Eddie offers up Queens Birthday to North

I reckon if Eddie was a really really great bloke instead of just a really great bloke.He would say righto Any D just to show my very own personal football club known as Collingwood is also very fair and equal.We(I) declare we(I) will play 2 games in Perth,2 games in Adelaide,2 in Sydney and 2 in Qld next year to take my great team to it's fans interstate who love me(them ) so much.
Come on Eddie don't just be really great but really really great.
But if you wanted to be really really really great you could play North in Tassie to help them and play a home game in Darwin against Port.
How does that sound Eddies disciples??:confused:

Couldn't give a **** if we did, we would be guaranteed a lot of wins if this was to happen...:thumbsu:

So...

After all the whinging from Brayshaw and Scott about... well everything Collingwood.

Do you classify everything Eddie goes on about in the media (e.g about Brisbane's salary cap) as whinging?

Because it would make Eddie the biggest whinger in the AFL.

Am I the only one who thought Eddie was being extremely sarcastic?

It's not as if it's massive gesture from Eddie. Since Melbourne get the gate they're the ones who would suffer. It's not Eddies to offer anyway.

I claimed no such thing, but don't let that get in the way of a good deflection.

Attendance figures are irrelevant. Essendon and Collingwood don't have a birthright on historical Australian celebrations. Reducing this to attendance figures is just downright insulting.

Who cares? This is a sporting competition, not the Dow Jones Index.

Every one else in the AFL except you guys pretty much.

If the AFL did what you suggest the game would be much worse off.

Less money means less wages for players which means alot the best jnr talent in the country would pursue higher paying sports.

You must like watching dominoes!

In 10 years our comp would be worse than now for sure. Less coaches less investment less overall capability

The AFL make money to grow our game, invest in getting the best talent, invest in their product to deliver it to a wider audience to make more money and invest further.

Your way would have the NRL and A league fly past us in so many aspects simply because we wouldnt have the money to keep up.

Like it or not the AFL and its clubs as a collective will put our best foot forward and that is not NMFC.

Alot of teams would probably want more equality, but not to the point where it risks current and long term income.

If your chairman keeps complaining and whinging all the time no matter how founded it is, the AFL might just get sick of your Whiny crap and say bye bye.

If you dont like the fact its a business take your club to the VFA.

The EFL is pretty good too. Maybe North could play there.

If NMFC fell off the face off the earth it would be the minorist of chinks on the AFL armour. Not even a bleep on the radar.

It would be sad, but would be just like fitzroy or worse university!!

All but forgotten in due time, sadly.

I honestly and genuinely don't like this but I can see it happening.

This is Brayshaws chance to stop whingeing and man up.

We are offering to withdraw our annual request to play this game in favour of North. Yes the AFL have to agree to it as they control the fixture (it is not a draw) but we are doing all we can to see North get their chance.

Over to you Brayshaw and Eugene, talk to Melbourne and the AFL and make it happen or STFU.

Do you classify everything Eddie goes on about in the media (e.g about Brisbane's salary cap) as whinging?

Because it would make Eddie the biggest whinger in the AFL.

Didn't hear North saying it was really fair that Brisbane had more room in their cap than everyone else??? Don't claim he was whinging then when North were to gutless to stand up for what's fair with the salary cap back then!

North haven't been able to spend their salary cap for years because the AFL handouts don't cover it. Other clubs xcan pay it because they earn it by good business decisions. Should we continually wait for North to finally work out the debit and credit columns of the ledger... or should someone step in?

Or should someone offer a blockbuster built by their own club to them. Ohhh wait a minuite...

There's no reason it wouldn't be a better game than some of the rubbish Essendon and Collingwood have thrown up over the years.

Better game... or better business decision... better spectacle... better crowds.... better atmosphere... better advertisment for the AFL and honour our ANZACS.

If you honestly think the AFL want to honour that day with 80,000 empty seats at the MCG you need your head read... (or as Brad Scott wants... take an Essendon or Collingwood gate and spread the money amoungst all the clubs! {p.s: didn't hear him offer any compensation to the club who all of a sudden from his suggestion just lost a home gate!)

How's about grow your membership like everyone else does???

Could you be any more absurd if you tried?

We only want what's fair and we're happy to share. We're not Collingwood.

So you mean like Eddie offering you Queens Birthday? Buit now you want ANZAC day? You want equal amount of Home Friday night games... don't you have that?

What's fair in your opinion?

No whinging please... just short specific points please.

Cause from where I stand, you don't even know what "IS FAIR".

Do you want our stripes too?

