EDFL Division 1 2017

Westmeadows over Thomastown by 3 goals after trailing by 8 goals at half time. Game of 2 halfs with Thommo dominating first half before westy kicking into gear kicking 11 goals to 1 in 2nd half.
Good hitout for both clubs with no injures.
Was good to see church back for westy taking plenty of marks up forward after a long break from the game
From what I watched today in the first half Westy seemed very slow and soft around the contest. Number 70 I think his a good player along with Taylor also. The Achilles will still be there rucks and key defenders. They need to do a lot of work to make finals.

Watched the third quarter at Tulla today and it was an interesting tactic by Leyden. All his 6 defenders didn't pick up a man they guarded space inside the back 50-60m. Then when the opposition turned it over going inside 50, tulla tried working the ball the other way with handball and leg speed. Be interesting to see if the use this tactics in round 1 or it's something the they were practicing for certain teams this year. Don't think it will work well because Sunbury kangaroos would have had 10-15 uncontested marks inside 50 for the quarter but didn't convert.

From what I watched today in the first half Westy seemed very slow and soft around the contest. Number 70 I think his a good player along with Taylor also. The Achilles will still be there rucks and key defenders. They need to do a lot of work to make finals.

Watched the third quarter at Tulla today and it was an interesting tactic by Leyden. All his 6 defenders didn't pick up a man they guarded space inside the back 50-60m. Then when the opposition turned it over going inside 50, tulla tried working the ball the other way with handball and leg speed. Be interesting to see if the use this tactics in round 1 or it's something the they were practicing for certain teams this year. Don't think it will work well because Sunbury kangaroos would have had 10-15 uncontested marks inside 50 for the quarter but didn't convert.
Who won the Tulla game EDFL? Russian roulette leaving the likes of Church, Winter, Coletta, and other big forwards with no one on them im sure it was just something they were trying in a praccie. So do you think Westy will struggle against sides with a big tall forward line EDFL? Or did they have a few key backs out?

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Who won the Tulla game EDFL? Russian roulette leaving the likes of Church, Winter, Coletta, and other big forwards with no one on them im sure it was just something they were trying in a praccie. So do you think Westy will struggle against sides with a big tall forward line EDFL? Or did they have a few key backs out?

Only watched a quarter of the tulla game and the Sunbury kangaroos were in front by 2-3 goals at 3/4 time. Tulla were missing a few mids. I think they are doing that the help handle the big Fwds of oppositions. They were very small down back and there best tall defender in Russell Laurie played fwd.

Westy did have a new big defender number 11 but still had O'Neill as second tall defender. He is undersized but tries hard.
Teams with a number of big forwards will score heavily against these two teams if there mids can get enough supply.

Only watched a quarter of the tulla game and the Sunbury kangaroos were in front by 2-3 goals at 3/4 time. Tulla were missing a few mids. I think they are doing that the help handle the big Fwds of oppositions. They were very small down back and there best tall defender in Russell Laurie played fwd.

Westy did have a new big defender number 11 but still had O'Neill as second tall defender. He is undersized but tries hard.
Teams with a number of big forwards will score heavily against these two teams if there mids can get enough supply.

First half westy also had Callegarri ( their best back ) playing fwd. After half time he went back and the game changed. They kicked 11 goals and held Thomastown to 1. Westy also had 6 missing with cricket along with tamer and Mullen.
Wouldn't be taking too much out of praccy games.

Name the 6 missing?? I counted 3 at best
Mullens, Evans and Tamer.
Still think some of there players are soft with Sutcliffe their new recruit the worst offender. The kid can play footy and good skills but he don't defender and is soft. His opponent kicked 3-4 first half goals.

From all reports dominated and was the reason for the big margin. Nth Heidelberg by the length of the Flemington straight if he stays fit playing with his brother. They will kick 150-200 goals between them this year.
Boomer played well within himself as you would expect this time of year. The big margin was due to North being too classy all over the field with plenty of options in attack. Won't be the only team they beat by plenty this year.

Name the 6 missing?? I counted 3 at best
Mullens, Evans and Tamer.
Still think some of there players are soft with Sutcliffe their new recruit the worst offender. The kid can play footy and good skills but he don't defender and is soft. His opponent kicked 3-4 first half goals.

Evans, Campbell, Heathcote and Keenan all had cricket GF
Tamer and Mullen didn't play along with Avery and Wight. Although Avery is prob a few weeks away and Wight is at cannons

Do agree that westy were very poor in first half. There wasn't a lot of intensity there but the second half was the complete opposite and they got ontop around the stoppages and took control.

Oak park and Tulla with heavy loses yesterday ?

As I said don't think you take too much out of praccy games

Tamer and Mullen didn't play along with Avery and Wight. Although Avery is prob a few weeks away and Wight is at cannons

Do agree that westy were very poor in first half. There wasn't a lot of intensity there but the second half was the complete opposite and they got ontop around the stoppages and took control.

