EDFL Div 2 2018

Anyone else see the ES vs. ROXY game? Decent crowd, well supported by both clubs.

Was a very interesting battle. Roxy seemed to want to go the knuckle from the outset and it backfired massively with the kids running all over them. When they decided to focus on playing footy in the last quarter, they looked somewhat competitive. Too bad they were 7 goals behind at that stage.

Also, does anyone know if these games are filmed? Would be a interesting week for Mehri and No.49 (saad?) if so....

I hope all clubs would (or should) be filming matches, especially against certain clubs. Care to elaborate footy? Don’t tell me young players were targeted?

I’m only guessing but we’re Roxy worried about the leg speed of ES? Hence your comments..

I hope all clubs would (or should) be filming matches, especially against certain clubs. Care to elaborate footy? Don’t tell me young players were targeted?

I’m only guessing but we’re Roxy worried about the leg speed of ES? Hence your comments..

Saad has a long history too. Needs to be stamped out by EDFL and all local leagues for that matter, no place for it in today’s football.
There is so many different ways to get injured in a game and players still go in bloody hard in modern football, they shouldn’t expect to go to a game of football and be punched in the face too.
Coaches and leaders play a strong role in this space, don’t allow it to happen and punish players when they do. Make the game better

Saad has a long history too. Needs to be stamped out by EDFL and all local leagues for that matter, no place for it in today’s football.
There is so many different ways to get injured in a game and players still go in bloody hard in modern football, they shouldn’t expect to go to a game of football and be punched in the face too.
Coaches and leaders play a strong role in this space, don’t allow it to happen and punish players when they do. Make the game better

I think you will find 2 players from Roxy reported, one for kicking, Roxy did go the knuckle and it was a shame because they showed in the last they could play a bit in the last. Another Roxy player in their fwd line also thought it appropriate to spit on an 18 year old................all class.

Big ruckman got slaughtered and took himself off with 10 to go, tried hard all day, just a bit past it.

I think you will find 2 players from Roxy reported, one for kicking, Roxy did go the knuckle and it was a shame because they showed in the last they could play a bit in the last. Another Roxy player in their fwd line also thought it appropriate to spit on an 18 year old................all class.

Big ruckman got slaughtered and took himself off with 10 to go, tried hard all day, just a bit past it.
I think you will find the two reports made were for a jumper punch, and the other tripping. The rub of the green went ES way and reports should have went to both sides rather then just those two roxy players...
Roxy are up to it, but only if they can contain a 4qtr consistency..

Heard there was a few brawls
How did the big guns go for both sides and who played well
I was at Northern V MV was a great game of footy but ghee did MV turn it on in that 3rd quarter

In terms of 'big guns', from an ES perspective:
Bernacki - really smooth mover, played in middle, half back and never took a backward step all day
Cree - probably a little quieter than normal and played mostly half back
Ogilvie - Never stopped running. Posing a threat all day. Disposal down a little
Sammut - Solid

I reckon best on was ruckman Jordan Braddy. Always gave an option around the ground and dominated the man mountain in Mehri

RP:
Short - worked his guts out all day. Wasn't the cleanest by foot but can't fault his effort
Cappa - Ended the day with three, but never really posed a major threat to breaking the game open like I seen last time I saw him. His kicking accuracy sure hasn't improved
Elliot - very quiet
Merhi - I thought he did a really good job at getting around the ground for a big man. Seen him hit braddy behind play in a dog act that he should have been sent off for so soured it for me
H. Farrelly - didn't influence the game at all, too big for the pace of EDFL footy

I think a few of the older/bigger players for roxy thought that they could win by going the knuckle instead of playing the footy and going after the young players. Fair to say that the young fellas didn't take a back step and defintely flew the flag for their teammates when targetted .

Doesn’t sound good mate.. How old were the players they were targeting FF as East Sunbury is a pretty young side.. Can’t imagine them doing that to a big tough bloke who can handle himself.

East Sunbury V Saints - See East Sunbury by 5 goals. Saints need to get there forwards isolated. East Sunbury too many will overwhelm the saints
Moonee Valley V Burn Heights - MV too strong. Watched them last week will win the flag on current form. Strong across the ground. MV by 10 goals
Hadfield v Coburg - Districts will bounce back in a big way 12 goals

Hey mate, I see the tribunal handed both players reported a 1 game suspension. Maybe your better off to kick someone than punch them as you get a lesser sentence..

EDFL tribunal needs to step
Up and trying to change players mindset

Hey mate, I see the tribunal handed both players reported a 1 game suspension. Maybe your better off to kick someone than punch them as you get a lesser sentence..

