then they do this? Do you say " no hard feelings mate, all the best and i hope you get more money elsewhere and another club can benefit from the hard work i did to keep you on track, good luck."

Think about it.... he has sh!t on the club, the supporters and he has no integrity... heck him!

But if you do things to "help" people then why do you want something in return??? If I helped a mate out I would help because I want to help them... not because I wanted something in return. What we have done is "help" Dustin.... and good on us for doing that. But that doesn't give us the right to put guilt on Dustin if he wants to go.
We have loaded the gun by offering him less than what he is worth. We took the risk by over paying him in his last contract. Its nots Dusty fault.

HTF can anyone say that he has shat on the club ??????? at the end of the day has he been worth the money he has been on... IMO yes.... does he now deserve more... I say yes. Based purely on talent.

Do I want the club to move him on.... absolutely.... but not for 1 second do I blame Dusty. I want us to move him on because he is a walking time bomb and I want us to cash in his currency and get a kid with a good head.

I think the AFL needs to look at a cap on how much a player going into the PSD can be paid. Say a $400k cap? That would completely eliminate the risk of clubs losing their big name players for nothing

not a bad idea actually to late for that to help us though haha

Yer the club was looking after a mate, pure altruism. It had nothing to do with the fact that Dustin Martin is an asset? Dustin Martin got supported and looked after so well because he was/is an investment. If the club was so selfless with their intentions, do you think they would accept revenue from pokies or would they go down and invest the same money and time with problem gamblers they have with Dustin?

Don't think that this goes one way. The club looks/looked after Dustin because it suited them to do so.

I'd say the fans on here have been pretty well behaved all things considered (Instagram was as bad as it could get though).

Think we all have a pretty good reason to feel aggrieved by all this....all players have the right to look at their options but Dusty is a special case. We've gone above and beyond with Dusty, and he's kicking sand in our face.

Hate to lose the guy, is a gun and could be a champion, but we can't be bent over by this bloke.

woopy dooo.... the club has played its card.... Dusty will play his. If he moves on I wont be crying.... the right deal could set us up for the nest 5-10 years.