Tulla had its starting best 3 mids not playing: Sims, Burns and Smith. Only lost by about 3 goals with others out of the side also

From what I witness yesterday in the 3rd quarter Tulla are in some trouble. Sunbury controlled the game and tulla were lucky that Sunbury missed 5-6 shots. Agreed that tulla were missing sims and burns but the backline was very short and will struggle to contain big Fwds this year.

Hopefully go see Glenroy and oak park next week to get a good idea of the sides that will be completing against the premiership favourites in Hillside

Yeah you can name all those players if you like. But I only go by players that are in the best 10 of a side. Most of the others can be replaced

From what I witness yesterday in the 3rd quarter Tulla are in some trouble. Sunbury controlled the game and tulla were lucky that Sunbury missed 5-6 shots. Agreed that tulla were missing sims and burns but the backline was very short and will struggle to contain big Fwds this year.

Hopefully go see Glenroy and oak park next week to get a good idea of the sides that will be completing against the premiership favourites in Hillside
steele didnt play which will help, and tulla didnt play man on man defense hence the smalls in the backline yesterday. Still easily have the best defense in the division

Lol i cant see what all the fuss is about Windside. They have never played a Div 1 final since they were born they beat Westy by a point or 2 last year when Westy were decimated with injury and werent travelling to well beat the roys last round with them also with injuries and nothing to play for. Got clipped by CB twice amd lost to Haddy and Lakes which cost em a finals berth. Jury out on them they tease but dont deliver unlike regular fimals teams like Westy, Tulla, OP etc. Those lads on EDFL radio have no idea if they reckon Windside r favourites IMO. Westy and Roys for mine

No fuss time will tell assume you were not at the praccy game yesterday hillside looked good middle was deadly and several targets up forward now played diggers who were premiers last year I believe was good hit out

No interest in being there mate guess you werent either saying you believe it was a good hit out... Diggers did win the flag last year so they will give anyone a good hit out. So who won Diggers?

James Barnes a terrific pick for EK as reported by Mel EK now could come into finals calculation? Any thoughts on that people?

No interest in being there mate guess you werent either saying you believe it was a good hit out... Diggers did win the flag last year so they will give anyone a good hit out. So who won Diggers?

James Barnes a terrific pick for EK as reported by Mel EK now could come into finals calculation? Any thoughts on that people?

No couldn't get there but heard from people who were at game hillside kicked 5 goels first half to diggers 6 pts diggers kicked. 4 girls to 1 in the 3rd and last was even was told it was good hit out for both sides

do you know how patane went??

All three comps going to be super tight, but Div 1 will be very interesting. I'll put my hand up and say early on I didn't rate what Glenroy were doing but I reckon they've recruited the right guys, they're my smokey! Ferraro to have a really big influence in their engine room, and a little unknown forgotten goalsneak in tonna to surprise a few when he gets his chance.

Hey boys, I popped in to Diggers during the 3rd quarter. Great club Diggers with good hospitality. $3 burgers went down well with the cold cans of draught.

Anyway it was an even last half with Diggers kicking a few goals in the last quarter. Was told the margin was around a 4 goal win to Hillside who dominated the first quarter. Diggers are a good side with ex Nth player Taylor Hine standing out. I didn't recognize Patane until the last quarter as he looked a lot different. Looks really fit and was moving well. Had a good 3rd quarter as I was saying who's this new guy. Appears to have fitted in very well and encouraging everyone at the break. Coletta, Ferraro, Aloi and a few others didn't play but Diggers had a few out to. Good hit out in hot conditions.
Wouldn't say Hillside are favourites but there midfield and forward line would rate well against other sides but can there backline stand up?

Did you copy and paste that from the 2016 thread?

I have watched Tulla play last two praccys , the seam to be lacking a bit of height but make up for it with ground speed .
We're missing 5 players in their loss to Sunbury with key players being the ones out . E.g burns , sims
They have a few pick up in Marcus smith who is a good onballer and a couple of young pick up in Trent McGuire , who seems to be to run all day and finds the ball, and nick bailey who has good footy smarts and could be another addition to help Becker in the foward line with impressive plays they have done so far . Only time will tell but I would have then in my top four coming into round 1.

I have watched Tulla play last two praccys , the seam to be lacking a bit of height but make up for it with ground speed .
We're missing 5 players in their loss to Sunbury with key players being the ones out . E.g burns , sims
They have a few pick up in Marcus smith who is a good onballer and a couple of young pick up in Trent McGuire , who seems to be to run all day and finds the ball, and nick bailey who has good footy smarts and could be another addition to help Becker in the foward line with impressive plays they have done so far . Only time will tell but I would have then in my top four coming into round 1.
Is Bailey looking fit? If so he has the potential to b a very handy recruit