EDFL tribunal needs to step
Up and trying to change players mindset
Turbo
I no nothing about roxy the report was for attempting to kick
Pull up on the club bashing

Turbo
I no nothing about roxy the report was for attempting to kick
Pull up on the club bashing

It’s not directed at a club more the league tribunal. Over recent years there has been some strange verdicts and penalties handed out. I would love to hear what “attempted to kick means”? I’m assuming either he kicked and missed or the other player wasn’t Seroiusly hurt. Either way I don’t like it.. Edfl need to step up imo and start setting better penalties for these types of incidents.

Are you pulling our chain with that response?

Yes you got me. I hear Roxy had a good win today? Lol

My predictions are looking good mate. MV picked up a few from Keilor Park which will strengthen them. East Sunbury going well. Just goes to show you need to recruit younger types or have them coming through to be successful I reckon..Recruiting older types is not working for some clubs.

Yes you got me. I hear Roxy had a good win today? Lol

My predictions are looking good mate. MV picked up a few from Keilor Park which will strengthen them. East Sunbury going well. Just goes to show you need to recruit younger types or have them coming through to be successful I reckon..Recruiting older types is not working for some clubs.

Instead of pot shotting Roxy from behind a computer screen why don’t you come down and see what the club is about. Great bunch of guys in a transition to a new coach. Trying to create a new culture. We don’t like to give up on people but would rather work with them to be the best they can be no matter what age or skill level they are.

At least you are big enough to admit they need to create/change the culture up there. Good luck and hope you can do it Tharg.

I would come down to the club but I’ve been there 2 times before. Once my car wheels got stolen whilst I was watching the seniors and the next time I called an Uber and the Uber driver was playing for RP. Lol

At least you are big enough to admit they need to create/change the culture up there. Good luck and hope you can do it Tharg.

I would come down to the club but I’ve been there 2 times before. Once my car wheels got stolen whilst I was watching the seniors and the next time I called an Uber and the Uber driver was playing for RP. Lol
I’m sure paco could foot the bill for your new wheels, they do waste a lot of money down that way at raeburn reserve for nothing in return..

When is the EDFL going to record all senior games? I think it’s a necessity that we move this way and put the costs onto the clubs, but they get access to the video. Surely the clubs will use it to review games and the league could get a good deal. Hopefully negotiate something better than the last deal offered up..

I see the NFL record all games and captured a nasty off the Ball incident..

When is the EDFL going to record all senior games? I think it’s a necessity that we move this way and put the costs onto the clubs, but they get access to the video. Surely the clubs will use it to review games and the league could get a good deal. Hopefully negotiate something better than the last deal offered up..

I see the NFL record all games and captured a nasty off the Ball incident..

Completely agree with you Turbo.

There have been a lot of 'off the ball' incidents in this comp. Strangely enough, majority of the time coming from one particular club.
However your remedy is simply not practical.
Number 1) compliance cost for clubs (as you mentioned) would go up (investing in decent cameras etc)
2) Quality of recording. Most likely the videographers are going to be club members that haven't even picked up a camera in their lives therefore zooming in and video quality would be an issue
3) A lot of the time incidents are off the ball. How are these meant to be captured when the recording is following the football?

What I would recommend, would be at the minimum... Have someone from the EDFL independent from the umpires & clubs produce a basic report at the end of every game. If there is an incident record it, if not report that the game was free of any wrong doings.

There have been a lot of 'off the ball' incidents in this comp. Strangely enough, majority of the time coming from one particular club.
Number 1) compliance cost for clubs (as you mentioned) would go up (investing in decent cameras etc)
2) Quality of recording. Most likely the videographers are going to be club members that haven't even picked up a camera in their lives therefore zooming in and video quality would be an issue
3) A lot of the time incidents are off the ball. How are these meant to be captured when the recording is following the football?

What I would recommend, would be at the minimum... Have someone from the EDFL independent from the umpires & clubs produce a basic report at the end of every game. If there is an incident record it, if not report that the game was free of any wrong doings.

That is a a decent idea Han, but that also would come at a cost mate. The video that is done in the NFL is excellent quality and I’m sure if the league got someone they should be able to negotiate a decent deal. I know they tried to implement it a few years back but some clubs rejected the idea due to costs being a bit high.

Yes it won’t capture all incidents but will be a deterrent to players and clubs and the NFL cameras captured a few off the Ball incidents so it does work. It could also improve the umpiring knowing the camera is on..

Personally I think it’s non negotiable buddy..

Your idea has merit but who wants to watch Div2 footy if your an independent person unless they are being compensated by $$. So the video is more useful as the clubs can use it to review games.

Not a bad round this one.

ES > MV - 15 points
CD > BS - 1 point
RP > Had - 60 points (Saad & Merhi against their old premiership club)

Which club?