EDFL Division 1 2016

Can I ask if Craigieburn win and go to premier next year (as expected by the tipsters) how many current players are capable of competing in the higher lever?
*Some examples below from an outsider but I'm sure the CB people will come up with 6-7 more names I hope!!
-Clokes X 2
-Page
-Young
-Davies
-Bongetti
-Kite (most likely won't play premier)

Q2/ Which of these players will stay and commit to play premier in 2017?

Its going to be a very strong premier league next year as its competetive this year between the 9 teams, excluding APW who look doomed for relegation.

U must be related to turbo just talk a lot of rubbish

Thanks Little fella for the nice words.. We're not related I think!! But I do like "most" of bangs work. Think he might drink more than me though!!! Haha

Probably best not to get into this debate. I don't go into what players get, but he does get well looked after, so agree with Bang on he should be sliding in for the ball.
Having said that a good ruckman is worth gold and should be your highest paid player maybe competing with a gun key forward for most important player on a list.
Who cares what he gets as long as the club is getting a player who gives his all and I think Page does all that..
I don't often side with CB but his one you need to keep as his well up to premier standard.

so who wins best in comp?

IMO I don't think anyone from CB can win it with the likes of Page Clokes x 2 Young taking votes off each other.

I did have my money on J cloke but now im second guessing myself...

Could we possibly have a tie??

so who wins best in comp?

IMO I don't think anyone from CB can win it with the likes of Page Clokes x 2 Young taking votes off each other.

I did have my money on J cloke but now im second guessing myself...

Could we possibly have a tie??
Agree CB to many, could just about of recieved the 3 2 1 in every game so plenty of votes to go around but i think they will be shared but who knows. J cloke, Young or Page this year would be worthy winners. I Think a standout player in one of the other teams might take it out though. Still a lot of footy left

Can I ask if Craigieburn win and go to premier next year (as expected by the tipsters) how many current players are capable of competing in the higher lever?
*Some examples below from an outsider but I'm sure the CB people will come up with 6-7 more names I hope!!
-Clokes X 2
-Page
-Young
-Davies
-Bongetti
-Kite (most likely won't play premier)

Q2/ Which of these players will stay and commit to play premier in 2017?

Its going to be a very strong premier league next year as its competetive this year between the 9 teams, excluding APW who look doomed for relegation.
Would have thought Fletcher given he kicked 8 in premier as a 16 year old would go ok.
Bennett also proven at that level and plenty of talented kids coming through

There would be quite a few that would be able to compete. You should consider coming to the game this weekend and having a look at craigieburn. Happy to have a pot with you

Lots of talk about who will win the comp medal and it's a good discussion point, but let's be focussed here who really cares as its div1 (or really div2). I'm sure it's more important for Craigieburn to be focussed on winning the premiership. I do expect Craigieburn to win it, and win it easily, but if not I can see trouble down there. I would be surprised if guys like Page & Young would play div 1 footy another year. Yes agree they are probably getting more $ at CB than a premier club, but surely you want to compete at the highest level and challenge yourself and get up every Sat knowing it's a challenge rather than what they encounter now.

I'm still saying CB must win it or they will take years to recover IMO. Hillside also must be looking to at least go as far as the prelim final and try and win it next season. It's more important these days as this points system will see a raid on junior talent and possibly good junior coaches.
Hillside for example have good juniors and they will want to play premier 18s and then move into premier league pathway. You can only hold them for so long. Same for Craigieburn and West Meadows. However my point with Craigieburn is they have invested heavily in big name recruits and spending the most money to get the ultimate prize, which is not the actual cup but moving to premier league.

Before you all think I'm having a go at Craigieburn again, it's not true. I'm actually in favour of what there doing "if" your ready and have the talent in your junior program coming through. My only question is I hope the big name recruits stay and play premier even if it's only for the first year to help a club stabilise as going up then back down can be a bad thing long term.
Plus in premier any new club MUST have a coach with good knowledge of the game. Someone with higher level experience. This should be your no1 piority. Source the market and make it your no1 piority.

Lots of talk about who will win the comp medal and it's a good discussion point, but let's be focussed here who really cares as its div1 (or really div2). I'm sure it's more important for Craigieburn to be focussed on winning the premiership. I do expect Craigieburn to win it, and win it easily, but if not I can see trouble down there. I would be surprised if guys like Page & Young would play div 1 footy another year. Yes agree they are probably getting more $ at CB than a premier club, but surely you want to compete at the highest level and challenge yourself and get up every Sat knowing it's a challenge rather than what they encounter now.

I'm still saying CB must win it or they will take years to recover IMO. Hillside also must be looking to at least go as far as the prelim final and try and win it next season. It's more important these days as this points system will see a raid on junior talent and possibly good junior coaches.
Hillside for example have good juniors and they will want to play premier 18s and then move into premier league pathway. You can only hold them for so long. Same for Craigieburn and West Meadows. However my point with Craigieburn is they have invested heavily in big name recruits and spending the most money to get the ultimate prize, which is not the actual cup but moving to premier league.

Before you all think I'm having a go at Craigieburn again, it's not true. I'm actually in favour of what there doing "if" your ready and have the talent in your junior program coming through. My only question is I hope the big name recruits stay and play premier even if it's only for the first year to help a club stabilise as going up then back down can be a bad thing long term.
Plus in premier any new club MUST have a coach with good knowledge of the game. Someone with higher level experience. This should be your no1 piority. Source the market and make it your no1 piority.

