Eagles Captain In Gun Brouha

Gardiner and Cousins talked to people involved in Melbourne's underwear...and maybe even Perth's underwear, and Perth is just a country town for you lot in here. Melbourne/Perth's underwear is much more dangerous than the underwear you find in L.A. , New York, Chicago...supposedly.

EAGLES, WE'RE THE EAGLES, WE'RE THE EAGLES, WE'RE FLYING HIGH.

WEST COAST = 2005 PREMIERS.

WAY TO GO WOOSHA! WAY TO GO.

G'DAY FROM WA

FootyJunkie said:
Gardiner and Cousins talked to people involved in Melbourne's underwear...and maybe even Perth's underwear, and Perth is just a country town for you lot in here. Melbourne/Perth's underwear is much more dangerous than the underwear you find in L.A. , New York, Chicago...supposedly.

EAGLES, WE'RE THE EAGLES, WE'RE THE EAGLES, WE'RE FLYING HIGH.

WEST COAST = 2005 PREMIERS.

WAY TO GO WOOSHA! WAY TO GO.

G'DAY FROM WA

sniff sniff

wow...........that cleared the nose

Niall said:
He has been in jail several times and has been charged with heaps of stuff over the years.
Yes, I know. Quite possibly he is as guilty as sin, I'm just saying that police and government may have their own agenda, so don't believe everything you read or hear in the media.

triplegee said:
5. Guilty by association is not something that carries a penalty.
I don't think any of the sane/non trolling pple on this board think that they have done anything legally wrong in relation to the shooting/stabbing. Obviously they weren't in the vicinity. But it is the whole guilt by association and bringing down the name and reputation of the club that is the issue. If it was a Lawrence Angwin type player or just a rookie, then it wouldn't be such an issue. Just play him in the 2s and dump him at the end of the year. But this is the captain and vice captian.
triplegee said:
If these guys are guilty of anything then it's naievity - and they are not alone on that count.
And they were guilty of naivety about 3 years ago when the phone taps/photos came out. To still be in contact with them now is just stupidity or recklessness. Like Nisbett said, he hopes the penny has now dropped. If any public figure, whether sportsman, businessman, media personality or politician, was outed as a friend to this circle of people, it would be made public and, whilst probably not as "frontpage" as with these two, it would be heavily reported and their reputations damaged.
Being associated with these people is one thing, going to similar functions is another, phoning them in the middle of the night on a weekend is something else again.

Contra Mundum said:
They don't have to answer questions if called to answer a subpoena the right against self incriimnation still applies - all that does is compel you to turn up or get arrested.

If subpoenas could compel you to give evidence every crim defendant would be suppoened!

and witnesses who don't answer get found in contempt. ;)

gytre said:
You live in Adelaide, so I'd doubt you know the history. The WA police have been after John Kizon for years. He's rumoured to be some kind of underworld figure, and the cops have been repeatedly trying to lay charges against him.

you said I live in Adelaide, not me. however it's irrelevant. this tough guy bravado, I'm not giving the pigs nothing, see - is just pathetic.

gytre said:
Yes, I know. Quite possibly he is as guilty as sin, I'm just saying that police and government may have their own agenda, so don't believe everything you read or hear in the media.

according to UNIT its the docker fans trying to dirty the WCE club name. Football is that important they well go to any length to stop the eagles run. that still makes me laugh. :D

larrikin said:
Good one ****************

Cousins and Gardiner are criminal masterminds now and heads of the mob are they?

No one said that. So what happens if one day of them gets into a bit debt, a game of cards or something, and one of their "friend's" gets an idea how he can gets his money back...

To counter what alot of wc supporters imply, I feel cuz and gardy should be on notice from the club. Any more association with kizon and mercanti, and they're out.

On the flip side, these blokes represent a fraction of the club. Many of you freo supporters get all barred up over this because you feel it may be the start of the end. It wont be. The WCE are a powerful respected club and will extinguish this problem by either letting cuz and gardy go at the end of season ( or whenever ) or by pressuring them into ending their association with kizon et al.