Or do other clubs have stuff you want (that's fair) too? Cause I aint heard much about that???

This is Brayshaws chance to stop whingeing and man up.

We are offering to withdraw our annual request to play this game in favour of North. Yes the AFL have to agree to it as they control the fixture (it is not a draw) but we are doing all we can to see North get their chance.

Over to you Brayshaw and Eugene, talk to Melbourne and the AFL and make it happen or STFU.

STFU? I thought it was Eddie whose whinging started all thist? Am I wrong?

McChins is annoyed a being put in his place. And the fact that he is so defensive over this is a stark indication that he knows Collingwood get a clear advantage over the rest of the league via the fixture.

honestly, I can tell you from experience that flags mean a lot more when you earn them without any gifted advantages from the governing body.

the pies would gain a lot of satisfaction in the long term by manning up and telling the league they want no more preferential treatment (of course, it may mean a few decades of lean years, but it will cleanse the soul).

As has been pointed out, its not his game to offer.

North can request it, Melbourne could request it, and the AFL still decides who plays it.

But when the President of one club publically says that North can have it... then isn't Norths problem with the AFL? (Wanting to make good business decisions?)

Maybe we should let North make all the AFL business decisions... and then the AFL can ask for handouts (ala North with the AFL) from the NRL!

Didn't hear North saying it was really fair that Brisbane had more room in their cap than everyone else??? Don't claim he was whinging then when North were to gutless to stand up for what's fair with the salary cap back then!

ha ha ha - you walked into that one!! North were gutless for not standing up for what was fair???

What the **** do you think they are doing now!!! The fixture is unfair you ****, and when North point that out, it is called whinging!! We are not asking for an advantage, we are asking for an even draw, where no club gets a special advantage!

The brisbane salary cap conessions had more validity and made just as much business sense for the AFL as giving Collingwood a rigged draw every year, yet you think Eddie was noble for harping on about it?

If it made commercial sense for the AFL, why is giving Brisane more money to spend an issue for Collingwood?? Isn't it all about the revenue???

Man, seriously, use your brain.

But when the President of one club publically says that North can have it... then isn't Norths problem with the AFL? (Wanting to make good business decisions?)

Maybe we should let North make all the AFL business decisions... and then the AFL can ask for handouts (ala North with the AFL) from the NRL!

You need to have a lie down mate.

A fair draw won't result in the death of the Collingwood footy club.

Relax.

yes of course it all comes down to the AFL in the end, who are favouring some teams over others.

its the attitude of Eddie, and a lot of pies supporters (esp in this thread) that they deserve to be favoured that is pissing people off

i honestly can't wait for the pies to fall just so i can stop reading some of the shit the supporters spew on here, the collingwood football club is not god!

If North are more concerned with an even draw than money, why sell Melbourne games interstate?

Stupidest post of 2011.

Well done.

If North are more concerned with an even draw than money, why sell Melbourne games interstate?

Fair dinkum, what a stupid question.

Do you think we like having to sell games just to compete under the current structure?

Fair dinkum, what a stupid question.

Do you think we like having to sell games just to compete under the current structure?
Christ, you guys honestly need to calm down. Never seen a bigger tantrum thrown by a few people over literally nothing.

Why did you have to sell them? I honestly don't know, like I follow North's news? I don't care about them enough.

If you'd rather kick and scream rather than actually tell me, then fair enough. Cry away.

Christ, you guys honestly need to calm down. Never seen a bigger tantrum thrown by a few people over literally nothing.

Why did you have to sell them? I honestly don't know, like I follow North's news? I don't care about them enough.

If you'd rather kick and scream rather than actually tell me, then fair enough. Cry away.

Apologies. I expected you to have a semblence of an understanding of the situation.

We sell games interstate because the financial advantages to certain clubs under the current system grant them an unfair advantage.

North haven't been able to spend their salary cap for years because the AFL handouts don't cover it. Other clubs can pay it because they earn it by good business decisions. Should we continually wait for North to finally work out the debit and credit columns of the ledger... or should someone step in?

Or should someone offer a blockbuster built by their own club to them. Ohhh wait a minuite...

To the Zebra...

I like he way you only took 1 of the 3 paragraphs from my responce to you to make your point! I have quoted the other 2 (obviously correct), still awaiting your responce.

While we're all waiting... I'd like to quote a quite humorous headline from Before the game last night in the segment of "Headlines you may have missed" (quite relevant to the thread, I feel...)

"Eddie McGuire distracts James Brayshaw by throwing $2 on the ground"

Line delivered by a die hard Carlton supporter.

Eddie offers up Queens Birthday to North