You are a deadest flog Turbo!

Could not agree more! The highest of arrogant flogs!

So tell me are your players playing for a comp medal or to get the club a premiership so you can move to premier league. It seems most of you on here are only worried about who will win the comp medal. It's a second division medal ffs. I can only assume you guys are happy being the big fish in a small pond?? That's my point.

It would be great if you could respond to the actual point of are CB ready for premier league as next year will be a lot stronger & competitive than this season. Douttas are doing well in premier but did recruit some top end players. How will CB fare??

So tell me are your players playing for a comp medal or to get the club a premiership so you can move to premier league. It seems most of you on here are only worried about who will win the comp medal. It's a second division medal ffs. I can only assume you guys are happy being the big fish in a small pond?? That's my point.

It would be great if you could respond to the actual point of are CB ready for premier league as next year will be a lot stronger & competitive than this season. Douttas are doing well in premier but did recruit some top end players. How will CB fare??

Your comment was referring who cares as its only Div 1. Agree a premiership is all that matters, but instead of saying that you had to down play this div. Pascoe Vale were in this div only a handful of years ago!

Interesting game this week Hillside v Craigieburn in conditions not suited to free flowing footy. Kite has left for o/seas I believe, so could that stretch the Craigieburn backline for talls as his one of the best in the comp.
I'm sure Craigieburn won't want to drop this one and allow Hillside to gain some confidence if they meet in the finals.
Personally I can't see Craigieburn losing but who knows.

Your comment was referring who cares as its only Div 1. Agree a premiership is all that matters, but instead of saying that you had to down play this div. Pascoe Vale were in this div only a handful of years ago!

Yes I know that. What I was referring to is do guys like Page & Young care about the comp medal? Do supporters care who wins the medal? I'm not sure about Young but know Page want's a premiership and move to premier to challenge the best ruckman. It's more important to win the premiership, that's my point as I was trying to move the conversation.

Pacco is a good example to use. Went up and have stayed up and been pretty competitive and now going reasonably well. But they will tell you it's hard work and many players left to continue playing lower grade footy. I would assume Craigieburn are in a better position with the area they have around them but I guess we will wait and see..

It's just people creating converstation as you always say your doing so what is wrong with that. You are constantly talking down too other divisions and even in other leagues i see you doing it. Premier league is strong but who cares Get over yourself who are you anyway, mail is the pacco faithful would love to know who you are to tell you to shut the hell up!

Interesting game this week Hillside v Craigieburn in conditions not suited to free flowing footy. Kite has left for o/seas I believe, so could that stretch the Craigieburn backline for talls as his one of the best in the comp.
I'm sure Craigieburn won't want to drop this one and allow Hillside to gain some confidence if they meet in the finals.
Personally I can't see Craigieburn losing but who knows.
As always u don't have facts kite is playing this week and fletcher should play so I would say craigieburn don't mind playing in the wet especially when we have bigger body's and r stronger off and around the ball I would think hillside would prefer it dry with there faster leg speed
And craigieburn r ready to go up and it would be great if everyone stayed on but if they leave we will go out and buy more players because we have the cash and the points up our sleeves but right now we r focused on beating hillside this week
And also I can tell u that Bugie is a great coach and has coached division 1 in the nfl and he is the right man for the job
I think it's time for u to go down to paco and help them with all there problems because what I am hearing it's not good down there

It's just people creating converstation as you always say your doing so what is wrong with that. You are constantly talking down too other divisions and even in other leagues i see you doing it. Premier league is strong but who cares Get over yourself who are you anyway, mail is the pacco faithful would love to know who you are to tell you to shut the hell up!

Hey Bissa, you me are just totally different people and have different views on footy.

I will watch footy and enjoy the game. But I mostly like to watch competitive high standard footy and if it becomes one sided I still applaud the other team for having a go and giving 100% if they play in the right spirit, hence my game report of when Paco played APW. I'm also happy to watch games of teams I don't follow.

You seem to enjoy watching Craigieburn and enjoy the big victories and cheering each goal you kick. You probably bag those backman getting goals kicked on them by the big Clokes.

For the record I liked the divisions being called what they actually are. Div1, Div2, Div3. Don't agree with the name change unless all other leagues move this way. So premier really is div1 footy..

As always u don't have facts kite is playing this week and fletcher should play so I would say craigieburn don't mind playing in the wet especially when we have bigger body's and r stronger off and around the ball I would think hillside would prefer it dry with there faster leg speed
And craigieburn r ready to go up and it would be great if everyone stayed on but if they leave we will go out and buy more players because we have the cash and the points up our sleeves but right now we r focused on beating hillside this week
And also I can tell u that Bugie is a great coach and has coached division 1 in the nfl and he is the right man for the job
I think it's time for u to go down to paco and help them with all there problems because what I am hearing it's not good down there

You really need to read my posts properly Littlefella. I never said Craigieburn don't like playing in the wet, but said it might not be free flowing footy due to the conditions. Can get very windy out there. Yes agree Hillside would prefer it dry.

Yes you have points up your sleeve but it won't take long to fill those points. Not sure your club is that cashed up as you reckon. I'm hearing other things but I don't think cash has ever been your issue, it's attracting top end talent to go out there. More related around the travel and other things..

Paco are fine mate. Did you see the result last week. Absolutely smashed Strathmore and if they beat Greenvale this week look out.. But I will keep Paco stuff on the premier thread.

Been good talking to you again. Lol xx

EDFL Division 1 2016