It has certainly caused the club some pain, and as a member, I feel somewhat embarrassed from this off-field incident. However, the important stuff is happening on -field, and we're going ok.

I know especially docker supporters love this stuff because they know they cant match us at 4 quarters of footy, so they like to play the benevolent, caring family club who contribute to society on much higher levels.

I've always thought footy clubs existed to play footy.

Jabber said:
Even a Freo supporter should be able to put 2 and 2 together and come up with a beatup.

Well seeing that the National Crime Authority have been watching these guys since 2000, and the players were warned - on a number of occasions.

Now does that sound like a beat-up to you?

gytre said:
Mate, you are so naive its not funny. Please don't be supportive of Kizon just because he associates with West Coast players.

The insider trading charges were not thrown out of court, as far as I'm aware these charges are still proceeding. Will be ironic if this is what he is finally pinned with, bit like Al Capone and tax evasion!

here's one perspective on Cousins and gardiner that may explain their reluctance to give verbal or signed statements to the cops.

They may be closer associates of the Club than most people think. They may be associates or even members, in which case they will not give statements.

To do so would mean the end of their footballing careers, due to injury

gytre said:

Kizon has served three jail sentences.

In 1982 he was convicted of heroin trafficking.

In 1985 he was convicted of assault.

In 1990 Kizon was convicted of opening false bank accounts.

source: http://www.melbournecrime.bizhosting.com/jkizon.htm

Mr Kizon was acquitted of drug charges in 1997. The prosecution case was severely weakened with the death of a key witness, Andrew Petrelis. Mr Petrelis, a one time associate of Mr Kizon, had been given a new identity under the witness protection program but was found dead in Queensland from a heroin overdose just one month before he was due to give evidence.

It's since been revealed Mr Petrelis' new identity had been accessed by two police officers. One of those officers was recorded relaying the information to suspected members of the Kizon syndicate. But John Kizon rejects suggestions he was somehow involved in the death of Andrew Petrelis, saying he wanted him to testify at his trial

source: http://www.abc.net.au/am/stories/s160574.htm

wedesweiler said:

It's since been revealed Mr Petrelis' new identity had been accessed by two police officers. One of those officers was recorded relaying the information to suspected members of the Kizon syndicate.
source: http://www.abc.net.au/am/stories/s160574.htm

Hmmm why doesn't that surprise me. Could corruption be alive and well in the West? Isolation doesn't help then? Something tells me this story won't go away and will only get bigger. Silly boys associating with a person like that and they can't use ignorance of his "business" dealings as an excuse.

FuManchu said:
They may be closer associates of the Club than most people think. They may be associates or even members, in which case they will not give statements.
Fu they could be patched members for all I care. But they must be mindful of the gang they are currently running with..Woosha is a tough boss to cross :D

But also the question needs to be asked.. why were the phone calls made to these 2 in the first place??? Is Kizons gang shrinking that much they need to ring 2 footballers???

PerthCrow said:
Fu they could be patched members for all I care. But they must be mindful of the gang they are currently running with..Woosha is a tough boss to cross :D

But also the question needs to be asked.. why were the phone calls made to these 2 in the first place??? Is Kizons gang shrinking that much they need to ring 2 footballers???

I know who is a lot more full on than woosha ever would be

Gabbie said:
Hmmm why doesn't that surprise me. Could corruption be alive and well in the West? Isolation doesn't help then? Something tells me this story won't go away and will only get bigger. Silly boys associating with a person like that and they can't use ignorance of his "business" dealings as an excuse.

Nah, this was a story a few years ago and went away, only to be brought back when they got pulled into the nightclub investigation. I'd expect it to last a little bit more, come back into the limelight if/when Cousins or Gardiner are called back to give evidence, and then die out again until if/when another story breaks. If they keep their nose clean (which i'd expect Cousins to, Gardiner on the other hand is a dumb f**k who'll get caught in a nightclub with Kizon in a few weeks) then it won't get much more mentions in the media.

Eagles Captain In Gun Brouha